Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Owaku-dani Valley

Travel about 60 miles (100 kilometers) out of Tokyo and into Kanagawa Prefecture and you’ll find yourself in the Great Boiling Valley of Owaku-dani. The live volcanic valley makes for one of the most enjoyable -- and smelliest -- day trips from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Firstly the tour was great and well organised. Our guide Mr.Hiro was well behaved and tried his best to make the tour memorable. Though we could not view Mt.Fuji due to bad weather, my husband and I were able to enjoy the snow and our time in Hakone. We were well taken care of and the overall experience was enjoyable.

Room for improvement: Day 1: We felt that there could have been a few more sites or tourist attraction that could have been added. Whether Mt.Fuji can be viewed or not there was still time for other places that could have been included. Perhaps the return journey time by Shinkansen can be changed?? The lunch we had was delicious however it was not very fulfilling.

Day 2: We went around Hakone by ourselves as mentioned in the tour following a map given to us. However we felt that it would have been even better if we were given a little more info and a better plan to figure out the route.

Overall two thumbs up to you guys!! The snow, the bullet train ride, the stay was exceptional. We will choose Viator again but we hope that our suggestions will be taken into consideration.

Cheers!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was awesome!! Our guide was great; he was very nice, funny, gave us a lot of information about the locations we were visiting as well as the sights we passed along the way. he also sang us the Mt. Fuji song in Japanese and English! We did so much in two days, and having it all organized for us was wonderful. We visited the Hakone Open Air Museum the 2nd day (free day) and it was amazing. Great tour! Great guide! Great price!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour is a must if you ever visit Tokyo!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good. Both problems - firstly an accident on the Chuo freeway which led to us taking some 80 minutes to go 20 kilometres on Day 1 and led to a tour rearrangement and time compression in the afternoon then on Day 2 the weather closing in about midday when I was in Owakudani, were clearly beyond the control of anybody. Keiko (tour guide Day 1), excellent. However I thought that lunch could have been shortened given the arrival delay.

Peter Roberts

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a great experience. The guide was knowledgeable. She was able to provide a lot of information abt Japan:)

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The weather was perfect for us so the views were terrific and we got through all the things promised including a tasty Japanese style meal. The guide was very helpful and did his best for everyone. The driving was very good and the bus trip was therefore comfortable. It was two very long days but a high point of our Japan visit.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was terrific!! I thoroughly enjoyed though was a little rush... Service was commendable as I left my luggage n shopping in the bus when I proceeded to hakone hotel and the tour guide came back n dropped my stuffs

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was simply beautiful. Traveling to and from the peak of Mt. Komagatake was like visiting two worlds. The clear blue sky, verdant peaks and crystal water give way to a hazy ethereal land of mist and wind; a stark contrast that makes the trip really outstanding.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The weather was not as welcoming as the people... It was raining heavily... Overall I enjoyed the trip very much, the arrangement was great and the tour guide + the driver were super... Truly appreciate this journey, especially the vegetarian meal organised by the tour guide, I am very grateful... Thank you...!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour guide was excellent. He knew the area well and did a great job describing the sites and providing background information. He shared his own personal stories about climbing Mt Fuji which were quite interesting. He even sang the Mt Fuji song for us in both English and Japanese. (his name was Take which rhymes with sake) We also enjoyed the tram ride and boat cruise. The hotel in Hakone was clean and we found the staff to be friendly. I would definitely recommend the 2 day tour with Take.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We are very enjoy the trips to Mt. Fuji. Especially thank you very much for our tour guide Miss Emiko Army Nakamura waiting us at the Tokyo Station when we came back from Hakone to help us bought the express train ticket and bring us to the plarform .
My family feel very warmnest and happy to see her waiting us in the station again thank you very much Miss Emiko hope can join your trips again.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A lovely trip. First day you see Fuji, Hakone, Boat and cable car ride. Scenic's are gorgeous (on a sunny day). Bullet train that night (for 1 nighters), or stay overnight. Next day, you're on your own, hard if you don't know Japanese. But the sights are wonderful. I say worth the 2 days.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was really great. Our tour guide Harry was really good and extremely helpful. We had a great time and would highly recomend this tour to everyone visiting Tokyo. The stay in Hakone and visiting the Onsen was the highlight of our trip!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A memorable trip! This is the second time booked for tour in Japan with Viator. Great tour guide and driver. Hotel Kowakien with it's beautiful garden and join on-sen on 3rd floor is an amazing experience! The location with the bus stop infront of hotel make it easy to travel around with free pass provided. Lunch included in tour program at Fuji Q Highland hotel is too small portion but great taste! Over all, we love this trip and look forward to be back again. Suggestion for more choice of hotel to combine with this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message