Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Nikko National Park

The Nikko National Park is home to Buddhist shrines, incredible lakes, mountains, and natural beauty. It is renowned for its Botanical Garden, the intricate Iemitsu's mausoleum, and the Toshogu Shrine, which is the most ornate and lavish shrine in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour. Nikko was lovely and a beautiful national park. Great tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day trip to Nikko!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Do not let the 3 hour travel discourage you. Toshogu is stunning and well worth it alone...the waterfall and imperial residence are just icing on the cake. The guide and driver from JBT (Misako San and Yamamato San) were extremely pleasant,polite and knowlegdable. The tour was well structured with interesting guided portions and then significant free time to explore on your own at each site. Lunch was traditional tempura and iron at a resteraunt in nikko city..and well it was great. Better than any tempura I ever found in the states. I say if you have a day to chill in Tokyo do this over Mt Fujitsu

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nikko has a very gorgeous shrine extremely rich in details. Edo Wonderland is fantastic. Overall great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Suppose you are given a choice, either Nikko or Mt Fuji tour, I will opt for Nikko tour. Unique attractions, beautiful scenery along the way and good value for your money

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip to Nikko! It actually snowed that day, so be prepared for some unexpected cold weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The 2 hour drive from Tokyo was worth the effort, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We started the tour at the Toshogu Shrine which is apparently the most lavishly decorated in Japan. In the complex, we also saw the famous carving of the 'three wise monkeys'. After a bit of free time, we headed to the Nikko Tamazawa Imperial Villa, which has been used as a summer villa for the Emperor and his family, now open to the public. Very interesting and beautiful gardens. The day concluded with a visit to the spectacular Kirufuru Falls. The only criticism would be that it was quite late in the day by the time we arrive at the falls, and the light was beginning to fade, though I still managed a few good shots.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed this trip to Tokyo. I made the right choice to get this Nikko day trip. I love going/seeing world heritage places whenever we travel.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Other then the long bus jouney, this was an excellent tour. Definitely strongly recommended. Tour guide Shima was excellent her knowledge was wide and she was ever so helpful. Nikko itself is a fabulous place and really enjoyed it very much

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Guide was excellent, knew her stuff and passed it on well in good english, Nikko national park was inspiring and the information provided by the guide was first rate to understand the process of what we were viewing. Again lot of coach travel but worth it, didnot take the lunch option so could walk about and get the true feeling of Nikko and its people. Delayed on return trip due to accident but our guide helped pass the time away making samurai paper hats which was good fun, then teaching use some Japanese. Guide also ensured we were all well aware of how to return to our hotels from the two drop off points in Tokyo. Excelldnt day made by the guide

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour that hits all the major spots you want to see. The tour guide gave some good insight into Japanese customs and daily life. This was the highlight of our trip. Nikko is a must see in Japan!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great guide, very friendly.
Good lunch.
Nikko is worth the trip

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very good tour. Nikko is the place you should visit if you have a very short Tokyo period

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Quite a bit of time spent on the bus, but the tour guide shared a lot of info about Japan along the way.

The places in Nikko we went were very nice. Having already toured Tokyo on a prior trip I wanted to see something away from the big city. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a wonderful trip and truly appreciated the guide's knowledge and enthusiasm. All sites visited were worth it, but I especially liked the Nikko site and wish we had more time at this site.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message