No wonder remote Ushuaia has an end of the world feel – it’s the southernmost city in the world! Surrounded by the glacial peaks of the Fuegian Andes, and lapped by the icy waters of the Beagle Channel, there is some stunningly scenic country to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour is not well advertised in terms of what was offered. We were inside a heated luxury boat and had the option of a personal photographer for each of the sites. We were also left at the Estancia Harberton where we saw an old English settlement and had a scenic bus ride back! Must do!

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fun tour, great scenery, great food and the guides were incredible! This one day made our entire 18 day trip to Argentina worthwhile.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego Eco-Adventure: Beagle Channel Canoeing, Penguin Colony and Gable Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I loved the way the tour guide interacts with the visitors, all the information he shares and the hospitality shown to the group. The views are stunning, and the ride is a lot of fun!

Doing what: 4x4 Off-Road Tierra del Fuego Adventure From Ushuaia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Although you don't go off the ship on Martillo island, the whole trip, and the views are unforgettable. The tours in Estancia Harberton were very interesting, and with enough time to enjoy the whole trip.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a really well-organized tour with two great guides. Spanish was their primary language, with the lead guide also speaking English. The entire tour was in English as all 6 tourists spoke English.

To start, the tour company went out of their way to ensure we knew our pickup time--to the point they drove over to our rented flat and left a letter under the door the evening before.

The tour started about 8AM with just 6 people. This made for a small group and only one canoe. We started by driving about an hour in the van to our launch point. We canoed for about 2 hours before landing at a small island on Harberton Ranch. This alternate stop from the regular tour was well worth the extra paddling effort. We spent about 30-45 minutes on the bay and watched two penguins goofing off in the water.

Then motorboat ferried us to Gable Island where the company had a small hut. While we warmed up around the stove, the guides were out back grilling lunch (fish or beef). They provided plenty of water, wine, Coca cola, and snacks while we waited.

After about an hour-long lunch, we hiked across Gable Island for a little more than 2 hours. The hiking was easy with little changes in elevation and a well marked trail. There weren't many animals to see, but we passed beaver dams and heard plenty of birds.

Afterwards, the motor boat ferried us to another island Magellanic penguins have colonized. While this tour company was not authorized to land, the boat made shore, and we were as close as10 feet to some of the penguins. According to the guide, Harberton ranch allows certain companies exclusive access to various parts of the ranch, and while walking on the penguin island was not allowed we were still close enough for some great photos and videos.

We spent about 30 minutes with the penguins before taking the boat to the ranch homestead and catching our van for the 90-minute ride home. The van dropped everyone off at their respective hotel/accommodations.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego Eco-Adventure: Beagle Channel Canoeing, Penguin Colony and Gable Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

After completing the booking we received our vouchers by email. Reconfirming the tour by email was easy. The following morning we had an answer back with the confirmation of the tour. The catamaran was big enough and we were lucky that there were only a few people on the ship, plenty of space outside to make pictures and enjoy the different sceneries. Bird Island and Pinguïn Island were amazing! Harberton Ranch was okay, the story behind it was more interesting than the ranch itselve. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a nice overview of the area, the National Park was beautiful. Don't get too excited about the train except as a way to view the scenery.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the tour.
Although you spent very little time in the Park on your own, doing the End of the World Train, and going to the Lapataia Bay and so on, its pretty nice! :)

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Nice variety of activities for a full day including the Haberton farm which was interesting and had nice simple hot food and Beagle beer in their restaurant. Boat was comfy and not too crowded (though we were not peak season). Only wish we would have stayed at the penguin island another 10 minutes (were there about 10) to watch them. Only complaint - on the Haberton farm tour there was a small group of tourists who didn't speak English or Spanish, so our tour guide let their tour guide translate every few sentences which meant the rest of us had to stand around and wait for this which doubled our tour time, reduced our info time and was dead boring. The guide should have better facilitated this and asked their guide and groupd to stand aside so we could at least chat with the tour guide about other things while they translated.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Amazing and very well organized!!!

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip was excellent and lots of background history. I was very pleased we did the End of the World Train as part of the trip. Although we did not have great weather (rain) we had a very enjoyable morning and I think it is a must for all tourists to Ushuaia.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Was not worth the money paid. Mild chaos in buying getting the park entrance fee, etc with loads of bus tourists. Sitting in a very tight space on the narrow gauge rail train. Cheesy explanations of what you were seeing - the English translation was often difficult to understand over th sound system. The sights seen on the crawling train could have been viewed and appreciated in about a tenth of the time. The secondary bus tour did take us to some interesting viewpoints - two, to be exact. Think it would have been better to take the hike along the coast - far cheaper, better scenery, far less crowded!

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very good image of Beagle Channel and interesting tour. Ushuaia is one of the most exciting view from cataraman. Profesional guide and pick-up on time.
The price could be better if you have time to book on sea shore.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely excellent. This trip was both extremely interesting in some absolutely stunning scenery. However, the probable highlight were the three 4x4 drivers who where all both brilliant and hilarious, the tricks they pulled whilst driving "off-road" were simply awesome (I won't spoil the fun by going into details - just do it !!!). These guys were having an absolute ball, their sense of fun was truly infectious making this trip a load of fun for everyone. This was the best 1 day excursion we did whilst traveling around S America. The included lunch was simply terrific (BBQ steak / sausages etc etc, salad, fruit and as much local wine as you wanted). What a day.........

Doing what: 4x4 Off-Road Tierra del Fuego Adventure From Ushuaia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip - beautiful lakes / mountains etc. Visit to see some huskies…………..where lunch stop was = really delicious!!! Excellent tour guide…………everyone spanish speaking except my friend + I - it was like having a private guide - great - learnt lots!

Doing what: Full-Day Tour to Lake Fagnano and Lake Escondido

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message