Ubud ATTRACTIONS See all

Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary

The Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary is a Balinese Hindu site at the bottom of Monkey Forest Road and populated by cheeky long-tailed macaques. It's a popular site with visitors to Ubud who come to see the monkeys and the temples within the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mikaela M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great driver and vehicle. Trip taylor made to suit our needs. Couldn't see the mountain due to weather, no ones fault. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great afternoon out. This trip is a must see. It's a long afternoon as the traffic in Bali keeps you on the road the sights and sounds of Bali are just so beautiful it's not a hindrance. Tanah lot is very busy with hundreds of people there but it is worth going to see...a once in lifetime experience for sure. Thank you!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Stanley M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Fun tour seeing a lot of the Bali countryside and the monkeys.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Caroline U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tanah Lot id breathtaking. It is a must see when you visit Bali.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Bipin B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Well planned, covering all important points. Very relaxed tour was very comfortable especially the SPA treatment in the end was very good

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Bradley W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

spend the first few hrs taking us to random shops to buy local arts and woodwork which was overpriced, this part seemed like a tourist trap which we didn't expect to happen from a legit tour booking. The tour started much later and was mostly rushed, I'm guessing to make up for the hrs we spent not buying their stuff. Tour guide also lacked much information on the actual tour itself. Save money, everyone's mostly English speaking and you can go to these locations yourself.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Iaroslav T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good !

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Ahmad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice and helpful driver.
Gives you a tour in the most important places in Bali.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Jenna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour , a quick snapshot of Bai when you need to see it all in one day and relax

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Sasha L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was fantastic! It gave myself and my friend a taste of the real Bali and we managed to cover everything in the set itinerary plus more! The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly and a pleasure to be around. Would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Jacqueline F

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The best parts of this tour were the visits to various art outlets and the luxurious spa at the end. In essence, it was making use of a driver who toured us to some key spots the driver was very flexible and, unfortunately, some of the locations were not open on this day unforseen and traffic - as ususal - was horrific. This tour is well suited for people who are in Bali for a short time and do not trust to take a driver on their own bat to tour them around.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Ajith B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Not upto the usual viator standards that I've been exposed to in Egypt, Berlin etc.. This was OK.. But the guide was more of a driver and facilitator rather than a 'true travel guide' . The island has a rich tradition of history. I was surprised that even after prodding on those lines, he could not manage good conversations or insights on those .. From a transportation , comfort level etc, it was excellent.. But thats not what I would expect from Viator

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Iaroslav T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was fantastic! Our guide is the best, it was very interesting and funny

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Ourania V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful! Yus was an amazing guide!!! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

mariaossa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

In my opinion this tour was not very good organised. We have a driver taking us around everywhere but was not a proper guide tour telling you about the island and explaining you each location. In my opinion if you pay a driver in Bali to take you the same places you can pay half of the cost that you pay for this tour.
The driver was flexible with the time and not advising us that we were late which mean that we didn't see the volcano at the end. Also the temple that you will see is not the one in the picture. It is not a temple on the water but a different one in land , which is fine but the picture is misleading.
The Spa treatment at the end was not something we enjoyed, the place was not so clean and the smell in the bed where having the massage was not so nice, also having to soak your body in a bath not very clean was not a nice experience. I think for the amount pay Viator can find a nicer spa in Bali for the massage at the end of the treatment.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Peter M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I booked this your last minute upon arrival we were advised there were no seat belts for us, unsafe! Our guide spoke very little English and bearly spoke throughout the journey. All inclusive? You must pay all entry fees for everything and buy your own food! Very average!! Spa treatment was good!

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

tluke Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Menwi temple and Tanah Lot are worth seeing but the monkey forrest has become a waste of time commercialism you must go withlocal' guide who is a shop owner in the area you either tip her or buy something from the shop the best viewing of monkeys is at the monkey temple Ubud very small fee about 5000rph under 50c you walk at own leisure can feed them .

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Trisha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

LOVED LOVED LOVED this tour. I can not say it enough. Yus, out guide was absolutely amazing, he knew what he was doing, where he was going, and how to work with us. I appreciated having a local tour guide who actually knew about the island and the people. I not only was able to enjoy the beautiful sites, people, and foods we were able to experience, but I learned a great deal about the culture and the people through Yus. At the end of the day I not only felt like I gained a better understanding and appreciation for the land, the people, and the culture, but I felt like I gained a new friend. I want to go on one of these tours in every city that I visit.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I was in Bali for work and I had one day to see everything. It was my first time in Bali and I wanted to see as much as possible in my one day off. I booked this tour on a Tuesday and ended up on a private tour. As a single woman traveler I always felt completely safe and the guide was extremely accommodating. While all of the planned stops on the tour were amazing, my favorite part of the tour was seeing Bali in between stops in the car ride. If you want a leisurely tour it will be a very long day. I never felt rushed by the guide, but I didn't linger long at any of the stops and the total tour was 8 hours. The spa treatment at the end was at an absolutely lovely location and the therapist did a great job. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

Christie M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour that leads you to a few of the major hot spots that would have been difficult to get to independently. Our guide was very helpful and kind, open to many questions we had about life in Bali. The only thing that I was surprised at, he took us to see the monkeys at a temple but not specifically the monkey forest. It was a fun experience nonetheless, as we got to see a fruit bat as well.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Tom D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very good Tour, the tour guide was fun and informative. The overall tour could've been a little shorter though, but definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Barbara B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was a very good day tour. My guide, Yus, was very informative. Since I was the only person with him that day we could be very flexible. It was fun to see the Monkey Forest and the rice fields. The 90 min massage at the end of the afternoon was amazing. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour

onshaath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was nice to walk through monkeys and feed them. Make sure to grab bananas and apples before you get there ;)

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Nathan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative tour guide. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message