Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Tsukiji Fish Market

The Tsukiji Fish Market is the largest wholesale fish market in the world. Located in central Tokyo, it handles over 2,000 tons of sea products a day. Because of the huge and rare fish available, and the busy atmosphere, the Tsukiji market is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour is done by a pair of freelance-tour guides, they recently opened up a school teaching English as a second-language, which goes to show how passionate they are in this service.

The Quraz Building isn’t hard to find at all because it’s right above Kachidoki Station. , with free wifi in the Tokyo metro lines, you are able to whatsapp the guides if you expect to be late.

First of all they will assign you one bike and teach you how to lock the bike with their password locks. Then they gave us five minutes of adjusting to the bike. The bikes we rode around are well-maintained foldable bikes. The foldable-bike I rode on was quite comfortable, and it even comes with a cute complementary mineral-water bottle on a bottle-holder. (I recommend that you need to at least know HOW to ride a bike because being unable to means you are gonna slow everyone down.)

The tour to Tsukiji Market involves walking along the food-street where you can buy really good Tamago sticks and grilled Oyster. It started to rain a little and the tour guides were quite prepared for that and gave us all ponchos for us to wear. Luckily the rain didn’t last very long and we were able to continue the tour while wearing our ponchos. There IS a heavy-rain alternative where we could travel by public transport but JUST HOPE this doesn’t happen…

Anyway don’t mean to spoil anything for you fellas but do expect crossing the Rainbow Bridge where many breathtaking photos can be taken and riding along the pier in Odaiba, where EVEN more photo-opportunities can be taken… The guide on the history, background and upcoming sights in the surroundings were quite well-done and prepared. The couple doesn’t mind being asked to repeat if you miss it. Their English is very fluent too!

Throughout the journey across Tokyo and the sea, the guides will cycle on both ends of the group for our safety.

There’s much more to just a bike tour, I rate it 5 stars for a very relaxing, non-rushed bike tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Bike: Tsukiji Market and Odaiba Including Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A little rushed at the start but the sushi making was brilliant. It covers everything including filleting fish. We completed it early and had the opportunity to go back to the fish markets for a more intimate tour.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great experience and I really learned how to make sushi! Although I still need to learn how to make the rice. It is an interesting class as you are mixed into a real class with local people also in attendance. The teacher doesn't speak English but the guide was great at translating for us. The fish was fresh and delicious! And you get a lot of fish so definitely worth the price. The only thing is that we did not actually go to the fish market before the class, we went to the outer market, which was really cool and had lots of fish and other fresh foods and local ingredients and tools but it would have been nice to also visit the fish market. But I loved every minute of it and would highly recommend it to anyone!!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

hi there,
I had a great fun and educational day at the tsukiji market and making my own sushi lunch. my companion for the day Yuko was fun to hang out with and was very helpful. I had a terrific day with her and would recommend your service without hesitation. g (31718957)

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I hadn't planned on doing a tour during my trip to Japan but stumbled across your tour while searching for activities in Tokyo. It was really worthwhile and I had a great time. I was met promptly at the agreed upon meeting spot and we stopped at other hotels to pick up other folks for various tours. Taken to the bus station to meet up with the tour guide, Takai (sp?). There were only 3 of us on this tour-which was a great. Takai had lived in New York, spoke excellent English and had a great, outgoing personality-perfect for this type of job. He walked us through the fish market and pointed out various foods/fish and after about an hour there, we went to the Sushi school. It was not a tourist racket but an actual school, we were the only Non Japanese in the place. Learned how to filet a fish, and to make Maki, Nigiri and handrolls as well as Tamago. It looks so simple but it takes years to master and while I probably wont be making Sushi at home, (cant' get good quality fish here where I live)-at least I'd be willing to try now. Afterwards, Takai helped us out with where we planned to go next-and walked me to my train station (definitely needed that assist). I made the arrangements online and had no problem whatsoever..and would use Viator's services again. The hardest part for me was getting to the initial meeting spot since I was staying an hour outside Tokyo and had to navigate the train system with transfers during rush hour to get to the hotel to meet up with our guide! Now THAT was an adventure.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour guide was very good in telling us where to get cheap eats around the fish market. The sushi making class was fun and we get a certificate for completing the course to boot :).
I was really entertained.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The fish market, the sushi class and our tour was wonderful.

Yoko, our guide was amazing! She was very knowledgeable, respectful, kind and is great at her job. She also had a pair of the most unique and cutest shoes I have seen :)!

I really enjoyed seeing the variety of fish in the markets while also discovering other unique seasonings, pickles and items unique to Japan.

The sushi making class and instructor were both great. I had little idea the degree of preparation involved in making sushi and have deepened my admiration for good sushi chefs and sushi. We were able to make a lot of beautifully decorated rolls using a variety of fish, learned how to prepare a japanese omelet (which was delicious), nicely fillet a fish, and was able to hear other tips and tricks by the chef.

Yoko was the best.

The tour amazing.

The sushi excellent.

I highly recommend this experience.

Thanks so much for adding to my wonderful experience of Japan!

All the best.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Amazing! loved the fish markets and the Sushi Marking course was great. I went back and brought all my utensils at the markets after. Have been recommending this tour to everyone that loves sushi.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour. First we went to the fish market and had some free time to look around. Because it wasn't a big group that day the leader personally showed as around and explained what things where, we saw fresh wasabi, shark skin wasabi grinders, seafood etc. After we went to make the sushi and the chef was great. We made a variety of sushi then ate it for lunch.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Tour of the fish Market which is excellent to get you in the mood, then make way to the lesson. Fantastic teacher and guide. One of the best things I have done for a long time. Picked up some really useful skills, made some great Sushi, then had it for lunch. met some great people. Highly recommended. 

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The whole tour was fantastic, Viator was great, from ease of booking right through to organization of the tour pick up at the hotel, to Tsukiji market and finally with the sushi course. Having an English interpreter and a great sushi master made the course fun and I learned heaps. I am a pro chef myself and I found the course valuable! Thank you so much, highly recommended! This is a must do course whilst in Tokyo!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This tour was one of the highlights of my week in Tokyo. Even in the pouring rain, our leader made the tour of the fish market fun and informative; I definitely saw and learned more than I had on a previous visit on my own. And the sushi school was fantastic; I can't believe I managed to make a plate of assorted sushi, and have such a great time learning and doing it - and it was delicious! Really a wonderful experience - well worth it.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Sushi making was fantastic, only missed out on the fifth star as the fish markets tour is only of the outer market and not the inner market as we had hoped.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A little disappointing that we could not see the actual market but an early (4am) start not possible. The surrounding market we did visit was great. The sushi school was fantastic and though I had some difficulty eating the finished product: I am not keen on raw fish but the teaching was great! the guide fantastic and the teacher brilliant. Lots of fun. Would recommend this trip to all.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

A bustling market, sometimes a little too crowded for me. All sorts of odd fish to be found (bag of squid beaks anyone?), definitely a sight to see. I really loved having sushi here, some of the best I have ever eaten and certainly fresh!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message