If the idea of eating sushi turns your head, or if you're the guy who's hunting down the McDonalds in Tuscany, then perhaps you're also the guy not too keen on the idea of Japanese cuisine. If so you’re definitely the guy this guide was made for. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I would rate this a six star if we had a chance. Not a tour. It is an experience. Our leader Ichi did a great job of leading our small group through the chaos of a working seafood, vegetable and fruit market. He had the knowledge and patience to explain many of the processes and in answering our many questions. He then led us through the wonderful local markets enabling us to taste many of the local foods and drinks so popular in Japan. Lunch was at a small Sushi restaurant. Ichi explained to us a little about the sushi making process and the proper way to eat sushi. I don't know if I have ever had better sushi in my life. The afternoon was spent visiting the very interesting and large Asakusa temple. We finished the experience with a local dessert. Just a great education and a great experience with great food mixed in. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Ed S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic night ! Our guide, Ichi, was very charming and informative. We went to great bars and restaurants and Ichi even acted as a first class chef in our final restaurant ! It was fun, and great meeting other people and getting access to the inner secret side of Japanese cuisine. Oh....and I almost forgot to mention the Master Saki brewer who let us taste his fantastic home made Saki varients.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Ming N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fun and excited. This is the first time we visited Japan. Anne, our tour guide, tours us the neighborhood as if she is a long time friend of us.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Brendan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Omg where to start! Well dont worry bout that they will show you. The places we went we would never have thought to go to and try.

I highly recommend this tour. It was informative, fun and delicious.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Wayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The food tour was excellent and allowed us to visit and experience places we would never have visited. Ikumi emailed us after the tour providing details of where we had visited and what we tasted. Would really recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was so much fun! Really helped me understand Japanese ways of cooking since I had difficulties due to the language barrier. Went to places I would never have found and tried foods I otherwise would not have had a chance to experience. I always love food tours and this one was fantastic!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Andrea E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide Great food!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

wood64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable tour with a lovely guide. We had some wonderful food and experienced some great flavours of Japanese cooking.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Matiu B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hiro was our guide, so friendly and engaging - a delight to spend 5 hours with. This tour set us up for the rest of the trip, we knew were we wanted to explore the follow day and gained a lot of confidence in navigating this amazing city. Retracing the tour steps the following day we went back to the great places that Hiro showed us and snacked our way through the day. I recommend going to the Asakusa- again it's a fast track to discovering the city, there is so much to see so you don't have time to waste exploring it by yourself, also great communication from the tour team via email.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Anneil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I did the walking food tour with Anne. What an amazing guide!!! I had so much fun hanging out with her and going to different restaurants. She took me to different places around Ginza to try different drinks and food. I had a blast! I have already recommended this tour to my friends and will continue to recommend this tour to anyone that is going to Japan. If you are looking to eat and drink like a local, look no further.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Anneil B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Yu was my guide for this tour. He was amazing!!! He took me to the top of the Asakusa Information Center for a gorgeous view of Asakusa. We then went to a bar to try 3 different types of beer next to a building that was shaped like a beer. We then went to an Izakaya for traditional Japanese food and drinks. Delicious!!! Then we went to a local liquor store to try some different sakes. I bought a bottle of plum wine from the store. The plum wine is the best plum wine that I have ever had. Everyone that has tried it, loved it. Our last location was a pancake restaurant where we had meat with cabbage and egg cooked in front of us with mayonnaise and brown sauce. Yummy! I had more sake. I was so full at the end of the tour...I skipped breakfast the next day. If you do this tour, you will not regret it. Thank you, Yu!!!

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Cochia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Local food at its best! Simple but such taste and quality. You can feel the pride and effort that goes into the preparation with every bite. Thank you very much to our guide, Yu! He was very warm, friendly and attentive. He has built up a good relationship with the store-owners, and it felt like he was bringing us to his home town for a meal. This tour made our day!

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink at Sunamachi

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this food tour. Sylvia was a great guide who spoke excellent English and explained everything really well. We experienced some authentic Japanese food and it was delicious.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was terrific. Our guide was fabulous and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The food variety was great and left us with more confidence into the rest of our Japanese adventure. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially at the beginning of a trip.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Timothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to spend an evening making new friends and experiencing a unique dining experience that would be difficult to discover on your own!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Ben C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Yu was a fantastic guide. We had the best night in Tokyo, each of the spots visited was a hidden gem and Yu's advice and lessons in Japanese also made the rest of our Tokyo adventure great! Best tour I have done. Couldn't recommend any higher.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice tour. Takes you to places you probably would never find on your own. Definitely a do in Tokyo. Guide was very nice and spoke great English.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

hossai_collins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Ikumi our guide was lovely, spoke fluent English and we believe made this tour all the more enjoyable even in the pouring rain!! The food was delicious and the conversation even better.

Thank you once again Ikumi we had a great night!! :

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A really great experience - a chance to visit local food-spots that otherwise would have gone totally missed.

I was traveling on my own and the group was made up of three others from the US and the UK who were all in the same boat. We met our tour guide who then walked and subway'ed us around three fascinating areas where we learnt about and ate great local food - both hot and cold! Sake, Shocu and non-alcoholic drinks were on offer and I'm pretty sure that everyone on the group enjoyed it as much as I did.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

May L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Meg the tour guide was amazing! She was very accommodating and made the small group very comfortable Tour wasn't rushed and we got to sample some amazing food!! If you are a foodie, this trip is highly recommended. The price looks high, but everything is included.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was absolutely fantastic - one of the best. Our guide, Silvia, was fantastic. She truly gave us a local experience, taking us to some of her favorite spots. The food was amazing, but Silvia made it even better, providing the background and interesting facts behind the food we sampled. I will sign up for this tour again next time I am in Tokyo, which cannot be soon enough. I must also compliment the restaurants we visited and their staff. They were welcoming and made us feel right at home and took special care. Thank you Silvia, Viator,

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Karl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an excellent tour and evening. The food was delicious and varied, I was traveling with 2 work colleagues that have visited Tokyo before and we had items that neither of them had previously tried. Our guide, Meg, was knowledgeable, friendly and fun, which just helped the evening along.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Lorelei P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

From the moment we met our Tour Leader, Masaki Higashida, we knew we were in for an experience of a lifetime. His command of the English language and knowledge of Tokyo was outstanding. The tour of Asakusa included visiting a temple and participating in some of the traditional rituals of getting our fortunes, incense burning and prayer, plus sampling some unique foods in the market. Next it was off to Tsukiji Market and a close up look into the Japanese fish trading industry, amazing! Finally we went to a very Traditional Japanese sushi restaurant for a private demonstration and hands on lesson in the art of sushi making and then we lunched on our own creations. At the end of our tour, our guide made sure we knew exactly how to get back to our hotel. For anyone wanting to learn more about the Japanese culture and partake in a sushi making lesson, this is an absolute must, you will not be sorry you went on this tour.

Doing what: Tsukiji Market Visit, Sushi Making Class and Asakusa Tour

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Meg was an excellent guide. We went to three places to eat, learnt about the Japanese eating culture and tips for future eating out. Great night out, Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

PETER S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great evening
Itsumi was a excellent host
We were a group of 9 and she got us all acquainted and talking within minutes
We were taken to places we would never have found ourselves and the food and company were great
I would strongly recommend this tour as great start to Tokyo exploring

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message