Part of the Leeward Islands of the Lesser Antilles, the U.S. Virgin Islands are a very popular tourist destination in the Caribbean, attracting over 2 million visitors each year. In fact, for most visitors to the United States, the Virgin Islands ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sildana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you take this tour, add the hike portion, You will not regret it.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Elaine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide, Charles, was by far the best tour guide we and #39;ve had in our trip here to USVI. He showed us everything on the island, even pulling over to pull plants/spices/flowers off trees so we could truly learn the culture. And he gave us two full hours of snorkeling at the Trunk Bay! Best trip!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was wonderful. Was awesome!! Can't wait to do it again. Beautiful.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Totally awesome!!! Definitely want to go again.

Doing what: Coral World Ocean Park General Admission Ticket

Gerard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great experience and well worth the cost. We were even offered and accepted the optional 30 minute nature hike when we called to check-in the previous day. That said, and although it might have been an unusually hectic day, we our group of 6 were shuffled around for over an hour and a half while the busloads of cruise ship passengers were being sorted out and set off with their guides. Since we were staying at a resort on the island I suppose they assumed we could wait - not having to get back to a ship. Even after the cruise ship passengers boarded their kayaks and set out with their guides we were still asked to wait for another group that was supposedly tied up in traffic. In the end it all turned out for the best as the late group never showed up thus affording us a private tour for our group of six. Our guide, John, was very informative and attended to all our needs. He led us out to a great snorkeling spot and identified many of the tropical fish for us. John even extended our kayak trek back to the landing after our snorkel stop. The only advice I would give to others is to book your tour on a day when there are no or few cruise ships in port.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Kathryn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This was an interesting stop. It was a filler for the day before going to the beach, which was free.

Doing what: Coral World Ocean Park General Admission Ticket

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Trunk Bay snorkel and swim was amazing. Everyone in our group 14 enjoyed the beach and the beautiful water. Our tour guide was very informative and was very into the flora of the island. We enjoyed the open air ride to our different destinations and the easy-going banter of our guide. Extremely satisfying day!! My rating would be a five.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the highlight of our cruise! The staff are so welcoming, helpful, and patient! My husband and I had never Kayaked before and it was fun. Snorkeling was a wonderful experience and very easy. The optional hike was easy and quite informational. We would highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

fike28 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very professional and informative. Laid back and easy to do. Excellent gear, great for the entire family. Parking is tight so try and car pool.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Nancy H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Loved it. So glad we booked directly and not through the cruise ship. The ship's group was three times our number.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Kelsey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guides were full of life and lots of good laughs. This trip was a great way to see a lot of St.John and not feel rushed or over whelmed with information. The truck ride through the twisted roads was an adventure and the guides hand plenty of places for us to stop at. I feel we had plenty of time at Trunk Bay which was absolutely beautiful. If given the opportunity again this would be at the top of my list.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent! From the time we started on the chartered boat, to the time we left was outstanding! Our guide on St John, Jupiter was knowledgeable, interesting, and engaging. The group of folks on our tour was eclectic, and fit well together although this was by chance. You can locate many of the historic points on a map, to go there. Much of the local lore and who's who isn't available without someone who lives there. What you certainly won't get on your own unless you're a botanist or horticulturist is trying a bay leaf, sugar apple, and morenga plucked right from the bush.
Snorkeling in Trunk Bay, or just hanging out, is fantastic! There's a trail, if you prefer that, or plenty to see on your own. Even if you don't snorkel bring a mask and an underwater camera if possible. There are several types of fish that will come around you when in just 3 feet of water. In spite of the unbelievably clear water they can be hard to see from the surface. We had what appeared to be a species of wrasse resting on our feet, when we were able to hold still. Plenty of angelfish and other shelf dwellers right offshore.
The timing of stops at each point were perfect. Not so fast that you had to rush, and not so long you got bored. Highly suggested tour!

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Neeta K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was fun, but not enough time to do both if you are slow at Kayak. We went on a little bit of a windy day and barely had time to snorkel. Water is murky so snorkeling is not too clear. But Kayaking was fun and the lagoon is beautiful.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Dwayne F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was perfect. The tour guide was personable, knowledgeable, and flexible.

Doing what: St. Thomas Island Tour and Shopping

Gina B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

First off, our guide Zulu was great! It was our first time to kayak and my first time ever to snorkel. We opted for this excursion on our 1st day in St Thomas, I had signed up through Viator for all of our excursions, that was great! I called to reconfirm our reservations and when i did the guy offered to upgrade us to include the hike because he said you could see alot more and it wasn't a hard hike. Well, if I ever do this again I would do a few things differently. 1 I would NOT include the hike. After we kayaked slowly due to kiddos in our group who had never kayaked we did the hike, we refilled our water bottles at the beginning and really we spent more time hiking than anything else. Now, I have to say, on the way back to the kayak area, we had to slow down because the hike hurt my back badly! Which is why I would opt out of the hike in the future unless I am in a lot better physical shape! We snorkeled for about 40 mins or so, we didn't really see a whole lot of fish, but the kids were stirring up the sand and probably scaring them off. The 2nd thing I would do is get set up for a private tour! It's a little more pricey, but it's just you and the guide, you can do things on your time and I think that would work better! We had a new guide go with us, his name was Mikey and he was great also. He waited back with us when I had to slow down for my back and he also gave us snorkel instruction on the way to catch up with Zulu and our group, so when we caught up with them, we were ready to go! This is a beautiful kayak! They offered us an icy candy bar after the snorkel which was a very welcome treat! Thank you Zulu and Mikey for a great time, the slow progression of the whole trip wasn't their fault at all, it was just having 4 kids and only 1 adult with them and then my old back! I would recommend this excursion for anyone who is wanting to do a kayak through those beautiful mangroves and then snorkel and hike if you can!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

David D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Poor experience. It says Megans Bay on interary, but all we did was look at it from up high. Instructions said to bring swimsuit and towel and we had no opportunity to use them.

Doing what: St. Thomas Island Tour and Shopping

Leidy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour started once we were picked up from our hotel, if you require pick up, make sure you call 24 hrs ahead of time to request. You then will be handed over to another person at Red Hook, unfortunately can't remember his name he is very funny and he will take your lunch order. Once this is done, you board the ferry into St. John. Once at St. John you will be handed to another guide, we had Jupiter, he was super hilarious, very knowledgeable. He made a few stops around like a small bakery Try the Apple Fritter, AWESOMENESS, remember that most of St. John is national park, the scenery is beautiful so be sure to have your camara handy. I would definitely recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Jonathan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing experience!! We saw an octopus, sting rays, barracudas, and beautiful fish while getting a great nature lesson! Highly recommended!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

George L T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I loved Coki Beach, but when I walked into the exhibit and saw all those Iquana's around the cafe area, I just freaked!!!

Doing what: Coral World Ocean Park General Admission Ticket

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time with Brenda!! The tour was fun and we actually enjoyed learning. Brenda was friendly, efficient and VERY knowledgable! Thank you so much for a great Kayaking / Snorkel trip!!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Cara T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole tour was excellent--the locations gave us a private and natural experience and the locations for kayaking and then snorkeling were picturesque. The guides were awesome especially Jai who was so upbeat, welcoming hello my beautiful people! and so proud of his island and it's beauty. He spent extra time with the kids in the water and on the crab island where an area of the ground and even trees were covered in red-claw hermit crabs, explaining the creatures we were seeing. We really appreciated his hospitality, do this tour!

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Carrie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this tour not wanting to go, because I have a fear of the ocean and sea creatures. But everyone in my group wanted to do it so I followed along. And I'm SO SO SO glad I did! The kayake adventure is thru the mangroves and does feel like your in the ocean at all, rather a lake or stream.

Doing what: St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Samik B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the trip and everything about it. Guide was energetic and took very good care of us.

Doing what: St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay

Jerome S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour is self guided. Would have liked more interaction from staff given the self guided tour! Otherwise, cool place to visit.

Doing what: Coral World Ocean Park General Admission Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message