• USD ($)
  • English
While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto – once the imperial capital of Japan – is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tickets were waiting for me when I checked into my hotel in Tokyo. Well worth getting the tickets and hotel booked ahead. Kyoto and Hiroshima were good walking destinations with lots of history and character.
Hotels were superb, well located, clean and well staffed. Highly recommended for those who wants to tour at
their own pace, the late departure out of Tokyo was an excellent decision, more relaxed.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent. Gave us a quick overview of Nara and Kyoto. All the details were done so we could just enjoy the sightseeing.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. The tour company used was very friendly, informative, and made you feel comfortable during the entire excursion. Guides are at each end of the train ride. They take you to the proper, platform, make sure you are on the correct train, train car, and seat. When you arrive someone is there to meet you, take you to your hotel, and get you to the correct tour buses. Each tour (Nara, Kyoto morning, and Kyoto afternoon) was informative and wonderful. Getting back to Tokyo included a cab ride from the train station direct to your Hotel. I highly recommend this trip as a quick introduction to Kyoto and Nara from Tokyo.

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guides looked after us very well seeing us on and off the trsin. The Kyoto tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We immensely enjoyed the bullet train trip and the Kyoto Afternoon Tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent! Recommend for those with very limited time. Guides on always schedule to greet me at hotel, take me to bullet train, meet at Kyoto station, Tokyo station, etc. The Bullet train ride was a "bucket list" item for me. Will definitely do it again. :)

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour! Our guides were great. They helped to the bullet train and all along the way. The tours in Kyoto were very fun and we saw a lot of sights in a day and a half. Would definitely do again. Our hotel was very nice too!

Doing what: 2-Day Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour very well organized wish I had more time in Kyoto
Had the returm trip on the N700 and had s BMW taxi to my hotel
Highly recommend the tour

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fun and exciting excursion to Kyoto. All the details were taken care of. Nice coach buses and excellent tour guide. Our lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed this tour greatly. The Bullet Train is amazing, so fast, so quiet.
Kyoto and Nara are so different from Tennessee. The tour guides did a wonderful job.
Knew their history and answered questions well.
The hotel was better than expected. Well worth the money to go with the first class option.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well worthwhile. Superbly efficient arrangements and very knowledgeable and friendly guides. We stayed in Hotel Monterey in Kyoto which was very nice,but we struggled to find somewhere to eat close by. We actually found an 80's style bar in a basement down the street on the left which was great and quite cheap

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very nice tour! I loved taking the Bullet Train from Tokyo down to Kyoto and they were very helpful to make sure everything went smooth. Kyoto was very nice and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kind. I strongly recommend this tour if you want to do a day trip from Tokyo.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Everything went as planned as per your documentation. We were picked up from the Shiba Park Hotel and transferred to our bus. Our Tour Guide was excellent - very pleasant and helpful. We received informed and very interesting commentary throughout our trip. She made sure we knew exactly where and when we were to meet up, how much time we had to look around. We enjoyed the trip home by bullet train as well. She also confirmed our places for the following day when we went to Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a fantastic time! We were well looked after from beginning to end. We were taken to every site on the itinerary (although Mt. Fuji did not make an appearance for us) and they were all phenomenal. We scheduled our trip during the week, which meant the crowds were at a minimum everywhere we went. This meant no waiting in lines and awesome photo opportunities. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable about the sites, the cities, and Japan in general. They were pleasant, accommodating, and humorous too! There were several hotel options and we stayed at the Kyoto Hotel Okura, which turned out to be a great choice due to the roomy accommodations and the wonderful location near several historical sites, restaurants, and shopping. The only problem occurred because we were staying with friends in Japan, not at one of the downtown Tokyo hotels where they'd pick you up. We'd been given a phone number for the local contact to call once we arrived, but the phone number was incorrect (a number had been left out) and so there was some stress involved in finding out where we needed to go. Since Viator only takes email contact, which they don't answer immediately, we thought we may miss our trip. Luckily someone local helped us find the Japanese tour company location and helped us figure out how to get there. Viator did respond to my emails, 20 minutes before our tour left from downtown Tokyo, which was an hour away from where we stayed. Once we found the tour operator at the bus terminal, all was well and we had a great time. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants a taste of Japanese history, culture, and architecture.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Nara was something else, I really felt like I was far far away from reality. The deer park was amazing and fun. There were a ton of school kids there giggling and eating ice cream. Kyoto was out of this world, seeing the Imperial Palace and the 500 Buddha statues...now this is TOTALLY different than Europe! The Okura hotel will make you feel like a celebrity and has several great restaurants tucked in all over. It is also near a river with restaurants lining that all the way up and down. We had free time on the last day so we arranged a bike tour which was great and went to the mall! That was fun too since we got a foot massage and had a nice long lunch in the air conditioning. If I returned to Japan, it would not be in summer. Saw the back of a real geisha getting into a cab (the tour guide told me) and the Shinkansen made me wish the United States was this streamlined and organized. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I was impressed by your service and punctuality. However there was a mix-up in the meeting time for this tour.
Since we had taken the Day Tour a day before we were told to be at Tokyo station waiting room at 7:15 for the Kyoto tour. The actual time to meet was 8:45 AM.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message