In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Sylvia was an exceptional guide and showed us a fabulous nigt - loved the chosen destinations and can highly recommend,

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative and delicious!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous. We had Rei. Went back to restaurant few days later. Enjoyed immensely.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful you get to see and eat were the latest locals eat very good our guide great

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time on this tour. The food was great, and learning about the local history surrounding the area and its impact on the local food culture was really interesting too. Our tour guide Ray was friendly and informative.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We throughly enjoyed the tour, our tour guide took us to all the right places and had all the knowledge that we enjoyed hearing about through the city. Thank you

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour! Toshiko was very friendly and knowledgable about Tokyo. She spoke fluent English, and we had a great time!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Food was great, guide was very informative and spoke english very well. My favorite food was the Yakitori.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide on July 1 was great. He really tailored it to us. The food, history and culture were so interesting. His expertise was so valuable. Thanks to him we had a great experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very friendly tour guide. learned a lot about Japanese history and culture!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour. got to see a lot of the great things that make Shinjuku such a popular area of Tokyo!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to get to know the lay of the land. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide was awesome can't remember her name. So many cool things in this area that you get to see, and get insight from a local. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour. I wish I could remember our tour guides name, but she was great. I learned so much much from her about little things in Tokyo. I recommend this tour to see things you might not see on other tours.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we decided to go on this tour! We went to places we never would have ventured to on our own. Our guide Rei was great, very informative and fun. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour! Rai did a great job showing us around Tokyo! The food we ate was fantastic and we enjoyed learning about Japanese culture and cuisine! Would highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys learning and eating!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sylvia was a fantastic guide. She gave great attention to detail even helped cook the food took us to great out of the way restaurants. Definitely would recommend this tour. A highlight of our trip. Can't say enough good things about it!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience and very friendly guides.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Yum! This tour was great, everything we tried was local and delicious. I certainly didn't leave hungry.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really good fun! Two things made this entertaining and worthwhile: the guide and the food. Our guide, Silvinha, please excuse spelling mistakes was knowledgable, friendly, approachable and good fun. She was happy to answer all my silly questions on Tokyo and Japan. With the food, we went to places we wouldn't have found ourselves, and tried foods we may not have chosen autonomously, so it was great to experiment and the food was delicious... And plentiful!

Oishikatta desu! Great experience!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went with a small group which was nice. We walked through the back streets of Tokyo and our guide took really good care of us. You get to see a very different side to Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great trip as we got to try some very authentic Japanese food Sake. We even got to cook our own food which was good fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really great tour, our tour leader, Cynthia was knowlwdgeable and informative. The food was great, varied and plenty of it. A thoroughly memorable experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our most favorite tour of our vacation...despite the rain. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and even took the rain into consideration a led us through covered paths instead out walking out in the rain. The food was excellent and the owners of the establishments that we stopped at were very friendly and also shared a bit of knowledge with us. I highly recommend this tour to anyone....even if you're not a foodie.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome experience! Our tour guide Silvia was very knowledgeable and speaks English very well. Great people, great food!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message