West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 800 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful tour. We enjoyed it a lot. I recommend this tour. Nikko is a wonderful place.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A long day worth spending. The tour was very well organized and the guide was professional and knowledgeable, like all the tour guides in Japan.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great time with my grandson

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything about the tour was great and easy! The museum is a magical place and shouldn't be missed! Definitely recommend this tour to anyone :

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The museum is small and can get crowded but worth it if you love animation. Our guide was great, her knowledge of the museum made to trip more meaningful with her simple and informative presentation. We had plenty of time to explore on our own, shop, and eat. Her care in making sure our group got to and from the museum and back was great. Take the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour - and our tour guide Mena was fantastic. Very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Best Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A definate must if you're in tokyo. Not only do get to drive on the iroha slopes, but also get to the amazing blue lake at the top of the mountain.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the experience and the tour.
The tour definitely enhanced the experience because, without it, we would not have been able to understand all the things that happened during the event. The conceptos are not complex but it is necessary that somebody explains them to you because the way the tournament works was completely new for us. For example, who would have known at which time was the best time to reach de stadium? it's half an hour before the professional wrestlers start fighting i recall. Or who wouldve known which matches were the most important?

Thank you for the tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour , amazing tour guide as well , too informative.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

facinating culture very pleased we booked if back in japan and its on we go again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

oh wow this was way better than we ever imagined!! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The sumo wrestlers where amazing, so much power and strength and the whole ritual surrounding the ceremony was fantastic. The atmosphere was electric and the Japanese certainly love their sport which was wonderful to see.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extraordinaire expérience, nous avons assisté à la première journée du tournoi.
Je n'y connaissais rien en Sumo mais j'ai appris beaucoup grâce à notre guide.
Le restaurant après le tournoi n'est vraiment pas terrible, si c'était à refaire je ne prendrai pas cette option-là...

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This package was amazing for both the value and experience! I really enjoyed learning about Sumo and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English which made it easy to follow along.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great day, other than the change of venue! Everything was great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour and guide excellent and very well organized.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was so lovely! She spoke and understood english really well so it was very easy to converse with her. She looked after the group, ensuring everyone was on and off the train and bus. She gave us an explanation of the story behind each room and gave sufficient free time also.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The museum is a wonder to behold for any ghibli fan. You have just the right amount of time to explore. The guide was very helpful and pleasant. Only issue was the difficulty in finding the meeting location. We had to ask a kindly Japanese lady to help us and even she got lost!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly outstanding. The guide was phenomenal. She was not only uncommonly knowledgeable with superb English, but highly enthusiastic about the subject matter. Our guide gave us terrific and very useful background information about Sumo--she came completely, thoroughly prepared with handouts, a booklet of information, and clearly explained what we were going to see. Without her mini-lecture and background information, I would have not enjoyed the Sumo match nearly as much. We had a a great time there and were fortunate enough to see an uncommonly exciting match: a champion was defeated which resulted in much pandemonium. Also, we had a truly delicious dinner afterwards and before we departed she gave us all maps and individual attention on how to get back to our hotels via JR lines and the subway. Wonderful and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. Atsuko-san was so sweet and accommodating. The lunch was also delicious, and Nikko is breathtaking. It would have been nice to have more time in/around Mt. Nantai, but for a day trip this was nearly perfect.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a wonderful day at the Sumo Tournament. If we lived in Japan we could easily become Sumo fans!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message