• USD ($)
  • English
Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 467 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

5 of us made our way direct to the tour departure point where the staff made it very easy to follow directions. The trip was very worth while with Mt Fuji clear along with the southern mountains which for this time of year does not occur too often so the view was very worthwhile. Lake Ashi was a pleasant cruise along with the cable car ride up from the lake edge. The bullet train was a highlight especially as we had not been anything like it before. Our group felt we had value for money and was a highlight of our 28 day adventure

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My tour of Nara was with Mickey and I loved it. He was a wealth information and so helpful afterwards with tips and suggestions for the evening in Kyoto. The tour of Kyoto and the guides for the bullet train was nice as well. Only note is the bus air con might need antifreeze. Overall amazing tour!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent Tokyo staff at start and end of tour. Very well organised and pleasant. Efficiently took us to the train platform. At Kyoto the English speaking Japanese guide was very pleasant and easy to understand. She did not rush us through the temples - gave us time to take in the sights. Great tour if you have limited time to see Kyoto, and bonus of an experience on the bullet train as well. Overall, great value for money as includes lunch and transfers at Tokyo to our hotel.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

AS IS THE CASE ON MOST DAYS UNABLE TO SEE MOUNTAIN TOP BUT DAY OUT WAS WELL ORGANISED AND THE BULLET RAIN MEANT WE FINISHED ON A HIGH / FAST NOTE

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Bullet train was first class, but the weather was dreadful, we could not see Mt Fuji as the clouds were too low. .A part from that it was first class.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very well organised tour of various shrines, temples and the sights of Kyoto, Nara and of course not forgetting Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and being allowed on the bullet train not just once, but twice. Brilliant, well organised!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day, even though Mt Fuji covered in cloud and rain. Lake Ashi and the cable car very good. Our guide was excellent. The Bullet train back to Tokyo was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour we have ever been on. Firstly the weather was in our favour with warm clear conditions that allowed us to view Mt Fuji from every vantage point. Even though the itinerary had to be changed because of a bike race on Mt Fuji, the tour guide (Yoko) and the tour operators made the best options available to us and we thoughly enjoyed the tour. The lake cruise was terrific. The view from the cable car to Mt Fiji was great. Seeing snow on the ground at Station 5 was exciting for us who don't have snow at home. The trip back on the Bullet Train was an experience to observe especially when waiting at the station and having express bullet trains flying past at over 200 kms per hour. The boxed lunch was the first try of genuine Japanese food and it was very appetizing. Over all the tour content, the tour guide and most of all the lovely scenery was a once in a life time event for us that we are glad we took part in. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was well planned. We enjoyed the ride on the bullet train. The guides gave us lots of information about the shrines and temples we visited. A good value for the money.

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour! Our Tour Guide Kaori (Katy) was very knowledgeable, humorous, friendly, approachable and also efficient in keeping everyone to our time-table. When we visited Mt Fuji the Mountain was cloaked in cloud. However, as we left for our next destination some of the cloud did lift so Kaori and Driver San were very accommodating in stopping to the side of road to allow us to take some wonderful photo's. I enjoyed every part of the trip, especially visiting a Shinto temple, Lake Ashi, Hakone and travelling on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) back to Tokyo city. I would highly recommend this day trip as it is very well organised from the time of pick up from the hotel and the return trip to Tokyo. Arigatogosaimus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We very much enjoyed the trip to Mt Fuji. Fortunately there were enough people who met at our hotel for a bus-load so we didn't need to go to the bus station. The guide was very informative on the trip out giving interesting information about a range of topics relating to Japan. She was also a very pleasant person. Although the day was somewhat cloudy, we managed some glimpses of the top of the mountain while at the 5th station. The traditional lunch was good and the boat cruise and gondola trip also interesting. Having the option of returning on the bullet train also added in another Japanese experience. We felt that this was a very good tour that was well-managed. Thank you.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is definitely the way to go to Mt Fuji. The tour guide gives you all the information you need about Mt Fuji whilst you ride in the coach on the way but then you get to experience the super fast Shinkansen bullet train on the way back. We were lucky and could get a good view of Fuji from the visitors centre. The lunch was traditional and very nice although it is away from the mountain. We got some great photos from the first station too although would've loved to have gone up a bit higher. Lake Ashi was very beautiful but there is not much around it and again we could not see Fuji as we had driven quite a while away from it by now. The cableway after the cruise was definitely worth it as it is a fabulous view and if you are lucky you can see Mt Fuji from the top depending on how cloudy it is.

A little tip: if you are meeting at a hotel or even at the train station it may look chaotic but it is organised just make sure you listen out to what everyone is saying.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is definitely the way to go to Mt Fuji. The tour guide gives you all the information you need about Mt Fuji whilst you ride in the coach on the way but then you get to experience the super fast Shinkansen bullet train on the way back. We were lucky and could get a good view of Fuji from the visitors centre. The lunch was traditional and very nice although it is away from the mountain. We got some great photos from the first station too although would've loved to have gone up a bit higher. Lake Ashi was very beautiful but there is not much around it and again we could not see Fuji as we had driven quite a while away from it by now. The cableway after the cruise was definitely worth it as it is a fabulous view and if you are lucky you can see Mt Fuji from the top depending on how cloudy it is.

A little tip: if you are meeting at a hotel or even at the train station it may look chaotic but it is organised just make sure you listen out to what everyone is saying.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This is definitely the way to go to Mt Fuji. The tour guide gives you all the information you need about Mt Fuji whilst you ride in the coach on the way but then you get to experience the super fast Shinkansen bullet train on the way back. We were lucky and could get a good view of Fuji from the visitors centre. The lunch was traditional and very nice although it is away from the mountain. We got some great photos from the first station too although would've loved to have gone up a bit higher. Lake Ashi was very beautiful but there is not much around it and again we could not see Fuji as we had driven quite a while away from it by now. The cableway after the cruise was definitely worth it as it is a fabulous view and if you are lucky you can see Mt Fuji from the top depending on how cloudy it is.

A little tip: if you are meeting at a hotel or even at the train station it may look chaotic but it is organised just make sure you listen out to what everyone is saying.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message