West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 944 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Amy was great! The only down part of this trip was rainy weather. It would be nice to have a little more free time to shop at the gift shops- that is the only critique I can offer on a otherwise wonderful trip to Nikko.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Janis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very good tour, beautiful nature.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Steven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Magnificent landscape. Very cold and exciting scenic views.
Highly recommended. 100 enjoyable!!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Agustin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour if you do not have much time

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Dana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent addition to our time in Japan!!! IT WAS GREAT!! The tradition the tournament and our trip leader all FIVE stars!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.
This tour is probably better in the fall so you could see the fall foliage. However, I visited in April and it is still very nice to see the shrine. The waterfall was less than spectacular. The bus dropped us off at Shinjuku at 6:30PM. The trip to Nikko was nice especially if you would like to see the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

marygracenarne Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Better than Mt. Fuji!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Leona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It has been a dream of my daughter to visit Studio Ghibli for many years and Viator helped make it come true. I had been trying to book directly with the Studio Ghibli agent but they could not give me any availability for when she was travelling. I was delighted when Viator were able to accomodate my wishes. Strongly recommend Viator when travelling for professionalism and peace of mind. Also the call centre staff were excellent when making adjustments to the booking

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Mon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had very limited time in Tokyo and this tour was perfect for what we were able to do and see. The tour guide was very funny and shared many stories throughout the tour. Very happy we were able to get in on this last minute tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Charms Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was extremely enjoyable, wonderful day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

FULGENCIO A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must see tour. See one of the very last temple of the shogun, well preserved and a lot of history of Japan in it. We had also a very knowledgeable English speaking tourists guide. Very nice sceneries on the way to Nikko. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I was the only person on the tour and I had 2 guides. They were great. We walked all over in the financial district - into a department store - through a temple- stopped at a tiny bar for a drink - went down Drunkard's Ally. They helped me buy a ticket on the Metro and took very good are of me during the while tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If you are a Ghibli fan you owe it to yourself to see this place.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide guide was knowledgeable and had a variety of printed material to make the whole sumo experience engaging and most importantly understandable! If you happen to be in Tokyo at the right time then watching the Sumo tournament is an absolute must. This tour made the whole process very easy although it was more expensive than if you were to book your tickets independently. Don't miss out on watching the Sumos!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous - highly recommend! Much better experience than if we had done without tour. Guide explained everything very well and gave us much insight into the tournament. Also difficult to purchase tickets on your own on line unless you are very familiar. Highlight of our visit to Tokyo!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Dean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great experience. Highly recommended if you ever visit Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This trip was taken in mid-winter, and even then, it was beautiful. It is a long drive to get there, running into traffic jams to get back to Tokyo, but well worth it. Lunch was so-so.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

grbaker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A most wonderful day trip and well organised. We enjoyed our experience very much and the lunch was amazing, a truly Japanese experience. We took the most awesome photos of the park, temples and lake and our guide was positive, friendly and clear in his explanations and organisation for the day. We would recommend this trip because it is so interesting to leave the city and drive out into the beautiful National Park where nature abounds. Loved It.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Rae S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Seriously amazing. If you have a chance to do this tour do absolutely everything you can to go. The guide was absolutely lovely and very well prepared. She even gave us a bit of useful and interesting information about each wrestler who was participating in the match today. We absolutely loved our time and would go again if we got the opportunity :

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kam Ting C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

captivating. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jacqueline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Inage, was great! Our tickets were for the last day so we got to see the championship match. Chanko nabe dinner was excellent and even got to meet a wrestler. This trip was one of my favorite experiences from our visit to Japan. Would recommend to anyone young or old.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Brett G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Had a great time - guide was informative

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

VANESSA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We absolutely loved our tour to the Sumo. The afternoon was so much fun, so interesting and a wonderful opportunity to experience and learn all about Sumo. Our guide, Katie was exceptional and had excellent knowledge of Sumo and the individual wrestlers. Her explanations were invaluable!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ella T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved this authentic Japanese experience. Highly recommend - looks exactly like it does in pictures.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message