Ushuaia ATTRACTIONS See all

Beagle Channel

The frigid Beagle Channel provides a watery highway for the world’s southernmost city, Ushuaia, en route to the icy Antarctic. The strait separates Argentina’s Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego, to the north, from remote Chilean islands like Nueva, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Geert V

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Good. Nice views, Estancia Harberton is an interesting place.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Greavesie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent day. It is a l,ong day, so value for money. The boat trip is long so plenty of time to appreciate the amazing views. The highlight was seeing the penguins in their natural habitat.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

YOLANDA CORTES Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very entertaining tour. National Park is a must see.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Megan S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip was a blast, however the train ride is highly overpriced. This is no fault of viator, the park simply charges ARS500 for the ride. While the train ride was interesting and I enjoyed the views and history, it is more of a tourist trap than anything.

The rest of the tour was great, my guide did a great job of saying everything in both English and Spanish. Great views and great group!

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Greavesie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Loved the train but a half day is too short to enjoy the National park. Only includes a total of 30 minutes walking. I stayed in the park longer but had to pay another 200 Arg to get back to the city and the coastal trail was not well marked.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Ina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was nice trip. The sea lions were so close to town. It was suprice to us. This trip was including pick up from the hotel, but it did not work out. Noone came to pick us up and it was very hard to get contact how was responsability of this tour. It is much cheaper to buy this tour from the harbour. In winter time the penguins are not around Ushuaia. That should be told before.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Rebecca O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. The weather cooperated and the views from the boat are amazing. A nice thing to do if you are unable to do serious hiking as well.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Sea Wolves Island Catamaran Cruise

Douglas H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The train ride was underwhelming. The tour was ok and somewhat informational, but I think if I had it to do all over again I would skip the train and your and explore the park on my own.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Xiaoying W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The view of national park is really good. the lake is beautiful. by the train, you can go into the deep of the forest so can have a good view too.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Viktoriya Gr Russian Federation

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Sea Wolves Island Catamaran Cruise

Radu S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Landscape is really amazing. The drawback came from the fact that the group was made by 37 Spanish and Portuguese audience + we 2 speaking English. The English stories were cut to almost 10%

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Olga R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed sailing the Beagle channel and seeing the penguins and sea lions. After we had an excursion around the Haberton Ranch, and we got to see a very interesting museum and marine fauna research facility.
However, I would like to get closer to the penguins. We did not get to go on the island where they were, so we had to watch from the boat. Bring your lens with a big focal length if you want pictures.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour: comfortable boat, great sightings of penguins and southern sea lions. Estancia Harberton was wonderful: awesome museum, great history tour of the ranch. Don't believe guide books that say the lunch is US$30. It was approximately US $10.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

RobtLee

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

An easy way to see the best pots bin the Tierra del Fuego National Park. The train ride is not spectacular but inberesting nevertheless

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

James D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour that I'd highly recommend for anyone going to Ushuaia. The boat was well equipped and designed and the guides were knowledgeable.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

lance_hj

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly and knowledgeable tour guide, stunning scenery although I'm not sure the train ride was worth the price paid. This trip could easily be done without the train ride and still be thoroughly enjoyed. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

gail k

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide gave us our first introduction to Tierra del Fuego. She was communicative good command of English. We had a large group but she was attentive to questions. Pickup and drop off was seamless
Remember to bring cash to pay for entry to nAtional park. We didn't take optional trainride

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Susan A. Mills M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Entrance to the park is not included - more money on an already expensive tour. Tour not as extensive as Id hoped. Train ride is not worth the money.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Jenny S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I really liked the train ride. I think without the add-on of the train ride, this tour would not be as nice. The tour guide was not very good and the operating company made it very clear that they did not want to do hotel pick up and drop off. Viator was very helpful in resolving these issues, but the less-than-enthusiastic tour guides and general refusal to do hotel pick-up/drop-off made me wish I had used another company as all local companies do the same circuit.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

TOSHIYUKI H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

At first I applied Viator tour , but at last this tour is operated by Rumbo Sur. I was so confused.
And this tour's return rout is by bus, so I couldn't enjoyed. I don't recommend this tour.
Viator is worst.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a relaxing fun bus ride around Ushuaia. The ride was comfortable and the commentary was good.

Doing what: Ushuaia Double Decker Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message