Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Studio Ghibli Museum

The Studio Ghibli Museum houses art and animation from the world-class Hayao Miyazaki's Studio Ghibli, which produced the films Spirited Away , Princess Mononok e, and Howl’s Moving Castle . With stand-out architecture, wonderful film showings, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great afternoon for Ghibli fans! The museum is really well laid out and having an Engliah speaking guide to point out all the little quirky things and explain the exhibits was really helpful. Plus it made getting there a lot easier if you're still struggling to get to grips with the transport systems in Japan!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

im terrible at remembering names, and i feel really bad because our guide was fantastic! very knowledgeable about all thing ghibli, especially Totoro which was her favourite movie. You need to spend a lot of time here going through each room, the animation books, the displays, everything is just amazing especially if you are a studio ghibli fan like me! i couldnt contain my joy!!! the souvenir shop is jam packed with shoppers, in other tokyo toy stores i have been to, there was a range of studio ghibli memorabilia. so dont stress if you miss out. overall a great tour accompanied by a great guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, guide was so helpful after the tour to get us to where we wanted to go. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I recommend if you love animation or are traveling with children. You need to purchase tickets ahead of time in advance anyway and they sell out frequently, so purchasing this with a tour that helps you travel to and from the location is convenient. Also, the descriptions inside are all in Japanese so if you want to know what they say, having the tour guide to translate is very convenient. You cannot take pictures inside the museum, but there are some wonderful locations outside for you to view.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Honda was awesome. Extremely polite and made sure that we got to the Ghibli museum together. She also bought us a little gift at the shop as the Ghibli movie that was shown changed from what was advertised. The tour/museum was brilliant, I was just gutted that you had to be under 12 to play on the giant cat bus (I'm 30!). I would go back again if I'm ever in Tokyo and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter was in awe. She loved it!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely worth it. Our tour guide Yoko was great.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Beautiful museum, very entertaining tour, including the use of public transportation.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a tour I was looking forward to. The guide was energetic and knowleageable. She got us from Shinjuku to Mitaka and to the museum in a organized way and back. The museum itself only takes about 40 minutes to walk through. There is a short film that's 10 minutes you can view later on as well. The only problem is the museum has alot of activity with kids and classes visiting so it makes it hard to hear the guide and what they're saying, especially in a large group. Large can be just 12 people. It makes it hard to hear if the guide doesn't yell or have a big voice. We had ample free time to explore the museum on our own and visit the gift shop after the initial walk through with the guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

great way to get into the Ghibil museum if you're unable to get tickets yourself

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really fun, a must if you're a fan of Ghibli or animation in general. A lot of interesting stuff to see, plus a neat little bookshop and souvenir store. We're planning on going back in a few years with our first child so he/she can play in the catbus :D

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is a must do tour. Well organised and fascinating museum for fans.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My tour guide was excellent. I hope to come back one day!! :)

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a fun and personal afternoon tour to a very magical place. We had a group of 15 people, and most of them were Ghibli enthusiast. Naoko, our guide, she is very nice and informative. She gave us 1 hour free time after the tour, we mostly spent it on the museum shop and watching Ghibli's short film in the theater. Would be lovely to have another extra 30 minutes to sit down and have coffee/tea at the museum's cafe.
Overall, i totally recommend this, this museum is magical especially for those who grew up with Ghibli's lovely characters.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message