If the idea of eating sushi turns your head, or if you're the guy who's hunting down the McDonalds in Tuscany, then perhaps you're also the guy not too keen on the idea of Japanese cuisine. If so you’re definitely the guy this guide was made for. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jrs320

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a such a wonderful experience!! It was just the three of us - me, my wife and our twenty-one year old daughter. None of us had ever cut a fish before.

We arrived and met Karl, our guide, interpreter and photographer. He introduced us to our Japanese sensei. Karl gave us each an apron. We washed up and stood at our individual stations. Each station had a cutting board, a very sharp Japanese knife and all the other fish cutting/cleaning implements needed for the lesson.

Over the next hour, sensei taught us how to take the whole fish and gut it, skin it, and cut the flesh into sashimi slices. We laughed and we learned. It was a lot of fun!

We each did three fish - two horse mackerels to start and then, once we had a little experience, we cut an amberjack which is a larger fish. None of us had ever done this before but with each fish we got more confident. By the end of the lesson we all agreed that we would be able to do it back home.

I should also mention that at the end of the lesson there was a ton of sashimi. We took a large container with us and had it for dinner that night. It was delicious!!

Karl sent us his photos and videos a few days later. If youre in Tokyo, I highly recommend this class!!!

Doing what: 1-Hour Fish-Cutting Lesson with Sashimi Instructor in Tsukiji

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite tour of the trip. Our guide, Ichi, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful! We would recommend this tour to everyone. You start off trying different kinds of Asahi beer. Then you go to a sake/liquor store where you try different sakes. We ended up buying a bottle cause they were very good. Ichi then walked us by Senso Ji temple and was willing to take pictures of us. We then got to eat. Ichi did the ordering for us and listened to what we like and don't like and suggested food to try based on that. Then you end the night at another restaurant for savory pancakes okonomiyaki.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Alfred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great food tour with a very helpful and attentive guide Silvia. Strongly recommend to anyone wanting a quick introduction to Japanse cuisine, other than such that is.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sanjiv Kumar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend it. It allowed us to explore food and where we would normally not try. The Guide Kazu was excellent.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I absolutely loved my tour with Ichi! It was really fun to be able to experience Japan more like a local rather than as a tourist. Because I was the only one on the tour that night, he customized the food to fit my adventurous palette which I loved. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone new to this area of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Carol B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best times we had on our trip to Japan. Our guide was charming and spoke great English, and she took us to great back-street restaurants and shops we would never have found on our own. We lucked out with a fabulous bunch of people, too! The guide talked very knowledgeably about the foods, the drinks, the neighborhood. Since we eat Japanese food at home, we didn't expect may surprises. We got quite a few. Tremendous fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Perikala ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent,excellent,excellent. We forgot the guide' s name, she showed us every detail of fish market with lot of patience,enjoyed street food and sake free of charge.thanks for her.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Perfect tour! The guide was very sweet, and took us to all sorts of nooks we would have never dared tried (or even knew to ask about!). She was full of energy, and explained non-foodie things to us as well. It was like checking out Tokyo with a friend. My mom and I had a great time.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

blake.berryman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide, Anne, was amazing. She was very fun and informative. It was like a friend showing you around. The food was delicious! This was an excellent way to get a sampling of different foods. There and #39;s even a special item that can only be found at this one spot in Tokyo!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Theresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience! I booked this tour for my family 2 adults and 2 teenagers and we loved every minute of it. Anne and 2 other guides showed us around the main streets in Tokyo and the places we ate from were very good, very informative. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Bob B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We took this tour on the evening of our first full day in Japan. Taking the tour so early into our trip was very beneficial. Not only did we learn about the various types of restaurants and see some sights of the city, but also learned some basic Japanese table manners and customs. The two restaurants chosen were excellent and the guides described the food and drink in detail. This tour was a great start to our stay in Japan!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Very good food and fun tour guide.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I would rate this a six star if we had a chance. Not a tour. It is an experience. Our leader Ichi did a great job of leading our small group through the chaos of a working seafood, vegetable and fruit market. He had the knowledge and patience to explain many of the processes and in answering our many questions. He then led us through the wonderful local markets enabling us to taste many of the local foods and drinks so popular in Japan. Lunch was at a small Sushi restaurant. Ichi explained to us a little about the sushi making process and the proper way to eat sushi. I don't know if I have ever had better sushi in my life. The afternoon was spent visiting the very interesting and large Asakusa temple. We finished the experience with a local dessert. Just a great education and a great experience with great food mixed in. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Ed S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic night ! Our guide, Ichi, was very charming and informative. We went to great bars and restaurants and Ichi even acted as a first class chef in our final restaurant ! It was fun, and great meeting other people and getting access to the inner secret side of Japanese cuisine. Oh....and I almost forgot to mention the Master Saki brewer who let us taste his fantastic home made Saki varients.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Ming N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fun and excited. This is the first time we visited Japan. Anne, our tour guide, tours us the neighborhood as if she is a long time friend of us.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Brendan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Omg where to start! Well dont worry bout that they will show you. The places we went we would never have thought to go to and try.

I highly recommend this tour. It was informative, fun and delicious.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Wayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The food tour was excellent and allowed us to visit and experience places we would never have visited. Ikumi emailed us after the tour providing details of where we had visited and what we tasted. Would really recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was so much fun! Really helped me understand Japanese ways of cooking since I had difficulties due to the language barrier. Went to places I would never have found and tried foods I otherwise would not have had a chance to experience. I always love food tours and this one was fantastic!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Andrea E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide Great food!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

wood64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable tour with a lovely guide. We had some wonderful food and experienced some great flavours of Japanese cooking.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Matiu B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hiro was our guide, so friendly and engaging - a delight to spend 5 hours with. This tour set us up for the rest of the trip, we knew were we wanted to explore the follow day and gained a lot of confidence in navigating this amazing city. Retracing the tour steps the following day we went back to the great places that Hiro showed us and snacked our way through the day. I recommend going to the Asakusa- again it's a fast track to discovering the city, there is so much to see so you don't have time to waste exploring it by yourself, also great communication from the tour team via email.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Anneil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I did the walking food tour with Anne. What an amazing guide!!! I had so much fun hanging out with her and going to different restaurants. She took me to different places around Ginza to try different drinks and food. I had a blast! I have already recommended this tour to my friends and will continue to recommend this tour to anyone that is going to Japan. If you are looking to eat and drink like a local, look no further.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Anneil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Yu was my guide for this tour. He was amazing!!! He took me to the top of the Asakusa Information Center for a gorgeous view of Asakusa. We then went to a bar to try 3 different types of beer next to a building that was shaped like a beer. We then went to an Izakaya for traditional Japanese food and drinks. Delicious!!! Then we went to a local liquor store to try some different sakes. I bought a bottle of plum wine from the store. The plum wine is the best plum wine that I have ever had. Everyone that has tried it, loved it. Our last location was a pancake restaurant where we had meat with cabbage and egg cooked in front of us with mayonnaise and brown sauce. Yummy! I had more sake. I was so full at the end of the tour...I skipped breakfast the next day. If you do this tour, you will not regret it. Thank you, Yu!!!

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Cochia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Local food at its best! Simple but such taste and quality. You can feel the pride and effort that goes into the preparation with every bite. Thank you very much to our guide, Yu! He was very warm, friendly and attentive. He has built up a good relationship with the store-owners, and it felt like he was bringing us to his home town for a meal. This tour made our day!

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink at Sunamachi

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this food tour. Sylvia was a great guide who spoke excellent English and explained everything really well. We experienced some authentic Japanese food and it was delicious.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message