While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto - once the imperial capital of Japan - is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 228 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We could not fault the organisation of this tour nor the efficiently and knowledge of all the tour guides. Even when changing trains at Nagoya from one side of a platform to the other a tour guide was on the platform to assist us. The hotel in Kyoto was superb and we saw everything we wishes to see. We wiill certainly use Viator again in the future. Well done!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji and Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing tour !. The detail in the booking was not clear and I was ambivalent at first since the tour was expensive. However, it is worth every single penny. I was picked up at Sheraton hotel on time and brought to transportation center at 9. I was able to see Mt. Fuji after the rain. Lunch was at a hotel and then I did the afternoon activities outlined in the tour. Unfortunately, it was foggy so we did not see Lake Asha while on the boat and cable car. After the activities were done, I was dropped off at the train station where a staff member waited with you , and actually stayed and led you to the shinkasen heading to Kyoto. There was one transfer at Nagoya and there was only 4 minutes in between. However, there was staff ready for you to lead you to the next shinkasen on same platform. For this trip, I checked out of my hotel so there was luggage that I had to carry with me. I arrived Kyoto at 10:15 PM and there was staff waiting to lead me to hotel at New Miyako for readers of this review, try to stay at this hotel since it is across the Kyoto station. I did the activities as outlined in the tour on second day. I selected the three day tour and it was great because the following morning of the third day, I signed up for the Arashiyama walking tour. In the afternoon, I had my own time to explore this wonderful city. I was arranged to go back to Tokyo on the Nazomi shinkasen at 6:45 arriving in Tokyo at 9:15PM. There was staff picked me up and brought me to taxi prepaid by tour companypromptly. I was not the only one on the tour who was so elated by this arrangement since Tokyo station is huge and one would be easily got lost in this station. I stayed at Westin on the way back, so you just need to inform staff so correct hotel drop off could be made. Overall, this tour was wonderful, and I hope more details would be outlined in the tour activities, especially drop off points to allay traveler's anxiety.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

pamj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Next time overnite in Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent organisation throughout - train, hotel and tours - with very informative and friendly guides. We especially want to thank our guide on the Kyoto sightseeing day for his excellent and enthusiastic presentation - he made it all come to life!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Margarita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was very organized ain't inetresting, Kyoto is really worth seeing, one day gives you an overview, to see it in more details you need to spend few days there.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sherri I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I thought it was great overall. My only small issue was that there was a lot of standing around and waiting--before, during and after at the meeting place in Kyoto. The places we visited were excellent. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

wolfe.connie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic, highly organized tour. If you are afraid to go to a new place because of the language barrier like I was, this guided tour is an excellent option. We added the third day in Kyoto. Once we learned our way around with the tour group, we were able to successfully get to the Kyoto Bamboo Grove and to an area just east of Nijo Castle to see some art exhibitions. I would book a tour with them again if heading to another country!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent experience. All the tour personnel were highly professional and very attentive. Every detail was taken care of by the guides. I especially appreciated the attention they took to making sure we got on the right train to Kyoto because I found the train stations in Tokyo very confusing. The guide in Kyoto, JC, was very good. She told us interesting information about each site and also entertained us with amusing stories from previous tours. I thought she was a highlight of the tour. I would definitely recommend your company to anyone who wants a quality tour at a very reasonable price.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the weather was not in our favour to see Mt Fuji. The views of the lake from the cable car were spectacular and the tour guide was wonderful. The bullet train to Kyoto was an experience not to be missed. Kyoto was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What great value! Everything was straightforward and easy to follow. The hotels were amazing and couldn't have been more convenient. I would recommend taking the early morning trains so you maximize your time in Kyoto and have the option of leaving later in unreserved cars. The cars are all the same beautiful. I would recommend traveling with as little luggage as you can so you can enjoy the experience without the hassle of the bags. I too would recommend going to the Peace Park on day of arrival and utilizing those hours so that you can either return or go to the Island the following day. A good restaurant near the Museum across the street with the Peace Bridges is Mario's Italian! Even National Geographic tourists were eating there! Another day in Hiroshima would have been nice.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour for us from Tokyo prior to our cruise. We had two nights in Kyoto with a half day tour of Nara, including the fascinating deer park, when hundreds of tame deer greet the visitors. You can pet or feed them as you like. The second day includes key sites in Kyoto like the Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle, ancient Imperial Palace. After an excellent lunch, we visited Sanjusangen-do Temple and its 1001 Buddas, which is a must see in Kyoto. Also, two more temples, including the Kiyomizu-dera Temple with great views of the city. The third day we visited the Silver Pavilion and did the Philosopher's Path that day with more great sites to see. We stayed at the New Miyako Hotel, which was nice with a great location across the street from the main rail station. Great tour, highly recommend it. Japanese tour company was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organised tour with helpful staff at each stage of the trip. Fantastic tour guide in Kyoto- very entertaining and informative. Great locations visited.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Olivier B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour !! Everything was perfect from the beginning. We met a very kind and professional Japanese tour guide in Kyoto. We will come back soon in this fantastic country.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mary L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent! Kudos to KC, our tour guide in Kyoto. He was an excellent guide, with his insights and entertaining comments. He sure did make the tour so much fun, despite the heat. THANKS!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mika T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really nice 2-day tour to experience Kyoto and Nara. Everything is made really easy for the traveller. We stayed in New Miyako Hotel in Kioto which was really nice. Even when we get back to Tokyo Eki, there was private luxury taxi arrenged to us to get to our Hotel in Shinjuku. Highly recommended, worth every penny.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

alf.kennedy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great value, if only for the planning. Not a single problem during the whole 3 days. Tickets, reserved seats on the Bullet Trains and two excellent hotels. The hotel in Kyoto has a Tour Desk where you can book the Morning Tour on arrival for the next day. In Hiroshima, just ask Hotel Reception for a Day Pass JPY400 on the Loop Bus. The Red and Green Routes take you everywhere you're likely to want to visit. Simple!

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

Surya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bullet rain ride was amazing. Had visited 3 temples in Kyoto. Great for those who want to do a day trip and do not want to spend nights in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Kaleb L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was perfect and provided great value for the money. Having everything booked and bought for you is very convenient. My one suggestion for improvement is to allow for adding extra days to either Kyoto or Hiroshima so you could maybe make it a 4 or 5 day trip where everything is still booked for you and you just pay the difference of extra days at each hotel.

Also note, for this package you must have a local Japanese address with a Japanese person of the house to receive the tickets. I.e. you must be at a hotel or staying with someone you know. The tour company wasn't willing to send it to an AirBnB even though it was a local address since I didn't own the house and technically wasn't the person of the house. It worked out because I was able to have the package sent to a friends house, but would've had to cancel otherwise.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

Kari M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. We had a lovely lunch and then were guided around the amazing city of Kyoto. So glad we did this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

MARTHA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The itinerary was well planned, very well organized.
Thank you for a truly memorable visit to Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Melanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour and extremely enjoyable. The only thing I would have done differently is stayed an extra day or two in Kyoto as I would have love to see more of this beautiful city. New Miyako Hotel was very nice and the tour staff have a desk in the front lobby. They went above and beyond by guiding me to my seat in the Shinkansen and meeting me on the platform upon arrival both ways. Additionally, when I arrived in Tokyo, I was escorted to a pre-paid taxi and dropped off directly at my hotel, which was not on the hotel pick-up list. It was a very nice surprise!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Benjamin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing day trip to Kyoto! I enjoyed the train ride, and Kyoto was an amazing city.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

marcbal77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth it if you are able to find your way on your own and get around both Kyoto and Hiroshima on your own. One thing to note as well, the tickets they give you for the bullet train are good up to 7 days from the date on the ticket. So we did not necessarily have to leave at the designated time that was assigned on our ticket. And the bullet trains come to Tokyo station quite often, so we left when we felt like 2 of us got to Kyoto, checked in to our hotel, rented a bike and saw all the sites we wanted. Then in Hiroshima, we spent the time at the A-bomb site and went to the Itsukushima Shrine. We left the next day on the last bullet train back to Tokyo. It was great in terms of freedom and having everything ready for us to use, while going about our own plans one of us can read and speak Japanese.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were collected on time at the Toyko hotel lobby and taken to the bullet train station. The guide was helpful and gave full instruction for boarding and embarkation. At Kyoto we were collected by another guide on the platform and taken to the coach. The standard of Lunch venue was superb as was the buffet. Everything ran very smoothly in Kyoto and the tour guide very interesting. Overall a very enjoyable trip

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Nig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an awesome trip and great way to see a fair bit of Japan in a short time. Coach trip out of Tokyo gave a glimpse of how big the city is. The trip to, and time spent at Mt Fuji was spectacular, apparently we were blessed with really clear weather so the mountain was majestic. Day 2 took as on a Tour of Kyoto and Nara, good history day. Day 3 was a free day to explore Kyoto. Only complaint is the lateness of arrival in Kyoto on the first night, it was too late and something we were not told about. Arrival back in Tokyo night 3 was also late, but at least we were warned about that. Overall a fantastic way to experience Japan in a short timeframe.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message