In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alfred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great food tour with a very helpful and attentive guide Silvia. Strongly recommend to anyone wanting a quick introduction to Japanse cuisine, other than such that is.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sanjiv Kumar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend it. It allowed us to explore food and where we would normally not try. The Guide Kazu was excellent.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Carol B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best times we had on our trip to Japan. Our guide was charming and spoke great English, and she took us to great back-street restaurants and shops we would never have found on our own. We lucked out with a fabulous bunch of people, too! The guide talked very knowledgeably about the foods, the drinks, the neighborhood. Since we eat Japanese food at home, we didn't expect may surprises. We got quite a few. Tremendous fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Perfect tour! The guide was very sweet, and took us to all sorts of nooks we would have never dared tried (or even knew to ask about!). She was full of energy, and explained non-foodie things to us as well. It was like checking out Tokyo with a friend. My mom and I had a great time.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on the tour. Our tour guide was great and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Shinjuku for the first time

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Very good food and fun tour guide.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Eva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed the tour with a very friendly guide who explained a lot about the daily life in Japan and Kagurazaka became one of my favourite places in Tokyo. Thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Daisy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour conducted by our english guide was very polite and knew her way around. Recommend this tour if your ever in Japan.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Wayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The food tour was excellent and allowed us to visit and experience places we would never have visited. Ikumi emailed us after the tour providing details of where we had visited and what we tasted. Would really recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was so much fun! Really helped me understand Japanese ways of cooking since I had difficulties due to the language barrier. Went to places I would never have found and tried foods I otherwise would not have had a chance to experience. I always love food tours and this one was fantastic!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Andrea E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide Great food!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

wood64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable tour with a lovely guide. We had some wonderful food and experienced some great flavours of Japanese cooking.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this food tour. Sylvia was a great guide who spoke excellent English and explained everything really well. We experienced some authentic Japanese food and it was delicious.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

TravellersAus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour for those who are interested in finding out more about this bustling city and do not have the energy to do so yourselves. The host was delightful - informative and enviously energetic as are most Japanese. Even though it was a crush of people on a Saturday evening we did not rush at any stage, the tour even extended for nearly an hour longer.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was terrific. Our guide was fabulous and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The food variety was great and left us with more confidence into the rest of our Japanese adventure. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially at the beginning of a trip.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Ross M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour around Tokyo with a local who knew a lot about his city and a lot about the history of Japan.
I am glad I did this tour - I learned a lot about Japanese culture and saw some parts of the city I would have missed if I walked around alone.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to spend an evening making new friends and experiencing a unique dining experience that would be difficult to discover on your own!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to get to know Harajuku and some of the quirky lanes.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice tour. Takes you to places you probably would never find on your own. Definitely a do in Tokyo. Guide was very nice and spoke great English.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

hossai_collins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Ikumi our guide was lovely, spoke fluent English and we believe made this tour all the more enjoyable even in the pouring rain!! The food was delicious and the conversation even better.

Thank you once again Ikumi we had a great night!! :

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A really great experience - a chance to visit local food-spots that otherwise would have gone totally missed.

I was traveling on my own and the group was made up of three others from the US and the UK who were all in the same boat. We met our tour guide who then walked and subway'ed us around three fascinating areas where we learnt about and ate great local food - both hot and cold! Sake, Shocu and non-alcoholic drinks were on offer and I'm pretty sure that everyone on the group enjoyed it as much as I did.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

May L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Meg the tour guide was amazing! She was very accommodating and made the small group very comfortable Tour wasn't rushed and we got to sample some amazing food!! If you are a foodie, this trip is highly recommended. The price looks high, but everything is included.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was absolutely fantastic - one of the best. Our guide, Silvia, was fantastic. She truly gave us a local experience, taking us to some of her favorite spots. The food was amazing, but Silvia made it even better, providing the background and interesting facts behind the food we sampled. I will sign up for this tour again next time I am in Tokyo, which cannot be soon enough. I must also compliment the restaurants we visited and their staff. They were welcoming and made us feel right at home and took special care. Thank you Silvia, Viator,

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Karl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an excellent tour and evening. The food was delicious and varied, I was traveling with 2 work colleagues that have visited Tokyo before and we had items that neither of them had previously tried. Our guide, Meg, was knowledgeable, friendly and fun, which just helped the evening along.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message