The legendary Mount Fuji, recently named one of the newest UNESCO World Heritage-listed sites, stands 12,388 feet tall (3,776 meters) and is Japan’s highest mountain. With spectacular 360-degree views of Lake Ashinko, the Hakone mountains, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1270 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As always, any trip that I book with Viator is very well organised. We were fortunate to see Mt Fuji that day. She wasn't being shy and hiding in the clouds. My husband had never been on the bullet train and that was the highlight of his day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

excellent day tour well organised unfortunately typhoon on the way and Mount Fuji was not visible due to weather, worth doing the bullet train home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely outstanding, though my advice to book the option without lunch, as the set lunch is an allergy minefield (nuts, shellfish etc). There are plenty of alternative places to eat, so don't worry about not being on the booked lunch. Bear in mind Mount Fuji can be significantly colder than ground level, so take a coat. The views are beyond outstanding. In winter, Fuji has its trademark snow cap, but in summer it doesn't so bear this in mind if you are looking for photos. The Lake Ashi cruise is very nice, and the views from the top of the cable car were so breathtakingly beautiful a woman in our tour group was reduced to tears. The bullet train back is short (c.1 hour) but a great taste of a Japanese icon, the shinkansen 'bullet' train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very friendly tourist guide and best experience at hakone, 5th stage Mt Fuji, cruise at lake ashi and finally breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and surroundings during cable car rides. A very great experience that remain in my mind forever.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Fran
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a fabulous day and the weather was incredibly kind. The views of Mt Fuji were sensational as the skies were clear. We enjoyed this tour very much.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was slightly rushed, but it was out of our control since there was heavy traffic leaving Tokyo. That said, all the sites and time allotted at each (despite the traffic) were spot on. The cruise and ropeway were amazing, and riding the Shinkansen back into Tokyo was the best experience. I'd recommend taking the Shinkansen round trip to allow more time around Mt Fuji itself, there wasn't that much to see on the bus ride to the mountain :)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ala E
Kuwait

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great excursion to one of Japan's most iconic landscapes, with the day ending in a fantastic open-air shopping mall with an unforgettable view of Mount Fuji!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

5 stars as far as we are concerned, We had a great day, fantastic weather and great views of Fuji. Bullet train is a must and a great finish to the day. Plenty of information from our guide and expert instructions to get back to our hotel. Although probably not required a comfort to know.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip for us - especially the cruise on Lake Ashi - a very very scenic and fantastic experience. Unfortunately because of fog we could not see Mount Fuji, otherwise a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we were lucky we get to see my Fuji..bullet train experience is the next.. Hakone is a nice place, we rode the tram.. It was a good experience

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mount Fuji had the first day of snow. It was the most perfect day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great although a slightly rushed trip at Hakone, but guide was excellent and entertaining ( 'Fish' ) .We had a glorious day at Mount Fuji , but I would advise buy your own lunch as plenty of alternative eating places at same rest stop.We took the option of staying at Lake Hakone ending our trip at Odawara , and waking up to a beautiful clear morning lake view at Hakone hotel ( the tour guide was kind enough to drop us off on the way back ) .Other travellers took option of returning to Tokyo by bullet train from Odawara .I would recommend the Hakone rail pass train from Tokyo and 2/3 days around lake Hakone ( train tram boat circuits ) if you can , however Viator was a great way to travel to Mount Fuji .We used our japan rail pass from Odawara the next day managing to squeeze in the volcano egg cooking experience , numerous cable cars and the train back to Odawara then onto Kyoto . Japan travel is so organised that every trip by boat tram cable car or train linked up seamlessly so no hanging about wasting time .The trip was well organised and our tour guide knowledgeable and relaxing .Well recommended

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Amy was fantastic! Very informative, entertaining, and took very good care of us. Although our tour day was incredibly foggy and we couldn't see Mt. Fuji at all, we still enjoyed our day! I would definitely recommend bringing snacks on the tour, as the lunch isn't fantastic. Also, you are at the 5th station for 30 minutes, and mostly at a store, so if you want to take photos make sure to hurry!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was well worth the time and money. Very well organized. Guide was very good and even the lunch was tasty. My husband is handicapped and travelled with a motorized scooter, so we needed extra help taking the train back to the station near our hotel. We were going to take a cab from Tokyo station (where the Shinkansan train returned us to). However, our guide insisted that the we could take the train back to the Shinjuku station much more quickly and would also avoid a long and expensive taxi ride. He contacted one of the train agents on the Shinkansen during our return from the Fuji area and told her where we needed to go and the rail agents took it from there. We were met upon arrival at Tokyo station, led through the maze of platforms from the Shinkansan tracks to the tracks for our return to the Shinjuku station, and were met there and taken curbside for a taxi. The rail agent even hailed the cab for us!
Even more impressive, later that evening we received a call from the tour guide at our hotel checking that everything had gone well for us.
This tour was operated by a local operator. We also booked a couple of tours with the same company later that week while we were in Kyoto and were quite pleased with those tours as well.
We highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The day started wet and dreary in Tokyo with no hope of seeing Mt Fuji. Lady Luck was on our side, by lunch time it was a clear fine day and we saw Mt Fuji all the way to the top, wonderful. The bus trip up was informative and leisurely, lunch was spectacular, the ropeway was great and the bullet train back to Tokyo was enjoyable not having been on a train that goes that fast. The tour company were very helpful as we wanted to change our pick-up point, nothing was to much trouble and everything went to plan Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message