Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 704 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. So often famous sights disappoint a little, but the views of Mt Fuji from the coach were spectacular - seats on the left side of the bus are better for views though guide encourages people to move around so everyone can take good pictures. The guide was excellent, giving lots of information throughout the day. The boat trip and cable car were good and then all wrapped up with half an hour or so on the bullet train. Whole family had a great time and really enjoyed the day. Highly recommended way to get a lot of great experiences for an excellent price.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a stellar tour. Hiro-San was a very informative guide, and the weather provided what was likely the clearest day of the season so far. We got up close and personal when we were able to ascend to the fifth station, and then had long distance views from -- and high above -- the surface of Lake Ashi. The included lunch was artfully presented and one of the best of my entire time in Japan. Hotel Regina. Be prepared: the tour ends at the end of the bullet train ride at Tokyo station. You will need to navigate back to your destination from there, but our guide was very helpful in making sure we knew what to do. Thank you, Hiro-San!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow.. what a fabulous day! Anne was our tour guide, extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We left Tokyo on a wet morning and thought we didn't stand a chance of seeing Mt Fuji. Anne pointed out many interesting sights on our journey towards Fuji, stopping at Lake Kawaguchiko to stretch our legs and take some photos, before heading to Fuji National Park. As the weather had been extremely cold, snowing the previous few days, it meant the bus was only allowed get to the 1st gate in the national park not higher up to the 5th, as we'd expected. It didn't matter, everyone enjoyed the crisp cold air, the trees laiden with snow, many people made snow balls, and everyone was taking photos while keeping an eye out for the elusive top of Mt Fuji. After a half hour break, we got back into the coach, heading to a local hotel for a traditional lunch. While we enjoyed our delicious meal, the weather cleared and sun appeared... then .. so did Mt Fuji. There she was, in all her glory. How spectacular and how privileged we were. We actually got half an hour where we could see the complete mountain top and most of the mountain itself, in all its glory, with fluffy white clouds occasionally floating by. Anne explained we were extremely lucky, as its a rare sight. Cameras and iPhones were busy capturing photos and the mood was buoyant. Everyone got back on the coach and we headed towards Lake Ashi for a short cruise that included commentary about the local Hakone Mountains. The Hakone Komagatake Ropeway ride was shortly afterwards, however the weather had closed in again, so it was foggy at the top of the mountain, and cameras weren't required. On a sunny day, the view would be spectacular. Our driver collected us for the journey home, with some opting to stay on the bus the balance being dropped at Odawara Station to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. We took the bullet train ... wow... it was quick, quiet, clean and a great experience. We HIGHLY recommend this trip

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Recommend to anyone considering. Ordered the vegetarian meal for lunch as I'm not much for raw foods. Guide spoke good English. Enough time at Mt Fuji. Lake Ashi tour was nice too. Met some nice people on the tour bus too! Bullet train was cool. And even navigated the Tokyo subway to get back to my hotel. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

irving

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic experience with a most experienced travel guide , the Mount, The Lake, The Bullet Train a time to always remember Robert Irving

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Charms Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Bullet Train was so exciting, second time for us but we were somewhat disappointed there was not much snow in December.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

FULGENCIO A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must see tourist attraction in Tokyo. We had a very helpful and knowlegeable tour guide, who speaks pretty good English. We ate lunch at a vey nice place, where we had a chance to take picture with a Ninja women. I love everything that was included in the tour, the cable car ride up to the mountain to see Mt. Fuji, and especially the bullet train ride from Mt. Fuji to Tokyo at 300 KM. per hour speed. Highly Recommended to every tourists visiting Tokyo

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bhavani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a great tour to see Mount Fuji. You can have a taste of every transportation system in Japan. Go by bus, boat ride, cable car and return by Bullet train. We enjoyed. Our guide was patient and great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

jesselgonzales

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a pleasant trip, nice and sunny day as we have reached station 5 and saw the peak of Mt. Fuji as clear as the sky. The tour is more better than what we expected. And the best was our tour guide, She never loss sight of us until we went back home from our ride on bullet train. I highly recommend this trip. Domo arigato Gosaimasu !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommended. The weather could play a big part in the enjoyment of this trip, and for us it played nice. Fuji was amazing, lunch was good at an amusement park! and Lake Ashi was cold/windy, but still beautiful. Took the bullet train back, which is really the only way to travel. DO THIS TRIP if you're going to be in Tokyo for any longer than 3 days.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good organised. The lunch was amazing - so I strongly recommend to include lunch as it was delicious and a very fair price. Ride on the bullet train was great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommended, loved it from start to finish... Great views of Mount Fugi on the way from the bus, very cold at base number 5 take warm cloths, Lunch Japanese agian very well organgised. The highlight of the day must have been the bullet train very fast, we only waited 10 minutes at the station for our train and in that time two past thru at incredible high speed, made our Via Rail looking like something from Thomas the tank engine we had a great day out, well worth the money. Stuart

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mount Fugi in mid-winter is well worth seeing, in spite of there being no cherry blossoms. The bullet train ride was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

A W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Easy to find the meeting point. Efficient check-in. Interesting and enjoyable tour. Great views of Mount Fuji. Our guide, Hiro, was excellent. Super trip,back on the bullet train. All in all, if you only have one free day in Tokyo, this is a great tour to give you a favor of Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour staff were friendly and helpful. It was a easy and nice drive down and we were lucky that Mt Fuji showed herself yes she's a she! for a short while as we approached. We could only get up to the 1st station so the tour guide did an extra stop at another site for us to get some great photos. Lovely lunch and then another drive to Lake Ashi for a short cruise 15 mins to the Ropeway and then up Mt Komagatake. On our day it was a whiteout so no views but it was fun battling the snow and winds to do the short walk up to the shrine. The bullet train was a perfect end to a great day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is the highlight of all the tours we've done from Tokyo - I guess coz it's the Japanese landmark 'Mt. Fuji'. The Bullet Train ride was also a nice experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Campion D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 'shy' Mt Fuji came out to play for us. The tour proceeded as per the itinerary and all facets of the day were well-organised and clearly communicated. Our guide Keiko was a delight, as was the included lunch. The highlight, of course, is Mt Fuji - quite something and seeing it from the base, 5th station, the ropeway, Lake Ashi and the bullet train offers multiple perspectives and experiences. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent and well co-ordinated tour. Temples visited Sanjusangen-do and Kiyumizu-dera were beautiful and not to be missed. Guide was friendly and spoke good English. Wish we had more time at the temples but such are the constraints of group travel and needing to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. Very deserving of a 5 star rating!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the weather was not in our favour to see Mt Fuji. The views of the lake from the cable car were spectacular and the tour guide was wonderful. The bullet train to Kyoto was an experience not to be missed. Kyoto was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour, enjoyed everything, traditional Japanese lunch was enjoyable, lake tour informative and the bullet train trip at the end of the tour was exciting and fast but very smooth. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Beto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Tour with bullet train experience and excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I can highly recommend this trip. it was everything that was advertised. Well organised, from the moment at the hotel to getting back on the Bullet train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Gail S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, packed with all the interesting places. Loved Mt Fuji - just wish it was the right season to see snow on the top. Sky lift was great with terrific views. Bullet train was fast but even faster when standing on the station and one went past. Enjoyed buying our own lunch with lots of cheaper choices.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What an experience! Great views, nice visits around mt Fuji. Great foto's! Also the bullettrain was amazing! Super fast end conventient!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Malcolm K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very professionally run. The tour guide was exceptional and we were very lucky that on such a cloudy day the fifth station was above the cloud and I had a clear sunny view of Mt Fuji. Loved the bullet train and the scenery on the way to Mt Fuji was terrific.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message