In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a lovely guide Meg who showed us some foods we would never have tried. It was a good introduction to our first night in Tokyo as she gave us some good tips, advice and we had a great day at a festival we would not ever have known about, she showed us where the owl café was which was fun. Well worth the trip. thx Meg

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour didn't take long but we have stopped to lots of placed. Our tour guide, Sylvia, has very good English. The food was fantastic. We walked along the tour but it was very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour, we discovered food that we would never eat without the help of Meg, our guide!

We recommend to any food lover!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour will likely be a small group. There will be a lot of walking so come in shape. Amy, our tour guide, did a lot of research on this area before giving this tour. A very eye opening walk thru this old district of Tokyo. Shrines and little stores line a lot of these streets. We then walked the small side streets to see where exclusive restaurants which still use geisha were. I recommend this tour for adult only. Kids will get tired and fussy a some point during the tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really recommend this tour. Small group so you can really get into the traditional vibe plus learn lots more about their custom! Guide (Silvia) was great!!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Great intro to Japanese food and culture. It was so much fun!! Worth it so just do it.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was awesome. The best way to find the best places to eat in a new country. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome fun! Our guide Meg was cool and you will learn quite a bit about Japanese people, culture, food, and etiquette....in a couple of hours! You will tour parts of Tokyo that are behind the scenes for most Foreigners...it's essentially bar-hopping with an excellent intimate experience...

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and a lot of fun, tour guide was awesome

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was definitely a great experience - food was fantastic. Meg, our guide was excellent and excellent English. There were only 3 of us, plus Meg, on the tour, so we were spoilt a bit!!!!
Greta value.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way of seeing tokyo whilst sampling great food and drink, great

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way of seeing tokyo whilst sampling great food and drink, great

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of the best tour guides I have had. A+++

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter loved it.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message