Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 564 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I went in late February on a day with perfect weather. Not too cold, sunny skies and spectacular views. I was lucky that there was not a cloud in the sky. Mt. Fuji was beautiful, just the right amount of snow. The views were the main attraction for me, the roads to the 5th station were closed because of snow but that was okay. Mt. Fuji is best seen from a distance anyways. The boat tour was really nice, lake Ashi was beautiful. Going up to Mt. Hakone was really nice as well. Seeing the sun set over Mt. Fuji was something I will always remember. The tour guide was extremely friendly and had excellent english, I never had any problems understanding her. The food was okay, not great but not bad either. Bullet train was pretty cool and I had no problems getting back to my hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is so amazing. We were able to experience the snow and the bullet train ride was so awesome

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was a little nervous about the train travel on my own, but Viator made sure the hand-offs went smoothly and I loved my experience of the bullet train and the guided tours of the Kyoto sites. Loved experiencing the temples. Great lunch included and the guide made sure my dietary needs were addressed.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Diza
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip with our very nice and knowledgeable tour guide, Take. It was a memorable trip seeing the breathtaking view of Mt. Fuji, riding the cable car, the cruise, and the bullet train. We were also delighted with the food during lunch. Everything went smoothly and it's worth the time and money. Great experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My rating of this tour is a 5/5. The tour operator provided everything it said it would. The bus was on time. The tour guide was very pleasant and able to converse in English. She accompanied us even after the bullet train stop and ensured that everyone on the tour reached their final destination. She even walked us to our exit at our last stop, this being Shinjuku station and then went home. The mountain, lake, cable way , bus ride, bullet train ride were all awesome. I would certainly use Viator again.
Fahmida Abrahams South Africa.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time on the tour. The guide was awesome. He was the perfect balance of informational and funny. Like how we got to go to base of mountain and see it from top of the tram. The food at the hotel japanese restaurant was pretty good and would recommend no doing the preset meal and just order off menu. I also really enjoyed the bullet train coming back. So neat to come back via the train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Firstly the tour was great and well organised. Our guide Mr.Hiro was well behaved and tried his best to make the tour memorable. Though we could not view Mt.Fuji due to bad weather, my husband and I were able to enjoy the snow and our time in Hakone. We were well taken care of and the overall experience was enjoyable.

Room for improvement: Day 1: We felt that there could have been a few more sites or tourist attraction that could have been added. Whether Mt.Fuji can be viewed or not there was still time for other places that could have been included. Perhaps the return journey time by Shinkansen can be changed?? The lunch we had was delicious however it was not very fulfilling.

Day 2: We went around Hakone by ourselves as mentioned in the tour following a map given to us. However we felt that it would have been even better if we were given a little more info and a better plan to figure out the route.

Overall two thumbs up to you guys!! The snow, the bullet train ride, the stay was exceptional. We will choose Viator again but we hope that our suggestions will be taken into consideration.

Cheers!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip on the bullet train and Kyoto was wonderful. The tour guides were very informative and let us know everything that was expected and prepared us times when locations and sights would be seen. The train, bus, gondola and boat were all wonderful. great pictures. Shopping could have been longer. Would recommend this trip from Toyko to all.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding chance to sample key points in Japan in a single day's event. Guide was very personable and helpful especially at conclusion of trip to get everyone to their destination. Do not miss the bullet train option as it is a first class conclusion of the day. 1st time traveler to Japan. CC

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide, Take, was one of the best guides I've had the experience of sightseeing with. All throughout the bus ride to Fuji, Take gave some very good insider tips and important information about the place. He also showed us some mad cat's cradle skills of Mt. Fuji, Tokyo Tower, etc. He also sang a rendition of the Mt. Fuji song which was delightful! He showed us the best photo spots during all our stops and gave us ample time to shop and explore the places. We also got the most breathtaking view of Mt. Fuji from the Komagatake Ropeway (plus points for snow on the trail). Going back to Tokyo, we got to ride the bullet train, which was also such an experience. This tour was definitely worth it! Thank you, Take, for being the best guide ever! And thank you to the tour operator in Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour with many great views and lots of information about Mt. Fuji and the surrounding areas. The Bullet Train experience was also something great which we had never done before.
All-in-all a great itinerary with a lot to see.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip was AMAZING! We had "Mr. Fish" as our guide -- he was extremely courteous and knowledgeable about everything we saw from Hamamatsucho Bus Terminal to Mt. Fuji to Hokone! I will admit, the bus ride was LOOOOONG, but the seats were comfortable, and we got to see a lot more of the countryside that way then simply riding the train. The views of Mt. Fuji were GLORIOUS! She came out of hiding the day we came to visit her. The bullet train was a bucket-list experience for me as well! Thanks for a great trip! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was excellent value for money as it combined two amazing experiences to do when visiting Japan - a trip to Mt Fuji and a ride on a Bullet train. One small downside was that everything was very rushed,but that was understandable as time was limited on a day trip.
We crammed in so much,including a boat trip on lake As I,I would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were picked up at our hotel and dropped back (from the train station by cab) to our hotel in the evening.
The temples we saw were really lovely and the hotel lunch was great. You can't go wrong with this tour it is well managed and the bullet train trip was fantastic. You can see great view of Mount Fuji from the bullet train to Kyoto too. The whole trip was very impressive.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the highlight of our trip, I loved the view, cruise and cable car ride. Riding the bullet rain was fun too! It was really worth the time and money.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message