Sightseeing on Malta is all about 5,000 years of history -- from Neolithic ruins through early Christianity to the epic Siege of Malta and the role the island played in World War II. The fortified city of Valletta has the lion's share of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was wonderful and gave a very nice overview of the many sites we visited.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good way to travel around Malta.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This trip was advertised as being in an Air Conditioned Coach. NOT. We were in a cramped minivan with NO cooling. The temperatures that day were extreme and inside the van we recorded 35 degrees, very uncomfortable.
On the plus side, the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did this on our first day in Malta, and was the perfect way to get a scope of all the main attractions before you dug into them at a later date. Overall enjoyable.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really great tour. We had a really fun and full day that was amazing. We had a tour all over the island and we were never bored or idle. The tour guide was very informative and fun and made the day great. Both buses and the boat were air conditioned as promised and were very comfortable. Would definitely go again.

- The food was a bit disappointing as the restaurant only catered for tour groups and were not allowed to chose anything. Very cramped restaurant. Wished we could have stopped at the craft village.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience and insights - well worth it!

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour is a great way to cover alot of bases all in one day. The tour guide was very informative and all the sights were beautiful... Only slight criticism was the lunch, little bit of a let down, and was delayed because the restaurant wasnt organised. But definitely worth doing if you arent familiar with Malta.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Too many people for the busses. People were able to push into the line because the buses stopped in random places. You had to wait for two or three buses and push yourself to get on one. Never again for me.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Old bus with very squeeky brakes and one of our headsets did not work. We did enjoy seeing all the sights.

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good tour, but too much time allocated to the Maritime Museum. More walking through the winding lanes of Viittoriosa would have been more interesting. Our guide Janique was lovely.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

good tour of Malta. It is nice to be able to see all parts of Malta and definitely better than taking the public bus which is crowded and takes forever. The hop on hop off bus gives lots of good information as well

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Although the tour did go to all the places advertised and the tour guide was friendly and helpful, it was somewhat disappointing. The pick-up occurred more than 15 mins late, which was not at my hotel and an hour earlier than advertised, in order to make the 9:00am ferry to Gozo. We missed that due to the late pick-up and some heavy traffic, so had to wait 40 mins for the next ferry. We also had to pay for the boat ride to see the Azure Window, an extra which was not mentioned in the tour itinerary. We had only less than an hour at the Citadel, which was a disappointment as this would have been a highlight of the tour. Instead, more time was spent at a couple of other places which we would have been better spent at the Citadel. So overall, not as good as I was hoping it would be.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

You're much better off hiring a car. This was a dissapointment!

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Although confirmed via email that I would be at the appointed place, I could not find anyone. Unfortunately I did not have my phone with me so I missed out altogether.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour for seeing all the main sites in one day. Good pace and we had a great guide. We were staying in Valletta, so we were one of the first and last hotel pick ups but the guide gave us lots of information about different parts of Malta, whilst we picked up other patrons, which was a nice touch. Recommend tour.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Roger B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable day trip, with a good guide taking us through great sights and interesting history, plus a better than expected lunch.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hop on Hop Off Bus was great to get us to places in Valletta we wanted to see on our own. We had been to Valletta before and knew where we wanted to go so this was a relatively inexpensive way to get around.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Roger B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The guide for the bus portion tried hard to make up for the inaudible commentary on the cruise portion.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

we recently took a cruise and used the hop on hop off buses on several ports. our experiences with these bus services were lovely except for the one in malta which was a nightmare.
our bus driver did not stop. we were not given any headphones for information about historical sites and to orientate ourselves as to where we were and before we knew it we were back in valletta. we demanded to be let off the bus he was going to take us back to around where the ship was docked. he eventually let us and a few others off people yelling at him only to drive off with one of our members still on the bus. A NIGHTMARE:

Doing what: Best City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very disappointing--I booked it specifically to see the Ggantija Temple site. Supposedly there were 2 tours, and the Blue Tour went to the temple. I booked the blue tour. When I got there I was told the blue tour did not run from Mgarr after 11:35 and what ran instead was a combined red and blue tour. This meant I had to go to all the red-tour sights first before the blue tour sights, which meant it was well over 2 hours before I got to the Temple, very late in the day. I also didn't dare get off at any of the previous sites because I was afraid if I did, I would not have time to visit Ggantija it closes at 4:30, whereas some of the other sites had no closing hours. So the whole concept of hopping on and off a bus was useless to me, and I barely had enough time to see the one site I wanted to see. Also, when I took Viator's River Kwai tour in Thailand 2 years ago, what made it so memorable was the narrative of the place provided by the guide he told us moving, emotional stories that allowed us to experience- rather than just see- the place. On this trip, the narrative was recorded and was filled with dates, figures, statistics, numbers rather than personal stories do I really care about the water table of Gozo, or its sewer system rather than a compelling version of its history? And whenever we approached a site the recorded narrative told us what we were going to see long before we ever saw it, not while we were in front of it. ie When we get there you will see Ulysses' cave... So when we got to the site we had difficulty finding what she had talked about as we whizzed by. All in all, a boring, overly long, emphasis-on-the-wrong-things kind of tour that didn't satisfy me. What a shame--I had enjoyed my other Viator trip so much I had recommended Viator to many of my travelling friends. Now -- based on this tour -- I won't.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Gozo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alain A
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a very nice tour, you must do it if you like to Watch everything ...

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message