While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto – once the imperial capital of Japan – is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very organized from hotel pickup to drop off. Delicious lunches. Their Japanese sub-contractors were the height of courtesy, foresight, and knowledge. We had minor issues with traffic in Kyoto however they made accommodations to honor their commitments. Truly first class.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour of Kyoto was exceptional. We were lucky enough to have the same tour guide for the morning and afternoon tours and he was very informative and was very organized. We were able to hear him even when there were competing tours right next to us. Lunch in Kyoto at The New Miyako Hotel was very good.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. The bullet train was great...hardly felt like you were moving. First class upgrade was a nice luxury item too. Seeing 3 temples in Kyoto is too many. The last one most couldn't keep up to the tour guide based on her pace and the volumes of people in the area. The first temple could have been removed from the trip as it wasn't much to see. The temple with the 1001 wooden soliders is impressive. Note you are on your own for the train ride which is fine as people greet you at both ends.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip organization. One of the best we have been on. Special commendation to Hiro our tour guide in Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour its a must! It was fantastic we were able to go to kyoto the 1st day and saw beatiful temples, then the second day we went to nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Kyoto trip was most outstanding. The bullet train from Tokyo makes Amtrak look like a kids train. Kyoto was beautiful and will worth the one day trip. I hope to go back again soon. The tour is well worth the time and effort--making anyones introduction into the Japanese culture easy and highly rewarding. Our Guides were excellent and highly knowledge able and made all the preps easy... I will be doing future tours with this company again when I return to Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was a little nervous about the train travel on my own, but Viator made sure the hand-offs went smoothly and I loved my experience of the bullet train and the guided tours of the Kyoto sites. Loved experiencing the temples. Great lunch included and the guide made sure my dietary needs were addressed.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour of Kyoto if you only have one day. Everything was easy, and it is a good choice for non-Japanese speakers, who want to see the sights, without the language challenges.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip on the bullet train and Kyoto was wonderful. The tour guides were very informative and let us know everything that was expected and prepared us times when locations and sights would be seen. The train, bus, gondola and boat were all wonderful. great pictures. Shopping could have been longer. Would recommend this trip from Toyko to all.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Everything was organised extremely well and made the best of available time in Kyoto whilst giving you your own time to explore. Pick up and drop off at hotel was a real bonus. The tour company took care of everything and travel arrangements went like clockwork. We had never done an organised tour before but would thoroughly recommend this one to anybody visiting Japan for the first time. Wonderful!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were picked up at our hotel and dropped back (from the train station by cab) to our hotel in the evening.
The temples we saw were really lovely and the hotel lunch was great. You can't go wrong with this tour it is well managed and the bullet train trip was fantastic. You can see great view of Mount Fuji from the bullet train to Kyoto too. The whole trip was very impressive.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Good introduction and sampler of Kyoto. Very well organised. There were agents at all points and the guide was very knowledgeable. I would do this again but this time spend at two least 2 nights in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip. Everything was included. The tour was flawless and when the representatives advised they would be in a certain place at a certain time, they were. Accommodation in Kyoto was great, much better then we expected from a tourist class hotel

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed our daytrip to Kyoto!! The team from Sunrise tours were very professional and well organized. Could not have asked for more given we had such a short time in Kyoto!!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

davidfyl
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed it very much. Train journet was simple and friendly. Hotels in Kyoto and Hiroshima are friendly and helpful.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We would highly recommend this trip to anyone like us who had just a few days to enjoy Japan.The organisation was excellent, the hotels were lovely and so conveniently located adjacent to the Shinkansen stations in Kyoto and Hiroshima, and the train tickets/hotel vouchers were delivered to our Tokyo hotel 2 days before.The Nozomi bullet train experience was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

what a trip., from the time we met the guide and were escorted to our seats on the bullet train met a guide at Kyoto on the station the scenery was brilliant! and the Hotel we stayed at was great, the company was lively and we were given a beautiful buffet it was just so colourful and as it was a holiday and the people were all dressed up in national dress and looked proud of it . well worth the trip our favourite part of Japan thanks Viator great job

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The service is "excellent". They are a well-organized tour company. Every step of the way, there was a guide providing “clear” instruction of the next step. They did not try to go the cheap route to make few extra dollars. The bullet train ride was the fastest one, which took 2 hours and 20 minutes. 1st class seating is not necessary. (There are luggage compartment at the back of each train, so don’t worry about the note on the voucher about the day pack.) Day 1’s lunch buffet at the New Miyako hotel was fantastic; we were all well fed and were not rushed. All of our tour guides spoke good English. Upon returning to Tokyo, a guide greeted us at the platform. Each of us had a "limo" taxi taking us to our hotels.

New Miyako Hotel's location is more convenient than Rihga Royal Hotel. Rihga Royal Hotel Kyoto is only a 5 minutes’ walk from New Miyako, but it goes under a tunnel and at night, it felt a bit scary. (You can also access RRH from the north side of the station.) 1st class hotel in my opinion is not necessary. My standard hotel is Marriott or Courtyard. Both New Miyako and Rihga Royal Hotels’ standard room are nice and clean. The room size may be smaller than the US standard, but it is not cramp.

If you have time, I highly recommend the 3 day tour and use the last day to visit sites that are not included in the trip. Day 1 afternoon was Nara. Day 2 morning included Nijo Castle (my favorite), Kitano-tenmangu Shrine (was the alternative because Imperial Palace was closed on Sunday), Golden Pavilion, and afternoon included another shrine, Sanju Sangendo Hall, and Kiyomizu Temple. We walked from Kiyomizu to Gion. Don't eat meals on the Hanami-koji street...tourist trap. You will find much better quality food else where; just have snacks. Day 3, we went to the Imperial Palace, Nishiki Market, and Arashimaya for the bamboo groove.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a solo traveller, this 3 day visit to Kyoto was fantastic. I couldn't fault any part of it. Everybody was reliable, everything ran to the timetable, the hotel and food was exceptional and most of all a very friendly experience.
Thank you Sunrise tours and Viatot.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour to see Kyoto highlights in a short period of time. Super well organised and well looked after. Absolutely loved it! Thank you for a great experience!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour Guides were excellent and provided 5 stars service. Hotel Kyoto Okura is fabulous with majesty quality and service way exceeding our expectations. High speed trains were comfortable and better than air. Most surprisingly, we were transported back to hotel in Tokyo in big luxurious Lexus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was outstanding. Everything was extremely well planned. There was someone to meet me every step of the journey. The tour guides were knowledgable and humorous. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was an excellent way to see Kyoto in a limited amount of time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour if you are spending your days in Tokyo. Tour guide was excellent. Maybe one should spend the night also in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very full day! The bullet train was fun (we went through a typhoon) and Kyoto is a very beautiful place. Well organised local guides made sure that everything went smoothly and we managed to visit three different places. My only gripe was that I didn't make any plans to stay longer in Kyoto. This trip was a taster and I wanted the whole plate!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best way to see Kyoto. They guide you through ever step, including taking you to the train platform. Our hotel was great and the attractions were awesome.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message