• USD ($)
  • English
In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was brilliant. Small group. Knowledgeable guide. Three or 4 places to eat and everything included. This tour is a must.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great and fun tour. Our young guide was FANTASTIC! Great tour and food. lots of fun. Wish it had lasted longer.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Our host, Meg, was very knowledgeable and took us to eateries we would definitely not have visited without her guidance. Her command of a range of languages and her understanding of Japanese culture meant our first evening in Tokyo got off to a really good start and answered many of our initial questions. Her enthusiasm for her work was apparent and we would definitely recommend this tour to others who have little knowledge of Japanese food and culture.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was very fun and our guide was very personable. I highly recomend this tour !

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Definitely would suggest joining this tour. It is a very small group, which enhances the experience. Our guide, Meg, was excellent. She was able to add a lot of knowledge to other areas, not just food. The tour covers a range of food experiences in a great casual atmosphere.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

friendly,english-speaking guide.great food!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent tour guide. Tour is lots of fun. 2nd restaurant was very hot and stuffy. I started to feel dizzy and had to leave.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I highly recommend the Tokyo by Night Japanese Food Tour! Mt brother and I did the tour our last night in Japan and it was one of our favorite experiences of the trip. Megy, the tour guide, is incredibly knowledgeable about the different neighborhoods and has really done her homework on the best places to eat (lucky her!). She was really funny, spoke perfect English, and made sure to stop at a lot of cool places throughout the tour. If you're looking to experience the Japanese food culture but do't know the language well enough to be able to spot the best restaurants, this tour is highly worth it!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our lovely guide Meg, introduced us to Tokyo with an evening of great food tastings, and sake. Truly a fun night was had. Warm sake was a treat in the cold evening!
She was delightful, and a great beginning to our Japanese experience.
Rita and Claire Perth -West. Aust.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friend and I ended up having a private tour as no-one else on this trip. Our tour guide was great and went the extra mile after the tour had finished by helping me order a suitable gluten free meal in a restaurant nearby. I would recommend this trip as it showed us a different side to Tokyo that my friend and I would probably not have felt comfortable exploring ourselves.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most excellent tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job of showing us one of the older neighborhoods in the Asakusa area of Tokyo. There was quite a bit of walking, so wear good shoes and be able to walk about 2.5 miles at a 2.2 mph pace. We took frequent breaks, so even the least fit in our small group of 9 were able to keep up. This was a very relaxed and friendly tour. Easy to see why it is so popular. We had the added advantage of taking the tour on the weekend, so there were community celebrations, with marathon runners, folks dressed in traditional outfits and entertainment near the temple. I would recommend that you take this tour early in your visit to Japan. Our tour guide explained may cultural aspects and courtesies. She even took us to the subway and gave detailed direction and tips about how to not only make our way back to our hotels, but how to use the subway during the rest of our time in Japan. Our guide was most helpful in answering all the questions that you might feel a little reluctant to ask. There was not a question, about anything, that she did not answer in a satisfactory and most helpful way.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour gets you out and show you even with a language barrier you can navigate this city especially by JR rail +Very helpful guide.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was fun! A great way to explore a neighborhood!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. There were 4 people on our tour plus our guide Meg. Meg was fantastic. Really new her way around town and found some really off the beaten track kinda places. definitely would recommend this for anyone!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thank you Meg! the time I spent that night was fantastic! excelent food

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message