Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Nikko National Park

The Nikko National Park is home to Buddhist shrines, incredible lakes, mountains, and natural beauty. It is renowned for its Botanical Garden, the intricate Iemitsu's Mausoleum, and the Toshogu Shrine, which is the most ornate and lavish shrine in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Amy was great! The only down part of this trip was rainy weather. It would be nice to have a little more free time to shop at the gift shops- that is the only critique I can offer on a otherwise wonderful trip to Nikko.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.
This tour is probably better in the fall so you could see the fall foliage. However, I visited in April and it is still very nice to see the shrine. The waterfall was less than spectacular. The bus dropped us off at Shinjuku at 6:30PM. The trip to Nikko was nice especially if you would like to see the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

FULGENCIO A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must see tour. See one of the very last temple of the shogun, well preserved and a lot of history of Japan in it. We had also a very knowledgeable English speaking tourists guide. Very nice sceneries on the way to Nikko. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Anne, our guide was awesome. She kept us entertained the entire bus ride to Nikko. Nikko itself was a lot of fun and definitely worth doing. The shrine was fun to explore, though there were quite a few stairs to get to the memorial itself. Lunch was also a fun experience though there wasn't much time for souvenir shopping afterwards. During winter, the lake was extremely cold and we were happy getting back on the warm bus after 5 minutes! The waterfall was beautiful too. This was our favorite tour in Japan that we did and would recommend it to others. It was nice to get away from the busyness of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

saz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Long day in the tour bus, however, it is a definite must see!!! Nikko national park is beautiful even in the winter, the toshogu shrine is absolutely stunning, just make sure you are wearing socks for when you have to take your shoes off in some areas, It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Victoria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend the Nikko tour as you get to really see the beauty of Japanese culture. The scenery and temples were beautiful and breathtaking. Our tour guide, Take was very informative and kept us engaged throughout the tour and had a warm personality. We saw wild monkeys that even chased one of the ladies because she got too close while we visited the waterfall and that was one of the most memorable experiences we had.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked a tour to Nikko to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, and it did not disappoint! Toshogu Shrine is a beautiful complex, followed by an excellent lunch, and even though it was very cold and windy, the visits to Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Waterfall were great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Andreas R Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organised tour! During the journey, our guide, who has spoken a very good English, gave us some generell info about Japan and Tokyo and our target Nikko. At Nikko, he gives us info during our visit at Toshogu Shrine via radio, after this, we had enough time for ourselves, for taken pictures etc. We also visited Kegon Falls, but not Lake Chuzenji. Instead of this, instead of this we made a stop at Tamozawa Imperial Villa. Thank You for a great day!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was our favorite day trip from Tokyo. We visited three sites: Toshogu Shrine: the Tamozawa Imperial Villa: and the Kirifuri Waterfall from an observation deck. The Toshygu Shrine at Nikko was awesome. This site with its four hundred year old cedar trees historical in themselves was awesome. This is a must see day trip if you have time while visiting Tokyo..

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful tour. We enjoyed it a lot. I recommend this tour. Nikko is a wonderful place.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Diane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

jillo21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. Atsuko-san was so sweet and accommodating. The lunch was also delicious, and Nikko is breathtaking. It would have been nice to have more time in/around Mt. Nantai, but for a day trip this was nearly perfect.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide Shima was excellent. She was extremely knowledgeable. The sites visited were great. Lunch was very enjoyable. No toilet on the bus, however, the bus stops at pullouts where there are toilets and food. Nikko was great, very pretty. The waterfall had frozen sections which were striking. Long day but worthwhile. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Ivana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was really fun. Nikko is beautiful. But the lunch was terrible. I suggest you to skip the lunch. There are cafes next to the place where the tour take you to have lunch.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Eva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Nikko is one of the most beautifull places in Japan. I visited it in winter time and the landscape with the lake and the waterfall were impressing in all this snow.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Julie Ann G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved our Winter day trip to Nikko. The World Heritage sights are amazing and we had time to explore on our own. Loved the traditional Japanese lunch.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Pauline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour. Nikko was lovely and a beautiful national park. Great tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

arjan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day trip to Nikko!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Do not let the 3 hour travel discourage you. Toshogu is stunning and well worth it alone...the waterfall and imperial residence are just icing on the cake. The guide and driver from JBT (Misako San and Yamamato San) were extremely pleasant,polite and knowlegdable. The tour was well structured with interesting guided portions and then significant free time to explore on your own at each site. Lunch was traditional tempura and iron at a resteraunt in nikko city..and well it was great. Better than any tempura I ever found in the states. I say if you have a day to chill in Tokyo do this over Mt Fujitsu

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Massahide Namba Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nikko has a very gorgeous shrine extremely rich in details. Edo Wonderland is fantastic. Overall great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

FOOK KUAN Y Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Suppose you are given a choice, either Nikko or Mt Fuji tour, I will opt for Nikko tour. Unique attractions, beautiful scenery along the way and good value for your money

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip to Nikko! It actually snowed that day, so be prepared for some unexpected cold weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Kenneth J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The 2 hour drive from Tokyo was worth the effort, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We started the tour at the Toshogu Shrine which is apparently the most lavishly decorated in Japan. In the complex, we also saw the famous carving of the 'three wise monkeys'. After a bit of free time, we headed to the Nikko Tamazawa Imperial Villa, which has been used as a summer villa for the Emperor and his family, now open to the public. Very interesting and beautiful gardens. The day concluded with a visit to the spectacular Kirufuru Falls. The only criticism would be that it was quite late in the day by the time we arrive at the falls, and the light was beginning to fade, though I still managed a few good shots.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Nori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed this trip to Tokyo. I made the right choice to get this Nikko day trip. I love going/seeing world heritage places whenever we travel.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Jeevanan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Other then the long bus jouney, this was an excellent tour. Definitely strongly recommended. Tour guide Shima was excellent her knowledge was wide and she was ever so helpful. Nikko itself is a fabulous place and really enjoyed it very much

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message