St. John's Coral Bay prides itself on being the raffish alternative to the island’s main point of arrival, Cruz Bay. Its few dozen houses are haphazardly sprinkled on the green slopes tumbling down to Coral Harbor, a beautiful, protected cove.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Douglas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great and memorable day with Jupiter. We recommend his tours. The island was beautiful. The tour was comfortable and entertaining. We would do it again.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Local guide Charles was so fantastic and made it and #34;our day. and #34; Lots of fun history and stopped to tell us about the plant life. Best was snorkelling at Trunk Bay- once in a lifetime adventure. Tropic Tours company was prompt and professional. Highly recommend this tour to anyone heading to the USVI

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Stephanie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My party of nine people all had a fabulous time on this trip! Our tour guide Charlie was fun and informative, and he went above and beyond to show us native plants and fruits of St. John all while giving us a fascinating description of the history of the island. Our entire party would recommend this excursion to anyone!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Rodney D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great. We were picked up at Frenchman's Reef and driven to the ferry where we were met by Charles. Charles led the tour around St. John. He gave a wonderful botanical tour of the island while being personable and warm. An excellent lunch was delivered which was followed by snorkeling. A great day.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip included a tour of all the outstanding attractions on St. John, including the guide pointing out many of the native plants and their uses.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Hugh W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Charlie was great. He started out with a horticulture tour of local plants which my 11 year old found fascinating as he got to eat roadside plants. We all enjoyed the great food at lunch. The time exploring Annaberg ruins could have been a bit longer but it's shorter to spend over 2 hours at Trunk Bay which is gorgeous! Overall the family had a great time and would recommend this as a fun way to see St. John in a day.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day. Our tour guide Charlie was fantastic! A real character who was very knowledgable, helpful and friendly.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Deborah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our day trip to St. John was wonderful. We usually don't do tours and like to explore on our own. However since our car rental did not allow the car on the ferry, we decided to take the tour. Make sure you ask for Charlie through Tropic Tours. He was such a fun character and shared lots of history about the island. Lunch on a beautiful beach is provided and the snorkeling was great. The scenery is breathtaking. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Elaine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Charles, was by far the best tour guide we and #39;ve had in our trip here to USVI. He showed us everything on the island, even pulling over to pull plants/spices/flowers off trees so we could truly learn the culture. And he gave us two full hours of snorkeling at the Trunk Bay! Best trip!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Trunk Bay snorkel and swim was amazing. Everyone in our group 14 enjoyed the beach and the beautiful water. Our tour guide was very informative and was very into the flora of the island. We enjoyed the open air ride to our different destinations and the easy-going banter of our guide. Extremely satisfying day!! My rating would be a five.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Kelsey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guides were full of life and lots of good laughs. This trip was a great way to see a lot of St.John and not feel rushed or over whelmed with information. The truck ride through the twisted roads was an adventure and the guides hand plenty of places for us to stop at. I feel we had plenty of time at Trunk Bay which was absolutely beautiful. If given the opportunity again this would be at the top of my list.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent! From the time we started on the chartered boat, to the time we left was outstanding! Our guide on St John, Jupiter was knowledgeable, interesting, and engaging. The group of folks on our tour was eclectic, and fit well together although this was by chance. You can locate many of the historic points on a map, to go there. Much of the local lore and who's who isn't available without someone who lives there. What you certainly won't get on your own unless you're a botanist or horticulturist is trying a bay leaf, sugar apple, and morenga plucked right from the bush.
Snorkeling in Trunk Bay, or just hanging out, is fantastic! There's a trail, if you prefer that, or plenty to see on your own. Even if you don't snorkel bring a mask and an underwater camera if possible. There are several types of fish that will come around you when in just 3 feet of water. In spite of the unbelievably clear water they can be hard to see from the surface. We had what appeared to be a species of wrasse resting on our feet, when we were able to hold still. Plenty of angelfish and other shelf dwellers right offshore.
The timing of stops at each point were perfect. Not so fast that you had to rush, and not so long you got bored. Highly suggested tour!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Leidy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour started once we were picked up from our hotel, if you require pick up, make sure you call 24 hrs ahead of time to request. You then will be handed over to another person at Red Hook, unfortunately can't remember his name he is very funny and he will take your lunch order. Once this is done, you board the ferry into St. John. Once at St. John you will be handed to another guide, we had Jupiter, he was super hilarious, very knowledgeable. He made a few stops around like a small bakery Try the Apple Fritter, AWESOMENESS, remember that most of St. John is national park, the scenery is beautiful so be sure to have your camara handy. I would definitely recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Samik B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the trip and everything about it. Guide was energetic and took very good care of us.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Diane R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very unorganized, passed off to 4 different guides throughout the tour.
The guide on St, John was horrible, we spent the first half hour of the trip sitting on the tour bus in a parking llot hearing the guide talk about himself. Guide and your both horrible

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

MaryAnn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was by far one of the best things we did! Our tour guide, Charlie, was amazing! By the end of the tour you didn't want to say goodbye. We really got a feel of what it's like to live on St. Thomas. This tour is a must and we would do it again in a heart beat.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Lindsey B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. Our guide was Charles and he was very knowledgeable about the island and native plants. We wished there was more beach time during the tour and maybe less driving and stopping to talk about plants.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Diamond United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Freida S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Snorkeling was awesome!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Justin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The guide Charlie was outstanding. He was so knowledgable of the islands flora and fauna as well as the history of St John. It's was a lot of fun!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

C. R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It would be nice if we had the opportunity to go out of the bus and look at the view and take some photos instead of just sitting inside watching the view. It was really difficult to see anything, when you sat in the right side of the bus as we did. The snorkeling was great, but the one hour shopping afterwards was a disaster - there was hardly any shops, and the ones that were there was just a joke...

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

allan h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The trip started off with a local drive through the neighborhoods where we learned about several tree and plant species. Our driver was very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the vegetation on the island. There were several stops along the way to discuss different varieties. We made a stop at a local bakery for a drink and then went to the sugar plantation which was quite interesting to see, however, the time there was not long enough to see everything except at a whirlwind pace. Lunch at the east end and Coral Bay did not happen. We went from the sugar plantation straight to Trunk Bay for the rest of the day where there was someone waiting with our sandwiches for lunch. I asked the driver if we were going to Coral Bay and he seemed guilty when he shook his head and say, "No." I asked a few other tourists and they remembered we were to go there also. I was disappointed, as that was one of the reasons I signed up for this tour. I have a complaint pending with the company about this and am still waiting to hear back after 1 1/2 weeks .It is said to be in review. Overall, it was an interesting day, but next time I will rent a car and see the whole island.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Tiffany P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing tour with an amazing tour guide Jupiter! Lunch was pretty good and the best thing about this tour was TRUNK BAY!!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Volodymyr Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

That was really amazing tour with fabulous views, beautiful beach, and nice snorkeling experience. St. John is lush, quiet, and well maintained island. One can enjoy nature there. The guide was affable and told a lot about the island.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message