Sightseeing on Malta is all about 5,000 years of history -- from Neolithic ruins through early Christianity to the epic Siege of Malta and the role the island played in World War II. The fortified city of Valletta has the lion's share of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Roger B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable day trip, with a good guide taking us through great sights and interesting history, plus a better than expected lunch.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hop on Hop Off Bus was great to get us to places in Valletta we wanted to see on our own. We had been to Valletta before and knew where we wanted to go so this was a relatively inexpensive way to get around.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Roger B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The guide for the bus portion tried hard to make up for the inaudible commentary on the cruise portion.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

we recently took a cruise and used the hop on hop off buses on several ports. our experiences with these bus services were lovely except for the one in malta which was a nightmare.
our bus driver did not stop. we were not given any headphones for information about historical sites and to orientate ourselves as to where we were and before we knew it we were back in valletta. we demanded to be let off the bus he was going to take us back to around where the ship was docked. he eventually let us and a few others off people yelling at him only to drive off with one of our members still on the bus. A NIGHTMARE:

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alain A
France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a very nice tour, you must do it if you like to Watch everything ...

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

could of been made more interesting, spent a lot of time on museum chats were really there was little to see. The guide worked hard but owing to the sea conditions no boat trip was possible, lunch was good part took along time for the full service.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was well organised and helped us make the best from our day on Gozo

Doing what: City Sightseeing Gozo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

There was me and another guy turned up, so it was nice to have just the two of us. The tour guide was very informative and I asked her lots of questions, not just about the tour but of Malta! She was really nice and could answer all the questions.

For the price, I think it was worth it. I got picked up from Sliema and we visited the places. You get to see that part of Malta, and even driving there is nice because you can look down the narrow winding streets of that area. The museum at the end isn't outstanding, quite small, but it's okay for a Maritime museum. Though, if you get bored with the museum at the end, you can go for a wander and meet back for the pick up and nearby there are lots of amazing boats docked up and just the area is nice to look at.
Overall, I'd recommend it, especially for the price of what could be a meal out in Malta.

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The bus is convenient and a good way to see different parts of Malta. You choose a specific route out of 3 routes and theres enough to see on the hop-on, hop-off bus to take up a day. It is a lot more windy and cold on the top of the bus, I wasnt prepared for this and was quite cold, so beware.

I might add that Malta does have a 1.5 Euro bus ticket that gives you full and unlimited access to the whole of the island, so if you are on a budget, you might want to just save the money and get a day bus pass.

However, I think with limited time and for the convenience and not getting lost, that paying for this specific tourist bus that takes you direct to the spots and not going a much longer route round the houses is probably best.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The tour was a big group a coach bus full of almost 50 pp and hence the pace was really slow as there were many elderly people who walked slowly and got on/ off the bus very slow. There were some places that we didnt have time to visit due to the above issue. We didnt get to do the boat ride to see the Blue Grotto. The other tours offered by this local tour operator were way better - smaller group size, more energetic tour guide. The lunch included with tour price was not very good. A bit disappointed!

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I feel it wasnt worth Euros 30 for this tour as the boat cruise itself cost Euros 10 so the pick-up / drop-off and drive around town was grossly over-valued at Euros 20!! The tour guide didnt even stay until the end of our tour - she asked to be dropped off at a bus stop before the tour ended. AWFUL, waste of money!!

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We booked this trip for December and unfortunately it was a very wet and windy day but the day trip was excellent and despite the weather we really enjoyed our day trip to Gozo. We were collected promptly from our hotel and were surprised to find that we were the only people on the trip. I think other companies might have cancelled a day trip with only two people so we were very pleased that it went ahead as planned and we ended up with a very personal tour. Our guide Vanessa was lovely, friendly and informative and very much let us decide how long we spent in each place. The lovely lady taxi driver stopped whenever we saw something we wanted to photograph which was also very nice. The Temples are amazing, well worth a visit. The Azure window and the views over the bay were quite spectacular . The area around the Citadel in Victoria is having a lot of work done so we didn't see it at its best, but we saw an interesting film about Gozo and were able to enjoy the views from the citadel despite the rain. Lunch was simple but adequate. We were taken to a lace market which sold lace and woollens and local produce. I am sure many people enjoy to see the local crafts but we felt a little pressured to buy something especially as were the only two people in there. We decided to skip the jewellery shop and continued our tour. It was a shame about the weather but Gozo is very interesting and well worth a visit.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great way to be introduced to the culture and people of Malta. Anthony was extremely knowledgeable about every place we visited. The pace of the tour was excellent. It was truly a full day tour. The lunch was delicious. I had a great time.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Mdina, Mosta Dome and Ta Qali Crafts Village

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyed this tour with fellow tourists from Germany, so discussions etc pivoted between English and German. Informative on details for each venue with some historical information. Worthwhile tour seeing Botanics, Mostra Church, Mdina, Rabat plus artisan village. Lunch option not for me, otherwise an enjoyable day all round for seeing the sights which form part of this tour.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Mdina, Mosta Dome and Ta Qali Crafts Village

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Malta is a small island, but there is so much to see and their history is so vast that this tour was a great introduction to the Maltese culture. There are also some very photogenic stops throughout the tour and even a break at a local coffee shop to have a traditional snack of "pastizzi," a flaky pastry filled with ricotta. Have a few euros on hand for the pastizzi, as it's not included with the tour

Doing what: Vittoriosa and Senglea Tour Including St Lawrence Church and Malta Maritime Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was excellent. Tour guide was knowledgeable. I enjoyed the history and the pace of the tour. We saw a great deal for a day tour. The lunch was excellent. The only reason I did not give it a perfect rating is because I felt we could had spent more time at the citadel and less time shopping.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I had a wonderful time. Good information and history about the harbor. What could had been added, one or two stops. Entry to a fort or castle. This would have earned a perfect rating for the tour. I enjoyed my tour guide. She was very knowledgeable of the area.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message