Sightseeing on Malta is all about 5,000 years of history -- from Neolithic ruins through early Christianity to the epic Siege of Malta and the role the island played in World War II. The fortified city of Valletta has the lion's share of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Old bus with very squeeky brakes and one of our headsets did not work. We did enjoy seeing all the sights.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good tour, but too much time allocated to the Maritime Museum. More walking through the winding lanes of Viittoriosa would have been more interesting. Our guide Janique was lovely.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

good tour of Malta. It is nice to be able to see all parts of Malta and definitely better than taking the public bus which is crowded and takes forever. The hop on hop off bus gives lots of good information as well

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Although the tour did go to all the places advertised and the tour guide was friendly and helpful, it was somewhat disappointing. The pick-up occurred more than 15 mins late, which was not at my hotel and an hour earlier than advertised, in order to make the 9:00am ferry to Gozo. We missed that due to the late pick-up and some heavy traffic, so had to wait 40 mins for the next ferry. We also had to pay for the boat ride to see the Azure Window, an extra which was not mentioned in the tour itinerary. We had only less than an hour at the Citadel, which was a disappointment as this would have been a highlight of the tour. Instead, more time was spent at a couple of other places which we would have been better spent at the Citadel. So overall, not as good as I was hoping it would be.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

You're much better off hiring a car. This was a dissapointment!

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Although confirmed via email that I would be at the appointed place, I could not find anyone. Unfortunately I did not have my phone with me so I missed out altogether.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour for seeing all the main sites in one day. Good pace and we had a great guide. We were staying in Valletta, so we were one of the first and last hotel pick ups but the guide gave us lots of information about different parts of Malta, whilst we picked up other patrons, which was a nice touch. Recommend tour.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Roger B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable day trip, with a good guide taking us through great sights and interesting history, plus a better than expected lunch.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hop on Hop Off Bus was great to get us to places in Valletta we wanted to see on our own. We had been to Valletta before and knew where we wanted to go so this was a relatively inexpensive way to get around.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Roger B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The guide for the bus portion tried hard to make up for the inaudible commentary on the cruise portion.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

we recently took a cruise and used the hop on hop off buses on several ports. our experiences with these bus services were lovely except for the one in malta which was a nightmare.
our bus driver did not stop. we were not given any headphones for information about historical sites and to orientate ourselves as to where we were and before we knew it we were back in valletta. we demanded to be let off the bus he was going to take us back to around where the ship was docked. he eventually let us and a few others off people yelling at him only to drive off with one of our members still on the bus. A NIGHTMARE:

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very disappointing--I booked it specifically to see the Ggantija Temple site. Supposedly there were 2 tours, and the Blue Tour went to the temple. I booked the blue tour. When I got there I was told the blue tour did not run from Mgarr after 11:35 and what ran instead was a combined red and blue tour. This meant I had to go to all the red-tour sights first before the blue tour sights, which meant it was well over 2 hours before I got to the Temple, very late in the day. I also didn't dare get off at any of the previous sites because I was afraid if I did, I would not have time to visit Ggantija it closes at 4:30, whereas some of the other sites had no closing hours. So the whole concept of hopping on and off a bus was useless to me, and I barely had enough time to see the one site I wanted to see. Also, when I took Viator's River Kwai tour in Thailand 2 years ago, what made it so memorable was the narrative of the place provided by the guide he told us moving, emotional stories that allowed us to experience- rather than just see- the place. On this trip, the narrative was recorded and was filled with dates, figures, statistics, numbers rather than personal stories do I really care about the water table of Gozo, or its sewer system rather than a compelling version of its history? And whenever we approached a site the recorded narrative told us what we were going to see long before we ever saw it, not while we were in front of it. ie When we get there you will see Ulysses' cave... So when we got to the site we had difficulty finding what she had talked about as we whizzed by. All in all, a boring, overly long, emphasis-on-the-wrong-things kind of tour that didn't satisfy me. What a shame--I had enjoyed my other Viator trip so much I had recommended Viator to many of my travelling friends. Now -- based on this tour -- I won't.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Gozo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alain A
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a very nice tour, you must do it if you like to Watch everything ...

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

could of been made more interesting, spent a lot of time on museum chats were really there was little to see. The guide worked hard but owing to the sea conditions no boat trip was possible, lunch was good part took along time for the full service.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was well organised and helped us make the best from our day on Gozo

Doing what: City Sightseeing Gozo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

There was me and another guy turned up, so it was nice to have just the two of us. The tour guide was very informative and I asked her lots of questions, not just about the tour but of Malta! She was really nice and could answer all the questions.

For the price, I think it was worth it. I got picked up from Sliema and we visited the places. You get to see that part of Malta, and even driving there is nice because you can look down the narrow winding streets of that area. The museum at the end isn't outstanding, quite small, but it's okay for a Maritime museum. Though, if you get bored with the museum at the end, you can go for a wander and meet back for the pick up and nearby there are lots of amazing boats docked up and just the area is nice to look at.
Overall, I'd recommend it, especially for the price of what could be a meal out in Malta.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The bus is convenient and a good way to see different parts of Malta. You choose a specific route out of 3 routes and theres enough to see on the hop-on, hop-off bus to take up a day. It is a lot more windy and cold on the top of the bus, I wasnt prepared for this and was quite cold, so beware.

I might add that Malta does have a 1.5 Euro bus ticket that gives you full and unlimited access to the whole of the island, so if you are on a budget, you might want to just save the money and get a day bus pass.

However, I think with limited time and for the convenience and not getting lost, that paying for this specific tourist bus that takes you direct to the spots and not going a much longer route round the houses is probably best.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The tour was a big group a coach bus full of almost 50 pp and hence the pace was really slow as there were many elderly people who walked slowly and got on/ off the bus very slow. There were some places that we didnt have time to visit due to the above issue. We didnt get to do the boat ride to see the Blue Grotto. The other tours offered by this local tour operator were way better - smaller group size, more energetic tour guide. The lunch included with tour price was not very good. A bit disappointed!

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I feel it wasnt worth Euros 30 for this tour as the boat cruise itself cost Euros 10 so the pick-up / drop-off and drive around town was grossly over-valued at Euros 20!! The tour guide didnt even stay until the end of our tour - she asked to be dropped off at a bus stop before the tour ended. AWFUL, waste of money!!

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message