Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The neighborhood of Shinjuku, one of 23 city wards in Tokyo, houses a thriving business, entertainment and shopping district centered around Shinjuku Station, the busiest railway station in the world with more than 2 million passengers moving ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day. Filled with historical background and magnificent sights of the shrines and holy places. Our guide was knowledgeable and easy to talk with.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellently organized, knowledgeable guide, interesting sites.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was actually my kids favorite tour. Well organized, our guide took good care of us. The traffic was bad, but that's out of anyone's control. It's a long day, but well worth the time.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip from Tokyo to Mt. Fuji by bus is a long one, but our fantastic guide was so interesting that we hardly noticed. She taught us some Japanese, gave a a brief history of the country, commented on the culture, and explained the superstitions surrounding Mt. Fuji. We went in July, and it was cloudy for most of the morning. We were afraid we wouldn't get to see the peak of the notoriously "shy" mountain. However, we lucked out around 1:00 p.m. during our descent from the 5th station; the sky cleared and Fuji-san made a spectacular appearance! Our guide immediately pulled the bus over and we were able to take a ton of pictures. Please be aware thought that this is often not the case. There is a chance you will not get to view the summit due to constantly changing weather patterns, but the tour is still interesting and fun, especially the cave exploring!

After lunch, which was decent, we separated into a smaller group and were picked up by a different tour company for our forest and ice cave exploration. The forest was beautiful and the caves were amazing! However, you do need a good bit of agility. This is real cave exploring: climbing over rocks, sliding down slopes on your bum, and walking across extremely icy surfaces - all in the dark with just a helmet headlamp! Proper footwear and dexterity are highly recommended, but it is totally worth the effort. The ice formations are amazing, and our guide was funny and so nice. Don't worry about the chill in the caves because the guide provides coveralls to wear over your clothes plus gloves and helmets. We didn't notice the cold, but it was also mid-July and very hot and humid outside. It felt good inside the caves to us!

I highly recommend this tour to the young and agile who want to have a little adventure while learning about Mt. Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Do not let the 3 hour travel discourage you. Toshogu is stunning and well worth it alone...the waterfall and imperial residence are just icing on the cake. The guide and driver from JBT (Misako San and Yamamato San) were extremely pleasant,polite and knowlegdable. The tour was well structured with interesting guided portions and then significant free time to explore on your own at each site. Lunch was traditional tempura and iron at a resteraunt in nikko city..and well it was great. Better than any tempura I ever found in the states. I say if you have a day to chill in Tokyo do this over Mt Fujitsu

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized and ver interesting.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Suppose you are given a choice, either Nikko or Mt Fuji tour, I will opt for Nikko tour. Unique attractions, beautiful scenery along the way and good value for your money

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful place! It took us a few hours to reach by coach, but it was worth the wait. The shrines and temples here are much more colourful than in Kyoto and the Imperial Villa was very interesting. Loved the visit to the waterfall and were very intrigued by the snow monkeys. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and overall a great day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic day. The mountains were out of this world. The guide was good fun

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip to Nikko! It actually snowed that day, so be prepared for some unexpected cold weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Mt. Fuji was incredible as always. This was our first time exploring the cave. We were the only ones to do the cave portion but we had a lot of fun. The cave was beautiful and our guide was great. I wouldn't recommend the cave portion for those who aren't physically able as I was very sore the next day even though I am a runner but it was a ton of fun!

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first time doing this tour and we were the only ones on the tour. Got a lot of individual attention. Seeing the shrines and waterfalls was great. The lunch was delicious and the bus was very comfortable. Would definitely do this tour again! Guide was very informative and we learned a lot just talking to her!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide, Take (like Sake), was wonderful. Very knowledgeable, professional, and courteous. We were thrilled to get out of the city and see some of the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message