As Japan's national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country's culture. The vast majority of Japan's sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo's Ryogoku district, which has served the sport's hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very Personal welcoming experience. The Organisers and Sumos were amazingly friendly, we would recommend the up close and personal experience to anyone. We enjoyed the experience with 3 young kids 10, 7, 4 and they absolutely loved it. The Sumo lunch was also fantastic.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Nicole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lucky enough to be in Tokyo during the May sumo tournament and this was by far the highlight of our trip!! Our Tour guide, Miki, was extremely knowledgable about Sumo, the tournament, and the wrestlers. She explained the rules and how the tournament works. She walked us through the Sumo history museum and showed us the prizes. She even made us a cheat sheet for all the wrestlers so we understood the odds per match! We had a great time and I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jacques A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, well worth the money. Our guide helped us understand the culture of Sumo and helped follow the action during the matches. The atmosphere in the stadium was electrical! I recommend this for anyone who wants to see a piece of Japan culture that you will not see anywhere.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Susan T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great afternoon at the Sumo Wrestling. Fascinating insight into a sport we knew nothing about. Tour guide was very good. All in all a great tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

brilliant day out at the Sumo - a truly memorable experience

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

garage.films

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a great way to get up close and learn a little and understand more about sumo training and lifestyle - I think I got much more out of this that if I had gone to a tournament - 2 different experiences - loved this and guide was great and helpful and informative many thanks !!

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

ANATOLI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So happy we did this tour - our guide was super fantastic - she was so enthusiastic and knowledgable, which made the experience even more interesting. Watching the sumo wresting, understanding the ranking, the rules, the outcomes, soaking up the 'super bowl' atmosphere, whilst enjoying local food - was a really once in a lifetime experience. I totally recommend attending a sumo wresting match as it will leave you with a great memory! Really worthwhile!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was fine. We couldn't score tickets on our own so chose this option. The seats were fine, the tour guide was knowledgable and spoke perfect English. We met at the bus station to pick up our tickets and then we all got on the subway trains to get to the arena, and she led us and sat with us during the bouts. I think it would be especially useful for someone who'd never been before and didn't know what to experience. We did not choose the Chanko addition. Just the sumo portion.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Clive Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sumo morning practice tour was excellent, next best thing to seeing actual tournament which was'nt in our holiday dates. The guide was very informative and spoke good english. Well recommended.

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Anthony v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Tokyo. Our guide, Haruko was excellent - passionate and very knowledgeable about sumo. She also took us to the museum at the stadium and explained the exhibits and even provided photo opportunities with the wrestlers.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Bruce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Yuki was really good. She was polite and descriptive on the sumo tournament, rules, and athletes. We enjoyed it without having any worries about logistics or language barriers. I only wish the service provided pickup from our hotel.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Melinda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Sumo tour was wonderful! So fun! Yuki was a great guide who spoke perfect English. She had very helpful handouts so we could follow the action and know which matches were important and why. She gave us background on each wrestler including fun facts. This is the best way for an American to be introduced to Sumo.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wow! All we can say is wow! My wife, daughter and I had to pinch ourselves many times during the day, repeating we are at a real Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The colors. The traditions. The Sumo wrestlers, the dress of the officials. It was a wonderful cultural overload. All senses were maxed out. This was a larger group than our previous Viator tours. The leaders though did a great job of breaking us down in small groups. Our leaders lead us onto the train and off to the event. Our leader was great in explaining the whole wrestling tournament process. She noted the key Sumo wrestlers and she noted her favorite, a wrestler from her home town. We sat in very comfortable seats in the air conditioned arena. Just a great day. It will be awhile before we come down from that wonderful afternoon. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wow! All we can say is wow! My wife, daughter and I had to pinch ourselves many times during the day, repeating we are at a real Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The colors. The traditions. The Sumo wrestlers, the dress of the officials. It was a wonderful cultural overload. All senses were maxed out. This was a larger group than our previous Viator tours. The leaders though did a great job of breaking us down in small groups. Our leaders lead us onto the train and off to the event. Our leader was great in explaining the whole wrestling tournament process. She noted the key Sumo wrestlers and she noted her favorite, a wrestler from her home town. We sat in very comfortable seats in the air conditioned arena. Just a great day. It will be awhile before we come down from that wonderful afternoon. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Rosana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding Tour Guide the history of Sumo Wrestling and training and selection criteria in order to be a sumo wrestler, overall the tournament with out this guide would not have been enjoyable great work must do when tournament is scheduled.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

WILLIAM G W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great tour. It was more than we could have wished for. The guide was very helpful at all times, even with a large group she explained the whole Sumo tournament rules and the procedure. We would recommend this tour to anyone to experience the culture and passion of the locals as they cheer on the very large warriors.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience enjoyed learning about the history and the rituals behind sumo I was pleasantly surprised by the tournament and the display.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

babbsbud

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you get lucky enough to come to Tokyo when the season of Sumo is on.... you must do this tour...
Fabulously organized, just enough information to understand, a quick study of the on-site museum, and reserved seats. Wonderful afternoon, filled with the excitement of the Sumo and with your new knowledge you can totally enjoy yourself. The experience should be on everyone's bucket list and this tour is the perfect way to attend Sumo Wrestling. The tour guide was TOP CABIN... and you can leave the matches at your own desired time. It was a PERFECT tour!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

praxidike1000 .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing moments with sumotoris in their training stable a 2-hour show in fact this is not a show at all, it's real life..., and a great opportunity to see these champions very closely. The viator contact was on time and very kindly with all us. I recommend this activity.

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Chris L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sumo Do, Sumo Dont, We Did!!
If there is one highlight not to be missed during your Japan trip, it would have to be having lunch with the Sumos. Our experience was amazing! These humble men allowed us a fantastic glimpse into the world of the Sumo as two retired Sumo champions demonstrated a variety of techniques that were, and were not, permitted within the ring. They provided 3 bouts for us to watch and then sat with us for a traditional Sumo lunch of Chankonabe, salad, rice, fries, and sweets. We were provided with an English commentary during the show that was both informative and entertaining. After the demonstration all guests were then invited onto the floor to take part in a sumo bout, hug the wrestlers, and pose with them. Photo opportunities galore as everyone laughed and applauded when these giants were wrestled to the floor by mere mortals. Definitely a bucket list opportunity.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide guide was knowledgeable and had a variety of printed material to make the whole sumo experience engaging and most importantly understandable! If you happen to be in Tokyo at the right time then watching the Sumo tournament is an absolute must. This tour made the whole process very easy although it was more expensive than if you were to book your tickets independently. Don't miss out on watching the Sumos!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

VANESSA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We absolutely loved our tour to the Sumo. The afternoon was so much fun, so interesting and a wonderful opportunity to experience and learn all about Sumo. Our guide, Katie was exceptional and had excellent knowledge of Sumo and the individual wrestlers. Her explanations were invaluable!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sandvcavanagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you in Japan when there is a Sumo tournament you must go on this tour. Our guide was amazing and knew so much about the sport. The dinner option included a very good meal and no one went hungry.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guide to take us to sumo tournament. Good timing, transportation and dinner. Very memorable and worth the ticket price.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

kathiewilkie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an awesome experience the guide was fantastic and explained it all before we started to,watch the matches . You can buy sumo tickets on your own, however unless you k ow the game I recommend you go,on a tour first

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message