As Japan's national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country's culture. The vast majority of Japan's sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo's Ryogoku district, which has served the sport's hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

VANESSA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We absolutely loved our tour to the Sumo. The afternoon was so much fun, so interesting and a wonderful opportunity to experience and learn all about Sumo. Our guide, Katie was exceptional and had excellent knowledge of Sumo and the individual wrestlers. Her explanations were invaluable!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sandvcavanagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you in Japan when there is a Sumo tournament you must go on this tour. Our guide was amazing and knew so much about the sport. The dinner option included a very good meal and no one went hungry.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guide to take us to sumo tournament. Good timing, transportation and dinner. Very memorable and worth the ticket price.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

kathiewilkie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an awesome experience the guide was fantastic and explained it all before we started to,watch the matches . You can buy sumo tickets on your own, however unless you k ow the game I recommend you go,on a tour first

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Briony A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent way to see the sumo. The guide was really informative and it was good to know a bit more about the sumo before seeing it. The seats were excellent with a really good view. The food afterwards was good but not worth the additional money.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

timothy m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

greatly enjoyed seeing the Sumo wrestlers. the guide was very helpful in explaining the tradition involved, but also very involved with having us rooting for her favorites! made the experience more fun. do it if it is available when you go to Japan. you won't regret it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent day at the Sumo wrestling. The guide was extremely passionate and knowledgeable about Sumo and it was a great spectacle.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

karl k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

it was great ..... and a great guide with a lot of knowledge about sumo. the guide is what helps make the experience. we witnessed some of the guides at the sumo event and were thankful we weren't assigned to them.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Yalina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing. We learned so much about Sumo! We would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic day out - our guide, Hiro, was excellent at explaining all the intricacies of sumo and the atmosphere was terrific. A must see if you're in town during a big tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sonya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Watching sumo live in Japan is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. A must do! Our guide helpfully explained the rules and who's who etc which helped it all that much more enjoyable. Only suggestion, get the mid-range seats for better viewing. It's worth it!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Anna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing tour! Miki, our tour guide was very knowledgeable on the topic and you could tell she had a genuine interest in the sport. Just seeing her enthusiasm was infectious and made me really enjoy the experience all the more. All the information provided to us by Miki, including what the rituals mean, the weight of the aprons, the history of the sport really created an extra depth to the sport and to be honest, helped me appreciate Sumo Wrestling all the more. I don't think I would have had as an amazing experience if I had not attended the tour. Thank you for this unforgettable memory!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Patricia G V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Incredibly informative and entertaining! Really felt like I understood the basics of Sumo after this tour. Watched another day of the tournament waiting for our airplane the next day because we now knew the wrestlers and were very interested in the outcome!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Miki was the best. This tour did not feel so much like a tour, but rather like we went to a sumo tournament with a friend who happened to know a lot about the event and its history. Miki was so nice, and it was a pleasure spending the afternoon with her. It was obvious she put a lot of effort into the program. She even made a chart for us which listed all the wrestlers and some fun facts on it for example, that so-and-so was Mongolia's best hope, that another wrestler's signature move was his forearm, and that everyone thinks one guy looks like Nicholas Cage, which definitely made things more interesting/fun. This tour was the absolute highlight of our entire trip, and I can't imagine not going on it. If you are lucky enough to be in Tokyo for a tournament, you absolutely cannot miss this. Next time we go back to Japan, we will plan our trip around this event.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

oh wow this was way better than we ever imagined!! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The sumo wrestlers where amazing, so much power and strength and the whole ritual surrounding the ceremony was fantastic. The atmosphere was electric and the Japanese certainly love their sport which was wonderful to see.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

MOHAMMED Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extraordinaire expérience, nous avons assisté à la première journée du tournoi.
Je n'y connaissais rien en Sumo mais j'ai appris beaucoup grâce à notre guide.
Le restaurant après le tournoi n'est vraiment pas terrible, si c'était à refaire je ne prendrai pas cette option-là...

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kaleb L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This package was amazing for both the value and experience! I really enjoyed learning about Sumo and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English which made it easy to follow along.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly outstanding. The guide was phenomenal. She was not only uncommonly knowledgeable with superb English, but highly enthusiastic about the subject matter. Our guide gave us terrific and very useful background information about Sumo--she came completely, thoroughly prepared with handouts, a booklet of information, and clearly explained what we were going to see. Without her mini-lecture and background information, I would have not enjoyed the Sumo match nearly as much. We had a a great time there and were fortunate enough to see an uncommonly exciting match: a champion was defeated which resulted in much pandemonium. Also, we had a truly delicious dinner afterwards and before we departed she gave us all maps and individual attention on how to get back to our hotels via JR lines and the subway. Wonderful and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Dianne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a wonderful day at the Sumo Tournament. If we lived in Japan we could easily become Sumo fans!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

asahione United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Must see if you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments held each year at Ryogoku Kokugikan. Our guide was very friendly, informative and did a great job of explaining every aspects of sumo. Had a great time and enjoyed the chanko-nabe dinner. I would recommend this tour.

chanko-nabe

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of my week long trip in Japan. The sumo tournament was sensational and the tour was well operated. A special mention goes to my tour guide Haruko Ohno. She spoke good English, was knowledgeable, prepared special info sheets for us and even stood in the food queues for us because she didn't want us to miss the bouts between the popular and or best sumos.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Wilson Chow United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sumo event was awesome. We were lucky enough to be there for the finals of the May event and it was a great atmosphere. The tour took us there efficiently and in a friendly manner.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

shaun k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sumo wrestling tournament was fun....and we were very greatful for the english commentary headphones :) our guide was nice and friendly

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So much fun! Our guide was really interesting and gave us plenty of information about sumo, so we understood what was going on a lot more. The sumo itself was a spectacle that needs to be seen to believed, we had a great afternoon!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Lucas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very friendly and fluent in English. She was quite knowledgeable of Sumo Wrestling as well.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message