• USD ($)
  • English
Built in 1617 to deify Ieyasu Tokugawa, founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate - the family that ruled Japan for over 250 years until 1868, the Toshogu Shrine differentiates itself from other Shinto Shrines with a wide palette of colors and lavish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful place! It took us a few hours to reach by coach, but it was worth the wait. The shrines and temples here are much more colourful than in Kyoto and the Imperial Villa was very interesting. Loved the visit to the waterfall and were very intrigued by the snow monkeys. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and overall a great day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic day. The mountains were out of this world. The guide was good fun

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip to Nikko! It actually snowed that day, so be prepared for some unexpected cold weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first time doing this tour and we were the only ones on the tour. Got a lot of individual attention. Seeing the shrines and waterfalls was great. The lunch was delicious and the bus was very comfortable. Would definitely do this tour again! Guide was very informative and we learned a lot just talking to her!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide, Take (like Sake), was wonderful. Very knowledgeable, professional, and courteous. We were thrilled to get out of the city and see some of the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour departs from the hamamatsucho bus terminal. Getting to the terminal is pretty easy either by taxi or by train. The tour departed on time, it took about 2:30 hours to get there but we had a rest stop in the middle. The tour guide (Take like Sake) was very nice, attentive and helpful. Good English skills, it was easy to understand what he said. When we got to the national park he took us around and explain everything to us after that gave us an hour to look around by ourselves. After leaving the park we went to have our traditional Japanese lunch (not bad). Finally, we went to see the Kirifuri waterfall (awesome view). Overall this trip was a Very Good experience, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeable, personable and overall really lovely on both tours we took. We always enjoy our tours with Viator even when we are in Europe. Thank you!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The 2 hour drive from Tokyo was worth the effort, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We started the tour at the Toshogu Shrine which is apparently the most lavishly decorated in Japan. In the complex, we also saw the famous carving of the 'three wise monkeys'. After a bit of free time, we headed to the Nikko Tamazawa Imperial Villa, which has been used as a summer villa for the Emperor and his family, now open to the public. Very interesting and beautiful gardens. The day concluded with a visit to the spectacular Kirufuru Falls. The only criticism would be that it was quite late in the day by the time we arrive at the falls, and the light was beginning to fade, though I still managed a few good shots.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good tour. Exellent tour guide.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed this trip to Tokyo. I made the right choice to get this Nikko day trip. I love going/seeing world heritage places whenever we travel.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

THIS TOUR IS EXCELLENT! THE RAIN SPOILD A BIT INSIDE THE PARK BUT OVERALL WAS FANTASTIC!. ITS A EXPERIENCE SEEING THE GEISHA and PLAYING NINJA IN THIS PARK. IF YOU HAVE KIDS OF FAMILY TRAVELING IN JAPAN, THIS TOUR IS ONE I RECOMMEND. I'LL TELL YOU, IT MAKES YOU FEEL YOUR ARE IN THIS EDO ERA. THE TOUR TIME WAS PERFECT EXCEPT THE FEW RAIN THAT DROPPED WHEN WE ARRIVE IN THE AFTERNOON BUT IT WAS OK COZ IT WAS HOT and HUMID . TRAVELLER: BENJIE FROM SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very well organized tour course.Lunch was warm and delicious. Very kind guide.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Such a beautiful place to see. Tour was well put together! Loved the traditional style lunch. Our guide was great!!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great sightseeing day. It was a nice, crisp Fall day and scenic with the leaves changing. Our guide was Yasushi, he was great and very knowledgeable. The lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message