It all started with Ieyasu Tokugawa. The year was 1600, and Japan had been in a period of feudal wars and dissonance for over a century. Tokugawa, a military leader in Edo - a sleepy castle town in eastern Japan - won the bloody Battle of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ana Carolina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, The guide had a huge knowledge about the area
and Japanese culture in general.
I had a wonderful time in a part of Tokyo
I would never discover by myself.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the advantage of being the only person on the tour so it was a an opportunity to chat to my guide and to find out not just about where we walked, but about life in modern day Tokyo and Japan. Joy was a very interesting and friendly guide, very enthusiastic about her subject. It was an extremely interesting tour with lovely discoveries tucked away down the tiny streets. To end the tour in a typical bar, the size of a front room, for a drink and a Japanese snack was a great end to the afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is good. Edo Wonderland is a much if you want to see Geishas and Maikos in their kimonos and Samurai. It's a traditional Japanese theme park where they have shows to enjoy including comedy show in JAPANESE that we didn't understand any word haha! You also get to do Japanese traditional activities.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good trip, very nice guide and good comfortable bus. It was a long trip, that was the only downside, but we have seen some Amazing views here. Edo wonderland is also fun, especially for my 8 year old son!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience despite extremely hot weather. My guide Chiaki was thoroughly professional with lots of interesting anecdotes about this area. Actually saw two Geisha walking the small lanes and loved the quaint shops and shrines along the way. Have seen a lot of Tokyo but this was another delight. Thank you Chiaki.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

David W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. There were lo lynnwood three of us o. The tour. Because of this we got know.each well. The tour guide was well aware of my wife's health problems and patiently foe her. Learned a lot about early tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Johnny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very friendly tour guide. learned a lot about Japanese history and culture!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Christopher H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour. I wish I could remember our tour guides name, but she was great. I learned so much much from her about little things in Tokyo. I recommend this tour to see things you might not see on other tours.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

kacurry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Edo Wonderland was a great experience. The ninja shows are a must-see.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

farhana.poppleton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went with a small group which was nice. We walked through the back streets of Tokyo and our guide took really good care of us. You get to see a very different side to Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent and very well-informed guide, and a very interesting part of Tokyo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Georgina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great tour and excellent tour guide. The areas we walked through were very interesting and unlike the usual tourist destinations. The streets were packed with delicious delights and tempting souvenirs. A great way to understand the inner workings of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Cristina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Edo Wonderland really lives up to its' name. Beautiful and amazing place!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

gary82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour will likely be a small group. There will be a lot of walking so come in shape. Amy, our tour guide, did a lot of research on this area before giving this tour. A very eye opening walk thru this old district of Tokyo. Shrines and little stores line a lot of these streets. We then walked the small side streets to see where exclusive restaurants which still use geisha were. I recommend this tour for adult only. Kids will get tired and fussy a some point during the tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

passchie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Javier C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sadly it was raining and we missed most of the tour attractions. However, it was a nice experience.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Mr Julian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very interesting tour for those wishing explore the more quaint side of Tokyo away from the main tourist attractions. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Massahide Namba Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nikko has a very gorgeous shrine extremely rich in details. Edo Wonderland is fantastic. Overall great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Charles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most excellent tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job of showing us one of the older neighborhoods in the Asakusa area of Tokyo. There was quite a bit of walking, so wear good shoes and be able to walk about 2.5 miles at a 2.2 mph pace. We took frequent breaks, so even the least fit in our small group of 9 were able to keep up. This was a very relaxed and friendly tour. Easy to see why it is so popular. We had the added advantage of taking the tour on the weekend, so there were community celebrations, with marathon runners, folks dressed in traditional outfits and entertainment near the temple. I would recommend that you take this tour early in your visit to Japan. Our tour guide explained may cultural aspects and courtesies. She even took us to the subway and gave detailed direction and tips about how to not only make our way back to our hotels, but how to use the subway during the rest of our time in Japan. Our guide was most helpful in answering all the questions that you might feel a little reluctant to ask. There was not a question, about anything, that she did not answer in a satisfactory and most helpful way.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Yvette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was fun! A great way to explore a neighborhood!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

larcy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

THIS TOUR IS EXCELLENT! THE RAIN SPOILD A BIT INSIDE THE PARK BUT OVERALL WAS FANTASTIC!. ITS A EXPERIENCE SEEING THE GEISHA and PLAYING NINJA IN THIS PARK. IF YOU HAVE KIDS OF FAMILY TRAVELING IN JAPAN, THIS TOUR IS ONE I RECOMMEND. I'LL TELL YOU, IT MAKES YOU FEEL YOUR ARE IN THIS EDO ERA. THE TOUR TIME WAS PERFECT EXCEPT THE FEW RAIN THAT DROPPED WHEN WE ARRIVE IN THE AFTERNOON BUT IT WAS OK COZ IT WAS HOT and HUMID . TRAVELLER: BENJIE FROM SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Rob K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was such an amazing tour! It was very intimate and our guide was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone that really wants to get to know the city on a more intimate level. There was a lot of walking, so be prepared for that, but as long as you're ok with a day of walking, this is one of the best tours I've ever had.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

BRUCE R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our first day in Tokyo - went here and a great way to see another part of the city - fabulous

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

John T H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a one on with tour guide, it involved a local train trip and was extremely enlightening.
The guide was well versed in English and we found it great prsonal tour..

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message