• USD ($)
  • English

Uruguay ATTRACTIONS See all

Colonia del Sacramento

The oldest town in Uruguay, this southwestern city on the Rio de la Plata – just a short ferry ride away from Buenos Aires in Argentina -- is famed for its historic quarter, where the jumbled, sprawling streets and mix of architecture represents two ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice tow with a nice atmosphere of history. The guide was very informative. We enjoyed every minute
of this tour incl. the trip of getting there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very beautiful city. I like very much.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We really liked the trip to Colonia. It was a nice nice day and we had a great rime. The tour guide, Federica, was incredible. She explained the whole story (and history) about the city very well. And she is such a nice and kind lady.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We loved this trip, even though it took 4 hrs and 15 minutes to get from Montevideo to Colonia. We had made a few stops along the way, but there was a detour in Colonia that took us far away from the Rambla and kept us stuck in traffic for quite a while because of a bicycle race. The town was lovely and very beautiful and dreamy and we had researched before hand where to eat and had decided on Meson de la Plaza and were very pleased. Our guide Andres was great and the driver was excellent, they both deserved tips, but my husband and I were the only ones who tipped them. Such a pity!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

UNFORTUNATELY IT RAINED. HOWEVER DURING OUR STAY IN COLONIA WE WHERE ABLE TO SEE GREAT PART OF THE CITY. (W/O RAIN) SPECIALLY THE PRESERVED PART IS VERY INTERESTING COBBLE STONE STREETS OLD HOUSING PRESERVED AND MIXED WITH MODERN DECOR.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Montevideo

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Colonia is a lovely place to visit, really relaxing after Bueno Aires. I had some issues with communications with the company and had some issues with hotel transfers there and back.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Dreadful trip and very poor value for money.Hardly any English spoken by anyone in the tour guide company-in tour b7us , no English at all. Day trip´is a misnomer-no time to do anything in Colonia as we were told to ge a bus at 2.30pm back to the ferryport. LUnch restaurant an absolute disgrace- smelt of damp and somethinge indescribable-main course inedible.

Trudy A
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

Total fiasco. Could not contact anyone 48 hours before as requested and had to ring Viator to Australia to confirm my tour. Was then left at the Burqubus without any explanations as to how to catch the boat across to Colonia. Got to Colonia and no-one there to meet me. Spent half an hour going around person to person and place to place trying to find the tour. Eventually a lady came up to me and asked if I was doing the Colonia tour and I said yes. She had my name on a list and after that it was ok until I found out I wasn't booked to come back from Colonia until the 11.30pm boat. Way way to long in Colonia and no earlier boats back available.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

This was truly a suboptimal, if not downright terrible experience. I was picked up on time, an auspicious beginning - however, was subsequently dropped off unceremoniously at the ferry terminal with no directions, either on my voucher or from the driver as to what to do next - the hotline was similarly unhelpful. I bounced between counters for 45 minutes, before I encountered an individual who indicated that I could use my voucher for the ferry ticket and would meet up with a group in Uruguay. Once with the group in Uruguay, we were dropped off at a restaurant at which we were supposed to linger for 3 hours. And at which the food was frankly inedible! Why not take us to one of the scenic and/or good restaurants in town? The tour itself was cursory. In the end, I advised all my traveling companions to travel to Uruguay independently and under no condition to take a Viator Tour. It was money flushed down the drain. Shame, Viator!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message