In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and a lot of fun, tour guide was awesome

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was definitely a great experience - food was fantastic. Meg, our guide was excellent and excellent English. There were only 3 of us, plus Meg, on the tour, so we were spoilt a bit!!!!
Greta value.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way of seeing tokyo whilst sampling great food and drink, great

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way of seeing tokyo whilst sampling great food and drink, great

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of the best tour guides I have had. A+++

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter loved it.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was excellent. (A Brazilian lady with Japanese family background). Indeed, we felt as sharing with a friend.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sadly it was raining and we missed most of the tour attractions. However, it was a nice experience.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very interesting tour for those wishing explore the more quaint side of Tokyo away from the main tourist attractions. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We would highly recommend this tour. Although only 2 restaurants and a street stop (which we thought didn't sound like much) - the food and variety was plentiful. We had a great tour guide (a beautiful French girl, we cannot remember her name) who was very helpful and patient with a very mixed tour (we have a number of much older people on the tour making walking from place to place a very slow experience. As a result, the 2 hour tour took longer than 3 hours, and she smiled the entire time and was not at all concerned about having to be with us longer.
The yakitori we tried was all good and varied, and the hot plate cook restaurant was great.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Meg, our guide was great! She knew where the best food place are and gives complete background on the history and culture behind it.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved it. It was fun to eat where the locals do. Our guide was very well informed. We discovered places we were totally unaware of. We were so taken with Tokyo.
We shall come back one day.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was brilliant. Small group. Knowledgeable guide. Three or 4 places to eat and everything included. This tour is a must.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great and fun tour. Our young guide was FANTASTIC! Great tour and food. lots of fun. Wish it had lasted longer.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message