• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

ATTRACTIONS See all

Owaku-dani Valley

Travel about 60 miles (100 kilometers) out of Tokyo and into Kanagawa Prefecture and you’ll find yourself in the Great Boiling Valley of Owaku-dani. The live volcanic valley makes for one of the most enjoyable -- and smelliest -- day trips from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a great experience. The guide was knowledgeable. She was able to provide a lot of information abt Japan:)

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The weather was perfect for us so the views were terrific and we got through all the things promised including a tasty Japanese style meal. The guide was very helpful and did his best for everyone. The driving was very good and the bus trip was therefore comfortable. It was two very long days but a high point of our Japan visit.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was terrific!! I thoroughly enjoyed though was a little rush... Service was commendable as I left my luggage n shopping in the bus when I proceeded to hakone hotel and the tour guide came back n dropped my stuffs

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was simply beautiful. Traveling to and from the peak of Mt. Komagatake was like visiting two worlds. The clear blue sky, verdant peaks and crystal water give way to a hazy ethereal land of mist and wind; a stark contrast that makes the trip really outstanding.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The weather was not as welcoming as the people... It was raining heavily... Overall I enjoyed the trip very much, the arrangement was great and the tour guide + the driver were super... Truly appreciate this journey, especially the vegetarian meal organised by the tour guide, I am very grateful... Thank you...!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour guide was excellent. He knew the area well and did a great job describing the sites and providing background information. He shared his own personal stories about climbing Mt Fuji which were quite interesting. He even sang the Mt Fuji song for us in both English and Japanese. (his name was Take which rhymes with sake) We also enjoyed the tram ride and boat cruise. The hotel in Hakone was clean and we found the staff to be friendly. I would definitely recommend the 2 day tour with Take.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We are very enjoy the trips to Mt. Fuji. Especially thank you very much for our tour guide Miss Emiko Army Nakamura waiting us at the Tokyo Station when we came back from Hakone to help us bought the express train ticket and bring us to the plarform .
My family feel very warmnest and happy to see her waiting us in the station again thank you very much Miss Emiko hope can join your trips again.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A lovely trip. First day you see Fuji, Hakone, Boat and cable car ride. Scenic's are gorgeous (on a sunny day). Bullet train that night (for 1 nighters), or stay overnight. Next day, you're on your own, hard if you don't know Japanese. But the sights are wonderful. I say worth the 2 days.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was really great. Our tour guide Harry was really good and extremely helpful. We had a great time and would highly recomend this tour to everyone visiting Tokyo. The stay in Hakone and visiting the Onsen was the highlight of our trip!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A memorable trip! This is the second time booked for tour in Japan with Viator. Great tour guide and driver. Hotel Kowakien with it's beautiful garden and join on-sen on 3rd floor is an amazing experience! The location with the bus stop infront of hotel make it easy to travel around with free pass provided. Lunch included in tour program at Fuji Q Highland hotel is too small portion but great taste! Over all, we love this trip and look forward to be back again. Suggestion for more choice of hotel to combine with this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We were glad to choose this tour to explore Mt Fuji and Hakone in 2 - day tour. The first day we went to Mt Fuji and Hakone with the tour guide. The second day we were on our own to explore Hakone (accomodation for the first night in Hakone, one day pass in Hakone and JR train pass to Tokyo were included in this tour). Though the tour guide took us to visit Lake Ashi and Hakone National Park in Hakone on the first day, there were many other things to see and do in Hakone. We went to hot spriing bath in the theme park opposite to our hotel and then went to explore other sightseeing places in Hakone. One day tour in Mt Fuji and Hakone is not enjoy, 2 days tour is recommended.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

great tour and our guide was very helpful and informative.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very well organized bus tour. The tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable and great customer service. We learned a lot from the guide on history, environment, political and social aspect of Tokyo and Japan. Strongly recommend to continue this service to tourists. It made up with the usual cloudy and foggy day at the 5th station.
Our side trip around Hakone was great. Some suggestions would be helpful for those tourists that don't speak Japanese: better information on how to take transportation around Hakone to avoid losing the valuable time for the one-day city exploration.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We had a memorable journey to Mount Fuji. The guide was friendly and helpful. He shared many interesting Japanese cultures and he even taught us how to fold beautiful origami Mt Fuji. That was lovely.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message