Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 492 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was efficient!
Getting to the meeting point (the bus station) was a little challenging, but we gave ourselves plenty of time to get lost and still get there on time.
Our tour guide, Mr Take was exceptionally. Great entertainer, comedian, singer, etc. he took care of all our needs. (My friend is vegetarian) he made sure she got the right plate. He even wrote down on a piece of paper our diet preferences for our future use.
Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not cooperative. Station 5 on Mt Fuji was extremely foggy. We only caught a glimpse of the mountain from the road.
Lunch was excellent.
Lake Ashi and the cable car ride was fun, although also foggy. It was fun to suddenly run into treasures you couldn't see. :)
Tokyo Station is huge and confusing. Wish we got to personally say goodbye and thank you to Mr Take. But I dropped something important and had to rush back. We lost sight of him and the other guests by the time we got back.
A very friendly woman helped us find our way back. She even walked with us to our exit even though she looked like she was in a hurry.
Wasn't expecting the Bullet train ride. Luved it! Luved the whole experience!
We got back late afternoon. Enough time for us to take the subway and see Ginza and Shabuya in action at night. Stumbled into a delicious Ramen restaurant in Shabuya, unfortunately I can't remember the name. I can still taste the soup. It was delish!
Great way to see and experience many things in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is very interesting tour. Star early and very prompt. The bus ride was pleasant and there was wifi on the bus. We got to see Mt Fuji very clearly, as our tour guide said sometimes Fuji is famous to be shy. But we only short stop at Station 5. We need more time to explore. Hakone boat ride is also nice. Short but very interesting. The cable ride is also breathtaking. And the best of all, was the ride home to Tokyo with Shinkansen Bullet Train. Very interesting. Would like to do this again.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good and insightful.
Our english speaking Japanese guide Amy was very knowledgeable and took care of our needs well. she even taught us the 'Mt Fuji' song along our coach ride to the 5th station. As it was cloudy with occasional rain, we could not see the peak of Mt Fuji fully. The stop at 5th station was a little short to soak in the awesome view and shopping at the souvenir store.
The cruise along Lake Aishi and gondola ride to Mt Komagatake were picturesque. However, due to the clouds, we could get to view Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake including the shrine at Komagatake.
The bullet train ride on the Shinkansen from Odawa to Tokyo was an experience. Amy was extremely helpful to get the pax to available seats as the tickets issued to us were without reserve seats.
Overall experience was great including lunch at Hotel Regina.
Gd value for $ too.:)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome day tour. Picked us right up at the hotel and short ride to switch to the actual tour bus. Bit of traffic coming out of Tokyo, that put us behind schedule...and they warned that we might have to cut a stop or two...but we ended up getting to do all. Our tour guide was fantastic...very good English...good sense of humor...and very educational the whole trip. Made himself available for specific questions too. Lunch was awesome...noodles, tempura, the fish and chicken...all wonderful. Was cloudy this day, and rained on us at the 5th station, but still worth every penny. The boat ride and gondola ride were both very nice, the scenery was absolutely beautiful, and sure enough, Mt. Fuji peeked out for us an the way down the mountain...so got some great photos. And to finish it all off was the exciting bullet-train ride back to Tokyo. My 14 year old daughter loved the tour...as did my wife and I. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour. Saw many sights. Mt Fuji was the highlight. Coming back on bullet train topped it off. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised and on time (just like everything else in Japan!). The tour guide was knowledgeable and gave us loads of information on Mount Fuji, its history and stories. Lovely day. We were lucky to get clear views of the mountain for some time and that was great. The bullet train ride was fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a really great tour. Very organized and plenty to see. Our tour guide was Mikka-san. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave our group so much information about the Japanese culture, cuisine, and surroundings that we visited. The weather on the day our our tour took a turn for the worse so I was unable to get any good pictures to share. I still enjoyed the tour and I recommend that anyone take it. My favorite part was the Shinkazen (bullet train) ride. It was very smooth yet so fast. The tour is worth every penny.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very full day! The bullet train was fun (we went through a typhoon) and Kyoto is a very beautiful place. Well organised local guides made sure that everything went smoothly and we managed to visit three different places. My only gripe was that I didn't make any plans to stay longer in Kyoto. This trip was a taster and I wanted the whole plate!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mt Fuji was fantastic. The journey itself from Hamamatsucho station is roughly 2 hours (make sure you go to the bathroom first!) and throughout the drive the tour guide was well versed on interesting hot-spots during the journey which made it all the more enjoyable. Mt Fuji itself is MASSIVE! Unfortunately we didn't get amazing views of the mountain at the fifth station (he did say that she is notoriously shy!) but it almost didn't matter because the tour guide made all of us feel like we were being honoured as special guests to the site. There is a shrine at station 5 that offers great photo opportunities which was a bonus. Lake Ashi was majestic in it's beauty and it was magical to experience the scenery of the lake and the serenity of the experience. The gondola ride was also a bonus and gave 360 degree views along the way. The Shinkansen train (bullet train) is FAST and an absolute experience in itself. The ride itself is very smooth and the only downside is that because the train is so fast that it only lasts (roughly) 20 mins... not a negative at all and well worth it. I got off the train at Shinagawa Station (on the Yamanote Line) and it was a quick train change and 10 minutes later I was back at the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was absolutely fantastic! The weather was really windy and rainy the day we went but it was still an awesome experience. Ann was the most informative, helpful and entertaining tour guide we have ever had and trust me, we have had many. She was extremely thorough, even helping everyone individually plan navigation back to their own hotels. A+++ for this tour. The countryside of Japan rocks!
Note: I'm pretty happy we took the bullet train home just to said we did it and also save time but let me tell you, nothing about this train is that special other than the speed. After 3 minutes of riding you feel like you are on every other train in Japan. Still cool though.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

5 of us made our way direct to the tour departure point where the staff made it very easy to follow directions. The trip was very worth while with Mt Fuji clear along with the southern mountains which for this time of year does not occur too often so the view was very worthwhile. Lake Ashi was a pleasant cruise along with the cable car ride up from the lake edge. The bullet train was a highlight especially as we had not been anything like it before. Our group felt we had value for money and was a highlight of our 28 day adventure

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My tour of Nara was with Mickey and I loved it. He was a wealth information and so helpful afterwards with tips and suggestions for the evening in Kyoto. The tour of Kyoto and the guides for the bullet train was nice as well. Only note is the bus air con might need antifreeze. Overall amazing tour!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent Tokyo staff at start and end of tour. Very well organised and pleasant. Efficiently took us to the train platform. At Kyoto the English speaking Japanese guide was very pleasant and easy to understand. She did not rush us through the temples - gave us time to take in the sights. Great tour if you have limited time to see Kyoto, and bonus of an experience on the bullet train as well. Overall, great value for money as includes lunch and transfers at Tokyo to our hotel.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

AS IS THE CASE ON MOST DAYS UNABLE TO SEE MOUNTAIN TOP BUT DAY OUT WAS WELL ORGANISED AND THE BULLET RAIN MEANT WE FINISHED ON A HIGH / FAST NOTE

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Bullet train was first class, but the weather was dreadful, we could not see Mt Fuji as the clouds were too low. .A part from that it was first class.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message