• USD ($)
  • English
Located in Tokyo’s popular Shinjuku ward just north of the world’s busiest rail station, you’ll find a small alley called Omoide Yokocho. The historic alley, known locally as Memory Lane or Piss Alley depending on who you ask, is in fact one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friend and I ended up having a private tour as no-one else on this trip. Our tour guide was great and went the extra mile after the tour had finished by helping me order a suitable gluten free meal in a restaurant nearby. I would recommend this trip as it showed us a different side to Tokyo that my friend and I would probably not have felt comfortable exploring ourselves.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour gets you out and show you even with a language barrier you can navigate this city especially by JR rail +Very helpful guide.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was a man named Take. He spoke about the history of the area and about Japanese culture. We asked him tons of questions. He was so great! Also, I asked him about where to buy kitkat bars and he took me to a few stores to see if they sold them. He also pointed out some good restaurants and karaoke places. Our guide was very knowledgeable, punctual and very polite. He had great English skills and was very easy to understand. I would recommend this tour to get familiar with this area. It can be overwhelming at first because it is very large.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I was so pleased I did this tour. We got to see a nightlife off Tokyo's that we would not have seen or experienced on our own. You get to see and do a lot in two hours! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great walking tour taking us to places we would otherwise not have ventured to. Small group (4) which made the walk very personalised . Recommend.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great English speaking tour guide and a very interesting view of Tokyo

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was a wonderful tour to start our journey in Tokyo. If you are a foregin and want to know more about Japanese culture, this tour is your first choice. Our local guide took us to visit the major department stores, side street pubs, and some of the most popular entertainment centre. I don't want to spoil you what we have seen in this tour, but what I can say is that what you see in this tour will really surprise you about the interesting culture in Japan.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Definitely a trip worth doing to get a look into the inside alleys of Shinjuku and Kabukicho. It would have been nice to have a guide who is more interactive and sharing bits of interesting information. Fluency in English seemed a bit of a problem and maybe this hindered greater interaction

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Daniel
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

After arriving in Tokyo early in the morning, we wanted to check in to our hotel and then get to know the area we were staying in. This tour was fantastic, our guide was friendly and informative and showed us all the different areas. The tour was a great introduction to Tokyo!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Covered some interesting areas in Shinjuku / Kabukicho. Learned a few things I would never have known through online research!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The guide told us nothing about the history of the area, nor did she point out key sites/places of interest, so it was really just a stroll around the Shinjuku in the evening, which I could have done myself! Overall, I was quite disappointed.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Our guide barely uttered a word! A good thing the tour was so visually stimulating - lights everywhere. But more context would have been appreciated. Isn't that what a tour is largely about?

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Our guide was not very informative. Also, she spoke too softly and only one of us could hear her at a time (there were only two of us on the tour). She ended the tour a half an hour early and was not very helpful in recommending a dinner restaurant.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Note from Viator: Hello and thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any issues you may have experienced on the tour. We will contact the tour company and address your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The place was fab. Unfortunately i think out tour guide was in such a hurry. Two of my guests in the trip could not hear what he was saying...
I felt that we could have learned more...

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

The guide was on time and friendly. However, we walked past everything so fast we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. Since, there was just 4 people on the tour I felt it could have been at a slower more enjoyable pace. It would be best to do this neighborhood on your own. We didn't get to go in anywhere.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message