• USD ($)
  • English

Ubud ATTRACTIONS See all

Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary

The Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary is a Balinese Hindu site at the bottom of Monkey Forest Road and populated by cheeky long-tailed macaques. It's a popular site with visitors to Ubud who come to see the monkeys and the temples within the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The pick-up at our hotel in Nusa Dua was right on time. We had to pick up one other couple in Kuta who weren't there and we left for the tour, but as they were found 20 minutes later we had to drive back which was annoying (40 minutes of additional driving).
Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot were nice to see but nothing spectacular. The rice terraces were more impressive and genuine. The short walk through the monkey forest - where you try to dodge some aggressive monkeys - was ok but our 6-year old was more scared than excited.
Overall, the tour had too much driving and just short stops. And there is no need to visit the gold and silver store. The tour was supposed to include some snacks and mineral water but it didn't. It did include a quick stop at a coffee plantation with 8 samples of coffee and tea for each couple, which was nice. The driver and guide were knowledgeable and friendly so all in all we can recommend it.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable in all aspects of the tour.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable not just about the stops on the tour but also about Bali in general. Was very informative in answering all our questions. The guide was also flexible and gave us the choice as to how long we could stay at each stop, never felt rushed. Monkey Forest was a highlight, so glad we had the guide for the Mengwi Temple as there is so much to understand about the site.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was good but we got to the monkey forest a little too late in the day and most of the monkeys had retired for the night.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised.Good guide and driver.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This was a good trip to do but quite expensive for what you got - each stop was quite short but there was a lot of pressure from the guide at the Monkey Forest to buy things from her shop. Other trips are better - Elephant safari at Taro and the Ulawatu Temple and fire dance.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I highly recommend this tour you get so much for your money... Fantastic experience and you get to see a lot of the country... It is a long day but we'll worth it. Our guide had so much knowledge and we learnt so much. Also we where able to stop when we wanted to see extra things. Again thank you.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good tour, excellent guide who was knowledgable and fun. He even took us to extra sites along the way. Recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was great and very informative. It was only a half day tour but it was quite a long afternoon with the little stops made in between the major attractions. I was a bit disappointed with the Monkey Forest but Tanah Lot was amazing.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Only customers on tour, so collected a bit too early for a sunset view of tanah lot.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour guide was very nice and knowledgable but Tanah lot was too crowded for the sunset and the guide in the monkey forest was more interested in taking us to her shop. Monkeys were cute though. The temple was beautiful with lots of good photos.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is fantastic! Feeding monkeys right from your hand but also having them climb up on your shoulder.....amazing!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

SHANNON P
Trinidad and Tobago

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

The only thing that had value in this tour was seeing the Mengi Temple in the afternoon sunset. I don't recommend this tour based on value for money. I would recommend the full day "Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour" and " Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain Tour". When you go to see the monkeys, the guides at the sanctuary try to force you to buy stuff from shops they run themselves. So be aware.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing day! Especially Monkey forest and Tanah Lot!
One minus - the guide make too many stops in local shops, where everyone try to sell you any unneeded stuff. We don't go out from the bus at this stops ))

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message