The neighborhood of Shinjuku, one of 23 city wards in Tokyo, houses a thriving business, entertainment and shopping district centered around Shinjuku Station, the busiest railway station in the world with more than 2 million passengers moving ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour. got to see a lot of the great things that make Shinjuku such a popular area of Tokyo!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow! This tour was one of the best photo classes I've ever had. The two instructors were great and took us to some prime locations in Shinjuku and Shibuya that provided amazing material to photograph! I've never done anything like this type of tour, and highly recommend it to anyone who comes to Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great! The guide on the bus to Mt Fuji was very informative and provided all sorts of trivia beyond what most people expect on a coach tour. We lucked out and visited Fuji on a super clear day, but cold day. Bundle up nicely if you're going during the autumn/winter months as it's much colder once you start gaining altitude. The stops may be short for some, but keep in mind that the destinations visited are not typically done in one day. The cave was awesome as well. We were provided coveralls and a spelunker's helmet. Watch your step as the cave is frozen year round and the floor collects layers of ice. At one point in the cave, there is 0 visible light, which was thrilling when we all turned off our helmet lights for a few minutes. Our guide Utaemon, who grew up in the area, was very passionate about the nature and local geology of the tour and was very educational. After getting back to Shinjuku we went out on our own and lived it up in the bright city lights. 5 star plus.

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An excellent guide who walked us around the inner workings of Tokyo not generally visited by tourists. We were informed about the history and cultural elements of Shinjuku. We have been Tokyo a few times but have never explored these parts. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. By the end of the tour, you will have walked around the entire city of Shinjuku so wear good walking shoes. It was nice to see the city transform as day turned to night and the lights of this beautiful city came on.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour and particularly found imperial villa interesting. Tour was marred a bit by time it took to get back from Nikko on Sunday evening due to weekend traffic returning to Tokyo - congestion on freeways extended the return journey and didn't get back into Tokyo until after 8.30 pm - and dropped off at locations that some people were not familiar with. Choose another day than a Sunday if possible. The two return journey drop off points were Shinjuku and Ginza - why not return to the start point at Hamamatsucho which participants would be familiar with?

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Definitely a trip worth doing to get a look into the inside alleys of Shinjuku and Kabukicho. It would have been nice to have a guide who is more interactive and sharing bits of interesting information. Fluency in English seemed a bit of a problem and maybe this hindered greater interaction

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

We thought we were being picked up at the hotel but fortunately we didn't have far to walk to the pick up point. Once we arrived at the tour office it was chaotic and had to ask several times about which bus to board. However, once we were settled everything went smoothly. The day was very pleasant and enjoyed the tour and the traditional lunch.The tour finished at Shinjuku station which suited us as we were staying at Shinjuku; however, if you have never been to this station before, make sure the guide gives you specific directions on how to find the JR line platform to return to your hotel. If still in doubt ask someone, as the Japanese are wonderful in helping tourists find where they need to go.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Covered some interesting areas in Shinjuku / Kabukicho. Learned a few things I would never have known through online research!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The guide told us nothing about the history of the area, nor did she point out key sites/places of interest, so it was really just a stroll around the Shinjuku in the evening, which I could have done myself! Overall, I was quite disappointed.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

The guide was increadibly repetitive. For example, when driving thhrough Shinjuku, every sentence started with "Shinjuku is...", instead of varying the commentary with phrases such as "This area..." or "That building...". After a day of this sort of commentary you can imagine how annnoying this was. I just put my iPod on and tried to drown her out. She also made an increadibly insensitive comment that the 4000 homeless people in Tokyo were not a significant issue as they represented a small proportion of the population.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message