Sightseeing on Malta is all about 5,000 years of history -- from Neolithic ruins through early Christianity to the epic Siege of Malta and the role the island played in World War II. The fortified city of Valletta has the lion's share of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

First of all- there are really only 2 hop-on-hop-off companies in Malta and they have very similar names- one is CitySightseeing Malta and the other is Malta Sightseeing- they are both red, both use the same font and they are incredibly hard to tell a part. For those that are on a cruise, this company is set up right outside selling tickets. There needs to be more buses with more frequent times. I took the red line which stops a the temples, Blue Grotto etc. From start to finish, it would take 2 hours and 15 mins to do one loop without getting off. If I got off at the Temples, the next bus wouldn't arrive until 45 mins later- that is a long time! Anyway, I thought the audio guide was useless and hard to hear. They also had signage saying that they sold water for $1 Euro- which they didn't have at the very start of the morning. There was also no real announcement of what stop you had just arrived at either- perhaps this was on the audioguide? We were originally sitting on the top and had to move down to the bottom to ensure that we could ask the driver where we were. First stop- the Tarxien- only plus was that it was very close to the Hypogeum so we didn't have to wander around aimlessly. When we were done there, we saw one of the red buses and made a run for it- when we tried to board, we were informed that this was a "Malta Sightseeing" bus and we had paid for the other tour company. So we got off and waited...Next stop was the Marsaxlokk fishing village- it was beautiful... After that we headed to the Blue Grotto. After this, we decided to head back to the cruise ship. All in all, I think I should have researched taking a cab to all of these places- I probably would have had more time to sightsee if I wasn't always waiting around for a bus to show up.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This excursion was exceptionally good, everything we were hoping it would be. Our guide Frederick was extremely knowledgeable and attentive, and very easy to get along with. The car was cool and comfortable, Duncan the driver was courteous and accommodating. Nothing was rushed and we saw everything we were hoping to see. All in all, excellent value - we have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone visiting Valletta.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta in One Day Private Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This excursion was exceptionally good, everything we were hoping it would be. Our guide Frederick was extremely knowledgeable and attentive, and very easy to get along with. The car was cool and comfortable, Duncan the driver was courteous and accommodating. Nothing was rushed and we saw everything we were hoping to see. All in all, excellent value - we have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone visiting Valletta.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta in One Day Private Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Probably my favourite tour we took in Malta. Excellent tour guide. Lunch was very nice, three courses included freshly caught fish. We were fortunate to have a small group on this tour. Only complaint was AC not very good in the van. Also several of the tours we took including this one, had clients who understood different languages. It got tedious for us, and I think exhausting for our guide to have to go back and forth repeating between French and English. I have been to Marsaxlokk and Blue Grotto several times before and will go back again. Very pretty and picturesque. Learned more about Malta's prehistoric background at Tarxien and Ghar Dalam.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour. Knowledgeable tour guide. Felt a bit rushed at times to cram everything in. Shopping was designated to particular shops in Mdina and Ta Qali. Felt like the tour company was getting a cut from sales from these places. Felt rushed at Ta Qali shopping, and later learned the glassware was available all over the island, where I could have shopped at my leisure. Lunch was good, however no choices with entrees and we we're just served the food and not told what it was. For example soup arrived and not told what kind it was. We were served pork, no other options. Some people don't eat pork. Liked the pick up and drop off from hotel. Comfortable coach, air conditioned .

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Mdina, Mosta Dome and Ta Qali Crafts Village

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was good getting a hop on hop off the only trouble is you still don't get enough time to see both sides of the city because our cruise ship didn't stay all day. But if you take a hop on hop off make sure you take the tour the side you want to see first.. We went to the blue grotto and loved it but it does take a while to get to it.what I also like is you get to hear about the history were ever you are.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We did find it interesting and gave a different perspective to our knowledge of Malta, however we were
disappointed to be with a group of only French speaking tourists, which resulted in the guide giving more time and attention to her explanations to them, in fact toward the end of the tour we had to remind her that she had made no explanations on various things in English

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Easy to use. Gave us a great overview of Malta.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an excellent tour - our guide was fantastic and very knowledgable. Visted so many attractions around Malta. Great day and would love to go back to explore some more.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta in One Day Private Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was everything I wanted to see and do in Gozo aon really worth the money.If you are leaving malta for this trip be sure to leave early

Doing what: Gozo Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A great way to get around Malta in a day. Convenient stops and reliable service.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: Malta Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was good. Enjoyed the sites of Malta and visiting the two harbours. Commentary was good also.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Malta is a small island, but there is so much to see and their history is so vast that this tour was a great introduction to the Maltese culture. There are also some very photogenic stops throughout the tour and even a break at a local coffee shop to have a traditional snack of "pastizzi," a flaky pastry filled with ricotta. Have a few euros on hand for the pastizzi, as it's not included with the tour.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Malta is a small island, but there is so much to see and their history is so vast that this tour was a great introduction to the Maltese culture. There are also some very photogenic stops throughout the tour and even a break at a local coffee shop to have a traditional snack of "pastizzi," a flaky pastry filled with ricotta. Have a few euros on hand for the pastizzi, as it's not included with the tour.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

the venue was excellent and well presented the starter course was superb but the dinner course left a lot to be desired that is my opinion other people might differ from my view the music was good the dancers very good in my opinion it went on slightly longer that necessary. the donkeys on stage were very well behaved that is all I can say about it

Doing what: Maltese Folklore Show and Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message