Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 456 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very well organised tour of various shrines, temples and the sights of Kyoto, Nara and of course not forgetting Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and being allowed on the bullet train not just once, but twice. Brilliant, well organised!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day, even though Mt Fuji covered in cloud and rain. Lake Ashi and the cable car very good. Our guide was excellent. The Bullet train back to Tokyo was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour we have ever been on. Firstly the weather was in our favour with warm clear conditions that allowed us to view Mt Fuji from every vantage point. Even though the itinerary had to be changed because of a bike race on Mt Fuji, the tour guide (Yoko) and the tour operators made the best options available to us and we thoughly enjoyed the tour. The lake cruise was terrific. The view from the cable car to Mt Fiji was great. Seeing snow on the ground at Station 5 was exciting for us who don't have snow at home. The trip back on the Bullet Train was an experience to observe especially when waiting at the station and having express bullet trains flying past at over 200 kms per hour. The boxed lunch was the first try of genuine Japanese food and it was very appetizing. Over all the tour content, the tour guide and most of all the lovely scenery was a once in a life time event for us that we are glad we took part in. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was well planned. We enjoyed the ride on the bullet train. The guides gave us lots of information about the shrines and temples we visited. A good value for the money.

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour! Our Tour Guide Kaori (Katy) was very knowledgeable, humorous, friendly, approachable and also efficient in keeping everyone to our time-table. When we visited Mt Fuji the Mountain was cloaked in cloud. However, as we left for our next destination some of the cloud did lift so Kaori and Driver San were very accommodating in stopping to the side of road to allow us to take some wonderful photo's. I enjoyed every part of the trip, especially visiting a Shinto temple, Lake Ashi, Hakone and travelling on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) back to Tokyo city. I would highly recommend this day trip as it is very well organised from the time of pick up from the hotel and the return trip to Tokyo. Arigatogosaimus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We very much enjoyed the trip to Mt Fuji. Fortunately there were enough people who met at our hotel for a bus-load so we didn't need to go to the bus station. The guide was very informative on the trip out giving interesting information about a range of topics relating to Japan. She was also a very pleasant person. Although the day was somewhat cloudy, we managed some glimpses of the top of the mountain while at the 5th station. The traditional lunch was good and the boat cruise and gondola trip also interesting. Having the option of returning on the bullet train also added in another Japanese experience. We felt that this was a very good tour that was well-managed. Thank you.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is definitely the way to go to Mt Fuji. The tour guide gives you all the information you need about Mt Fuji whilst you ride in the coach on the way but then you get to experience the super fast Shinkansen bullet train on the way back. We were lucky and could get a good view of Fuji from the visitors centre. The lunch was traditional and very nice although it is away from the mountain. We got some great photos from the first station too although would've loved to have gone up a bit higher. Lake Ashi was very beautiful but there is not much around it and again we could not see Fuji as we had driven quite a while away from it by now. The cableway after the cruise was definitely worth it as it is a fabulous view and if you are lucky you can see Mt Fuji from the top depending on how cloudy it is.

A little tip: if you are meeting at a hotel or even at the train station it may look chaotic but it is organised just make sure you listen out to what everyone is saying.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is definitely the way to go to Mt Fuji. The tour guide gives you all the information you need about Mt Fuji whilst you ride in the coach on the way but then you get to experience the super fast Shinkansen bullet train on the way back. We were lucky and could get a good view of Fuji from the visitors centre. The lunch was traditional and very nice although it is away from the mountain. We got some great photos from the first station too although would've loved to have gone up a bit higher. Lake Ashi was very beautiful but there is not much around it and again we could not see Fuji as we had driven quite a while away from it by now. The cableway after the cruise was definitely worth it as it is a fabulous view and if you are lucky you can see Mt Fuji from the top depending on how cloudy it is.

A little tip: if you are meeting at a hotel or even at the train station it may look chaotic but it is organised just make sure you listen out to what everyone is saying.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is definitely the way to go to Mt Fuji. The tour guide gives you all the information you need about Mt Fuji whilst you ride in the coach on the way but then you get to experience the super fast Shinkansen bullet train on the way back. We were lucky and could get a good view of Fuji from the visitors centre. The lunch was traditional and very nice although it is away from the mountain. We got some great photos from the first station too although would've loved to have gone up a bit higher. Lake Ashi was very beautiful but there is not much around it and again we could not see Fuji as we had driven quite a while away from it by now. The cableway after the cruise was definitely worth it as it is a fabulous view and if you are lucky you can see Mt Fuji from the top depending on how cloudy it is.

A little tip: if you are meeting at a hotel or even at the train station it may look chaotic but it is organised just make sure you listen out to what everyone is saying.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was excellent, well organised, very comfortable bus and a strict tour guide who spoke good English, no waiting for dawdling passengers. We had a very nice lunch included on this tour, all tastes catered for. The only down side is I think we could have spent a little longer at our first stop and not so long at the second stop. The bullet train was fantastic, very comfortable ride, a great experience when we reached Tokyo station and find our way to the platform that we needed but plenty of information kiosks and we found our way okay.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a great trip! The skies were clear most of the day and could see Mt Fuji in all it's beauty. On a clear day I could see Mt. Fuji from my hotel room and it was even better up close. The Japanese lunch was good. Lake Ashi was nice. The trip back into Tokyo on the bullet train was nice, however due to the time of year, the sun had set before we left the station. Great trip and our guide was great!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a lot of fun on this tour. My favourite part was seeing Mt Fuji for the first time. That morning it had been raining and cloudy in Tokyo but by the time we arrived the clouds had parted and we got a magnificent view of the mountain. We only got to the first station but the view was amazing from there. The rest of the tour was really good too, the tour guides (Amy and Yuki) were very friendly and informative. The temples/shrines, boat cruise, gondola ride and the bullet train rides were definitely a highlight. As well as driving through the hills and seeing different colour trees and pink cherry blossom spots strategically placed amongst the green and red trees. Just beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour to any of my friends!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

auntyam
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great day out. Very easy way to see Mt Fuji in a day. Our guide was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgable.
her English was very good. Shame the weather not so good on the day, but the bullet train was exciting.
I would recommend this trip when travelling to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great overview and having great weather helped! The bullet train is worth the experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message