In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 266 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing - must do tour for a foodie!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing! had the best food in tokyo on this tour, our guide was great and we ate lots of food!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful guide, Isuki. The food was marvelous and varied. The pace of the walk was just right -- no rushing, and we had a very relaxing and delightful evening.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

grbaker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A terrific night with a great fun guide where we learnt, explored and ate the most wonderful selection of Japanese food at different places through the evening. This really set us up for the next 2 weeks of traveling as we knew what we were doing and where to get the best cheapest food. Loved it!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Ana Carolina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, The guide had a huge knowledge about the area
and Japanese culture in general.
I had a wonderful time in a part of Tokyo
I would never discover by myself.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Steve B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great experience would recommend to anyone traveling to Tokyo with a night to spare. Interesting and delicious!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the advantage of being the only person on the tour so it was a an opportunity to chat to my guide and to find out not just about where we walked, but about life in modern day Tokyo and Japan. Joy was a very interesting and friendly guide, very enthusiastic about her subject. It was an extremely interesting tour with lovely discoveries tucked away down the tiny streets. To end the tour in a typical bar, the size of a front room, for a drink and a Japanese snack was a great end to the afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

TIEN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

great tour for first time in Tokyo Silvia was fun experience and very helpful
highly recommended

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Iain U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on the food tour. We were taken to areas of Tokyo we would have never found on our own and experienced some wonderfull japanese food

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Lis J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. I will definitely do this again if I visit Tokyo again. Meg is a great tour guide and the restaurants and food was great. The other people on the tour were friendly and everyone was welcoming.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Michael S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour with friendly guide Sylvie?. Great to see some more local places and different type of food to that you may pick. Also good for just seeing some new neighbourhoods!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Martin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very fun and a good way to learn some things about Tokyo that you would probably miss on your own.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jacqueline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience and Meg, our tour guide was informative and charming. She made it a wonderful experience. The other people on the tour were fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very informative tour and a good introduction to Shinjuku and Kabukicho. There were only three of us on the tour. We got to see quite a bit in two hours. On our walk through Shinjuku, we visited a video game arcade, a pachinko parlour, and a department store selling anime fashions. We also walked by a capsule hotel on our way to the Hanazono Shrine and Golden Gai.

In Kabukicho, we walked by numerous bars and all the neon signs. We had our photo taken by the arch marking the entrance to Kabukicho and walked by the famous Robot Restaurant. Last stop was for a snack of takoyaki.

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Holly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the BEST thing I did in Tokyo. Meg our tour guide was so informative and nice, and she took us to places I would have never found on my own. The entire experience made me vow to always take Food Tours when I visit cities from now on. If you want to see the real Tokyo..book this tour! It is the highlight of my trip to Tokyo and I will take it again next time I return.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

gafujimo2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Except for the confectionary shop, we went to places we would have never found on our own. Loved the hole in the wall places. It was more than the usual tasting tour. It was a full meal. Truly enjoyed our experience. I guide was delightful.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome experience for first timers in Tokyo. Tiny alleys and out of the way places and things to eat. Great guide who gave lots of info about food in Japan.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jeff K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Ikumi was the best guide! Food was excellent and it was great meeting people on the tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience despite extremely hot weather. My guide Chiaki was thoroughly professional with lots of interesting anecdotes about this area. Actually saw two Geisha walking the small lanes and loved the quaint shops and shrines along the way. Have seen a lot of Tokyo but this was another delight. Thank you Chiaki.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

David W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. There were lo lynnwood three of us o. The tour. Because of this we got know.each well. The tour guide was well aware of my wife's health problems and patiently foe her. Learned a lot about early tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Vincent J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was very friendly, informative, and took us to a lot of food spots you might only have found if you were a local!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

There are a lot of good reasons to pick the evening food tour with Tokyo Urban Adventures the company that runs this tour. First, this is a well recognized brand when it comes to tours in Asia I have used them on several occasions and never been disappointed. Secondly, the tour does a great job of focussing on some of the food I hadn't heard of before the trip for example, monjayaki, wagashi etc. Thirdly, the tour size is small and the guides are very personable Tokyo was probably my best experience in this regard - Silvia was fantastic. In short, this is a great way to spend an evening in Tokyo, the length of time is just about right and you get to see areas of Tokyo you would have otherwise missed trust me on this last point!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Gary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was fabulous. I enjoyed going to places I never would have visited without a guide. Beyond that, the food was amazing too.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

ramon p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We've been to Japan 4 separate times through the years and its only now that we joined a food tour. I highly recommend this tour, its a great way to appreciate the local cuisine, learn something new that we would have never tried out ourselves. Our guide - Rei was very informative. Our group was fun and everyone was willing to try everything.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

David F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Tokyo by Night food tour is a unique chance to taste Japanese foods that you would never find on your own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message