• USD ($)
  • English
The Sumida River surrounds Tokyo, and is a great place to go on a cruise or boat tour. Going under bridges, viewing the Tokyo Tower, and passing Shinto shrines are just some of the sights that you’ll see while riding on the Sumida River. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

KEVIN C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is wonderful tour to take as you get to see Tokyo in a short timeframe. Although it rained for most of the tour the sun came out as we cruised on the Sumida River.

Our tour guide was wonderful

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of useful information about Tokyo throughout the trip, he even taught us how to count to ten in Japanese. The trip was a great way to see some of the sights of Tokyo. The world trade centre and Asakusa were particularly good. The boat trip was ok but a bit boring. However it was nice to say that we had sailed on the Sumida river. We would definitely recommend this short trip to anyone visiting Tokyo for a few days.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The Tokyo Tower has some lovely views.The Tea ceremony was short and sweet. The Sumida River Tour was great. Nothing like a map to follow along and figure out where you actually are in huge disorienting city. Oh please be aware when the tour is finished up you get your self back to the hotel. There will be 2 drops offs and the Tour guides are awesome getting oriented with maps and plan.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour of Tokyo. The visit to the top of the World Trade Buildsing was really marvellous with a full 360 degree view of Tokyo from 40 floors up! The brief stop at the Imperial Gardens was very enjoyable, with some super views of the outer de moat area of the Imperial Palace. We loved the tour's inclusion of a Shrine and street market where there were lots of tempting Japanese souvenirs.... The Sumida River cruise was a wonderful way to end the tour with spectacular views of the Tokyo waterfront. The guide was a lovely person, highly informative and willing to answer all kinds of questions put to her!
For us, this was a super introduction to Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour is highly recommended. If you've been to the Eiffel Tower, Empire State Building and any other significant highrise, then the views are similar. If you want a free view of the city, I'd recommended the Tokyo Government Metropolitan building in Shinjuku since the observatory deck is free and gives you a similar view.

The tea ceremony was a good experience if you want to observe and participate in one of Japan's traditions. You only get a sampling of the tea - which is green and frothy, but as with most Japanese teas, has a bitter after taste. When attending this ceremony, participants are asked to be respectful and abide with the local tradition. The teahouse is also surrounded by a garden, so it's best to go there during Spring or Fall. There is a 300+ and 500+ year old bonsai tree on the premises, so make sure to ask the tour guide if you are interested in seeing them.

The lunch was one of the highlights of the tour - it states a "BBQ" lunch, so don't be deceived if you are used to the concept of an American BBQ. It's actually a hibachi-style lunch, a la Benihana, but not with the volcano or cutting shows. The food is freshly prepared in front of you, so it's definitely worth the experience and was the best lunch out of all 3 tours I took in Japan.

The Sumida River cruise started at the Port of Tokyo to Asakusa, where you will be given about 50 min to an hour to browse around the local shops and bakeries. Most of the vendors do not accept credit cards, so if you want to shop for souvenirs and sweets to take home, make sure you have enough yen on you. Since there is a limited amount of free time in this shopping area, make sure you have a plan of action since the tour bus leaves timely.

Lastly, the tour ends at Tokyo station, and you are responsible for finding your own way back. The guide will help you with directions but you will need to have enough money to return by train/subway. Overall - it was a good tour if you are short on tiime.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was our first time to experience tea ceremony in Japan. It was a very different experience for us and we were also very lucky to see a pre-wedding shots for Japanese with traditional Japanese wedding dress. Make sure to check out the spaceship cruise in Sumida River.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Catherine C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour covers most of Tokyo's attractions especially if you have limited time. It starts at the Tokyo Tower where you can have a panoramic view of Tokyo's Skyline then go to Happo-en Japanese Garden and participate in a Japanese Tea Ceremony which was something unique for me. The Happo-en Garden is quite an attraction in itself being a favorite venue for Japanese weddings.. From there we went to have lunch in Chinzanso Tokyo Garden Hotel located somewhere in the outskirts of the city with beautiful sakura in the garden and lining the Kanda River at the back. We had a taste of Japanese barBQ done right in front of us on our table! And we were all made to wear an oversized bib! Had to have pics taken!. From there, we went around to the Imperial Palace grounds to have a photo stop notwithstanding the rain. Then we hurried to the pier for our Sumida River Cruise. Although it was raining, the view on both sides were still visible. It was just too crowded for comfort!. We were glad to disembark near the ASAKUSA to see the temple and the busy Nakamise St where we bought some souvenirs in a hurry. The Tokyo Skytree can also be seen from Asakusa.. After that we were dropped off in GINZA for shopping and /or go back on our own to our hotels.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I had already taken the Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour the day before and this one recapped a few of the places we went to. The new additions that were different from the day tour was the viewing from the observation floor of the World Trade Center building and the boat ride up the Sumida River. The one plus about this tour was it wasn't as rushed as the Panoramic Day tour. Just because it wasn't so rushed was a big plus and in many ways more preferable to the day tour. However, the afternoon tour did not go to the Meiji Shinto shrine which was quite beautiful and deserves a repeated viewing.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was a well organised trip. We had an absolutely fantastic Tour Guide who kept us on track the whole day and was extremely informative. We were lucky whilst at the Tea Ceremony it was the first Saturday in June so there were 2 wedding ceremonies with bride, groom and wedding party in traditional wedding clothes. The only down side to the day I felt was the Sumida River Cruise, it was not worth having on the trip as all we were seeing were the same buildings from the river that we had seen all day, and if there was commentating on the boat I did not hear it. But over all well worth the money and i hope I am as lucky if I book with Viator again.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Overall this was an exceptional experience and certainly worth the money if it's your first visit to Tokyo as it was for us. Certainly Viator couldn't help that the day was overcast and occassionally rainy, but that only impeded the views and not fun of the day. Despite the weather, Tokyo Tower was still quite thrilling. The tea ceremony and surrounding gardens were beautiful and engaging. Our lunch at the Four Seasons was delicious. The only reason I did not give this review 5 stars was the Sumida River Cruise which I found disappointing and unimpressive. I suppose when one books a river cruise, you expect some level of scenic appeal. This had none. I felt like we were cruising down an industrial waste stream. Anyway, the tour would have been that much better without the cruise in my opinion. Our guide was wonderful though. Great sense of humor and very personable.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

good thing we chose the afternoon tour as it was bright and sunny. we were able to see the skyscrapers along the sumida river. the guide was good, gave us lots of information from the start till the end of the tour. He was also friendly and smiling face. :-)

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

KLG
USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The trip was great. We had a wonderful, knowledgeable guide. My least favorite section of the tour was the Sumida River Cruise. The boat was jammed and I didn't (couldn't) take pictures. I especially enjoyed lunch and the location.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This was a very good day tour. Guide was knowledgeable and personable and we were able to see the major sights in Tokyo. Tea ceremony and lunch were also very enjoyable. We were only in Tokyo for 4 days, so this was perfect. Only disappointment was the cancellation of the Sumida River Cruise due to windy conditions and high tides.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Nice trip, especially if you're short of time. The guide was excellent. I've lived in Tokyo for almost three years and she told me things about the city I didn't know. Lunch choice was great. Sumida River cruise wasn't much. You simply sit on a people barge with hundreds of your Japanese friends and ride up the river. Scenery on the river isn't much to look at. Tokyo tower was nice.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

This tour was worth it. The tour guide was quite informative and spoke English well. She also used good visual aids to make sure we understood what she was talking about. here was a Women's marathon the day of our tour and we ended up waiting 50 minutes at one block because of this. Due to this we missed our scheduled Sumida cruise and had to take the next cruise out. What this meant is that we ended up having less time at our last stop stopping at the Asakusa shopping arcade. However, the overall tour was very good and I would recommend this tour for anyone traveling to Tokyo for the first time.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message