If the idea of eating sushi turns your head, or if you’re the guy who's hunting down the McDonalds in Tuscany, then perhaps you're also the guy not too keen on the idea of Japanese cuisine. If so you’re definitely the guy this guide was made for. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour with a bunch of great people. Tour leader, Meg, was outstanding. Food was excellent. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see Tokyo, through food! Our guide, Meg, took us to great places that we would have never found. She explained the food, and didn't limit us. If we wanted more, or to try other things on the menus, we were able to do so. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One word FANTASTIC Meg was a delight and a wonderful guide and ensured we all had a great time, even encouraged us to cook our own meal on the hot plate in front of us she also made sure we got on the right train back to our hotel, highly recommend this tour. Well done Meg

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic opportunity to see the local culture and taste food in locations that cater to locals. It took us to the nitty gritty of tokyo which is where you really want to be to find out about a location. The food was great and our guide was wonderful. She was a great guide who knew when to step back and let the tourist interact and others times did a masterful job of educating us.
So far I have not gone wrong with viator. Would recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in seeing what the real tokyo does and eats.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jackie E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sylvia was an amazing tour guide. It was such fun!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was awesome indeed one of the highlights of our trip

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was one of the highlight's of our holiday. Joining a small group of like minded food lovers we had the opportunity to visit small restaurants that as a tourist we may perhaps not have had the courage to enter! Starting with some excellent Yakitori and then a cute Japanese "fish" sweet we all travelled by train to Tsukishima to sample Monjayaki, a savoury Japanese pancake. Sitting around a table with a hot plate fitted we all had the chance to prepare and then devour this delicious Tokyo speciality. We then travelled back to our starting point and ended the tour before going our separate ways.

I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Tokyo who has a passion for food to book themselves on to this tour. As well as getting to meet like minded people we were able to sample some truly delicious food and were guided around by a friendly, knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Was wonderful having a local tour guide - took us to places that you just would not find yourself. Other tour members cheery - loved the Japanese pancake. I have an allergy to seafood and it was great to have the tour guide ask and choose alternatives for me. All in all - great experience

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is a asolute MUST GO. We had the best tour guid ever and she showed us everything. The food was great. I was also lucky to be with a nice groupe and even after the tour officially ended. We good a little extra tour so that we ended with one hour plus on our tour.
Everyone who wants to be introduced to Tokyo should do this tuour. ^-^

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We loved the eating experience and the history of the foods we ate and the local history of the areas we visited. Our guide, Sylvia , was exceptional

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was awesome!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow! This was a very personalized experience. Our interpreter/guide met us at the hotel with a car. On the drive to the home, our guide was engaging and interesting. She spoke perfect English as she had lived in Australia for eight years. Of course the best part was the lesson! Our hostess was gracious and informative. She and her nephew did a great job with all the parts of the dishes we prepared. Our 18 year old son loved everything. The food was spectacular and we enjoyed the conversation and learning customs as well as cooking. I would strongly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a lovely guide Meg who showed us some foods we would never have tried. It was a good introduction to our first night in Tokyo as she gave us some good tips, advice and we had a great day at a festival we would not ever have known about, she showed us where the owl café was which was fun. Well worth the trip. thx Meg

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour didn't take long but we have stopped to lots of placed. Our tour guide, Sylvia, has very good English. The food was fantastic. We walked along the tour but it was very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour, we discovered food that we would never eat without the help of Meg, our guide!

We recommend to any food lover!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message