It all started with Ieyasu Tokugawa. The year was 1600, and Japan had been in a period of feudal wars and dissonance for over a century. Tokugawa, a military leader in Edo - a sleepy castle town in eastern Japan - won the bloody Battle of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour will likely be a small group. There will be a lot of walking so come in shape. Amy, our tour guide, did a lot of research on this area before giving this tour. A very eye opening walk thru this old district of Tokyo. Shrines and little stores line a lot of these streets. We then walked the small side streets to see where exclusive restaurants which still use geisha were. I recommend this tour for adult only. Kids will get tired and fussy a some point during the tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sadly it was raining and we missed most of the tour attractions. However, it was a nice experience.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very interesting tour for those wishing explore the more quaint side of Tokyo away from the main tourist attractions. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nikko has a very gorgeous shrine extremely rich in details. Edo Wonderland is fantastic. Overall great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most excellent tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job of showing us one of the older neighborhoods in the Asakusa area of Tokyo. There was quite a bit of walking, so wear good shoes and be able to walk about 2.5 miles at a 2.2 mph pace. We took frequent breaks, so even the least fit in our small group of 9 were able to keep up. This was a very relaxed and friendly tour. Easy to see why it is so popular. We had the added advantage of taking the tour on the weekend, so there were community celebrations, with marathon runners, folks dressed in traditional outfits and entertainment near the temple. I would recommend that you take this tour early in your visit to Japan. Our tour guide explained may cultural aspects and courtesies. She even took us to the subway and gave detailed direction and tips about how to not only make our way back to our hotels, but how to use the subway during the rest of our time in Japan. Our guide was most helpful in answering all the questions that you might feel a little reluctant to ask. There was not a question, about anything, that she did not answer in a satisfactory and most helpful way.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was fun! A great way to explore a neighborhood!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

THIS TOUR IS EXCELLENT! THE RAIN SPOILD A BIT INSIDE THE PARK BUT OVERALL WAS FANTASTIC!. ITS A EXPERIENCE SEEING THE GEISHA and PLAYING NINJA IN THIS PARK. IF YOU HAVE KIDS OF FAMILY TRAVELING IN JAPAN, THIS TOUR IS ONE I RECOMMEND. I'LL TELL YOU, IT MAKES YOU FEEL YOUR ARE IN THIS EDO ERA. THE TOUR TIME WAS PERFECT EXCEPT THE FEW RAIN THAT DROPPED WHEN WE ARRIVE IN THE AFTERNOON BUT IT WAS OK COZ IT WAS HOT and HUMID . TRAVELLER: BENJIE FROM SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was such an amazing tour! It was very intimate and our guide was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone that really wants to get to know the city on a more intimate level. There was a lot of walking, so be prepared for that, but as long as you're ok with a day of walking, this is one of the best tours I've ever had.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our first day in Tokyo - went here and a great way to see another part of the city - fabulous

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

John T H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a one on with tour guide, it involved a local train trip and was extremely enlightening.
The guide was well versed in English and we found it great prsonal tour..

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was our first experience with Viator and it will not be our last. My husband and I were the only two people on the tour so it was wonderful. Our tour guide, Katie, was very knowledgeable and her English was superb. We have been to Tokyo many times but we had never been to this section of the city. Katie guided us to shrines, temples and through back city streets that were so interesting. It was a great afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was real value for money. We managed to squeeze in a trip up the tokyo metropolitan government building at the start of this which was a real treat. The walking tour was a good trip to take at the start of the holiday to ease you in to the culture. I would recommend it if you are there for a week or so to bulk up your Tokyo experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and was happy to help you with advice for your stay as well as telling you about the place itself!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent local guide, fluent in English, very knowledgable. The walking tour wandered us around a part of Tokyo we never would have seen otherwise, and she adjusted the tour to suit us. Fantastic way to spend a few hours

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Carolyn M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Showed us a side of Tokyo we would never have found by ourselves. We happened to be taking this tour on the day of the Bean Throwing Festival. Our guide took us to the temple, and waited patiently for us to watch. We thought this would be half of our 2 hour tour, but the guide completed all the tour

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message