If the idea of eating sushi turns your head, or if you’re the guy who's hunting down the McDonalds in Tuscany, then perhaps you're also the guy not too keen on the idea of Japanese cuisine. If so you’re definitely the guy this guide was made for. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were in Japan for almost two weeks, and this was one of my favorite activities. We went to two restaurants, plus a bakery, where our guide picked up our dessert. Small, intimate group of about 12 people, and it was fun to get to know them over the meals, plus walking from one place to the next. Our guide was a friendly young woman who was perfect for this tour--she knew a lot about the food and the restaurants, and made a fun event even more so.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable. Good variety of food types in interesting locations that we would not have experienced otherwise. It was also a good opportunity to meet some other English speaking travellers. Warning: there is quite a bit of walking involved in this tour. One of the group had a bad hip and I think she found the long walks and many subway stairs painful. So do not book if you have any mobility issues.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour, it was our first night in Japan, it was cold and wet, but it didn't matter. The food was the best Japanese food we tried. We would not have known to try this food if we hadn't done this tour. Well worth the experience. The only negative was that we couldn't hear the young girl tour guide, maybe she could used the little microphones some guides used. We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This cooking class was very well organised and highly enjoyable. Both the tour guide and the host were lovely and it was great to experience cooking in a typical Kyoto kitchen/home. We were encouraged throughout the session to participate in the preparation of every dish made. The host made us feel very welcome in her home and was more than happy for us to take pictures throughout the class and answer our questions.

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! The food was epic, totally worth every penny and more. Guide was great. I wish we could have gone again to new restaurants!!!! Meeting place is easy to find, guide is a bit hard to hear in the beginning of the tour since it starts near the train. AWESOME! Totally recommend!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour deserves more than 5 stars. A fantastic night and a great tour by Elina. Very informative and knowledgable, this tour is a must do for an intro to Japanese dining. I've been back for the dessert three times since the tour, and going back for yakitori soon. An amazing night.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very imformative and very fun - terrific guide. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Small group, very informative, the tour guide was excellent! As a food tour - I was stuffed!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommended

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a fantastic time, the others in our group tour didnt show so it was just myself and my partner. Our guide was absolutely lovely, showed us some great places with great food that we probably wouldnt have tried before. She also gave us other tips and information about Tokyo. Definitely a 5 out of 5 :

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

So awesome! We had an awesome time, met some amazing people, and got incredibly wasted!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible. We went to several different places that were totally unique and delicious. Not only did we get to try some simply amazing food, we also learned so much about Japan and Japanese culture from our tour guide. She was so knowledgeable and ensured that the tour was really interesting. I would go as far to say that this tour is a definite must-do for those going to Tokyo for the first time.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a really fun evening! Elina was a wonderful guide who not only took two other business travelers and I to some places that we would never have been able to find on our own, she taught us about Japanese cuisine and customs along the way! She graciously handled my food allergy by taking us to a different location that had food I could eat. She taught us some Japanese and made us feel very welcomed. What a great way to learn a new city and feel more at home: sharing a meal with a local and other fellow travelers! Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent! Our tour guide Elina was very friendly and took us to several great hidden-away places to try different types of Japanese fare. My girlfriend and I had a blast in a small group of 4 and afterwards Elina was even kind enough to send an email with photos and instructions on how to reach our other travel destinations. All in all, it was a fantastic experience

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

BEST TOUR I HAVE BOOKED SO FAR!

A small group, nice to get to know people.
Get to go restaurants you wouldn´t go as a tourist.

Elina (our Guide!), Thank you for this beautiful experience!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Out tour guide Elina Kodera was very good - good English, accommodating, patient and knowledgeable. She was eager to answer our questions. Our family enjoyed her company and even provided additional information for some location directions we asked. The restaurants we went to were ok - good portions and good tasting. We had fun!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A lot of fun and good food. Great way to eat in some local places you would not find in your own. Loved our guide Elina

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Food tour was fantastic, food exceptional and our guide Meg was very friendly and extremely informative, would highly recommend this tour to get an insight into the real Tokyo that we would never have experienced

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide,,was an accomplished guide and we enjoyed every minute of this evening tour. She showed us the more exotic earteries in the area and explained what we were eating as well as the popularity for these types of food. We would never have found our way to these restaurants and parts of town or known the history behind their development if we had not joined this tour. We had many laughs with the others in the tour and hope to stay in touch with them. This was the best tour of our entire trip

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. A lot of fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Brilliant trip! Fully enjoyed ourselves. The group size was perfect and the food was excellent. Especially the meal at the end. I would 100% recommend and it didn't take all evening - finished at 9.30pm.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fabulous from the moment we met our guide Meg. She is so friendly and generous taking time to speak with everyone and explain and answer any questions we had. The places we went to we would never have found by ourselves and it gave us a great insight into Tokyo by night. The food tasting was of good quality and all of our group got on really well. The "sweet" part of our culinary feast was a laugh out loud experience with the stall holder trying to guess where we all came from, he loved to talk football!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was fantastic! We would have never ventured down those lane ways and places or tried this food! Fantastic guide! Thoroughly enjoyed it! Kampai!!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour with a bunch of great people. Tour leader, Meg, was outstanding. Food was excellent. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message