Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 638 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Nana-san was a great tour guide. Very informative, friendly, and really made an effort to communicate Japanese history and culture. Seeing the Japanese countryside and Mt. Fuji was the best part of our stay in Japan riding the Bullet train was exciting also.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I was nervous about doing this trip on my own, but everyone was really helpful and friendly. In the morning it was quite cloudy, so the views of Fuji were quite hazy, but by the time we went on the boat trip on the lake it was stunningly beautiful. It was a great day, and I would strongly recommend this trip. It was great to go on the bullet train as well

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A must see, and the experience on the Bullet was amazing. Fabulous scenery and a great train ride

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An ecellent day out, our guide Take was excelent. We had a fantastic day, even though we could not see Mt Fuji because of cloud cover it did not spoil the day out what so ever. The Japanese lunch was first class and well worth doing as well as the return trip on the bullet train. When we return to Japan we will probable do this same tour again it was that good!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A somewhat overcast and very cool summer day. Pampered in a luxury coach bus with an interesting and engaging guide. Shared her knowledge with entertaining anecdotes and looked out for us as we wandered around Station Five and even doubled checked we were on the Shinkansen bullet train. A brief glimpse of Mt Fuji was of course the high light. Lake Ashi was picturesque with low cloud and a smooth cruise.
A great day out with a top guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was really informative and the guide Ito-san was a smart Japanese lady with a good sense of humor. We were lucky that the weather turns out to be clear and crispy so that we actually saw the Mt Fuji which was quite incredible knowing that in rainy season it can be very likely that all you could see would be clouds!
The tour is nicely organised. A bit of a fast track to ensure that you can do all the tours included rope way is not really necessary in that tour to my point of view although the view was quite nice. Beautiful Lake Ashi and nice experience with the bullet train.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour. Our Guide was great and very accommodating while providing us with important information on culture and history. A great way to see Mt Fuji and surrounding area that is very beautiful. And finishing the day with a ride on the Bullet train was enjoyable. Loved the meal that was included.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great value, if only for the planning. Not a single problem during the whole 3 days. Tickets, reserved seats on the Bullet Trains and two excellent hotels. The hotel in Kyoto has a Tour Desk where you can book the Morning Tour on arrival for the next day. In Hiroshima, just ask Hotel Reception for a Day Pass JPY400 on the Loop Bus. The Red and Green Routes take you everywhere you're likely to want to visit. Simple!

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Tour to Mt Fuji, the lake and the bullet train back to Tokyo was simply amazing. Our guide, Reyko, was an amazing lady. Despite the multiple hour delay on the tour due to traffic congestion, she found a way to keep everyone interested in the tour. Her English wasn't the worst, but wasn't the best either. Despite this, she communicated well. Answered all our questions and had a pleasant demeanour throughour the day. She was one of the better guides we have come across ever. And we travel a lot. So thats saying something.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I don't normally post a review but in the case of this tour I had to say how good it was. There was so much in one tour, volcanoes, boats, cable cars and bullet trains there was a lot to see, we were very lucky and had a perfect clear day to see Mount Fuji. Our tour guide was lovely and very informative throughout the whole trip

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bullet rain ride was amazing. Had visited 3 temples in Kyoto. Great for those who want to do a day trip and do not want to spend nights in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended tour. It went seamlessly and our guide was full of interesting facts about Japan. Scenery was fantastic and the cable car and bullet train amazing. I'd go again.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We lucked out that the weather was perfect. Mt. Fuji can clearly be seen. We were able to take the boat ride around the lake and the gondola ride up for a better view. I suggest taking the motorcar up then the bullet train back we stayed in Shinjuku. If the timing is right, its worth going to.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very great experience in our Mt Fuji, lake Ashi and Bullet Train Trip. Out tour guide Ito San is very accommodating and explained all rules in details, we are so lucky last June 4 that weather is sooo good. We saw Mt Fuji clearly, we enjoyed our lunch too, Ito San said its her first time too but foods are superb and yummy.. We also enjoy Hakone and Lake Ashi.. I will recommend Viator packages to my friends here in the Philippines.. What I paid for is very worth it. Thanks much for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sri
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Yuriko is very nice, she is very polite and has got a lot of sense of humour. She speaks good English and very knowledgeable about the place we were visiting.

We managed to see Mount Fuji despite the weather was a bit cloudy that day. It was awesome. The ropeway experience was great and the cruise in Lake Ashi was very nice. The visit to the Shintoh temple was good.

The return trip back to Tokyo was amazing when we got on to the bullet train which runs about 300km per hour. Overall the trip was very good and worth it. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, well organised, lovely guide. It was great standing at the station as a bullet train shot by at 300kph! Whoo-eee! Fuji was lovely, ropeway trip good fun and pleasant lake cruise etc. All good.
We were a little bit worried about booking online, as we'd read those bad reports that are all over the 'net, but we needn't have. The booking was secure, we were expected and everything was as smooth as we wanted. We'll definitely book through Viator again. no worries!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing and we had good time. Excellent pick up service from The Westin Tokyo Hotel and ride back by bullet train was a best experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Your guide was excellent. We were lucky enough to actually see the summit of Mt Fuji.The bullet train was a fantastic experience. The Japanese people were very helpful and polite.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is definitely well worth the money! Transportation was prompt, the tour guide was articulate, and the meal accomodations were great. Unfortunately, the day that we went Mt. Fuji was shrouded in clouds. We caught glimpses of the mountain a few times. Two hour bus ride there with a 30-40 minute bullet train ride back!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth it if you are able to find your way on your own and get around both Kyoto and Hiroshima on your own. One thing to note as well, the tickets they give you for the bullet train are good up to 7 days from the date on the ticket. So we did not necessarily have to leave at the designated time that was assigned on our ticket. And the bullet trains come to Tokyo station quite often, so we left when we felt like 2 of us got to Kyoto, checked in to our hotel, rented a bike and saw all the sites we wanted. Then in Hiroshima, we spent the time at the A-bomb site and went to the Itsukushima Shrine. We left the next day on the last bullet train back to Tokyo. It was great in terms of freedom and having everything ready for us to use, while going about our own plans one of us can read and speak Japanese.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were collected on time at the Toyko hotel lobby and taken to the bullet train station. The guide was helpful and gave full instruction for boarding and embarkation. At Kyoto we were collected by another guide on the platform and taken to the coach. The standard of Lunch venue was superb as was the buffet. Everything ran very smoothly in Kyoto and the tour guide very interesting. Overall a very enjoyable trip

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Paul T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We are very lucky to have a very clear day to visit this scenic mountain. It's an experience to ride on the Bullet Train back to Tokyo. Must visit if you are in Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Paul T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were lucky to have a clear day for the Mt. Fjji visit. Very scenic. It's an experience to ride on the bullet train back to Tokyo. It is very comfortable and smooth.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to see Mt Fuiji and the japenese country side. Make sure to take the bullet train back and not the bus. It is much quicker and a really cool experience. It only adds about 30 american dollars. The bullet train was 45 mins verse a 2.5 hour bus ride back into Tokyo Station subway in downtown Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Value for money. Great way to see sights and also get to experience riding the bullet train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message