Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Toshogu Shrine

Built in 1617 to deify Ieyasu Tokugawa, founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate - the family that ruled Japan for over 250 years until 1868, the Toshogu Shrine differentiates itself from other Shinto Shrines with a wide palette of colors and lavish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip was taken in mid-winter, and even then, it was beautiful. It is a long drive to get there, running into traffic jams to get back to Tokyo, but well worth it. Lunch was so-so.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

grbaker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A most wonderful day trip and well organised. We enjoyed our experience very much and the lunch was amazing, a truly Japanese experience. We took the most awesome photos of the park, temples and lake and our guide was positive, friendly and clear in his explanations and organisation for the day. We would recommend this trip because it is so interesting to leave the city and drive out into the beautiful National Park where nature abounds. Loved It.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Anne, our guide was awesome. She kept us entertained the entire bus ride to Nikko. Nikko itself was a lot of fun and definitely worth doing. The shrine was fun to explore, though there were quite a few stairs to get to the memorial itself. Lunch was also a fun experience though there wasn't much time for souvenir shopping afterwards. During winter, the lake was extremely cold and we were happy getting back on the warm bus after 5 minutes! The waterfall was beautiful too. This was our favorite tour in Japan that we did and would recommend it to others. It was nice to get away from the busyness of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

saz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Long day in the tour bus, however, it is a definite must see!!! Nikko national park is beautiful even in the winter, the toshogu shrine is absolutely stunning, just make sure you are wearing socks for when you have to take your shoes off in some areas, It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Victoria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend the Nikko tour as you get to really see the beauty of Japanese culture. The scenery and temples were beautiful and breathtaking. Our tour guide, Take was very informative and kept us engaged throughout the tour and had a warm personality. We saw wild monkeys that even chased one of the ladies because she got too close while we visited the waterfall and that was one of the most memorable experiences we had.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is good. Edo Wonderland is a much if you want to see Geishas and Maikos in their kimonos and Samurai. It's a traditional Japanese theme park where they have shows to enjoy including comedy show in JAPANESE that we didn't understand any word haha! You also get to do Japanese traditional activities.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Janice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great day - scenery is spectacular especially the lake. we will go back someday

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked a tour to Nikko to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, and it did not disappoint! Toshogu Shrine is a beautiful complex, followed by an excellent lunch, and even though it was very cold and windy, the visits to Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Waterfall were great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

hanna.breiman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

the tour was well organized, the tour guide was very helpful and gave us all the needed information. the meal was very special and tasty.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Kevin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Started off a little confusing at the pick up point / transfer bus station once the tour began though the guide and bus driver were excellent . Later in the day the rain spoiled what would have been a outstanding day . All in all a very good value with the staff that day .

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Andreas R Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organised tour! During the journey, our guide, who has spoken a very good English, gave us some generell info about Japan and Tokyo and our target Nikko. At Nikko, he gives us info during our visit at Toshogu Shrine via radio, after this, we had enough time for ourselves, for taken pictures etc. We also visited Kegon Falls, but not Lake Chuzenji. Instead of this, instead of this we made a stop at Tamozawa Imperial Villa. Thank You for a great day!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Andreas R Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organised tour! During the journey, our guide, who has spoken a very good English, gave us some generell info about Japan and Tokyo and our target Nikko. At Nikko, he gives us info during our visit at Toshogu Shrine via radio, after this, we had enough time for ourselves, for taken pictures etc. We also visited Kegon Falls, but not Lake Chuzenji. Instead of this, instead of this we made a stop at Tamozawa Imperial Villa. Thank You for a great day!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

CGV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour visiting a beautiful temple with amazing buildings and grounds, the Imperial Villa and waterfall... Tour was very well organized and presented, lunch was excellent, Highly recommend this tour, I thought it was the highlight of our time spent in Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was our favorite day trip from Tokyo. We visited three sites: Toshogu Shrine: the Tamozawa Imperial Villa: and the Kirifuri Waterfall from an observation deck. The Toshygu Shrine at Nikko was awesome. This site with its four hundred year old cedar trees historical in themselves was awesome. This is a must see day trip if you have time while visiting Tokyo..

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good trip, very nice guide and good comfortable bus. It was a long trip, that was the only downside, but we have seen some Amazing views here. Edo wonderland is also fun, especially for my 8 year old son!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Kweihwa Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was well organized. Tour guide was excellent. Lunch was superb.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

sratojesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good overview of tokyo. Regret on meal havent consider our child althougt we register her on reservation. Tour guide was great ms Narimo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

gary b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was there during a typhoon so the weather was terrible. That was not the fault of Sunrise tours though. Tour guide was nice and the meal we were served at lunch was awesome.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Brian H T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well balanced
Good value

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful tour. We enjoyed it a lot. I recommend this tour. Nikko is a wonderful place.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Doru A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A long day worth spending. The tour was very well organized and the guide was professional and knowledgeable, like all the tour guides in Japan.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Maria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great time with my grandson

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Diane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A definate must if you're in tokyo. Not only do get to drive on the iroha slopes, but also get to the amazing blue lake at the top of the mountain.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Sarah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour , amazing tour guide as well , too informative.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message