The legendary Mount Fuji, recently named one of the newest UNESCO World Heritage-listed sites, stands 12,388 feet tall (3,776 meters) and is Japan’s highest mountain. With spectacular 360-degree views of Lake Ashinko, the Hakone mountains, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was efficient!
Getting to the meeting point (the bus station) was a little challenging, but we gave ourselves plenty of time to get lost and still get there on time.
Our tour guide, Mr Take was exceptionally. Great entertainer, comedian, singer, etc. he took care of all our needs. (My friend is vegetarian) he made sure she got the right plate. He even wrote down on a piece of paper our diet preferences for our future use.
Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not cooperative. Station 5 on Mt Fuji was extremely foggy. We only caught a glimpse of the mountain from the road.
Lunch was excellent.
Lake Ashi and the cable car ride was fun, although also foggy. It was fun to suddenly run into treasures you couldn't see. :)
Tokyo Station is huge and confusing. Wish we got to personally say goodbye and thank you to Mr Take. But I dropped something important and had to rush back. We lost sight of him and the other guests by the time we got back.
A very friendly woman helped us find our way back. She even walked with us to our exit even though she looked like she was in a hurry.
Wasn't expecting the Bullet train ride. Luved it! Luved the whole experience!
We got back late afternoon. Enough time for us to take the subway and see Ginza and Shabuya in action at night. Stumbled into a delicious Ramen restaurant in Shabuya, unfortunately I can't remember the name. I can still taste the soup. It was delish!
Great way to see and experience many things in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was well-organized, we just had to be there on time. Our guide, Yoko, is very knowledgeable. Her comments were very informative if you're looking to learn about the areas you're passing through. And she made sure we all were enjoying ourselves. Highly recommend this especially to first-time tourist to Mt. Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing, the tour guide was very informed and extremely helpful. The weather at Hakone did not cooperate fully but it was still an amazing experience.
Mt. Fuji was incredible.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

awesome tour and guide excellent way to see mt fuji lake and country side

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is very interesting tour. Star early and very prompt. The bus ride was pleasant and there was wifi on the bus. We got to see Mt Fuji very clearly, as our tour guide said sometimes Fuji is famous to be shy. But we only short stop at Station 5. We need more time to explore. Hakone boat ride is also nice. Short but very interesting. The cable ride is also breathtaking. And the best of all, was the ride home to Tokyo with Shinkansen Bullet Train. Very interesting. Would like to do this again.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good and insightful.
Our english speaking Japanese guide Amy was very knowledgeable and took care of our needs well. she even taught us the 'Mt Fuji' song along our coach ride to the 5th station. As it was cloudy with occasional rain, we could not see the peak of Mt Fuji fully. The stop at 5th station was a little short to soak in the awesome view and shopping at the souvenir store.
The cruise along Lake Aishi and gondola ride to Mt Komagatake were picturesque. However, due to the clouds, we could get to view Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake including the shrine at Komagatake.
The bullet train ride on the Shinkansen from Odawa to Tokyo was an experience. Amy was extremely helpful to get the pax to available seats as the tickets issued to us were without reserve seats.
Overall experience was great including lunch at Hotel Regina.
Gd value for $ too.:)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome day tour. Picked us right up at the hotel and short ride to switch to the actual tour bus. Bit of traffic coming out of Tokyo, that put us behind schedule...and they warned that we might have to cut a stop or two...but we ended up getting to do all. Our tour guide was fantastic...very good English...good sense of humor...and very educational the whole trip. Made himself available for specific questions too. Lunch was awesome...noodles, tempura, the fish and chicken...all wonderful. Was cloudy this day, and rained on us at the 5th station, but still worth every penny. The boat ride and gondola ride were both very nice, the scenery was absolutely beautiful, and sure enough, Mt. Fuji peeked out for us an the way down the mountain...so got some great photos. And to finish it all off was the exciting bullet-train ride back to Tokyo. My 14 year old daughter loved the tour...as did my wife and I. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Saw many sights. Mt Fuji was the highlight. Coming back on bullet train topped it off. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised and on time (just like everything else in Japan!). The tour guide was knowledgeable and gave us loads of information on Mount Fuji, its history and stories. Lovely day. We were lucky to get clear views of the mountain for some time and that was great. The bullet train ride was fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

THE BEST GUIDE EVER.
Even though Mt. Fuji was hiding, our day was excellent because of our guide. Our group became friends and watched out for each other in the Friday night train station partly because of the open, friendly,atmosphere that was established by our guide.
Very informative and well structured. Excellent day trip!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour, lots of travel time but there has to be. We were one of the lucky groups we had a great view of Mt Fuji before the clouds came in

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of the 3 Viator tours we did on our trip, this was the best. If you are staying at the Shinjuku Washington Hotel, there is a checking area in the lobby to walk you to the bus. The bus we had was nice and the AC was cool, which is important as our tour date was July 24 (90 deg F/70% humidity). The bus took us to the Hamamatsucho bus station where we boarded another bus to Mt. Fuji. Our tour guide was an expert on Mt. Fuji having been a hiking guide for 30+ yrs. His English was quite good and he regaled us with the history of Japan, working in the political and religious events which tied in nicely to Mt. Fuji's importance in Japanese society. We stopped every hour or for bathroom breaks, shopping, etc. We stopped first at the Mt. Fuji visitor center for a quick rest-stop before heading up the mountain. The sights were wonderful. We stopped at the 5th station where there is a small shopping village and had about 45 minutes of free time. From there we headed to lunch at a beautiful restaurant and had a wonderful lunch of tempura, rice miso soup and pickled veggies--we all left full. We proceeded to Lake Ashi and caught a 15 minute ferry to another shopping area where a gondola took us over Hakone--not to be missed! We returned to Shinjuku at approx. 8pm. However, a lightning storm moved in, lighting up the sky and soaking the area. We stayed in the air conditioned bus until it let up (slightly) which was really nice of the bus driver and tour guide. Note the bus did not drop-off at the hotels at the conclusion of the tour--it ended, rather, at Shinjuku station,
All in all, this was worth every penny and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. The lunch alone was $20-25 buck per person, not to mention the gondola and ferry rides. The ride was smooth and cool and the guide was great. One thing to note is they plan the itinerary out, so it is advised (strongly) to stick to the allotted times at each stop.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, informative guide but didn't get to see mount fuji as it was very cloudy; very disappointing. BBQ lunch was great and the Onsen was an amazing first time experience that everyone should try at least once.
overall enjoyed the day and the entire package.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day tour and everything was well-organized. Although Mt. Fuji weren't entirely visible due to weather but rest of tour was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed different views of Mt Fuji, from the drive up, to the 5th station, as well as from the lake. Weather was a touch windy/cloudy but we were still able to get glimpses/photos of the peak. The rail to Kyoto had transfers in it, but a guide met us at each stop to get us through the transfers. Late night into Kyoto, so make sure you pick up dinner before getting on the Train - To eat on the train. We stayed at the New Miyako Hotel, which is conveniently located across the street from the Kyoto station. So, after we arrived, a guide met us and walked us over to check into the Hotel. (Other tour members were staying at the alternate hotels, and they were taken to those via Taxi). The Hotel Room was recently renovated, so, was clean and comfortable. Although it's just for the night, then off to an early morning for the Kyoto tour, which meets at the Hotel Lobby. The Kyoto tour covered a lot of traditional/historical sites, and the tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. Then another train ride back to Tokyo, where we were dropped off at our Hotel there. All in all a good taste of Traditional and Historical Japan. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji and Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message