• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Trinidad and Tobago

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Trinidad and Tobago in the Caribbean are perhaps an odd pairing of islands. While Tobago is a sleepy and less crowded island, its sister Trinidad is the exact opposite – a bustling, crowded island with many cosmopolitan influences. Port of Spain, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent - guide picked us up on time. Car was clean and comfortable .Guide was personably and knowledgeable especially about plants. Like having a personal botanist during our walk through the botanical gardens

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Our driver picked us up promptly from our hotel. He was extremely pleasant and outlined the details of our tour. The first stop was a panoramic view out over the city. Our guide pointed out all the places of interest and being flexible, said during our trip if there was any place or building we particularly wanted to see. He could soon include it in our drive. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made everything so interesting in his descriptions of the various buildings and sights. I can strongly recommend this tour and especially our guide.i

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

All three tours were excellent because of the guides. However, dealing with the agency in Trinidad was most discouraging. They would not respond to phone calls, even when the hotel made the call for me. I was never sure when I was being picked up at my hotel.

The guides were not part of the agency; they worked as independent guides. Think twice before dealing with that agency.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

We were glad this tour was not cancelled, like 2 other tours we took in the Caribbean (one by Viator.com was cancelled 45 minutes in advance). This tour (5 hours) is in fact a drive (with 2 stops), with a drive along the highway to the south, a road across the island to the east coast, a nice drive along the east coast, and back to Port of Spain. Although mentioned in the tour description, we did not see the Bay of Paria nor the Town of San Fernando. Altough it is nice to get an impression of the Island, we expected more from this tour.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Extremely professional and knowledgeable with tons of fun, local stories.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The overcast and rainy skies put a damper on our scenic drive. However, the driver, Erroll was friendly, knowledgeable and pleasant. He suggested a vendor for us to try the favourite bake and shark at maracas beach. Despite the weather we did enjoy the scenery and a welcome escape from the hotel. However, I thout we would visit coffee and cocoa plantations rather than drive by.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour. Ulrich, our driver, was a lot of fun and responded well to our particular interests ... food! If you are into scenery, this is a GREAT tour. There is not much to see in terms of "attractions", but I am glad we took this tour. We would not have seen nearly as much of the North Western terrain of Trinidad otherwise.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

There is only one highlight which can be considered memorable: Maracas Beach. But this does not warrant a tour. It could ahve been accessible by public bus from Port of Spain for only 80 cents each way instead of me having paid $96 for the experience. It was simply like a car hire for convenience. The pluralized title "highlights" is misleading. This is not the driver's shortcoming for he did his best out of the limitations.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

"Circle Tour" is 80% driving around the island and there are only two stops: Manzanilla which is downright touristy in atmosphere and some shore lined with coconut trees. At the price paid it is not good value compared to other Viator tours I have taken. Again I do not fault the driver with this. In fact realizing that I was after authneticity he stopped me at two provincial towns typical of Trinidad. I suggest you enrich the tour itinerary with such stops otherwise a Trinidad would be not much more than driving around as if it was just a coach bus tour. I am interested to hear of your reaction to this suggestion. Thanks.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback regarding this tour. We are sorry to hear it did not meet your expectations and have forwarded your suggestion on to our Product department so they may discuss them with our local tour operator. Thank you again for booking with us, and Happy Travels!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

I stayed in the Port of Spain during my visit to the islands of Trinidada and Tobago. My tour guide, Andy, arrived on time, picking me up in the lobby of my hotel. I paid $139.00 for my seven hour personal tour. I was pleased to be the only person because I wanted a low-key, less "touristy" experience. Andy provided just what I wanted. He didn't feel the need to talk on endlessly but allowed me to set the tone for the tour.

When I felt compelled to aske questions Andy was able to provide an asnwer to the question; when I just wanted to sit back and look out the window. He offered to stop at any point, allowing me again to set the pace and course.

The car was clean; he kept his music low. I felt safe during our the drive.

We stopped in the town of Rio Claro for lunch. Prior to heading out, we agreed on a pick up spot. As a woman traveling alone, he was reassuring and provided safety a few safety guidelines..

Though the Island Circle Tour didn't circumnavigate the whole island, it did cover Caribbian, inland and Atlantic views that provided a good overview of the third-world like country.

My experience with Andy went so well that I hired him a few days later to take me to the Caroni Swamp, where I joined a group of tourists for a swamp tour and visually stunning dusk dance of the island's Red Ibis as flocks filled the sky and made their way to their evening perch.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Well, there is not much to see in the city itself but the guide was friendly and nice. I had a good time.

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Prompt arrival, excellent guide and interesting route gave me a very good introduction to Port of Spain and the North Coast Drive.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide, Errol Hasanali, was excellent. He was very courteous and knowledgeable. He picked us up on time at 1 p.m., took us to the few key parts of the city, and everything was fine until he had to pick up another party at 3 p.m. The tour was supposed to be 3.5 hrs, however, I felt it was cut short by 1.5 hrs, as it became all about dropping the other party at the bird sanctuary and then to us at the airport. I can understand another party joining us on the same tour as ours, however, mixing another tour with ours was a conflict of interests.

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was a beautiful tour and I we were fortunate to have "Drrol" as a tour guide...thanks
G. Pitelli

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

I really enjoyed the trip. I did not have a printer where I was, but your office was extremely helpful and called the local office and made the necessary arrangements. If you did not intervene, and call me promptly, I would have surely canceled the itinerary. Thank you very much! I did talk to others, who did not rectify my requests. But it was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Asa Wright Nature Center Guided Tour from Port of Spain

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message