While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto – once the imperial capital of Japan – is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. The bullet train was great...hardly felt like you were moving. First class upgrade was a nice luxury item too. Seeing 3 temples in Kyoto is too many. The last one most couldn't keep up to the tour guide based on her pace and the volumes of people in the area. The first temple could have been removed from the trip as it wasn't much to see. The temple with the 1001 wooden soliders is impressive. Note you are on your own for the train ride which is fine as people greet you at both ends.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip organization. One of the best we have been on. Special commendation to Hiro our tour guide in Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour its a must! It was fantastic we were able to go to kyoto the 1st day and saw beatiful temples, then the second day we went to nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Kyoto trip was most outstanding. The bullet train from Tokyo makes Amtrak look like a kids train. Kyoto was beautiful and will worth the one day trip. I hope to go back again soon. The tour is well worth the time and effort--making anyones introduction into the Japanese culture easy and highly rewarding. Our Guides were excellent and highly knowledge able and made all the preps easy... I will be doing future tours with this company again when I return to Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I was a little nervous about the train travel on my own, but Viator made sure the hand-offs went smoothly and I loved my experience of the bullet train and the guided tours of the Kyoto sites. Loved experiencing the temples. Great lunch included and the guide made sure my dietary needs were addressed.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour of Kyoto if you only have one day. Everything was easy, and it is a good choice for non-Japanese speakers, who want to see the sights, without the language challenges.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip on the bullet train and Kyoto was wonderful. The tour guides were very informative and let us know everything that was expected and prepared us times when locations and sights would be seen. The train, bus, gondola and boat were all wonderful. great pictures. Shopping could have been longer. Would recommend this trip from Toyko to all.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Everything was organised extremely well and made the best of available time in Kyoto whilst giving you your own time to explore. Pick up and drop off at hotel was a real bonus. The tour company took care of everything and travel arrangements went like clockwork. We had never done an organised tour before but would thoroughly recommend this one to anybody visiting Japan for the first time. Wonderful!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were picked up at our hotel and dropped back (from the train station by cab) to our hotel in the evening.
The temples we saw were really lovely and the hotel lunch was great. You can't go wrong with this tour it is well managed and the bullet train trip was fantastic. You can see great view of Mount Fuji from the bullet train to Kyoto too. The whole trip was very impressive.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Good introduction and sampler of Kyoto. Very well organised. There were agents at all points and the guide was very knowledgeable. I would do this again but this time spend at two least 2 nights in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip. Everything was included. The tour was flawless and when the representatives advised they would be in a certain place at a certain time, they were. Accommodation in Kyoto was great, much better then we expected from a tourist class hotel

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed our daytrip to Kyoto!! The team from Sunrise tours were very professional and well organized. Could not have asked for more given we had such a short time in Kyoto!!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

davidfyl
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed it very much. Train journet was simple and friendly. Hotels in Kyoto and Hiroshima are friendly and helpful.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We would highly recommend this trip to anyone like us who had just a few days to enjoy Japan.The organisation was excellent, the hotels were lovely and so conveniently located adjacent to the Shinkansen stations in Kyoto and Hiroshima, and the train tickets/hotel vouchers were delivered to our Tokyo hotel 2 days before.The Nozomi bullet train experience was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

what a trip., from the time we met the guide and were escorted to our seats on the bullet train met a guide at Kyoto on the station the scenery was brilliant! and the Hotel we stayed at was great, the company was lively and we were given a beautiful buffet it was just so colourful and as it was a holiday and the people were all dressed up in national dress and looked proud of it . well worth the trip our favourite part of Japan thanks Viator great job

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message