Tokyo's most interesting details are best noticed on foot, slowed down, and off the main streets. From spotting eye-popping fashion in Harajuku to locals clad in traditional kimonos in Asakusa, Tokyo's neighborhoods can change personalities within ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful guide, Isuki. The food was marvelous and varied. The pace of the walk was just right -- no rushing, and we had a very relaxing and delightful evening.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the advantage of being the only person on the tour so it was a an opportunity to chat to my guide and to find out not just about where we walked, but about life in modern day Tokyo and Japan. Joy was a very interesting and friendly guide, very enthusiastic about her subject. It was an extremely interesting tour with lovely discoveries tucked away down the tiny streets. To end the tour in a typical bar, the size of a front room, for a drink and a Japanese snack was a great end to the afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Audrey a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had tried to book from Australia, however found this online when we arrived in Tokyo on the Friday.

We paid and were confirmed within 24 hours for Mon the 11th of Jan. We had a great Tour Guide who met us at the location Hotel near Shinjuku. She gave us info and then helped us board the bus to Mitaka where the Museum is.

During the bus trip she explained about the vision for the museum, and that we were to experience this for ourselves and we should not have her provide us with all the information. She also after her briefing on the museum, came by to see how we were going to make our way back. Providing us with bus or train options.

For a non Ghibli buff....it was extraordinary to view the animation see Totoro, and the 10mins of animation. See how Animation was made, and walk around absorbed in this medium. My son loved it.

We did our tour at 4.00 and managed to finish around 6.00 to grab the bus out the front to head to the Mitaka Station to head back to Shinjuku.

I enjoyed it and here are some of our pictures

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Lot of walking. 25000 steps. That's the hard part. But our guide was simply superb. She knew the books and crannies of Tokyo. The itinerary was customized right at the start of the day. We had delicious hot ramen at a noodle bar. Great coffee on a cold morning in a scenic cafe at Akihabara. She shared a lot of history related to the Meiji shrine and the Asakusa area. Much better than a bus ride sightseeing.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience despite extremely hot weather. My guide Chiaki was thoroughly professional with lots of interesting anecdotes about this area. Actually saw two Geisha walking the small lanes and loved the quaint shops and shrines along the way. Have seen a lot of Tokyo but this was another delight. Thank you Chiaki.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Stefanie Dion J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

EXCELLENT tour. This was a day chock-full of different types of attractions, from visiting the Great Buddha to traversing peaceful gardens to walking through Kamakura and, later, Chinatown. Excellent and large! traditional Japanese lunch at a lovely beachside hotel. Our guide, Nao, and our driver, Koyagi-san, were both absolutely outstanding. The only downside is that it's only a one-day tour, so you really are rushed through some of the parts of the day. I can understand that, given the time constraints I only wish I could go back and spend more time in places like Chinatown! Either way, fantastic and I would absolutely recommend this to fun-loving travelers.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

farhana.poppleton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went with a small group which was nice. We walked through the back streets of Tokyo and our guide took really good care of us. You get to see a very different side to Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Travis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our most favorite tour of our vacation...despite the rain. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and even took the rain into consideration a led us through covered paths instead out walking out in the rain. The food was excellent and the owners of the establishments that we stopped at were very friendly and also shared a bit of knowledge with us. I highly recommend this tour to anyone....even if you're not a foodie.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Carole B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Meg arrived early and we visited the fish market, which was VERY interesting. We walked gardens, toured the city, visited Buddhist temples and Shinto shrines. We had snacks at numerous places and lunch at a great Tokyo restaurant. The food was typical Japanese and we greatly enjoyed it. Meg was very good about letting four 70 year olds set the pace. We had a wonderful day and saw very much of Tokyo in 8 hours.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Maryam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Silvia was so good we felt as if we were walking around Tokyo with a friend. The best introduction to Japan so I highly recommend it and Meg from the same office emailed us before the trip to organize all the program thanks alot

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were in Japan for almost two weeks, and this was one of my favorite activities. We went to two restaurants, plus a bakery, where our guide picked up our dessert. Small, intimate group of about 12 people, and it was fun to get to know them over the meals, plus walking from one place to the next. Our guide was a friendly young woman who was perfect for this tour--she knew a lot about the food and the restaurants, and made a fun event even more so.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I am giving this tour a high recommendation more for the quality of the guide than for the tour itself--we had a sharp, young male guide who was very well informed. However, much of this tour is just walking past the stores in the Harajuku area, so there wasn't much for him to inform us about. The part of the tour we enjoyed more than Harajuku was the Otosando area, with its swanky stores and great people watching.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

Gwynarra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable. Good variety of food types in interesting locations that we would not have experienced otherwise. It was also a good opportunity to meet some other English speaking travellers. Warning: there is quite a bit of walking involved in this tour. One of the group had a bad hip and I think she found the long walks and many subway stairs painful. So do not book if you have any mobility issues.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide (Silvia Regina Yamawaki) was absolutely excellent. Her English was extremely good and she was very understanding of my disabilities which made it difficult for me to walk as far or as fast as my wife. We both had a great day and will recommend you to our friends and colleagues.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great tour and excellent tour guide. The areas we walked through were very interesting and unlike the usual tourist destinations. The streets were packed with delicious delights and tempting souvenirs. A great way to understand the inner workings of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Catharine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide, Take, was excellent making jokes while guiding the tour. We went to Hasedera Temple first, then walked down the street to see the Great Buddha. I don't recommend this for anyone with walking issues since there are a fair amount of stairs up to the Temple and walking on the street to the buddha.

After that we went to Yokohama for the Chinese lunch in Chinatown. I had the vegetarian meal which was excellent. The view from the restaurant to the harbour is beautiful. We had time to shop in Chinatown and see a beautiful Temple at the end of the street. We then drove to Sankeien Garden to see a Samurai house and beautiful bridge and gardens. The tour disbands at either Ginza station or Shinjuku Station. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Solgracie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour didn't take long but we have stopped to lots of placed. Our tour guide, Sylvia, has very good English. The food was fantastic. We walked along the tour but it was very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

gary82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour will likely be a small group. There will be a lot of walking so come in shape. Amy, our tour guide, did a lot of research on this area before giving this tour. A very eye opening walk thru this old district of Tokyo. Shrines and little stores line a lot of these streets. We then walked the small side streets to see where exclusive restaurants which still use geisha were. I recommend this tour for adult only. Kids will get tired and fussy a some point during the tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

passchie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Billie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We would highly recommend this tour. Although only 2 restaurants and a street stop (which we thought didn't sound like much) - the food and variety was plentiful. We had a great tour guide (a beautiful French girl, we cannot remember her name) who was very helpful and patient with a very mixed tour (we have a number of much older people on the tour making walking from place to place a very slow experience. As a result, the 2 hour tour took longer than 3 hours, and she smiled the entire time and was not at all concerned about having to be with us longer.
The yakitori we tried was all good and varied, and the hot plate cook restaurant was great.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

christopher l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a tour I was looking forward to. The guide was energetic and knowleageable. She got us from Shinjuku to Mitaka and to the museum in a organized way and back. The museum itself only takes about 40 minutes to walk through. There is a short film that's 10 minutes you can view later on as well. The only problem is the museum has alot of activity with kids and classes visiting so it makes it hard to hear the guide and what they're saying, especially in a large group. Large can be just 12 people. It makes it hard to hear if the guide doesn't yell or have a big voice. We had ample free time to explore the museum on our own and visit the gift shop after the initial walk through with the guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Charles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Most excellent tour. Our tour guide did an excellent job of showing us one of the older neighborhoods in the Asakusa area of Tokyo. There was quite a bit of walking, so wear good shoes and be able to walk about 2.5 miles at a 2.2 mph pace. We took frequent breaks, so even the least fit in our small group of 9 were able to keep up. This was a very relaxed and friendly tour. Easy to see why it is so popular. We had the added advantage of taking the tour on the weekend, so there were community celebrations, with marathon runners, folks dressed in traditional outfits and entertainment near the temple. I would recommend that you take this tour early in your visit to Japan. Our tour guide explained may cultural aspects and courtesies. She even took us to the subway and gave detailed direction and tips about how to not only make our way back to our hotels, but how to use the subway during the rest of our time in Japan. Our guide was most helpful in answering all the questions that you might feel a little reluctant to ask. There was not a question, about anything, that she did not answer in a satisfactory and most helpful way.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Rob K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was such an amazing tour! It was very intimate and our guide was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone that really wants to get to know the city on a more intimate level. There was a lot of walking, so be prepared for that, but as long as you're ok with a day of walking, this is one of the best tours I've ever had.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I booked up this 3 hour trip through Viator which I took part in last Sunday evening. I was in Tokyo on business but having never been to Japan before I was keen to experience as much of Japanese culture and food as possible during my short stay.
I was somewhat surprised when I met up with the guide Miko that I was the only person on the tour but I was soon put at ease! The trip involved been taken to different venues in Tokyo, starting at a yakitori restaurant under the arches near Yurakucho Staion, then experienced a sweet snack before travelling by subway and monorail to Tsukishima where we ate two types of food (the name of which escapes me but the first was nothing like I had ever had before whilst the second can best be described as a type of omelette), both of which Miko cooked herself at the built in hotplate in the table.
The 3 hours flew by and I not only experienced some excellent food but also enjoyed the company of Miko, (an American Japanese) who was happy to answer my questions not only on Japanese food but also about Japan in general. I would certainly recommend this trip not only to foodies but for anyone who just wants to get under the surface of Tokyo a little. There is quite a bit of walking involved though which didn't bother me in the least but it may some. If I go back to Tokyo next year I will definitely request going on another food tour, perhaps to experience 3 more types of Japanese food (perhaps some sushi?). Overall, well worth it and a memorable evening.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message