Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 687 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good organised. The lunch was amazing - so I strongly recommend to include lunch as it was delicious and a very fair price. Ride on the bullet train was great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommended, loved it from start to finish... Great views of Mount Fugi on the way from the bus, very cold at base number 5 take warm cloths, Lunch Japanese agian very well organgised. The highlight of the day must have been the bullet train very fast, we only waited 10 minutes at the station for our train and in that time two past thru at incredible high speed, made our Via Rail looking like something from Thomas the tank engine we had a great day out, well worth the money. Stuart

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Mount Fugi in mid-winter is well worth seeing, in spite of there being no cherry blossoms. The bullet train ride was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

A W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Easy to find the meeting point. Efficient check-in. Interesting and enjoyable tour. Great views of Mount Fuji. Our guide, Hiro, was excellent. Super trip,back on the bullet train. All in all, if you only have one free day in Tokyo, this is a great tour to give you a favor of Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour staff were friendly and helpful. It was a easy and nice drive down and we were lucky that Mt Fuji showed herself yes she's a she! for a short while as we approached. We could only get up to the 1st station so the tour guide did an extra stop at another site for us to get some great photos. Lovely lunch and then another drive to Lake Ashi for a short cruise 15 mins to the Ropeway and then up Mt Komagatake. On our day it was a whiteout so no views but it was fun battling the snow and winds to do the short walk up to the shrine. The bullet train was a perfect end to a great day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is the highlight of all the tours we've done from Tokyo - I guess coz it's the Japanese landmark 'Mt. Fuji'. The Bullet Train ride was also a nice experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Campion D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 'shy' Mt Fuji came out to play for us. The tour proceeded as per the itinerary and all facets of the day were well-organised and clearly communicated. Our guide Keiko was a delight, as was the included lunch. The highlight, of course, is Mt Fuji - quite something and seeing it from the base, 5th station, the ropeway, Lake Ashi and the bullet train offers multiple perspectives and experiences. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent and well co-ordinated tour. Temples visited Sanjusangen-do and Kiyumizu-dera were beautiful and not to be missed. Guide was friendly and spoke good English. Wish we had more time at the temples but such are the constraints of group travel and needing to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. Very deserving of a 5 star rating!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the weather was not in our favour to see Mt Fuji. The views of the lake from the cable car were spectacular and the tour guide was wonderful. The bullet train to Kyoto was an experience not to be missed. Kyoto was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour, enjoyed everything, traditional Japanese lunch was enjoyable, lake tour informative and the bullet train trip at the end of the tour was exciting and fast but very smooth. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Beto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Tour with bullet train experience and excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I can highly recommend this trip. it was everything that was advertised. Well organised, from the moment at the hotel to getting back on the Bullet train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Gail S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour, packed with all the interesting places. Loved Mt Fuji - just wish it was the right season to see snow on the top. Sky lift was great with terrific views. Bullet train was fast but even faster when standing on the station and one went past. Enjoyed buying our own lunch with lots of cheaper choices.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What an experience! Great views, nice visits around mt Fuji. Great foto's! Also the bullettrain was amazing! Super fast end conventient!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Malcolm K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very professionally run. The tour guide was exceptional and we were very lucky that on such a cloudy day the fifth station was above the cloud and I had a clear sunny view of Mt Fuji. Loved the bullet train and the scenery on the way to Mt Fuji was terrific.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Gary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic tour! The majestic Mt. Fuji, the beautiful lake, and the bullet train on return were all great! Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kerry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Many thanks to you for our wonderful trip to Mt Fuji and the Bullet train from Tokyo.
We had a wonderful day and it was everything that we had expected and more. Our
guide was great and everything was perfect. Thanks again.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great day out, sadly the weather was inclement however it was very well organised and the faccilities first class. Very good value for money and it was spaced nicely between the Mountain, Lake Ashi and the bullet train ride back downtown. Japanes efficiency in keeping to timetables has to be admired

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommend this tour. Pickup was on time and easy. Tour guide Ito was very knowledgeable and friendly, also at end of day she went the extra mile to make sure everyone got back to their hotels from the train station. Made it to the 5th station which was fantastic and even got good views of Mt Fuji when the clouds cleared. Unfortunately they do tend to overcrowd the gondola, and you could not see out of the window on the way up. I might also suggest the option of reserving sits on the bullet train, as after a full day some passengers found it difficult to stand without a sit on this very crowded train. However, overall an excellent tour - nine out of ten.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

After a few days of flooding in Tokyo, the sun shone for the first time of my trip! This, coupled with the helpful and friendly staff at the bus station was a great indication for what the rest of the day would bring.

As far as the trip itself the cable car near the lake provided great views, great food, a nice place to wander around and countless opportunities to get some good pictures. The 5th station was really interesting and allowed us to get some good close up photos of Mount Fuji, the Hakone boat cruise was an excellent end to the day and bullet train spotting at Odawara station was a good way to spend the time on the way back to Tokyo.

Most importantly, our guide Nana was polite, funny and extraordinarily helpful - giving an excellent commentary to go along with the spectacular views of the area as well as the journey - which is made via wifi-enabled coach, boat and bullet train as well as coming to us all independently and giving us guidance on the fastest ways to get back to our respective hotels after the bullet train trip back to Tokyo.

Overall, while we could only just about see the summit from the 5th Station the view wasn't perfect and probably could have been better on another day - this did nothing to distinguish my enthusiasm for what was an awesome day trip - I couldn't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I loved this tour. The weather at the base of mount Fuji wasn't great but when we got above the clouds the views were stunning. The nice thing about this trip is that Mount Fuji is just one part of the tour! The cable car ride, cruise on Lake Ashi and in particular the bullet train ride back to Tokyo were all fantastic - it is no surprise that this tour sells out quickly. It is well worth doing and a great day trip away from Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lynette A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organised company. The bus was comfortable, lunch was great and the bullet train amazing - a must experience whilst in Japan. Unfortunately it was raining and cloudy so couldn't see hardly anything. Hakone, I'm sure would have been a beautiful place if we could of seen through the cloud.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nikki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were picked up on time and we shown the upmost professionalism. Our guide's English was very good and she was informative and insightful. We even picked up some extra cultural information on top of here considerable knowledge of Mt.Fuji and the surrounding areas. I really enjoyed the bullet train ride too!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Delia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great! We were blessed with good weather and saw clearly the full view of Mt Fuji. Our guide was excellent, helping us in every detail of the tour, most especially our bullet train ride. 5 Stars.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

0504Traveller United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour of Mt Fuji, Hakone, the cruise, and the cable car to the top of the mountain. Our guide, Keiko, was extremely helpful in providing not only information on the tour but also additional information on Tokyo - including a great sushi restaurant recommendation. The tour was also nice in that on the top of the mountain we got to visit a Shinto Shrine and were informed on the customs and rituals of the faith.
The bullet train on the way back was also a great experience and again Keiko our tour guide was extremely helpful in providing detailed information on the train and navigating the system. A great tour with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message