As Japan's national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country's culture. The vast majority of Japan's sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo's Ryogoku district, which has served the sport's hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

oh wow this was way better than we ever imagined!! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The sumo wrestlers where amazing, so much power and strength and the whole ritual surrounding the ceremony was fantastic. The atmosphere was electric and the Japanese certainly love their sport which was wonderful to see.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extraordinaire expérience, nous avons assisté à la première journée du tournoi.
Je n'y connaissais rien en Sumo mais j'ai appris beaucoup grâce à notre guide.
Le restaurant après le tournoi n'est vraiment pas terrible, si c'était à refaire je ne prendrai pas cette option-là...

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This package was amazing for both the value and experience! I really enjoyed learning about Sumo and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English which made it easy to follow along.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly outstanding. The guide was phenomenal. She was not only uncommonly knowledgeable with superb English, but highly enthusiastic about the subject matter. Our guide gave us terrific and very useful background information about Sumo--she came completely, thoroughly prepared with handouts, a booklet of information, and clearly explained what we were going to see. Without her mini-lecture and background information, I would have not enjoyed the Sumo match nearly as much. We had a a great time there and were fortunate enough to see an uncommonly exciting match: a champion was defeated which resulted in much pandemonium. Also, we had a truly delicious dinner afterwards and before we departed she gave us all maps and individual attention on how to get back to our hotels via JR lines and the subway. Wonderful and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a wonderful day at the Sumo Tournament. If we lived in Japan we could easily become Sumo fans!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

asahione
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Must see if you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments held each year at Ryogoku Kokugikan. Our guide was very friendly, informative and did a great job of explaining every aspects of sumo. Had a great time and enjoyed the chanko-nabe dinner. I would recommend this tour.

chanko-nabe

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of my week long trip in Japan. The sumo tournament was sensational and the tour was well operated. A special mention goes to my tour guide Haruko Ohno. She spoke good English, was knowledgeable, prepared special info sheets for us and even stood in the food queues for us because she didn't want us to miss the bouts between the popular and or best sumos.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Wilson Chow
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sumo event was awesome. We were lucky enough to be there for the finals of the May event and it was a great atmosphere. The tour took us there efficiently and in a friendly manner.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sumo wrestling tournament was fun....and we were very greatful for the english commentary headphones :) our guide was nice and friendly

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So much fun! Our guide was really interesting and gave us plenty of information about sumo, so we understood what was going on a lot more. The sumo itself was a spectacle that needs to be seen to believed, we had a great afternoon!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very friendly and fluent in English. She was quite knowledgeable of Sumo Wrestling as well.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Incredible afternoon. I'd urge you to spend the money to attend if you are in Tokyo during one of the 5 Sumo tournaments held each year. The wresting is just part of the fun. These huge men are, well, yes huge, but also gifted athletes in terms of strength and flexibility. Combine this with the ceremonial part and you get a great Afternoon. And do have a draught beer from one of the young girls wandering around. Perfectly lured beer topped with the obligatory perfect foam.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic afternoon, sumo was great, our guide was very informative as well as being a sumo lover.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour! Our guide (Halle) did a great job explaining the sport and setting the backstory for the sumo matches we were about to see. The event was exciting and a ton of fun.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The sumo tournament was excellent. A must do if you are in town for any of the six tournaments. The tour gathered at the bus/train station (we got picked up from the hotel) and travelled as a group on the train to the tournament. Our guide was good and friendly, she gave us all the information we needed to understand the sport. The museum tour was quick and only took about 5 minutes.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved my tour with you to the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The tour guide was extremely helpful
in her overall explaination when we started. She helped to direct and guide us in our travel by rail. She
made every efforrt to come around even to our seats. and explain during the tournament when we arrived.
She took us to the museum and explained as we went through before out seating when the tournament
began. Afterward we were taken to a traditional Japanese meal which was beautifully prepared and served. I thought the place chosen for the meal was excellent and also close in walking from where the
tournament took place. We were able to from the guides helpful directions find out way close by back to
the train to take our ride even with several transfers back to our hotel. I was very pleased with the entire
tour.

Dr.Rozanne Schmidtlein(traveled with Jan Miyamae

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Gary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised tour, guide kept us well informed and the sumo was very entertaining!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Monique
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An absolute must!!! Without doubt one of the highlights of our 14 day trip.
Our friendly guide was very informative and add a new dimension to an already amazing experience.
SUMO??? A cultural experience we shall never ever forget.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

thaoies
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience! Highly recommended. You don't even need the english radio! Just watching the bouts themselves are very exciting. Guide Shima-san was very informative and would answer any questions you have on Sumo wrestling. Would definitely go again!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the Sumo and the Viator tour was a great way to experience it. Our guide was Miki and she was excellent. She gave us lots of information about the sport and the players. During the matches she walked around to make sure everyone knew what was going on. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well worth the cost. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Also learning about the sumo traditions and how much dedication goes into becoming a sumo.
Tour guide was excellent

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Second time I took this tour. It continues to be an excellent venue. I was unsuccessful booking tickets directly online for the last day of the Tokyo Basho. Fortunately, Viator was the only source which had tickets. Love sumo and the last day was quite exciting with a playoff for the title.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great to hear our local guide's background on sumo as a national sport. The radios with English language broadcast at the tourney helped us get engaged the same way as if we were at a baseball game!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Never seen or been to a Sumo Wrestling Tournament. A very different atmosphere to what I expected it to be. Really enjoyed the tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message