While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto – once the imperial capital of Japan – is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour Guides were excellent and provided 5 stars service. Hotel Kyoto Okura is fabulous with majesty quality and service way exceeding our expectations. High speed trains were comfortable and better than air. Most surprisingly, we were transported back to hotel in Tokyo in big luxurious Lexus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was outstanding. Everything was extremely well planned. There was someone to meet me every step of the journey. The tour guides were knowledgable and humorous. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was an excellent way to see Kyoto in a limited amount of time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour if you are spending your days in Tokyo. Tour guide was excellent. Maybe one should spend the night also in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very full day! The bullet train was fun (we went through a typhoon) and Kyoto is a very beautiful place. Well organised local guides made sure that everything went smoothly and we managed to visit three different places. My only gripe was that I didn't make any plans to stay longer in Kyoto. This trip was a taster and I wanted the whole plate!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best way to see Kyoto. They guide you through ever step, including taking you to the train platform. Our hotel was great and the attractions were awesome.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed different views of Mt Fuji, from the drive up, to the 5th station, as well as from the lake. Weather was a touch windy/cloudy but we were still able to get glimpses/photos of the peak. The rail to Kyoto had transfers in it, but a guide met us at each stop to get us through the transfers. Late night into Kyoto, so make sure you pick up dinner before getting on the Train - To eat on the train. We stayed at the New Miyako Hotel, which is conveniently located across the street from the Kyoto station. So, after we arrived, a guide met us and walked us over to check into the Hotel. (Other tour members were staying at the alternate hotels, and they were taken to those via Taxi). The Hotel Room was recently renovated, so, was clean and comfortable. Although it's just for the night, then off to an early morning for the Kyoto tour, which meets at the Hotel Lobby. The Kyoto tour covered a lot of traditional/historical sites, and the tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. Then another train ride back to Tokyo, where we were dropped off at our Hotel there. All in all a good taste of Traditional and Historical Japan. Definitely recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji and Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My tour of Nara was with Mickey and I loved it. He was a wealth information and so helpful afterwards with tips and suggestions for the evening in Kyoto. The tour of Kyoto and the guides for the bullet train was nice as well. Only note is the bus air con might need antifreeze. Overall amazing tour!!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent Tokyo staff at start and end of tour. Very well organised and pleasant. Efficiently took us to the train platform. At Kyoto the English speaking Japanese guide was very pleasant and easy to understand. She did not rush us through the temples - gave us time to take in the sights. Great tour if you have limited time to see Kyoto, and bonus of an experience on the bullet train as well. Overall, great value for money as includes lunch and transfers at Tokyo to our hotel.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very well organised tour of various shrines, temples and the sights of Kyoto, Nara and of course not forgetting Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and being allowed on the bullet train not just once, but twice. Brilliant, well organised!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tickets were waiting for me when I checked into my hotel in Tokyo. Well worth getting the tickets and hotel booked ahead. Kyoto and Hiroshima were good walking destinations with lots of history and character.
Hotels were superb, well located, clean and well staffed. Highly recommended for those who wants to tour at
their own pace, the late departure out of Tokyo was an excellent decision, more relaxed.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent. Gave us a quick overview of Nara and Kyoto. All the details were done so we could just enjoy the sightseeing.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. The tour company used was very friendly, informative, and made you feel comfortable during the entire excursion. Guides are at each end of the train ride. They take you to the proper, platform, make sure you are on the correct train, train car, and seat. When you arrive someone is there to meet you, take you to your hotel, and get you to the correct tour buses. Each tour (Nara, Kyoto morning, and Kyoto afternoon) was informative and wonderful. Getting back to Tokyo included a cab ride from the train station direct to your Hotel. I highly recommend this trip as a quick introduction to Kyoto and Nara from Tokyo.

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guides looked after us very well seeing us on and off the trsin. The Kyoto tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We immensely enjoyed the bullet train trip and the Kyoto Afternoon Tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent! Recommend for those with very limited time. Guides on always schedule to greet me at hotel, take me to bullet train, meet at Kyoto station, Tokyo station, etc. The Bullet train ride was a "bucket list" item for me. Will definitely do it again. :)

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour! Our guides were great. They helped to the bullet train and all along the way. The tours in Kyoto were very fun and we saw a lot of sights in a day and a half. Would definitely do again. Our hotel was very nice too!

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message