Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 532 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As always, any trip that I book with Viator is very well organised. We were fortunate to see Mt Fuji that day. She wasn't being shy and hiding in the clouds. My husband had never been on the bullet train and that was the highlight of his day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

excellent day tour well organised unfortunately typhoon on the way and Mount Fuji was not visible due to weather, worth doing the bullet train home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely outstanding, though my advice to book the option without lunch, as the set lunch is an allergy minefield (nuts, shellfish etc). There are plenty of alternative places to eat, so don't worry about not being on the booked lunch. Bear in mind Mount Fuji can be significantly colder than ground level, so take a coat. The views are beyond outstanding. In winter, Fuji has its trademark snow cap, but in summer it doesn't so bear this in mind if you are looking for photos. The Lake Ashi cruise is very nice, and the views from the top of the cable car were so breathtakingly beautiful a woman in our tour group was reduced to tears. The bullet train back is short (c.1 hour) but a great taste of a Japanese icon, the shinkansen 'bullet' train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

what a trip., from the time we met the guide and were escorted to our seats on the bullet train met a guide at Kyoto on the station the scenery was brilliant! and the Hotel we stayed at was great, the company was lively and we were given a beautiful buffet it was just so colourful and as it was a holiday and the people were all dressed up in national dress and looked proud of it . well worth the trip our favourite part of Japan thanks Viator great job

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The service is "excellent". They are a well-organized tour company. Every step of the way, there was a guide providing “clear” instruction of the next step. They did not try to go the cheap route to make few extra dollars. The bullet train ride was the fastest one, which took 2 hours and 20 minutes. 1st class seating is not necessary. (There are luggage compartment at the back of each train, so don’t worry about the note on the voucher about the day pack.) Day 1’s lunch buffet at the New Miyako hotel was fantastic; we were all well fed and were not rushed. All of our tour guides spoke good English. Upon returning to Tokyo, a guide greeted us at the platform. Each of us had a "limo" taxi taking us to our hotels.

New Miyako Hotel's location is more convenient than Rihga Royal Hotel. Rihga Royal Hotel Kyoto is only a 5 minutes’ walk from New Miyako, but it goes under a tunnel and at night, it felt a bit scary. (You can also access RRH from the north side of the station.) 1st class hotel in my opinion is not necessary. My standard hotel is Marriott or Courtyard. Both New Miyako and Rihga Royal Hotels’ standard room are nice and clean. The room size may be smaller than the US standard, but it is not cramp.

If you have time, I highly recommend the 3 day tour and use the last day to visit sites that are not included in the trip. Day 1 afternoon was Nara. Day 2 morning included Nijo Castle (my favorite), Kitano-tenmangu Shrine (was the alternative because Imperial Palace was closed on Sunday), Golden Pavilion, and afternoon included another shrine, Sanju Sangendo Hall, and Kiyomizu Temple. We walked from Kiyomizu to Gion. Don't eat meals on the Hanami-koji street...tourist trap. You will find much better quality food else where; just have snacks. Day 3, we went to the Imperial Palace, Nishiki Market, and Arashimaya for the bamboo groove.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

5 stars as far as we are concerned, We had a great day, fantastic weather and great views of Fuji. Bullet train is a must and a great finish to the day. Plenty of information from our guide and expert instructions to get back to our hotel. Although probably not required a comfort to know.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we were lucky we get to see my Fuji..bullet train experience is the next.. Hakone is a nice place, we rode the tram.. It was a good experience

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this has to be one of the best tours in tokyo the bullett train alll i can say is wow what a ride would go back to japan in a heartbeat

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The day started wet and dreary in Tokyo with no hope of seeing Mt Fuji. Lady Luck was on our side, by lunch time it was a clear fine day and we saw Mt Fuji all the way to the top, wonderful. The bus trip up was informative and leisurely, lunch was spectacular, the ropeway was great and the bullet train back to Tokyo was enjoyable not having been on a train that goes that fast. The tour company were very helpful as we wanted to change our pick-up point, nothing was to much trouble and everything went to plan Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super great guide "Sushi". She really made the drive fun with lots of information. We were granted several good glimpses of Mt. Fugi peeking through the clouds. Nice ride on the bullet train back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good. Unfortunately did not see much of Mt Fuji due to weather. Maybe more viewing options. Bullet train good but once again transfer back to hotel more desirable especially at end of long day. Tour guides great on both tours.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day luky with weather beautiful view of mt.Fuji bullet train great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic day out. We lucked-in with the weather and got some great photos of Mt Fuji. The bullet train was a tremendous experience to end the day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day! Eight of us together - Picked up from our hotel, on time. The guide was excellent, her English was very good. We saw the top of Mount Fuji as the mist cleared - The driver stopped the coach so we could all get a photo! Lunch was very good, Japanese style. We got the bullet train back to Tokyo - It was very busy, but good. Will use Viator again in another city. :-)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely brilliant most noteably because of your excellent guide Marie. The whole day was fantastic. We saw the top of Mount Fuji, albeit through the mist and cloud. The lunch was excellent and traditional and the ride on the bullet train at the finish was amazing right down to marie escorting us through the transport system at the very end. A brilliant brilliant day would recomend Viator to anyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message