Tokyo is ripe for exploration, and while it’s likely travelers will find something to marvel at with nearly every turn, these four unique neighborhoods are each worth a visit for their distinct take on Tokyo culture, commerce and cuisine.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing Uka, orchestrated the perfect day for us.....from ordering knives from Mr. Masamoto at the fish market, to aikido class, to sake tasting to our own private calligraphy class....it was the perfect day. Uka is resourceful, speaks wonderful English and was so much fun.....

Doing what: Private Japanese Arts and Culture Tour: Aikido, Calligraphy, Manga and Sake Shop

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour for first-time visitors to Tokyo! Our guide, Mai, was wonderful! She was knowledgeable and spent time sharing info and answering our questions. She also gave is as much time as possible to explore at the stops. It was s great intro to Tokyo for my family of 4!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Sirs,

We very much enjoyed our trip around central Tokyo with your guide.

However,when we arrived at our hotel in Tokyo the paper which you had sent to us advised that we telephone a number to confirm.The number you quoted was a local number somewhere in America,and we were unsuccessful in our attempts get through.

Best regards,

Peter Schuberth

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide, great pace of tour. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow! This tour was one of the best photo classes I've ever had. The two instructors were great and took us to some prime locations in Shinjuku and Shibuya that provided amazing material to photograph! I've never done anything like this type of tour, and highly recommend it to anyone who comes to Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide, May, was very informative and anticipated the groups needs with interesting facts and history for the sites we visited as well as information about Tokyo between sites. We had a hotel pick-up which was very convenient and a must as the bus station where the tour "starts" is hard to find and get to the right area where the tours leave from. We visited the sites as advertised, Shinto, Imperial gardens, and lastly the Buddhist temple. We did a half day tour and they dropped us off at the shopping district not too far from the National Kabuki Theater (a must see!).

We learned the major differences between Shinto and Buddhism as well as the Imperial system and how the Shogun era impacted Japan and its culture. The shrines were actually not much to see in themselves but we saw 2 wedding parties, a Shinto monk procession, and the ceremony of tolling the shrine bells. The Imperial gardens were nice and a great break from the concrete and glass of Tokyo. The Buddhist temple was interesting but extremely crowded. A lot of excellent shops and stalls on the main street and there are people walking around in actual kimonos and period dress (men and women). Get some of the snacks and small objects here as they are much easier to find, but no bargaining as in other Asian cities.

We took our 2 small children, 5 and 8, and they kept up and managed the entire half day tour easily. Plenty of photo opportunities every where on this tour, even on the bus as you will go past the Tokyo Tower and the Sky Tree. Take some spending money for Buddhist Temple area. Take advantage of the hotel pickup. If you do the half day tour, there are restaurants close to the drop off point. Make your way back to the National Kabuki Theater and Sony Showroom for sure. Shows are short and very interesting but kids have to be quiet and no photos. Great cultural and photogenic tour of Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Positive
-Great to be able to see the temples.
-Time to shop.
-Entertaining tour guide.
Negative
-Not enough time to explore.
-Didn't end up seeing the Imperial Palace.
-The tour guide was rushed.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was great and went to some excellent tour destinations however it was difficult to hear our guide without a microphone. It would also be better if the guide would wait until the whole group was off the bus before starting to explain things or walk off.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour and guide, weather was on our side. Since it was a Saturday, we could only go up to the observation deck on Tokyo Tower, not to the top. Nice view of Tokyo and lots of information provided by our guide. Temples were interesting, however, felt a little bit rushed. Not enough time to take pics or make a pitstop when needed.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Dont really need a tour for this. Easy enough to get to by subway.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Just the right duration, would do again.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

For a lone and novice traveler, this tour was perfect. We had the opportunity to ask the very nice tour guide questions about the sites, the citizens and Japanese culture. After this tour, I felt like I knew Tokyo, and it made my future trips back to the same sites (for souvenirs) so much easier. This tour is perfect. Sign up for it on your first day if possible.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide Mai-San was interesting and so kind. Learned quite a lot about Tokyo and its historical sights and tourist attractions. Highly recommend this tour - gives a brief overview of the must-sees in Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message