Built in 1617 to deify Ieyasu Tokugawa, founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate - the family that ruled Japan for over 250 years until 1868, the Toshogu Shrine differentiates itself from other Shinto Shrines with a wide palette of colors and lavish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 288 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Do not let the 3 hour travel discourage you. Toshogu is stunning and well worth it alone...the waterfall and imperial residence are just icing on the cake. The guide and driver from JBT (Misako San and Yamamato San) were extremely pleasant,polite and knowlegdable. The tour was well structured with interesting guided portions and then significant free time to explore on your own at each site. Lunch was traditional tempura and iron at a resteraunt in nikko city..and well it was great. Better than any tempura I ever found in the states. I say if you have a day to chill in Tokyo do this over Mt Fujitsu

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organized and ver interesting.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nikko has a very gorgeous shrine extremely rich in details. Edo Wonderland is fantastic. Overall great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Suppose you are given a choice, either Nikko or Mt Fuji tour, I will opt for Nikko tour. Unique attractions, beautiful scenery along the way and good value for your money

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful place! It took us a few hours to reach by coach, but it was worth the wait. The shrines and temples here are much more colourful than in Kyoto and the Imperial Villa was very interesting. Loved the visit to the waterfall and were very intrigued by the snow monkeys. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and overall a great day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic day. The mountains were out of this world. The guide was good fun

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip to Nikko! It actually snowed that day, so be prepared for some unexpected cold weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first time doing this tour and we were the only ones on the tour. Got a lot of individual attention. Seeing the shrines and waterfalls was great. The lunch was delicious and the bus was very comfortable. Would definitely do this tour again! Guide was very informative and we learned a lot just talking to her!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide, Take (like Sake), was wonderful. Very knowledgeable, professional, and courteous. We were thrilled to get out of the city and see some of the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour departs from the hamamatsucho bus terminal. Getting to the terminal is pretty easy either by taxi or by train. The tour departed on time, it took about 2:30 hours to get there but we had a rest stop in the middle. The tour guide (Take like Sake) was very nice, attentive and helpful. Good English skills, it was easy to understand what he said. When we got to the national park he took us around and explain everything to us after that gave us an hour to look around by ourselves. After leaving the park we went to have our traditional Japanese lunch (not bad). Finally, we went to see the Kirifuri waterfall (awesome view). Overall this trip was a Very Good experience, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgeable, personable and overall really lovely on both tours we took. We always enjoy our tours with Viator even when we are in Europe. Thank you!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The 2 hour drive from Tokyo was worth the effort, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We started the tour at the Toshogu Shrine which is apparently the most lavishly decorated in Japan. In the complex, we also saw the famous carving of the 'three wise monkeys'. After a bit of free time, we headed to the Nikko Tamazawa Imperial Villa, which has been used as a summer villa for the Emperor and his family, now open to the public. Very interesting and beautiful gardens. The day concluded with a visit to the spectacular Kirufuru Falls. The only criticism would be that it was quite late in the day by the time we arrive at the falls, and the light was beginning to fade, though I still managed a few good shots.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good tour. Exellent tour guide.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message