Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 517 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The day started wet and dreary in Tokyo with no hope of seeing Mt Fuji. Lady Luck was on our side, by lunch time it was a clear fine day and we saw Mt Fuji all the way to the top, wonderful. The bus trip up was informative and leisurely, lunch was spectacular, the ropeway was great and the bullet train back to Tokyo was enjoyable not having been on a train that goes that fast. The tour company were very helpful as we wanted to change our pick-up point, nothing was to much trouble and everything went to plan Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super great guide "Sushi". She really made the drive fun with lots of information. We were granted several good glimpses of Mt. Fugi peeking through the clouds. Nice ride on the bullet train back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good. Unfortunately did not see much of Mt Fuji due to weather. Maybe more viewing options. Bullet train good but once again transfer back to hotel more desirable especially at end of long day. Tour guides great on both tours.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day luky with weather beautiful view of mt.Fuji bullet train great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic day out. We lucked-in with the weather and got some great photos of Mt Fuji. The bullet train was a tremendous experience to end the day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day! Eight of us together - Picked up from our hotel, on time. The guide was excellent, her English was very good. We saw the top of Mount Fuji as the mist cleared - The driver stopped the coach so we could all get a photo! Lunch was very good, Japanese style. We got the bullet train back to Tokyo - It was very busy, but good. Will use Viator again in another city. :-)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely brilliant most noteably because of your excellent guide Marie. The whole day was fantastic. We saw the top of Mount Fuji, albeit through the mist and cloud. The lunch was excellent and traditional and the ride on the bullet train at the finish was amazing right down to marie escorting us through the transport system at the very end. A brilliant brilliant day would recomend Viator to anyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very worthwhile trip - not to be missed if you visit near this area. Finding bus station entrance at Hamamatscuto Station was a bit time consuming - best done up front. We were lucky and had a view of the mountain top just before reaching 5th Station after which clouds obscured the whole mountain. Chances of great views are somewhat problomatic. Lake and cable car rides were enjoyable (again no views of Fuji due to clouds / mist). Bullet train was busy but again something I feel 'has to be done'. Very well organised trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ist class tour with a great tour guide. Worried about purchasing a tour from someone I had never used but a relative recommended them and he was right. Pick up for tour was near our hotel and we were soon on our way. Guide, Marie, was very informative about our surroundings and the area in general. Mt Fuji was sensational - a real highlight of our Japan visit. Great lunch and then further good visits before returning on the bullet train. Marie the Guide ensured everyone knew where they were going at the end and took time to take my wife to a pharmacy so she could get cream for bite. Would recommend this company highly.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day trip from Tokyo. Coach was very comfortable and the tour guide was wonderful. The whole day was very well organised, we felt we saw a lot and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We opted not to go with the Lunch option and happy we did.....found a great Pork Katsu curry in an upstairs cafe right on Lake Kawagashi. Mt Fuji lived up to expectations as did Lake Ashi and the Bullet train ride home. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts about Tokyo, Japan and Mt Fuji.She also explained what it was like growing up in Japan and the many aspects of the Japanese culture. I was particularly impressed with how she made sure everyone knew what train and the platform they needed to be at to get back to the hotel at the end of the tour.

Unfortunately, the weather was not so good, so only had brief glimpses of the top of Mt Fuji. The cruise was breathtakingly beautiful albeit quite short. Disappointingly, the fog at the top of the cable car station meant the views were severely restricted. The bullet train was a good experience.

I would definitely recommend this tour, and I hope to get the opportunity to do it again during a different time of the year when visibility is better.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The entire day was incredible made more interesting and enjoyable by our tour guide named Amy , she was an absolute treasure. The weather was pretty bad, it rained and Fuji was hidden in the clouds but we managed a sneak view as the mist cleared for about 5 minutes. The lake cruise was disappointing solely because of the weather. The entire day was well manage from beginning to end. The Bullet train is well named and a thrill to behold as it thunders through the station on the way to Tokyo. I thoroughly recommend this days outing, it covers a lot of ground and if possible insist on getting Amy as your guide she really is special in so many ways.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was efficient!
Getting to the meeting point (the bus station) was a little challenging, but we gave ourselves plenty of time to get lost and still get there on time.
Our tour guide, Mr Take was exceptionally. Great entertainer, comedian, singer, etc. he took care of all our needs. (My friend is vegetarian) he made sure she got the right plate. He even wrote down on a piece of paper our diet preferences for our future use.
Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not cooperative. Station 5 on Mt Fuji was extremely foggy. We only caught a glimpse of the mountain from the road.
Lunch was excellent.
Lake Ashi and the cable car ride was fun, although also foggy. It was fun to suddenly run into treasures you couldn't see. :)
Tokyo Station is huge and confusing. Wish we got to personally say goodbye and thank you to Mr Take. But I dropped something important and had to rush back. We lost sight of him and the other guests by the time we got back.
A very friendly woman helped us find our way back. She even walked with us to our exit even though she looked like she was in a hurry.
Wasn't expecting the Bullet train ride. Luved it! Luved the whole experience!
We got back late afternoon. Enough time for us to take the subway and see Ginza and Shabuya in action at night. Stumbled into a delicious Ramen restaurant in Shabuya, unfortunately I can't remember the name. I can still taste the soup. It was delish!
Great way to see and experience many things in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is very interesting tour. Star early and very prompt. The bus ride was pleasant and there was wifi on the bus. We got to see Mt Fuji very clearly, as our tour guide said sometimes Fuji is famous to be shy. But we only short stop at Station 5. We need more time to explore. Hakone boat ride is also nice. Short but very interesting. The cable ride is also breathtaking. And the best of all, was the ride home to Tokyo with Shinkansen Bullet Train. Very interesting. Would like to do this again.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good and insightful.
Our english speaking Japanese guide Amy was very knowledgeable and took care of our needs well. she even taught us the 'Mt Fuji' song along our coach ride to the 5th station. As it was cloudy with occasional rain, we could not see the peak of Mt Fuji fully. The stop at 5th station was a little short to soak in the awesome view and shopping at the souvenir store.
The cruise along Lake Aishi and gondola ride to Mt Komagatake were picturesque. However, due to the clouds, we could get to view Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake including the shrine at Komagatake.
The bullet train ride on the Shinkansen from Odawa to Tokyo was an experience. Amy was extremely helpful to get the pax to available seats as the tickets issued to us were without reserve seats.
Overall experience was great including lunch at Hotel Regina.
Gd value for $ too.:)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message