Tokyo's most interesting details are best noticed on foot, slowed down, and off the main streets. From spotting eye-popping fashion in Harajuku to locals clad in traditional kimonos in Asakusa, Tokyo's neighborhoods can change personalities within ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great tour and excellent tour guide. The areas we walked through were very interesting and unlike the usual tourist destinations. The streets were packed with delicious delights and tempting souvenirs. A great way to understand the inner workings of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide, Take, was excellent making jokes while guiding the tour. We went to Hasedera Temple first, then walked down the street to see the Great Buddha. I don't recommend this for anyone with walking issues since there are a fair amount of stairs up to the Temple and walking on the street to the buddha.

After that we went to Yokohama for the Chinese lunch in Chinatown. I had the vegetarian meal which was excellent. The view from the restaurant to the harbour is beautiful. We had time to shop in Chinatown and see a beautiful Temple at the end of the street. We then drove to Sankeien Garden to see a Samurai house and beautiful bridge and gardens. The tour disbands at either Ginza station or Shinjuku Station. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour didn't take long but we have stopped to lots of placed. Our tour guide, Sylvia, has very good English. The food was fantastic. We walked along the tour but it was very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour will likely be a small group. There will be a lot of walking so come in shape. Amy, our tour guide, did a lot of research on this area before giving this tour. A very eye opening walk thru this old district of Tokyo. Shrines and little stores line a lot of these streets. We then walked the small side streets to see where exclusive restaurants which still use geisha were. I recommend this tour for adult only. Kids will get tired and fussy a some point during the tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We would highly recommend this tour. Although only 2 restaurants and a street stop (which we thought didn't sound like much) - the food and variety was plentiful. We had a great tour guide (a beautiful French girl, we cannot remember her name) who was very helpful and patient with a very mixed tour (we have a number of much older people on the tour making walking from place to place a very slow experience. As a result, the 2 hour tour took longer than 3 hours, and she smiled the entire time and was not at all concerned about having to be with us longer.
The yakitori we tried was all good and varied, and the hot plate cook restaurant was great.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a tour I was looking forward to. The guide was energetic and knowleageable. She got us from Shinjuku to Mitaka and to the museum in a organized way and back. The museum itself only takes about 40 minutes to walk through. There is a short film that's 10 minutes you can view later on as well. The only problem is the museum has alot of activity with kids and classes visiting so it makes it hard to hear the guide and what they're saying, especially in a large group. Large can be just 12 people. It makes it hard to hear if the guide doesn't yell or have a big voice. We had ample free time to explore the museum on our own and visit the gift shop after the initial walk through with the guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most excellent tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job of showing us one of the older neighborhoods in the Asakusa area of Tokyo. There was quite a bit of walking, so wear good shoes and be able to walk about 2.5 miles at a 2.2 mph pace. We took frequent breaks, so even the least fit in our small group of 9 were able to keep up. This was a very relaxed and friendly tour. Easy to see why it is so popular. We had the added advantage of taking the tour on the weekend, so there were community celebrations, with marathon runners, folks dressed in traditional outfits and entertainment near the temple. I would recommend that you take this tour early in your visit to Japan. Our tour guide explained may cultural aspects and courtesies. She even took us to the subway and gave detailed direction and tips about how to not only make our way back to our hotels, but how to use the subway during the rest of our time in Japan. Our guide was most helpful in answering all the questions that you might feel a little reluctant to ask. There was not a question, about anything, that she did not answer in a satisfactory and most helpful way.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was such an amazing tour! It was very intimate and our guide was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone that really wants to get to know the city on a more intimate level. There was a lot of walking, so be prepared for that, but as long as you're ok with a day of walking, this is one of the best tours I've ever had.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I booked up this 3 hour trip through Viator which I took part in last Sunday evening. I was in Tokyo on business but having never been to Japan before I was keen to experience as much of Japanese culture and food as possible during my short stay.
I was somewhat surprised when I met up with the guide Miko that I was the only person on the tour but I was soon put at ease! The trip involved been taken to different venues in Tokyo, starting at a yakitori restaurant under the arches near Yurakucho Staion, then experienced a sweet snack before travelling by subway and monorail to Tsukishima where we ate two types of food (the name of which escapes me but the first was nothing like I had ever had before whilst the second can best be described as a type of omelette), both of which Miko cooked herself at the built in hotplate in the table.
The 3 hours flew by and I not only experienced some excellent food but also enjoyed the company of Miko, (an American Japanese) who was happy to answer my questions not only on Japanese food but also about Japan in general. I would certainly recommend this trip not only to foodies but for anyone who just wants to get under the surface of Tokyo a little. There is quite a bit of walking involved though which didn't bother me in the least but it may some. If I go back to Tokyo next year I will definitely request going on another food tour, perhaps to experience 3 more types of Japanese food (perhaps some sushi?). Overall, well worth it and a memorable evening.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was real value for money. We managed to squeeze in a trip up the tokyo metropolitan government building at the start of this which was a real treat. The walking tour was a good trip to take at the start of the holiday to ease you in to the culture. I would recommend it if you are there for a week or so to bulk up your Tokyo experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and was happy to help you with advice for your stay as well as telling you about the place itself!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent local guide, fluent in English, very knowledgable. The walking tour wandered us around a part of Tokyo we never would have seen otherwise, and she adjusted the tour to suit us. Fantastic way to spend a few hours

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Adrian L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Online registration was easy, thanks to Viator. We were collected from the hotel lobby, and since the bus was late, we were taxied to another hotel lobby which was covered by the pick-up guide. Then we were aboard a bus to the JTB office to register. Our tour guide, Haru-san, was tremendously helpful with her explanations, directions and enthusiasm. On the train she asked each of us about our favourite Miyazaki movies, and made sure that each of us arrived at our desired stations afterwards. Her comments throughout the tour were a great help for those who didn't understand Japanese, and she pointed out many things about the museum that were not evident at first glance. And the museum itself ... fantastic. The amount of work that Miyazaki and his team put into that place is unbelievable. From the gorgeous stained glass windows to the mysterious staircases and the animation displays, everything had a wonderful look and feel. A series of rooms showed artists' tables and sketches, mirroring real studios. Upstairs was a massive Neko-bus that children could play in, and a giant totoro greeted us from a mock ticket window as we entered. I was disappointed that we were not allowed to take photos, but the gift shop had some real treats including original film cels that made up for it. I also would have liked a bit more time in the museum to walk around, but we still saw and bought what we wanted. Well worth the money and time, and totally recommended for any Miyazaki or general anime fan. I plan to return one day, to get another look and perhaps some more museum-only goodies. Thank you to Haru-san, big thumbs up for JTB Sunrise Tours, and thank you Viator for making this available to other countries.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Sarah T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Studio Ghibli was a fantastic tour! The museum itself is covered in so many intricate little details that you may only notice some on the second walk around. There are many extraordinary exhibits, all fun and many hands on. It is a great place for children and adults alike, and if you enjoy drawing you are sure to be inspired. The tour was very well organized and we were taken care of from the word go. Nothing is neglected and our fabulous tour guide made sure every arrangement was taken care of. Our tour guide spoke very good English and knew a lot about the museum, so we could ask questions. We were given different options for walking round the museum, and chose to stay with our guide as she was so helpful. I would recommend this tour to everyone as it is a fascinating and crazy place. Even if you haven't seen any of the films you will enjoy it, but it would make a great deal more sense if you have seen at least some of the films, so I recommend seeing Spirited Away, My Neighbour Totoro and Laputa at least before you go.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Japan for the first time and wanting to get a better understanding and insight to authentic Japanese food on a casual level . My partner and I really enjoyed our culinary excursion with Meg trying new foods , walking the streets of Tokyo, visiting Izakaya's and having a lesson on what restaurants serve what food according to their paper lanterns or signage etc. I am pretty sure we would do it again next time we visit Japan .

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message