As Japan’s national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country’s culture. The vast majority of Japan’s sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo’s Ryogoku district, which has served the sport’s hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved my tour with you to the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The tour guide was extremely helpful
in her overall explaination when we started. She helped to direct and guide us in our travel by rail. She
made every efforrt to come around even to our seats. and explain during the tournament when we arrived.
She took us to the museum and explained as we went through before out seating when the tournament
began. Afterward we were taken to a traditional Japanese meal which was beautifully prepared and served. I thought the place chosen for the meal was excellent and also close in walking from where the
tournament took place. We were able to from the guides helpful directions find out way close by back to
the train to take our ride even with several transfers back to our hotel. I was very pleased with the entire
tour.

Dr.Rozanne Schmidtlein(traveled with Jan Miyamae

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Gary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised tour, guide kept us well informed and the sumo was very entertaining!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Monique
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An absolute must!!! Without doubt one of the highlights of our 14 day trip.
Our friendly guide was very informative and add a new dimension to an already amazing experience.
SUMO??? A cultural experience we shall never ever forget.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

thaoies
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience! Highly recommended. You don't even need the english radio! Just watching the bouts themselves are very exciting. Guide Shima-san was very informative and would answer any questions you have on Sumo wrestling. Would definitely go again!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the Sumo and the Viator tour was a great way to experience it. Our guide was Miki and she was excellent. She gave us lots of information about the sport and the players. During the matches she walked around to make sure everyone knew what was going on. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well worth the cost. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Also learning about the sumo traditions and how much dedication goes into becoming a sumo.
Tour guide was excellent

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Second time I took this tour. It continues to be an excellent venue. I was unsuccessful booking tickets directly online for the last day of the Tokyo Basho. Fortunately, Viator was the only source which had tickets. Love sumo and the last day was quite exciting with a playoff for the title.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great to hear our local guide's background on sumo as a national sport. The radios with English language broadcast at the tourney helped us get engaged the same way as if we were at a baseball game!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Never seen or been to a Sumo Wrestling Tournament. A very different atmosphere to what I expected it to be. Really enjoyed the tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a fun trip to see the sumo experience. I really enjoyed having the English commentary on the radios because it allowed a deeper insight into the program as a whole. Overall, I was satisfied with the service and the program. Thanks for developing it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was definitely a fantastic tour and one of the highlights of our trip. We were lucky we managed to see the very last day of the 15 day tournament and got to see the Makuuch Grade Dohyo....the best and most awarded Sumos. It really was quite a spectacle. We didn't really have much of an idea of how it worked beforehand but our guide was lovely and gave us plenty of information and history as we made our way to the stadium on the train and told us which was her favourite Sumo so we could cheer when he came out. One slight problem was the meeting point which we had a bit of trouble finding, but that was partly due to another tour participant sending us in the wrong direction. Thankfully he came back and got us when he found the others and we just made it in time. I would highly recommend this tour if you are in Tokyo at the right time of year, it is certainly something you wouldn't see anywhere else!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Yoko was such an enthusiastic person, who was really passionate about the sport. It made the experience all the more interesting. If you ever have a chance to watch Sumo then you should jump at the chance, and this tour took all the stress out off organising it ourselves. Big thumbs up!!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Trip was great - met at the specified location and were taken by the tour guide via the subway to the stadium. She explained a lot about sumo wrestling before we got seated, so we definitely learned more than if we went by ourselves!! She offered to take our group down to have the traditional Chanko meal that sumo wrestlers eat as well, before cheering for her favorite sumo wrestler! Overall, highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I had no idea about Sumo before the trip but afterwards I felt like I'd been a fan for years. The tour guide was passionate and very knowledgeable. Great fun! I loved the fact that you get to see so many bouts for the price you pay. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message