Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu

Kamakura makes for a colorful  and cultural day trip from Tokyo. The small city has over 75 temples and shrines, the biggest and most famous of which is the Shrine of Tsuragoaka Hachimangu. The shrine was founded by Minamoto Yoriyoshi in 1063. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francesco P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing trip, location, guide.. everything.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Laurel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Interesting sites visited, tour leader was excellent.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Interesting trip, and enjoyed the visit to the big iron buddha. Lunch was thoughtfully chosen at a local place which specialised in crab- excellent food in a nice hotel. Guide gave us very good service and gave us interesting information not only of the places, but about Japanese culture. Thumbs up and thank you!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Charles W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organized and enjoyable trip, especially Kamakura.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Noel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting tour and had a very good and bubbly tour guide.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide is very knowledgeable, patient and courteous and has made sure that each member of the tour group is well taken care of. Kamakura is beautiful and so is the garden and the palace.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Gargi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was quite comprehensive. Guide knowledgeable and considerate. I enjoyed the trip because it was well organized.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

LIAN SHUHWA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Itinerary is very good and lunch is good too. Very nice trip.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour that included three main sites.: the Great Buddha of Kamakura at Kotoku-in Kamakura's historic Hasedera Temple and the Sankeien Garden in Yokohama. All three sites were well worth the visit. Also, we had an excellent lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Delores S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Katy was fantastic, very friendly, organized and full of great information. The tour bus was clean and comfortable. I do think that advertising Tokyo Bay is overstating what you really get to see from the bus only. Would suggest that not be mentioned.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Anna J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour.Our guide Amiko was super helpful and knowledgeable. The tour is very pretty and plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

bramers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour! Loved it. I would take this tour again anytime!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

James N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

All very well organised, the staff were great, the tour was good. Showed us some things that it would have been difficult for us to see travelling as foreigners. Lunch was surprisingly good. Only down side was that being a tour, you had to follow the fairly tight schedule, so you saw a lot, but at the price of not being able to stop and look at things you might have wanted to.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Pearl P C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, visiting temple, Japanese garden and Chinatown. Our tour guide Noriko is excellent, she has helped make the tour interesting so we followed her even during free time as it is nice to listen to her knowledge of Japanese history and culture. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Alenka Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well organised.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

beathor29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I really loved this tour! It was full of surprises. My absolute favourite was the first temple Hasedera, then the gardens were my second favourite. The great Buddha was impressive, but the rest of the temple wasn't that elaborate compared to others I've seen. Although it is cool that we could go inside the statue for 20 yen only. While we were in Kamakura, I wished that we had gone to Tsurugaoka Hachimangu Shrine as well. Many agreed with me, and I don't think we would have minded to take a bit of extra time to see it, say 30 min or so. Many of us, myself imcluded, were skeptical about China Town in Yokohama, but I was pleasantly surprised! I really enjoyed it. Visit the temple there, it is worth a try! Also, I ate my first nikuman ever there, and it was very good : Good food, good ambiance, very lively place. I would very much recommend this tour :

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fantastic day out to the majestic Kamakura with the huge handsome Buddha and the beautiful Hasedera temple such a peaceful, pretty place. We enjoyed a lovely Japanese lunch followed by a trip past the beaches where lots of young holiday people were enjoying the water. On to the very amazing,gorgeous Sankeien Garden in Yokohama. Such a delight ! then on to China Town in Yokohama which I found quite interesting as i wasn't expecting much there, but glad I went. The day was run like clockwork with a wonderful guide and super safe bus driver. Thank you so much. I Absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Raymond F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a tour not to be missed, there are so many things to see including Yokohama Bay, the lovely gardens, and we were lucky enough to see a traditional Japanese wedding. Having just come off a Princess Cruise I hesitated a tour that went back to Yokohama but it was well worth it and a tour I can recommend. Once again Viator did not disapoint !

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Maria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

very good trip . really enjoyed it with friends made in the tour and my grandson...

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

marissa82662

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a bit crowded when I visited but despite that, the tour was very organized and so it went smoothly. Guide is very accommodating. Enjoyed the tour. Overall, it is a must see place to experience the beauty and culture of Japan. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Stefanie Dion J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

EXCELLENT tour. This was a day chock-full of different types of attractions, from visiting the Great Buddha to traversing peaceful gardens to walking through Kamakura and, later, Chinatown. Excellent and large! traditional Japanese lunch at a lovely beachside hotel. Our guide, Nao, and our driver, Koyagi-san, were both absolutely outstanding. The only downside is that it's only a one-day tour, so you really are rushed through some of the parts of the day. I can understand that, given the time constraints I only wish I could go back and spend more time in places like Chinatown! Either way, fantastic and I would absolutely recommend this to fun-loving travelers.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

ANNA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour and guide excellent.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Lingam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very beautiful place to visit and the lunch was good. It was exceptionally cold on that day 2degs
But somehow we managed the coldness. The tour guide was friendly and helpful during the tour and even guide all of us 1 by 1 on how to return back to our hotel after the drop-off at central station.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Lingam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very beautiful place to visit and the lunch was good. It was exceptionally cold on that day 2degs
But somehow we managed the coldness. The tour guide was friendly and helpful during the tour and even guide all of us 1 by 1 on how to return back to our hotel after the drop-off at central station.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message