As Japan's highest mountain, the legendary Mt Fuji stands 12,388 feet (3,776 meters) tall. Whether you hike all the way to the top or take it easy at the Fuji Visitor Center's observation deck, visiting this UNESCO World Heritage site is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1852 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

claudine d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were very lucky in that it was a perfect, clear day and we could see Mt Fuji clearly. The tour operator is very professional and the guide Marie was a gem. She has an amazing sense of humour and her stories were very entertaining. The ride on the lake and then up the cable cart was an amazing way to experience the scenery. The bullet train was an appreciated extra experience made hassle free with the expert assistance of our guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. So often famous sights disappoint a little, but the views of Mt Fuji from the coach were spectacular - seats on the left side of the bus are better for views though guide encourages people to move around so everyone can take good pictures. The guide was excellent, giving lots of information throughout the day. The boat trip and cable car were good and then all wrapped up with half an hour or so on the bullet train. Whole family had a great time and really enjoyed the day. Highly recommended way to get a lot of great experiences for an excellent price.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cristofer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We started out the tour at the Keio Plaza Hotel where we met the group and for on the bus. The drive to Mt Fuji was quick and beautiful. No traffic. When we first started the tour we were to.d that the 5th station was closed for the season still but later on in the drive our tour guide, Hiro-San, got a call saying they had opened it so we were able to go all the way up. When we got up there there wasn't a cloud to be seen. Such a clear beautiful day. After the 5th station we drove to Hakone for the lake cruise on Lake Ashi and the Hakone Ropeway. The cruise was really short but like Hiro said It was long enough. The Ropeway was amazing. You can see all of lake Ashi, Mt Fuji, and even the Pacific Ocean. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone we know going to Japan. Easy, convenient, fun, and breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Pattos Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of 3 thoroughly enjoyed this 2 day trip. In fact for me the overnight stay at the Princes hotel in Hakone was the highlight. We opted for the Japanese experience and really enjoyed having a traditional style room and the banquet in the evening was fantastic. This option also meant you had a Japanese breakfast which is something quite unique. My husband also said that the outdoor onsen was fabulous.
As for day 1 with the guide, we had a good day. Luckily this tour includes a trip to the 5th Station otherwise we wouldn't have seen the top of Mt Fuji for the whole rest of the day due to clouds.
The second day you are left to your own arrangements. We decided to make the most of the hotel and checked out at 11am which still left us plenty of time to do the Hakone Cable Car the Ropeway is done on day 1 and then the Romance Car - Heritage Train down to Hakone town centre. We then had a late lunch in the town centre and left with enough time to get to Odawara by 1742 for the prebooked train back to Tokyo. Would highly reccommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

NERRISSA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

staff are very accomodating especially our tour guide, Joy though we're not able to see any of the views because of extreme fog, probably we'll get back to Mt. Fuji through same tour company.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really good tour guide and met new people on the tour to Mt Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour with a excellent tour guide. We had many great views of Mt. Fuji and was able to take many great photographs. Our tour guide was exceptional, as he work the schedule so that we were able to get in and out of place on the tour without having to wait in lines. I highly recommend this great tour. Lunch was really excellent as well. Mt Komagatake Rope way provided breath taking views of Mt. Fuji and the Lake Ashi.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ying-Chiang C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was a lot of fun. Our tour guide was very informative and amusing. The food at the stop was above and beyond. I was expecting a bento, not a hot meal.

The trip up to level 4 on Fuji and hakone was unexpected and wonderful!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Glenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

really worth the trip got to 5th station, sky was clear to see my Fuji, meal was fabulous train trip fast scenery really spectacular in places, cherry blossoms so pretty

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic! Lake Ashi cruise was stunning, our Japanese lunch was very tasty and seeing Mt Fuji itself was awe inspiring. You cannot come to Japan and not do this tour in my opinion. Tour Guide was also brilliant.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Marcella R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organised. Excellent guide. Mt Fuji was cloudless and extremely photogenic. We saw several different sides of the mountain. Tasty lunch.
I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Carrie-Lynn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour but it was cloudy day at Mt. Fujiropeway and Lake Ashi was beautiful. Highly recommended tour

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Philippa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the best tours I have done. It was extremely well organised and our guide Kanae was excellent . She new when to talk and when to just let you experience . Beautiful scenery with amazing views all day of Mt Fuji. Lovely Japanese lunch in nice surroundings.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Caroline N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were lucky that it was a clear day and we saw Mt Fuji quite clearly. Our guide Chida-san was lovely and she sang a lot. She has a nice voice. The lunch provided was at a ninja restaurant and was really interesting. Overall, it was a very nice day tour and not hectic. Thank you!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kylie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Well organised and friendly helpful tour guide Hiro. Lovely local lunch at a traditional restaurant. Shame it was a cloudy day so we couldn't see Mt Fuji from the top of Mount Komogatake, but fun anyway to ride the gondola up into the clouds. Definitely recommend this trip as a great way to see more of a rural Japan view and experience the mountains.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Raghavendra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved the tour. Well organized, on point and the right amount spent in each activity. The food was amazing. Only issue is that Mt Fuji is not seen on all days, so hard luck.

One thing I would like to call out is the Tour Guide. She was amazing, very detailed and informative throughout.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing tour !. The detail in the booking was not clear and I was ambivalent at first since the tour was expensive. However, it is worth every single penny. I was picked up at Sheraton hotel on time and brought to transportation center at 9. I was able to see Mt. Fuji after the rain. Lunch was at a hotel and then I did the afternoon activities outlined in the tour. Unfortunately, it was foggy so we did not see Lake Asha while on the boat and cable car. After the activities were done, I was dropped off at the train station where a staff member waited with you , and actually stayed and led you to the shinkasen heading to Kyoto. There was one transfer at Nagoya and there was only 4 minutes in between. However, there was staff ready for you to lead you to the next shinkasen on same platform. For this trip, I checked out of my hotel so there was luggage that I had to carry with me. I arrived Kyoto at 10:15 PM and there was staff waiting to lead me to hotel at New Miyako for readers of this review, try to stay at this hotel since it is across the Kyoto station. I did the activities as outlined in the tour on second day. I selected the three day tour and it was great because the following morning of the third day, I signed up for the Arashiyama walking tour. In the afternoon, I had my own time to explore this wonderful city. I was arranged to go back to Tokyo on the Nazomi shinkasen at 6:45 arriving in Tokyo at 9:15PM. There was staff picked me up and brought me to taxi prepaid by tour companypromptly. I was not the only one on the tour who was so elated by this arrangement since Tokyo station is huge and one would be easily got lost in this station. I stayed at Westin on the way back, so you just need to inform staff so correct hotel drop off could be made. Overall, this tour was wonderful, and I hope more details would be outlined in the tour activities, especially drop off points to allay traveler's anxiety.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

RUBY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Although we were not able to see Mt. Fuji due to weather condition, trip is still awesome, lunch served was excellent and tour guide is kind and very accommodating. Highly recommendable package.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow.. what a fabulous day! Anne was our tour guide, extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We left Tokyo on a wet morning and thought we didn't stand a chance of seeing Mt Fuji. Anne pointed out many interesting sights on our journey towards Fuji, stopping at Lake Kawaguchiko to stretch our legs and take some photos, before heading to Fuji National Park. As the weather had been extremely cold, snowing the previous few days, it meant the bus was only allowed get to the 1st gate in the national park not higher up to the 5th, as we'd expected. It didn't matter, everyone enjoyed the crisp cold air, the trees laiden with snow, many people made snow balls, and everyone was taking photos while keeping an eye out for the elusive top of Mt Fuji. After a half hour break, we got back into the coach, heading to a local hotel for a traditional lunch. While we enjoyed our delicious meal, the weather cleared and sun appeared... then .. so did Mt Fuji. There she was, in all her glory. How spectacular and how privileged we were. We actually got half an hour where we could see the complete mountain top and most of the mountain itself, in all its glory, with fluffy white clouds occasionally floating by. Anne explained we were extremely lucky, as its a rare sight. Cameras and iPhones were busy capturing photos and the mood was buoyant. Everyone got back on the coach and we headed towards Lake Ashi for a short cruise that included commentary about the local Hakone Mountains. The Hakone Komagatake Ropeway ride was shortly afterwards, however the weather had closed in again, so it was foggy at the top of the mountain, and cameras weren't required. On a sunny day, the view would be spectacular. Our driver collected us for the journey home, with some opting to stay on the bus the balance being dropped at Odawara Station to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. We took the bullet train ... wow... it was quick, quiet, clean and a great experience. We HIGHLY recommend this trip

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mary Grace A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were especially lucky to have a clear view of Mt. Fuji from just our bus! Overall, it was extremely cold and, although, we weren't expecting snow during this late in March it was exciting to experience the snow - especially at the top of Mt. Hakone. Definitely worth the money you spend!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Recommend to anyone considering. Ordered the vegetarian meal for lunch as I'm not much for raw foods. Guide spoke good English. Enough time at Mt Fuji. Lake Ashi tour was nice too. Met some nice people on the tour bus too! Bullet train was cool. And even navigated the Tokyo subway to get back to my hotel. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Meg was our guide, and she is terrific. The day was cold, snowy/rainy, and very overcast, so we thought there was no chance we would get to see Mt. Fuji. With a little patience, however, we did get a peek from station 4, and then another peek from a nearby crafts village. Because it is a private tour, there is flexibility in what you do and how much time you spend doing it. That flexibility is especially helpful when the weather is not cooperating, as was the case with us. Meg is such a pleasant tour guide, and we felt entirely comfortable expressing our thoughts on different activities we could do. FYI, we are a family of four, 2 parents and two teenagers, and everyone had a great time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Mt Fuji Private Tour Including Exclusive Visit with Priests at Sengen Shrine

Mel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is recommended. It was very organized from pick up to drop off. Though the weather was cloudy when we left Tokyo and we were only able to reach the 4th station, we were lucky to have seen Fuji-san when we were at the observation deck. Our guide Hiro was very helpful, and gave us good information on the places we visited and life in Japan in general, to pass the time during transit. Instead of Lake Ashi, we took the alternative Lake Kawaguchi, but the experience was memorable nonetheless.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Chee Sing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was so great to have such a wonderful tour to Mt Fuji especially for the first timer like me.

The tour guide was so professional and friendly.

The lunch was so fabulous too traditional Japanese foods

Thanks.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message