West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 788 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A definate must if you're in tokyo. Not only do get to drive on the iroha slopes, but also get to the amazing blue lake at the top of the mountain.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the experience and the tour.
The tour definitely enhanced the experience because, without it, we would not have been able to understand all the things that happened during the event. The conceptos are not complex but it is necessary that somebody explains them to you because the way the tournament works was completely new for us. For example, who would have known at which time was the best time to reach de stadium? it's half an hour before the professional wrestlers start fighting i recall. Or who wouldve known which matches were the most important?

Thank you for the tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour , amazing tour guide as well , too informative.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

facinating culture very pleased we booked if back in japan and its on we go again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

oh wow this was way better than we ever imagined!! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The sumo wrestlers where amazing, so much power and strength and the whole ritual surrounding the ceremony was fantastic. The atmosphere was electric and the Japanese certainly love their sport which was wonderful to see.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extraordinaire expérience, nous avons assisté à la première journée du tournoi.
Je n'y connaissais rien en Sumo mais j'ai appris beaucoup grâce à notre guide.
Le restaurant après le tournoi n'est vraiment pas terrible, si c'était à refaire je ne prendrai pas cette option-là...

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This package was amazing for both the value and experience! I really enjoyed learning about Sumo and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English which made it easy to follow along.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great day, other than the change of venue! Everything was great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour and guide excellent and very well organized.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was so lovely! She spoke and understood english really well so it was very easy to converse with her. She looked after the group, ensuring everyone was on and off the train and bus. She gave us an explanation of the story behind each room and gave sufficient free time also.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The museum is a wonder to behold for any ghibli fan. You have just the right amount of time to explore. The guide was very helpful and pleasant. Only issue was the difficulty in finding the meeting location. We had to ask a kindly Japanese lady to help us and even she got lost!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly outstanding. The guide was phenomenal. She was not only uncommonly knowledgeable with superb English, but highly enthusiastic about the subject matter. Our guide gave us terrific and very useful background information about Sumo--she came completely, thoroughly prepared with handouts, a booklet of information, and clearly explained what we were going to see. Without her mini-lecture and background information, I would have not enjoyed the Sumo match nearly as much. We had a a great time there and were fortunate enough to see an uncommonly exciting match: a champion was defeated which resulted in much pandemonium. Also, we had a truly delicious dinner afterwards and before we departed she gave us all maps and individual attention on how to get back to our hotels via JR lines and the subway. Wonderful and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. Atsuko-san was so sweet and accommodating. The lunch was also delicious, and Nikko is breathtaking. It would have been nice to have more time in/around Mt. Nantai, but for a day trip this was nearly perfect.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a wonderful day at the Sumo Tournament. If we lived in Japan we could easily become Sumo fans!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

asahione
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Must see if you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments held each year at Ryogoku Kokugikan. Our guide was very friendly, informative and did a great job of explaining every aspects of sumo. Had a great time and enjoyed the chanko-nabe dinner. I would recommend this tour.

chanko-nabe

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of my week long trip in Japan. The sumo tournament was sensational and the tour was well operated. A special mention goes to my tour guide Haruko Ohno. She spoke good English, was knowledgeable, prepared special info sheets for us and even stood in the food queues for us because she didn't want us to miss the bouts between the popular and or best sumos.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic event. Guide was nice and easy to understand, and the tournament was more than I expected. The only issue I had with the tour was the meeting location it was somewhat difficult to find.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was great, the museum was wonderful.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Wilson Chow
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sumo event was awesome. We were lucky enough to be there for the finals of the May event and it was a great atmosphere. The tour took us there efficiently and in a friendly manner.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide Shima was excellent. She was extremely knowledgeable. The sites visited were great. Lunch was very enjoyable. No toilet on the bus, however, the bus stops at pullouts where there are toilets and food. Nikko was great, very pretty. The waterfall had frozen sections which were striking. Long day but worthwhile. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Overall, an excellent trip. It would have been nice to have a little longer at the waterfall, to be able to take the gondola down to gain a better view of the falls.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sumo wrestling tournament was fun....and we were very greatful for the english commentary headphones :) our guide was nice and friendly

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message