Insider's Guide to Trinidad and Tobago

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Trinidad and Tobago in the Caribbean are perhaps an odd pairing of islands. While Tobago is a sleepy and less crowded island, its sister Trinidad is the exact opposite – a bustling, crowded island with many cosmopolitan influences. Port of Spain, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The Asa Wright Nature Center is well worth the visit. The local guide at the center was excellent.

Doing what: Asa Wright Nature Center Guided Tour from Port of Spain

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A great way to see different parts of Trinidad. There are not many stops, but lots of beautiful vistas and towns to pass through.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A nice, brief introduction to Port of Spain.

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very informative and the tour was enjoyable.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Eric was fantastic! Very informative and interesting

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was great, the guide knew his stuff and was friendly

Doing what: Asa Wright Nature Center Guided Tour from Port of Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The driver was on time to take my wife and i on the scheduled tour.The tour was on a public holiday, so it gave us, I am told, a less labored and cluttered road travel.The driver was informative and helpful with information as we proceeded on our tour. It was a good opportunity to learn about a literal cross-section of the country and countryside of Trinidad.
I would recommend the experience to anyone who wants to see at first hand some of what Trinidad is.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent - guide picked us up on time. Car was clean and comfortable .Guide was personably and knowledgeable especially about plants. Like having a personal botanist during our walk through the botanical gardens

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Our driver picked us up promptly from our hotel. He was extremely pleasant and outlined the details of our tour. The first stop was a panoramic view out over the city. Our guide pointed out all the places of interest and being flexible, said during our trip if there was any place or building we particularly wanted to see. He could soon include it in our drive. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made everything so interesting in his descriptions of the various buildings and sights. I can strongly recommend this tour and especially our guide.i

Doing what: Port of Spain City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

All three tours were excellent because of the guides. However, dealing with the agency in Trinidad was most discouraging. They would not respond to phone calls, even when the hotel made the call for me. I was never sure when I was being picked up at my hotel.

The guides were not part of the agency; they worked as independent guides. Think twice before dealing with that agency.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

We were glad this tour was not cancelled, like 2 other tours we took in the Caribbean (one by Viator.com was cancelled 45 minutes in advance). This tour (5 hours) is in fact a drive (with 2 stops), with a drive along the highway to the south, a road across the island to the east coast, a nice drive along the east coast, and back to Port of Spain. Although mentioned in the tour description, we did not see the Bay of Paria nor the Town of San Fernando. Altough it is nice to get an impression of the Island, we expected more from this tour.

Doing what: Island Circle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Extremely professional and knowledgeable with tons of fun, local stories.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The overcast and rainy skies put a damper on our scenic drive. However, the driver, Erroll was friendly, knowledgeable and pleasant. He suggested a vendor for us to try the favourite bake and shark at maracas beach. Despite the weather we did enjoy the scenery and a welcome escape from the hotel. However, I thout we would visit coffee and cocoa plantations rather than drive by.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour. Ulrich, our driver, was a lot of fun and responded well to our particular interests ... food! If you are into scenery, this is a GREAT tour. There is not much to see in terms of "attractions", but I am glad we took this tour. We would not have seen nearly as much of the North Western terrain of Trinidad otherwise.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

There is only one highlight which can be considered memorable: Maracas Beach. But this does not warrant a tour. It could ahve been accessible by public bus from Port of Spain for only 80 cents each way instead of me having paid $96 for the experience. It was simply like a car hire for convenience. The pluralized title "highlights" is misleading. This is not the driver's shortcoming for he did his best out of the limitations.

Doing what: Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message