Built in 1617 to deify Ieyasu Tokugawa, founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate - the family that ruled Japan for over 250 years until 1868, the Toshogu Shrine differentiates itself from other Shinto Shrines with a wide palette of colors and lavish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best Tour of the whole trip it's a must do. There is a lot of walking but its well worth it. The lunch was incredible, tasted things I've never had before. The places and scenery were spectacular.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very well organized tour with excellent itinerary and good lunch.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Edo Wonderland really lives up to its' name. Beautiful and amazing place!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Ala E
Kuwait

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The beauty and rich culture of Japan in one day? Sure, and the knowledgable tour guide provided a rich set of information regarding all aspects of the trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best trips we have ever done. The Shrine is spectacular and unbelievable. The tour guide is extremely knowledgeable and gave us an excellent information about the sites we visited. This is a very scenic place and I strongly recommend taking the trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour. Nikko was lovely and a beautiful national park. Great tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed the tour a lot although I was really looking forward to seeing the Futarasan Jinja up close but we just passed it by bus. The tour guide was amazing, informative and very polite. The only drawback was the lack of lunch options but that did not bother me at all.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day trip to Nikko!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day. Filled with historical background and magnificent sights of the shrines and holy places. Our guide was knowledgeable and easy to talk with.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellently organized, knowledgeable guide, interesting sites.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was actually my kids favorite tour. Well organized, our guide took good care of us. The traffic was bad, but that's out of anyone's control. It's a long day, but well worth the time.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Do not let the 3 hour travel discourage you. Toshogu is stunning and well worth it alone...the waterfall and imperial residence are just icing on the cake. The guide and driver from JBT (Misako San and Yamamato San) were extremely pleasant,polite and knowlegdable. The tour was well structured with interesting guided portions and then significant free time to explore on your own at each site. Lunch was traditional tempura and iron at a resteraunt in nikko city..and well it was great. Better than any tempura I ever found in the states. I say if you have a day to chill in Tokyo do this over Mt Fujitsu

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message