West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 903 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous - highly recommend! Much better experience than if we had done without tour. Guide explained everything very well and gave us much insight into the tournament. Also difficult to purchase tickets on your own on line unless you are very familiar. Highlight of our visit to Tokyo!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Dean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great experience. Highly recommended if you ever visit Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip was taken in mid-winter, and even then, it was beautiful. It is a long drive to get there, running into traffic jams to get back to Tokyo, but well worth it. Lunch was so-so.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

grbaker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A most wonderful day trip and well organised. We enjoyed our experience very much and the lunch was amazing, a truly Japanese experience. We took the most awesome photos of the park, temples and lake and our guide was positive, friendly and clear in his explanations and organisation for the day. We would recommend this trip because it is so interesting to leave the city and drive out into the beautiful National Park where nature abounds. Loved It.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Rae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Seriously amazing. If you have a chance to do this tour do absolutely everything you can to go. The guide was absolutely lovely and very well prepared. She even gave us a bit of useful and interesting information about each wrestler who was participating in the match today. We absolutely loved our time and would go again if we got the opportunity :

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kam Ting C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

captivating. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jacqueline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Inage, was great! Our tickets were for the last day so we got to see the championship match. Chanko nabe dinner was excellent and even got to meet a wrestler. This trip was one of my favorite experiences from our visit to Japan. Would recommend to anyone young or old.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Brett G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had a great time - guide was informative

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

VANESSA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We absolutely loved our tour to the Sumo. The afternoon was so much fun, so interesting and a wonderful opportunity to experience and learn all about Sumo. Our guide, Katie was exceptional and had excellent knowledge of Sumo and the individual wrestlers. Her explanations were invaluable!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved this authentic Japanese experience. Highly recommend - looks exactly like it does in pictures.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved this authentic Japanese experience. Highly recommend - looks exactly like it does in pictures.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Anne, our guide was awesome. She kept us entertained the entire bus ride to Nikko. Nikko itself was a lot of fun and definitely worth doing. The shrine was fun to explore, though there were quite a few stairs to get to the memorial itself. Lunch was also a fun experience though there wasn't much time for souvenir shopping afterwards. During winter, the lake was extremely cold and we were happy getting back on the warm bus after 5 minutes! The waterfall was beautiful too. This was our favorite tour in Japan that we did and would recommend it to others. It was nice to get away from the busyness of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Quick overview of Tokyo highlights...tour guide was very friendly!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Faiza A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great experience not to be missed! Everything was well organized and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative which made the experience all the more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

M Faiz A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very well explained by Emi the guide. Very interesting afternoon and well worth the time to understand a Japanese traditional sport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sandvcavanagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you in Japan when there is a Sumo tournament you must go on this tour. Our guide was amazing and knew so much about the sport. The dinner option included a very good meal and no one went hungry.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Audrey a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had tried to book from Australia, however found this online when we arrived in Tokyo on the Friday.

We paid and were confirmed within 24 hours for Mon the 11th of Jan. We had a great Tour Guide who met us at the location Hotel near Shinjuku. She gave us info and then helped us board the bus to Mitaka where the Museum is.

During the bus trip she explained about the vision for the museum, and that we were to experience this for ourselves and we should not have her provide us with all the information. She also after her briefing on the museum, came by to see how we were going to make our way back. Providing us with bus or train options.

For a non Ghibli buff....it was extraordinary to view the animation see Totoro, and the 10mins of animation. See how Animation was made, and walk around absorbed in this medium. My son loved it.

We did our tour at 4.00 and managed to finish around 6.00 to grab the bus out the front to head to the Mitaka Station to head back to Shinjuku.

I enjoyed it and here are some of our pictures

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guide to take us to sumo tournament. Good timing, transportation and dinner. Very memorable and worth the ticket price.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

kathiewilkie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an awesome experience the guide was fantastic and explained it all before we started to,watch the matches . You can buy sumo tickets on your own, however unless you k ow the game I recommend you go,on a tour first

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

saz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Long day in the tour bus, however, it is a definite must see!!! Nikko national park is beautiful even in the winter, the toshogu shrine is absolutely stunning, just make sure you are wearing socks for when you have to take your shoes off in some areas, It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Victoria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend the Nikko tour as you get to really see the beauty of Japanese culture. The scenery and temples were beautiful and breathtaking. Our tour guide, Take was very informative and kept us engaged throughout the tour and had a warm personality. We saw wild monkeys that even chased one of the ladies because she got too close while we visited the waterfall and that was one of the most memorable experiences we had.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

cristy j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed this a lot. Much was explained about what was going on. I would recommend this tour when in Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Janice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great day - scenery is spectacular especially the lake. we will go back someday

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour. A great tour leader, well prepared and lots of fantastic information about the wrestlers. Would definitely do again. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked a tour to Nikko to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, and it did not disappoint! Toshogu Shrine is a beautiful complex, followed by an excellent lunch, and even though it was very cold and windy, the visits to Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Waterfall were great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message