• USD ($)
  • English
As Japan’s national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country’s culture. The vast majority of Japan’s sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo’s Ryogoku district, which has served the sport’s hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well worth the cost. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Also learning about the sumo traditions and how much dedication goes into becoming a sumo.
Tour guide was excellent

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Second time I took this tour. It continues to be an excellent venue. I was unsuccessful booking tickets directly online for the last day of the Tokyo Basho. Fortunately, Viator was the only source which had tickets. Love sumo and the last day was quite exciting with a playoff for the title.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great to hear our local guide's background on sumo as a national sport. The radios with English language broadcast at the tourney helped us get engaged the same way as if we were at a baseball game!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Never seen or been to a Sumo Wrestling Tournament. A very different atmosphere to what I expected it to be. Really enjoyed the tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a fun trip to see the sumo experience. I really enjoyed having the English commentary on the radios because it allowed a deeper insight into the program as a whole. Overall, I was satisfied with the service and the program. Thanks for developing it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was definitely a fantastic tour and one of the highlights of our trip. We were lucky we managed to see the very last day of the 15 day tournament and got to see the Makuuch Grade Dohyo....the best and most awarded Sumos. It really was quite a spectacle. We didn't really have much of an idea of how it worked beforehand but our guide was lovely and gave us plenty of information and history as we made our way to the stadium on the train and told us which was her favourite Sumo so we could cheer when he came out. One slight problem was the meeting point which we had a bit of trouble finding, but that was partly due to another tour participant sending us in the wrong direction. Thankfully he came back and got us when he found the others and we just made it in time. I would highly recommend this tour if you are in Tokyo at the right time of year, it is certainly something you wouldn't see anywhere else!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Yoko was such an enthusiastic person, who was really passionate about the sport. It made the experience all the more interesting. If you ever have a chance to watch Sumo then you should jump at the chance, and this tour took all the stress out off organising it ourselves. Big thumbs up!!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Trip was great - met at the specified location and were taken by the tour guide via the subway to the stadium. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling before we got seated, so we definitely learned more than if we went by ourselves!! She offered to take our group down to have the traditional Chanko meal that sumo wrestlers eat as well, before cheering for her favorite sumo wrestler! Overall, highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had no idea about Sumo before the trip but afterwards I felt like I'd been a fan for years. The tour guide was passionate and very knowledgeable. Great fun! I loved the fact that you get to see so many bouts for the price you pay. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide - very easy going. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling. Thank you!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was an interesting tour to see a different side of Japan. I agree with other reviewers that you cannot say to visit Tokyo without seeing sumo wrestling tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We have watch sumo before, but did not fully understand the rules, ranking, history etc, which is why we signed up for the tour. I'm so glad we did! Everything was explained and our tour guide had a pure love for sumo and was eager in explaining and answering any questions.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very well organised and our tour guide was fantastic. Very knowledgable about Sumo's origins, history and current champions. Would definately recommend

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a must! Besides going to an onsen this was the best expirence. The guides were friendly and informative, the actual event was breathtaking! We were lucky enough to go on the final day where the prime minster of Japan awarded the sumo cup! Do this if you have a few hours! Worth every penny!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message