Tokyo is ripe for exploration, and while it’s likely travelers will find something to marvel at with nearly every turn, these four unique neighborhoods are each worth a visit for their distinct take on Tokyo culture, commerce and cuisine.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing Uka, orchestrated the perfect day for us.....from ordering knives from Mr. Masamoto at the fish market, to aikido class, to sake tasting to our own private calligraphy class....it was the perfect day. Uka is resourceful, speaks wonderful English and was so much fun.....

Doing what: Private Japanese Arts and Culture Tour: Aikido, Calligraphy, Manga and Sake Shop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was a great snapshot of Tokyo and very informative.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

qconcept
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour showed us the major sites in Tokyo and orientated us to this large city. The guide was friendly, professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour for first-time visitors to Tokyo! Our guide, Mai, was wonderful! She was knowledgeable and spent time sharing info and answering our questions. She also gave is as much time as possible to explore at the stops. It was s great intro to Tokyo for my family of 4!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Sirs,

We very much enjoyed our trip around central Tokyo with your guide.

However,when we arrived at our hotel in Tokyo the paper which you had sent to us advised that we telephone a number to confirm.The number you quoted was a local number somewhere in America,and we were unsuccessful in our attempts get through.

Best regards,

Peter Schuberth

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide, great pace of tour. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

When I visit a new destination I like to take a "city tour" which gives a 20000 foot overview of "here's my city and here are the interesting things to see and do that you need to explore on your own at your leisure". This tour didn't promise that but I couldn't find an alternative so I was hopeful. What this tour provides was a quick glimpse into three specific sites in Tokyo but unfortunately for me did not give me the insight I was looking for. Not the tours fault but I wouldn't take this again.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow! This tour was one of the best photo classes I've ever had. The two instructors were great and took us to some prime locations in Shinjuku and Shibuya that provided amazing material to photograph! I've never done anything like this type of tour, and highly recommend it to anyone who comes to Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide, May, was very informative and anticipated the groups needs with interesting facts and history for the sites we visited as well as information about Tokyo between sites. We had a hotel pick-up which was very convenient and a must as the bus station where the tour "starts" is hard to find and get to the right area where the tours leave from. We visited the sites as advertised, Shinto, Imperial gardens, and lastly the Buddhist temple. We did a half day tour and they dropped us off at the shopping district not too far from the National Kabuki Theater (a must see!).

We learned the major differences between Shinto and Buddhism as well as the Imperial system and how the Shogun era impacted Japan and its culture. The shrines were actually not much to see in themselves but we saw 2 wedding parties, a Shinto monk procession, and the ceremony of tolling the shrine bells. The Imperial gardens were nice and a great break from the concrete and glass of Tokyo. The Buddhist temple was interesting but extremely crowded. A lot of excellent shops and stalls on the main street and there are people walking around in actual kimonos and period dress (men and women). Get some of the snacks and small objects here as they are much easier to find, but no bargaining as in other Asian cities.

We took our 2 small children, 5 and 8, and they kept up and managed the entire half day tour easily. Plenty of photo opportunities every where on this tour, even on the bus as you will go past the Tokyo Tower and the Sky Tree. Take some spending money for Buddhist Temple area. Take advantage of the hotel pickup. If you do the half day tour, there are restaurants close to the drop off point. Make your way back to the National Kabuki Theater and Sony Showroom for sure. Shows are short and very interesting but kids have to be quiet and no photos. Great cultural and photogenic tour of Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Positive
-Great to be able to see the temples.
-Time to shop.
-Entertaining tour guide.
Negative
-Not enough time to explore.
-Didn't end up seeing the Imperial Palace.
-The tour guide was rushed.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message