Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu

Kamakura makes for a colorful  and cultural day trip from Tokyo. The small city has over 75 temples and shrines, the biggest and most famous of which is the Shrine of Tsuragoaka Hachimangu. The shrine was founded by Minamoto Yoriyoshi in 1063. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a bit crowded when I visited but despite that, the tour was very organized and so it went smoothly. Guide is very accommodating. Enjoyed the tour. Overall, it is a must see place to experience the beauty and culture of Japan. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

EXCELLENT tour. This was a day chock-full of different types of attractions, from visiting the Great Buddha to traversing peaceful gardens to walking through Kamakura and, later, Chinatown. Excellent and large! traditional Japanese lunch at a lovely beachside hotel. Our guide, Nao, and our driver, Koyagi-san, were both absolutely outstanding. The only downside is that it's only a one-day tour, so you really are rushed through some of the parts of the day. I can understand that, given the time constraints I only wish I could go back and spend more time in places like Chinatown! Either way, fantastic and I would absolutely recommend this to fun-loving travelers.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very beautiful place to visit and the lunch was good. It was exceptionally cold on that day 2degs
But somehow we managed the coldness. The tour guide was friendly and helpful during the tour and even guide all of us 1 by 1 on how to return back to our hotel after the drop-off at central station.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very beautiful place to visit and the lunch was good. It was exceptionally cold on that day 2degs
But somehow we managed the coldness. The tour guide was friendly and helpful during the tour and even guide all of us 1 by 1 on how to return back to our hotel after the drop-off at central station.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

awesome...had a great time at Kamakura nad Yokohama

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this trip which was the best of the ones we had in Japan. In no small way this was due to the excellent tour guide, Noriko. She was not only very pleasant and enthusiastic but also very informative not only about the places we visited but about Japanese life in general including Sumo wrestling!
The visits to the shrines, gardens and the lunch were excellent and the only criticism we had was the final half hour in Yokahama China town which we felt was not relevant to the trip.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We love the tour. This is something that you can't use public transportation to get too and I am glad that we signed up for the tour.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip. Lunch was excellent. Chinatown was packed full of people due to public holiday so not great but Kamakura is a must see and worth the trip ticket alone.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a good day trip, the Budha visit was very good with a mix of information and free time. My family and I enjoyed the visit to the Sankeien Garden that was very nice mix of nature and the old way of life in Japan's history. We had a good amount of free time there. Just a shame the weather was so awful, bitterly cold and wet. We were able to leave the tour at the electric City area which meant we could do extra in the day, an added bonus. Our tour guide was very nice and very entertaining. Overall a very positive experience despite the weather doing its worst.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful place to see gorgeous views; must visit when visiting tokyo

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well organised day with lots packed in. Helpful guides and a really nice lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Amy, was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable and shared so much information every minute and step of the tour. The selected sites are fascinating. I learned so much. Any and Viator took every extra measure necessary to ensure guests had an optimal experience.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Japanese people are very organized. So no need for more coments. Tour is fantastic.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great guide. Wish we had more time to see Kamakura and China Town. The lunch wasn't great. Good trip overall

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

davidfyl
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was super.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

one of the best day tours we have done all over the world

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guides are great. Well organized!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour - very informative . Guide was excellent. Lunch was great. We loved every minute of it. Highly recommend this tour to everyone..

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide, Take, was excellent making jokes while guiding the tour. We went to Hasedera Temple first, then walked down the street to see the Great Buddha. I don't recommend this for anyone with walking issues since there are a fair amount of stairs up to the Temple and walking on the street to the buddha.

After that we went to Yokohama for the Chinese lunch in Chinatown. I had the vegetarian meal which was excellent. The view from the restaurant to the harbour is beautiful. We had time to shop in Chinatown and see a beautiful Temple at the end of the street. We then drove to Sankeien Garden to see a Samurai house and beautiful bridge and gardens. The tour disbands at either Ginza station or Shinjuku Station. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an interesting tour to see a different town outside Tokyo. Good commentary along the way. Especially nice to visit the large Budda. The included lunch was in a nice restaurant on top on an office building, which gave a fine view of the bay and the city. You had a choice of meat or vegetarian lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message