• USD ($)
  • English
West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 570 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful place! It took us a few hours to reach by coach, but it was worth the wait. The shrines and temples here are much more colourful than in Kyoto and the Imperial Villa was very interesting. Loved the visit to the waterfall and were very intrigued by the snow monkeys. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and overall a great day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Definitely worth it. Our tour guide Yoko was great.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Beautiful museum, very entertaining tour, including the use of public transportation.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a tour I was looking forward to. The guide was energetic and knowleageable. She got us from Shinjuku to Mitaka and to the museum in a organized way and back. The museum itself only takes about 40 minutes to walk through. There is a short film that's 10 minutes you can view later on as well. The only problem is the museum has alot of activity with kids and classes visiting so it makes it hard to hear the guide and what they're saying, especially in a large group. Large can be just 12 people. It makes it hard to hear if the guide doesn't yell or have a big voice. We had ample free time to explore the museum on our own and visit the gift shop after the initial walk through with the guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic day. The mountains were out of this world. The guide was good fun

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

great way to get into the Ghibil museum if you're unable to get tickets yourself

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip to Nikko! It actually snowed that day, so be prepared for some unexpected cold weather. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really fun, a must if you're a fan of Ghibli or animation in general. A lot of interesting stuff to see, plus a neat little bookshop and souvenir store. We're planning on going back in a few years with our first child so he/she can play in the catbus :D

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great overview of the city! Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommended for first time visitors to get a sense of Tokyo's layout and highlights.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is a must do tour. Well organised and fascinating museum for fans.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My tour guide was excellent. I hope to come back one day!! :)

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a fun and personal afternoon tour to a very magical place. We had a group of 15 people, and most of them were Ghibli enthusiast. Naoko, our guide, she is very nice and informative. She gave us 1 hour free time after the tour, we mostly spent it on the museum shop and watching Ghibli's short film in the theater. Would be lovely to have another extra 30 minutes to sit down and have coffee/tea at the museum's cafe.
Overall, i totally recommend this, this museum is magical especially for those who grew up with Ghibli's lovely characters.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Second time I took this tour. It continues to be an excellent venue. I was unsuccessful booking tickets directly online for the last day of the Tokyo Basho. Fortunately, Viator was the only source which had tickets. Love sumo and the last day was quite exciting with a playoff for the title.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first time doing this tour and we were the only ones on the tour. Got a lot of individual attention. Seeing the shrines and waterfalls was great. The lunch was delicious and the bus was very comfortable. Would definitely do this tour again! Guide was very informative and we learned a lot just talking to her!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We did this tour last year and would do it again in a heartbeat. Guide was wonderful and as always, the museum is enchanting. We decided to leave the group so we could spend more time in the museum but the guide gave us very good directions on how to get back to Tokyo. Would definitely recommend for Ghibli fans and animation fans.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message