Uruguay ATTRACTIONS See all

Colonia del Sacramento

The oldest town in Uruguay, this southwestern city on the Rio de la Plata – just a short ferry ride away from Buenos Aires in Argentina -- is famed for its historic quarter, where the jumbled, sprawling streets and mix of architecture represents two ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Augusta A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Quaint, beautiful town. Guide very informative. Loved it

Doing what: Small Group Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Seamless from pick up to ferry to being met in Uruguay to being dropped off back at our hotel.

Doing what: Small Group Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

Joan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good day - good comfortable bus, good commentary and guide worth doing the day trip to Colonia

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Klaus E USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice tow with a nice atmosphere of history. The guide was very informative. We enjoyed every minute
of this tour incl. the trip of getting there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Francisco RJ Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very beautiful city. I like very much.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

CLOTILDES C Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We really liked the trip to Colonia. It was a nice nice day and we had a great rime. The tour guide, Federica, was incredible. She explained the whole story (and history) about the city very well. And she is such a nice and kind lady.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Maria P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We loved this trip, even though it took 4 hrs and 15 minutes to get from Montevideo to Colonia. We had made a few stops along the way, but there was a detour in Colonia that took us far away from the Rambla and kept us stuck in traffic for quite a while because of a bicycle race. The town was lovely and very beautiful and dreamy and we had researched before hand where to eat and had decided on Meson de la Plaza and were very pleased. Our guide Andres was great and the driver was excellent, they both deserved tips, but my husband and I were the only ones who tipped them. Such a pity!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Margareth E

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

I found the visit to Cologne a great option because it is a historic site very well preserved with Portuguese and Spanish influences, about 2 hours from Montevideo. Unfortunately, the guide was not a very gentle person in some times, though she spoke in 3 different languages (and is therefore suitable for the function). In return the bus driver ended up leaving us about 1 block down from our hotel, I think for a certain distraction.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Robert C F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

UNFORTUNATELY IT RAINED. HOWEVER DURING OUR STAY IN COLONIA WE WHERE ABLE TO SEE GREAT PART OF THE CITY. (W/O RAIN) SPECIALLY THE PRESERVED PART IS VERY INTERESTING COBBLE STONE STREETS OLD HOUSING PRESERVED AND MIXED WITH MODERN DECOR.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

David T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very good guide and driver and worth visitng colonia but only briefly... There isn't much time needed to see everything

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Teresa M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was Christmas day so everything was closed except a few restaurants. When I spoke with the travel agent he said most everything would be open. Suggest to people that if they want an open town, not to go on Christmas day. But it was a good way to spend a day where everything everything in Montevideo was closed. Main guide spoke (in Spanish) about stuff that was relatively benign. Our English guide was less chatty but gave us the important details. Restaurants were definitely priced for tourists and food mediocre. But overall glad we went and glad we went only for a day trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message