• USD ($)
  • English
Geisha are one of the most misunderstood pieces of the Japanese cultural puzzle. These traditional Japanese entertainers are trained as hostesses with skills in various Japanese arts, particularly dance, music and the tea ceremony. The history of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most excellent tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job of showing us one of the older neighborhoods in the Asakusa area of Tokyo. There was quite a bit of walking, so wear good shoes and be able to walk about 2.5 miles at a 2.2 mph pace. We took frequent breaks, so even the least fit in our small group of 9 were able to keep up. This was a very relaxed and friendly tour. Easy to see why it is so popular. We had the added advantage of taking the tour on the weekend, so there were community celebrations, with marathon runners, folks dressed in traditional outfits and entertainment near the temple. I would recommend that you take this tour early in your visit to Japan. Our tour guide explained may cultural aspects and courtesies. She even took us to the subway and gave detailed direction and tips about how to not only make our way back to our hotels, but how to use the subway during the rest of our time in Japan. Our guide was most helpful in answering all the questions that you might feel a little reluctant to ask. There was not a question, about anything, that she did not answer in a satisfactory and most helpful way.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was fun! A great way to explore a neighborhood!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was such an amazing tour! It was very intimate and our guide was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone that really wants to get to know the city on a more intimate level. There was a lot of walking, so be prepared for that, but as long as you're ok with a day of walking, this is one of the best tours I've ever had.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our first day in Tokyo - went here and a great way to see another part of the city - fabulous

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

John T H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a one on with tour guide, it involved a local train trip and was extremely enlightening.
The guide was well versed in English and we found it great prsonal tour..

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was our first experience with Viator and it will not be our last. My husband and I were the only two people on the tour so it was wonderful. Our tour guide, Katie, was very knowledgeable and her English was superb. We have been to Tokyo many times but we had never been to this section of the city. Katie guided us to shrines, temples and through back city streets that were so interesting. It was a great afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was real value for money. We managed to squeeze in a trip up the tokyo metropolitan government building at the start of this which was a real treat. The walking tour was a good trip to take at the start of the holiday to ease you in to the culture. I would recommend it if you are there for a week or so to bulk up your Tokyo experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and was happy to help you with advice for your stay as well as telling you about the place itself!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent local guide, fluent in English, very knowledgable. The walking tour wandered us around a part of Tokyo we never would have seen otherwise, and she adjusted the tour to suit us. Fantastic way to spend a few hours

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Carolyn M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Showed us a side of Tokyo we would never have found by ourselves. We happened to be taking this tour on the day of the Bean Throwing Festival. Our guide took us to the temple, and waited patiently for us to watch. We thought this would be half of our 2 hour tour, but the guide completed all the tour

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was quite interesting, and our tour guide had a good knowledge of the history of the area.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This is a worthwhile tour to do. It does take all afternoon and there is a lot of walking but it was well worth the effort. We saw parts of Tokyo that we would never find on our own and learnt more about he Japanese than we knew. We even saw a Geisha!. Our guide was awesome!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We find this tour interesting. it's a walking tour and we find the authentic Japanese life.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Our guide Take was fabulous and answered all our questions. The temples were interesting and we increased our understanding of Shinto and Buddhism. We love walking tours however there really was not much of an historical nature to see so we would not recommend this tour unless you have done everything else. We actually found other areas that we thought more suited to a walking tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This was a disaster tour. We couldn't hear the guide since her English wasn't very good, she spoke softly and we had a large group (about 12). We were told about the Edo period and the Meiji restoration on the train. But once we get there, we didn't hear much from the guide and just walked around the back streets. When we asked what was the objective of the walking tour, the guide said there wasn't any objective, just walking around. When we saw an English plaque saying that the area was rebuilt in a certain way after the "long sleeve" fire. We asked why it's called "long sleeve", the guide said what fire?? At that point, we figured we're better off on our own. We just left the tour after 1 hour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Seen much of the same thing everywhere we went on our own.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message