Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 582 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Value for money. Great way to see sights and also get to experience riding the bullet train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. The bullet train was great...hardly felt like you were moving. First class upgrade was a nice luxury item too. Seeing 3 temples in Kyoto is too many. The last one most couldn't keep up to the tour guide based on her pace and the volumes of people in the area. The first temple could have been removed from the trip as it wasn't much to see. The temple with the 1001 wooden soliders is impressive. Note you are on your own for the train ride which is fine as people greet you at both ends.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to visit Mt Fuji and see a lot of Japan away from Tokyo.
Watching bullet trains thunder through the station was also a highlight.
Our guide Kanae was great, and the traditional meal was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! We were fortunate enough to see Fuji on a bright, clear day in all her glory. The road up to the 4th station had just opened the day before. The trips to the laks and Hakone were great as well, and the bullet train return was a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved this tour. We were very lucky to have a clear morning and was able to view a snow covered Mt Fuji from some distance away. Unfortunately once we got to Mt Fuji we were unable to go to the 5th Station due to snow and ice on the road. We included the lunch in this tour which was a traditional meal - lots of fish.. We then headed to Lake Ashi and had a lovely boat ride along the lake and were dropped off at the cable car. The cable car ride was quite thrilling and you go to the top of the mountain and although the clouds started to set in it was still quite spectacular. On the ride home we took the bullet train back to Tokyo which although going up to 280kms, it's the smoothest ride. This is a beautiful tour and very relaxing and I would say this would have to be a must for anyone visiting Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide was very informative. Enjoyed the tour and especially the bullet train ride back to the city!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very efficient service. Unfortunately, we could only get to the 1st station on Mt Fuji due to the weather. And the weather only got worse so we could not see anything on the cable car or on Lake Ashi, which was a shame as everything was very well organised. I'm sure on a good day the views would have been amazing. The highlight for us was the trip back on the bullet train. Our guide Yoko did her best to ensure we had a good day. If we came back to Tokyo again we would definitely do the trip again and hope for good weather.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent! The organisation was superb and the English speaking guides were very knowledgable. It may seem a bit expensive but once you have been you'll understand why- the bullet train is most of that- and it's all definitely worth it. Sights, transport, food, accommodation all great!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide - Yoko - was outstanding. We started on the coach to mt Fuji. It was a clear day and we had a great view. Our lunch was lovely. Very Japanese. Beautifully presented. Afternoon. Ride on a lake to the cable car. Again great views. Back by bullet train with ongoing rail tube etc tickets to a stop near your hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Kyoto trip was most outstanding. The bullet train from Tokyo makes Amtrak look like a kids train. Kyoto was beautiful and will worth the one day trip. I hope to go back again soon. The tour is well worth the time and effort--making anyones introduction into the Japanese culture easy and highly rewarding. Our Guides were excellent and highly knowledge able and made all the preps easy... I will be doing future tours with this company again when I return to Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I went in late February on a day with perfect weather. Not too cold, sunny skies and spectacular views. I was lucky that there was not a cloud in the sky. Mt. Fuji was beautiful, just the right amount of snow. The views were the main attraction for me, the roads to the 5th station were closed because of snow but that was okay. Mt. Fuji is best seen from a distance anyways. The boat tour was really nice, lake Ashi was beautiful. Going up to Mt. Hakone was really nice as well. Seeing the sun set over Mt. Fuji was something I will always remember. The tour guide was extremely friendly and had excellent english, I never had any problems understanding her. The food was okay, not great but not bad either. Bullet train was pretty cool and I had no problems getting back to my hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is so amazing. We were able to experience the snow and the bullet train ride was so awesome

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was a little nervous about the train travel on my own, but Viator made sure the hand-offs went smoothly and I loved my experience of the bullet train and the guided tours of the Kyoto sites. Loved experiencing the temples. Great lunch included and the guide made sure my dietary needs were addressed.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Diza
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip with our very nice and knowledgeable tour guide, Take. It was a memorable trip seeing the breathtaking view of Mt. Fuji, riding the cable car, the cruise, and the bullet train. We were also delighted with the food during lunch. Everything went smoothly and it's worth the time and money. Great experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My rating of this tour is a 5/5. The tour operator provided everything it said it would. The bus was on time. The tour guide was very pleasant and able to converse in English. She accompanied us even after the bullet train stop and ensured that everyone on the tour reached their final destination. She even walked us to our exit at our last stop, this being Shinjuku station and then went home. The mountain, lake, cable way , bus ride, bullet train ride were all awesome. I would certainly use Viator again.
Fahmida Abrahams South Africa.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message