For kitschy souvenirs and trinkets to bring home as gifts or mementos of your time in Japan, there’s really only one place to shop, and that’s Nakamise Street. The name roughly translates to “Street of Inside Shops,” and you’ll find both sides lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We joined this tour on our 3rd and final full day in Tokyo. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We had travelled around Tokyo on our own the previous 2 days, but this tour covered alot of ground, provided some respite from the heat and was thoroughly interesting. Our guide Junko was excellent. Her English is impeccable, and she gave good explanations of where we were going and what we would see. She tought us about the customs and even taught us a few words of Japanese. She did a good job of managing the large group, and keeping us together. She even wrote out some directions for us in Japanese at the end of the tour. The tour was diverse and very interesting. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower. We had a clear day, with good views. The Happo-en garden was beautiful, with a wonderful assortment of bonsai trees. It was interesting to see the rituals of the tea ceremony. A wonderful bonus was seeing 3 bridal parties in the garden that day, some in traditional dress, some in white gowns. Lunch was at a beautiful hotel, with an extensive garden, with more brides! The BBQ was delicious [Oishi]. We walked around the Imperial Palace, and saw what we could of the manucured grounds and buildings from the gate.Through the GInza, and all the fancy shops. Then it was on the river on a short cruise, past some interesting sights, to Asakusa Cannon Temple via the Nakamise shopping street. The shopping street was interesting, lots of small shops and stalls, with samples of snacks and lots of kimonos to try on. The temple and the pagoda are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was the perfect of our time in Tokyo. It would have been very difficult, especially in the heat and himidity, to cover as much ground as we did in one day on one's own.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Great tour for first timers, recommend leaving the tour at Nakamise, to spend more time shopping.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is a great tour. We left the tour in Asakusa to shop at the Nakamise area. Be sure you know where they leave you in Ginza. You need to find your way back! We knew this but it was funny to see the reactions of people when they found out they had to find their way back. Do your research people!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Catherine C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour covers most of Tokyo's attractions especially if you have limited time. It starts at the Tokyo Tower where you can have a panoramic view of Tokyo's Skyline then go to Happo-en Japanese Garden and participate in a Japanese Tea Ceremony which was something unique for me. The Happo-en Garden is quite an attraction in itself being a favorite venue for Japanese weddings.. From there we went to have lunch in Chinzanso Tokyo Garden Hotel located somewhere in the outskirts of the city with beautiful sakura in the garden and lining the Kanda River at the back. We had a taste of Japanese barBQ done right in front of us on our table! And we were all made to wear an oversized bib! Had to have pics taken!. From there, we went around to the Imperial Palace grounds to have a photo stop notwithstanding the rain. Then we hurried to the pier for our Sumida River Cruise. Although it was raining, the view on both sides were still visible. It was just too crowded for comfort!. We were glad to disembark near the ASAKUSA to see the temple and the busy Nakamise St where we bought some souvenirs in a hurry. The Tokyo Skytree can also be seen from Asakusa.. After that we were dropped off in GINZA for shopping and /or go back on our own to our hotels.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Ms. Junko was not only helpful, but well informed and had detailed insight regarding the shrines and temples that we stopped to visit. The tour was enjoyable and entertaining while the guide shared history and details about the areas in which we were moving around. I would prefer to have removed from the list of highlights, the nakamise shopping street and Ginza shopping district because those are only observed momentarily from the bus and would not consider those "highlights of the tour". 8.5 hours seems like a lot however getting to one place to another consumes a lot of time, so strolling and admiring the visiting places are down to a bare minimum, it felt like we were rushing everywhere. On the plus side you do get to relax and cool down at the end while you do the Tokyo Bay cruise, so it was all very positive.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Tour was well coordinated and informative.. The English speaking tour guide was excellent, and knowledgeable. Unfortunately due to the time of year (mid June to mid July) we were rained on. This is an excellent tour for a good overview of the area. The highlight being the visit to the Kannon Temple and Nakamise shopping tour in Asukasa.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The tour was just OK. I would have liked spending more time at Nakamise street and skip the Sumida River cruise. For most of the cruise there was nothiung of much interest to see and then finally about 5 minutes of the cherry blossoms.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The guide didn't say much about the places itself.
In the description of the tour it says that on certain days the Imperial Palace Plaza was visited. I schooled the tour expecting to go there, but that's not what happened.
Nakamise Dori wasn't visited with the tour guide, nothing was explained about that.
Ginza Discrict was the drop-off place only, we didn't go around it.
I wouldn't recommend this tour, it would do any other. There was too much time lost waiting for the tour to start and latter the places were visited in a very fast way.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message