West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 959 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

WILLIAM G W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great tour. It was more than we could have wished for. The guide was very helpful at all times, even with a large group she explained the whole Sumo tournament rules and the procedure. We would recommend this tour to anyone to experience the culture and passion of the locals as they cheer on the very large warriors.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience enjoyed learning about the history and the rituals behind sumo I was pleasantly surprised by the tournament and the display.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

babbsbud

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you get lucky enough to come to Tokyo when the season of Sumo is on.... you must do this tour...
Fabulously organized, just enough information to understand, a quick study of the on-site museum, and reserved seats. Wonderful afternoon, filled with the excitement of the Sumo and with your new knowledge you can totally enjoy yourself. The experience should be on everyone's bucket list and this tour is the perfect way to attend Sumo Wrestling. The tour guide was TOP CABIN... and you can leave the matches at your own desired time. It was a PERFECT tour!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Daisy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Atsuko san was very polite and knew good spots to take us to sing karaoke. Although the maid cafe could have been better, the one she took us was nice and relaxing. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Experience Akihabara Electric Town: Karaoke, Anime and Cosplay in Tokyo

Annette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent. It did feel a little rushed, but the tour guide was excellent, the food served during the tour was really good. It was money well spent!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Must do in Japan if you are any sort of sports fan. Guide was terrific and provided excellent background material even for someone familiar with the sport..

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Gguy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great piece of Japanese culture. If you get a chance go. Inge was bril and explained the rituals

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Carl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

For those people who are fans of Studio Ghibli productions, this tour is a must-see! We were able to view all the exhibits in the time allotted to us and also spend some time in the extensive gift shop. The bus ride to the museum was on time and comfortable and we were given explicit instructions on how to return to downtown Tokyo on the train. All in all, a great experience and highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

claudine d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very efficiently run, the guide was knowledgeable and very charming.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Patricia Louise W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip - tour company has been around for a long time so we had no issues and what they promised they delivered on. The write up is what you will doing - there are no surprises just a follow through with what is promised.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Amy was great! The only down part of this trip was rainy weather. It would be nice to have a little more free time to shop at the gift shops- that is the only critique I can offer on a otherwise wonderful trip to Nikko.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Janis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very good tour, beautiful nature.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Steven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Magnificent landscape. Very cold and exciting scenic views.
Highly recommended. 100 enjoyable!!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Agustin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour if you do not have much time

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Dana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent addition to our time in Japan!!! IT WAS GREAT!! The tradition the tournament and our trip leader all FIVE stars!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.
This tour is probably better in the fall so you could see the fall foliage. However, I visited in April and it is still very nice to see the shrine. The waterfall was less than spectacular. The bus dropped us off at Shinjuku at 6:30PM. The trip to Nikko was nice especially if you would like to see the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

marygracenarne Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Better than Mt. Fuji!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Leona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It has been a dream of my daughter to visit Studio Ghibli for many years and Viator helped make it come true. I had been trying to book directly with the Studio Ghibli agent but they could not give me any availability for when she was travelling. I was delighted when Viator were able to accomodate my wishes. Strongly recommend Viator when travelling for professionalism and peace of mind. Also the call centre staff were excellent when making adjustments to the booking

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Mon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had very limited time in Tokyo and this tour was perfect for what we were able to do and see. The tour guide was very funny and shared many stories throughout the tour. Very happy we were able to get in on this last minute tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Charms Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was extremely enjoyable, wonderful day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

FULGENCIO A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must see tour. See one of the very last temple of the shogun, well preserved and a lot of history of Japan in it. We had also a very knowledgeable English speaking tourists guide. Very nice sceneries on the way to Nikko. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I was the only person on the tour and I had 2 guides. They were great. We walked all over in the financial district - into a department store - through a temple- stopped at a tiny bar for a drink - went down Drunkard's Ally. They helped me buy a ticket on the Metro and took very good are of me during the while tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If you are a Ghibli fan you owe it to yourself to see this place.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide guide was knowledgeable and had a variety of printed material to make the whole sumo experience engaging and most importantly understandable! If you happen to be in Tokyo at the right time then watching the Sumo tournament is an absolute must. This tour made the whole process very easy although it was more expensive than if you were to book your tickets independently. Don't miss out on watching the Sumos!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message