Opened in May 2012, Tokyo's newest landmark, the Tokyo Skytree, has entered the record books as the world's second tallest building. A broadcasting tower that houses a restaurant, a café and two observation decks, Tokyo Skytree towers above ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An amazing tour, loved evey bit of it. The temples and the skytree was amazing

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

First class in every way. Knowledgable guide, appropriate sites, very comfortable coach and the Skytree was a perfect conclusion to the day.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip to do which gives you a run around the key sites in Tokyo (it doesn't stop - so if you want to visits these, you'll have to do that separately), to give you a good orientation.

Having been here before, it was nice to sit back and enjoy the view before getting to Asakusa for the first stop and a bit of temple viewing. There's also a great little row of shops to pick up some nice souvenirs of Japan.

The main reason I did this trip was for the Skytree and the fact the groups jump the queue!!! We we in, and up very quickly for stunning views, just at sunset for both a day and night view of Tokyo and beyond. The queue to go to the upper level was very short, so I paid the extra Y1000 (not included) to go up to 450m.

Great trip, with a very good guide throughout - I made my own way back so I had more time to enjoy the amazing shopping and restaurants below the tower. Do this trip, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice tour with an enjoyable guide who had many details and stories to tell. And the best of all: The ticket to the Skytree is included. Hence, there is no queuing at all. Just straight to the top of this amazing tower. As the Skytree is the last stop of the tour, you are on top around 5:30pm. If you have time, I recommend staying at the Skytree until sunset. Tokyo is so adorable, when the lights turn on.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tokyo Skytree is not so easy to visit alone, because of the entrance process. It can take time, you can wait a lot and this tour makes it easy and confortable.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Asakusa Temple is a must-see place in Tokyo. There are shops nearby for food and souvenirs. The tall pagoda is also nice for photo ops. The Tokyo Skytree is the latest attraction in Tokyo and the highest tower in the world. We went up the view deck in the super fast elevator and enjoyed the sight of Tokyo and its surroundings from high above. People can also choose to go to the higher view deck for an additional fee, but we did not go there anymore. The Central Tokyo sightseeing was just from the moving bus. Our tour guide was fluent in English and very knowledgeable about the place and its history.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Contrasting the fantastic old with the amazing new in 'must sees' in Tokyo is the theme of this tour. The temple and shopping at Asakusa are absolute 'musts' in Tokyo, especially if you don't have the time to get to Kyoto when you are in Japan. I know lots of business and conference visitors have very little time for sightseeing, but this is the beauty of this tour: you get to see ancient and modern Japan in a very short time and still have plenty of time for those fantastic souvenirs. The temple at Asakusa is amazing, and the guide provided great background information which really introduced you to the culture and religions of Japan. Near Asakusa, is a great, very old shopping strip full of very good quality souvenirs. There is your usual tourist souvenirs, but if you want that high quality Kimono at a teasonable price, you'll find it here in no time. Everything was of excellent quality. After seeing the old and ancient Japan, you get to see the amazing Tokyo SkyTree. If you went by yourself, you could wait a very long time in queues, but the beauty of this tour, is that you don't wait long at all, as they have a group booking. This is really great when you are on a tight schedule. The view from the SkyTree is amazing, and the building itself is a wonder of Japanese design, technology and engineering. The guide on this tour also provded ,any insights into Japanese culture durimg the tour, and was very pleased to answer all of your questions about Japan or where to buy that special item. If you only have an afternoon to spare in Tokyo, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Got an idea of Tokyo on my first visit.
The Skytree tower was really excellent.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall good tour. The Skytree was a bit of a disappointment but that had nothing to do with the tour or the guide the weather wasn't great

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide (Junko) very pleasant and spoke excellent English and was very good explaining about the sights seen along the way. We were very rushed during our visit to the Asakusa temple and adjoining markets, perhaps if the tour started earlier there would be more time. Very well organised and a minimum of waiting at the Skytree tower. We were familiar with boarding the train for our return to Shinjuku and did not need help but Junko took the time to help others who were unsure of what to do. Very good tour for the money.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The guide Mai was good. Lots of interesting notes presented along the way to Asakusa. Skytree was a tad disappointing thanks to super hazy conditions. Visibility was too poor to see beyond few blocks. Ending the trip far away from hotel at rush hour with two young ones. Tough.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Can't fault the guide so informative and knowledgeable, the tour was great Asakusa stunning Temple, got to shop around the various stalls around the Temple, Skytree brilliant views you have to go to the 450m floor but if you arrive late you might not be able to get to the top as it is very busy, luckily my party was able to stay for longer as we arranged to leave the group their and make our own way back, would have been 5 star, but would be great if the Sightseeing tour did a couple of stops for Pictures, I ended up going back to certain places on the subway to get pictures

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great way to get your bearings around Tokyo - the Asakusa temple is a must as is the skytree

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Was good - especially in terms of the Tokyo Skytree which you have to queue endlessly for if you weren't on this tour.

However for everything else, you could probably see for free and with a tour book.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Beverley M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This was an excellent tour for what I really wanted which was priority entry to the Skytree. Not only did I not have to stand in a long line to get tickets but as a pre-booked group we also by passed a very long line waiting to board the elevators. The group also had priority parking right behind the temple in Asakusa which meant we had more time to see the sights.

I was a little disappointed that these were the only two actual stops. I had not realised we would just drive past the other sights on the coach. Not very good for photos especially if you are on the wrong side! It did mean I had to make a trip to go see the Imperial Palace another day.

There is an option at the end of the tour to stay at the Skytree. I recommend this as there are many shops and food options (as well as an Aquarium which I did not visit) The Skytree has access to the subway so easy to get back under your own steam. Also a shuttle bus which went straight to Tokyo Station if you are staying in that area.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message