A highly evocative neighborhood of excellent character bars and a smattering of good restaurants, Gastown is Vancouver’s best old-town area. The Victorian era resonates in the cobblestone streets, antique lamps, and old buildings, adding to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The food was great and Brett infused a rainy day with some gassy info and fun!

Doing what: Gastown Walking Food Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Exceptional overview of the city. We love taking tours like this because you can see where you'd like to spend more time if you have a few more days. This tour covered inside the city as well as the surrounding area, from GasTown, Chinatown, Granville Island to Stanley Park and more. Another great tour guide with lots of info. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour was certainly worth the money paid. Vancouver is a beautiful city and has many wonderful sights to see and things to do. Gastown was - well a gas! - and Granville Island was a must see full of many exciting shops and entertainers. Hopping on and off enabled us to see lots of places in Vanvouver that ordinarily as tourists we wouldn't be able to visit! Again, well done!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Hop on Hop off in Vancouver worked out perfectly for our group to reach all the destinations we wanted to visit. We had no trouble catching another trolley after we exited in Chinatown, Stanley Park, Gas town and Grandville. We used the free False Ferry tickets provided in our included discount booklet, then caught the trolley back into Vancouver. We did find it was easiest to catch the first trolley of the day starting at Canada Place. We purchased the two-day ticket and it was perfect.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

WILLIAM D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5 star jose vargas was wonderful

Doing what: Private Tour: Vancouver City Sightseeing

yvonne.d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great way to explore the city and the drivers provided a great commentary throughout the journey. She sure to stop off at Granville Island, Stanley Park, Yaletown, Gastown and Canada Place.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We very much enjoyed this tour, exchanging our voucher for 2 day hop on tkts + Harbour 360 viewing tower included.The trolley stopped right outside our hotel and we took 1st route through Stanley Park along the waterfront and on to Canada Place where we left the trolley. We had some brunch walked along to Gastown the Harbour 360 etc then took the 2nd route down to Granville Island. Drivers give an impromptu commentary about the areas. All very good fun and very obliging at the end of the day in dropping people off near their hotels. This company has lots of competition in Vancouver and they really want your business, we think they deserve recommendation.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

AILEEN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Hop On Hop Off is the way to go to get around Vancouver! We went through Stanley Park, Gastown, Chinatown. Very convenient... Added feature was the buy 1 day get 2nd day free!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Purchased two consecutive days of the hop-on-hop-off tour which served as transportation throughout Vancouver. My initial day in the city was spent on the city tour. This tour allowed me to spend additional time on the sites that I felt were more noteworthy. The drivers have two routes which will allow the tourist an opportunity to spend 30-45 minutes at a particular spot. You can then hop on to proceed to your next destination whether you wish to shop, view the surroundings, or get wet in the rain! You can then plan each day to go back to Granville Island. Go to some museums. Or, take a picture of the clock in Gastown. Recommended.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dane G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Wished it had a short stop at Gastown to see the steam clock.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Esperanza M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

If you have limited time in this city, I recommend this tour. Our guide, Greg, was very informative and helpful. We took the 4-hr city tour so we can hit all the highlights of the city. Then we went back to those places that we want to see more of. We went to Gastown for souvenir shopping and to Granville Island for a leisurely walk and a visit to the public market. If you have more time in the city, I suggest taking a map and just ride the buses. It will be a lot cheaper.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

marieanneel

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide/driver gave us and excellent tour for our first trip to Vancouver. We loved all the interesting stories and places we saw on the trip. The only downside was that too much time was spent going through the residential areas and so we didn't get to stop for a walk around Gastown.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

BART P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the Hop on Hop of Tour of Vancouver 8/16,8/17/13.The tour buses were fun and stops interesting.Stanely Park was are favorite and we enjoyed GasTown,Prospeck Park,Grandville Island and Totem Park.In 1 and a half days we were able to ride the Red and Blue route twice and get off many times at all stops of interest.The drivers were all interesting to here there points of interest and there different humor of the city of Vancouver.The only drowal back was some times the buses were full and we had to wate for the next bus.But overall it was a great value for seniors at $69 for two for two days.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ann K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour gave us a good overall view of the City of Vancouver Canada. They were on time. The drivers were well informed and interesting. We especially loved Stanley Park and Gastown. One thing we were unhappy about was the Chinese Garden that was the stop just before Chinatown. It seems there are two Chinese Gardens: One that is free to the public and one that has a $15.00 fee for a short tour. We decided to view the garden on our own. It was very nice, but only about 50 square feet. We kept seeing people over on another side of the garden with no access TO this part of the garden for us. We were THEN informed by a fellow tourist, that we could have seen the garden for free,a but were not informed at the ticket counter that the Garden was actually free to the public. When I asked an employee of the garden why we weren't informed of the free public garden she said that the "for fee" garden contained "genuine stones etc from China" , while the public garden contained materials form Mexico and Italy, therefore was not an authentic! The driver should have given us a heads up on this scam. So if you aren't aware, you might want to give your paying passengers a "Buyer Beware" warning. Kick this stop off your list and just stop at Chinatown. I don't want to see others ripped off like we were.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Steven g

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Reasonably good information about historical gas town, a bit edgy delivery. Food was good quality, would have been nice to hear from chiefs about the dishes they served and Resturant.

Doing what: Gastown Walking Food Tour

Steven K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was well paced. We drove through Chinatown and Gastown. The tour description said that we would be walking through Gastown, but we just drove through rather quickly. Luckily, our hotel was close to Gastown, so we walked around there on our own. We were given enough time in Stanley Park, and plenty of time on Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Noel J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Let me start off by saying that my package was supposed to include the Lookout Observation Tower but my driver did not give me the ticket to it and it slipped my mind until the end of the day when I got off the trolley : I eneded up calling the company and telling them what happened and they offered to deliver the ticket to my hotel which they did not do! I was not as angry since the final two days of my stay were rainy. The original tour driver that I had at the beginning of the first day actually knew historical facts about the city and the different stops around the tour. I did the blue loop first Stanley Park area. The driver gave a lot of historical facts going into the park and pointed out a bunch of different landmarks on the way. My first stop was the Aquarium at Stanley Park. After that my driver was an asian guy who seemed to barely know anything about the city and reminded me of a new immigrant. He tried cracking some stupid jokes that mostly involved money and how expensive everything was but no one laughed including myself. He seemed to just rant on about things and its pretty obvious he had no idea what he was talking about. Unfortunately. I got him again after my last stop in the park at Prospect Point so I was not very happy. I was happy to get off at the False Creek Ferries stop and catch a ferry to Granville Island. I hopped on the last trolley of the day and this time had another driver that was a huge improvement on the asian guy. He took us around the more boring stops in my honest opinion. This included gastown, yaletown, and chinatown. He did give out a lot of interesting facts and included his own colour commentary about his own experiences in the areas which was actually funny.

Anyway, over-all I think this was a decent tour but I really think this company needs to make sure all their drivers know what they are talking about and actually havce some years of experience with the city which would be a great benefit to the riders.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Leigh

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The destinations on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is very old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. The trolley drivers also do not stop at every stop, therefore you must wave frantically to make sure they stop to pick you up. Make sure you print the schedule from their website to determine pickup times and locations. Regardless, this trolley is the best option and definitely cheaper to purchase on Viator.

Highly recommend getting off at the stop that catches the Ferry to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to the Yaletown stop, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown...it's a great detour! If you get off near China Town or Gas Town and are not familiar with Vancouver...please be careful while walking Hastings Street.

Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed. We were really pleased to see all the sites this tour has to offer.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sandra B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The tour was very informative and we did see alot of vancouver however i did wish we could have gone slower and or even gotten out of the bus for a few minutes to take pictures when we were at Gastown. Chinatown and at the Olympic center.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

John L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This tour was not what I had expected. Gastown and Chinatown are drive-by's only - no opportunity to explore. I also didn't appreciate the assigned seating - my whole tour started out rough.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Eddie M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This tour was not as informative as the description implies. We drove thru Chinatown and Gastown but learning about their history, architecture and culture is a stretch. We stopped at Stanley Park for a break, and it is a terrific park, but a few details about its size and history would have been helpful. I'm sure there is more than knowing that it is named after Lord Stanley of hockey fame. Maybe a mention about the cannon that's fired every night a 9:00pm. And Granville Island was interesting to see, but this tour did not include exploration time.

On a positive note, the guide was friendly and the vehicle was clean. The pickup and drop-off were as advertised although multiple stops do come out of the total tour time.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Robin W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Your description of this tour includes a walking tour of Gastown. Our guide "Steve" did drive though Gastown and Chinatown but there was no stopping or getting off the bus. We also drove past Robson St on our way to Stanley Park where we got off the bus for 15 minutes to look at the totem poles and another 15 minutes at Prospect Point, not exactly a walk in the park. We did have a little over an hour on Granville Island, but that included time to get something to eat which left very little time for exploring or chatting with artists. All in all not worth the money.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Elise K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

I got the impression that for the tour to go well, there are a lot of variables involved, and none of them lined up the day that I took it. The ticket taker didn't show up for work that day, my first driver drove for long stretches without saying anything, and when he did, he only pointed out the property values of the buildings we were passing. I hopped off in park, and the driver that picked me up was great--very friendly and well informed about the history of the area and growing up in Vancouver. Gastown was a whole different story--I had to wait for over an hour in the rain to get picked up because the driver at the time didn't know how a good route to get around the construction in town. It's got potential, but I was so fed up by the time I got back to my hotel that I didn't bother going again the second day.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Alain USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

This was my family's first visit to Vancouver and the trolley tour fell short in several areas.
To start, the trolley schedule posted on Viator's website differs with the actual schedule listed on Vancouver Trolley’s schedule. Due to weather and season we understand there may be differing schedules (one for Winter-Spring, one for Summer-Fall), however, the website didn’t indicate this. This is important because had I known the Vancouver Trolley actually stopped at my hotel (Residence Inn at Marriott) I would not have subjected my family to walk three blocks to catch the trolley at the Holiday Inn Hotel (Howe Street).
Second issue was when the trolley finally arrived, the female driver informed us the trolley was full to capacity. We, along with another family that was next to us, would have to wait 45 minutes for the next trolley. The kicker was when she stated if the next trolley is also full, we couldn’t get on it and that we would have to wait for another one. We were flabbergasted.
Third issue was what Viator advertised was not what was delivered. The website stated there would be a free Granville Island walking tour. There was NO free Granville Island walking tour at all. According to Vancouver Trolley, that’s only done during the warmer seasons. I was told it was too cold in February for them to even consider having a walking tour.
Finally, the trolley didn't even go near Chinatown because it just so happen to be that it was the Chinese New Year and the trolley did not want to go near the New Year parade so we didn’t get to visit or see the Chinatown area.
Needless to say we were very disappointed with both the trolley tour and Viator. Truly disappointing!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear your experience with your tour was unfavorable. We are looking into correcting any discrepancies on our website between the Summer and Winter schedules. If our customer support team needs any further information from you, they will be emailing you directly. Again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Vancouver. Happy Travels!

Ming Ming C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

1. The tour does not explicitly say that the Vancouver lookout is not included in the afternoon tour, but only say that Bloedel Floral Conservatory is included in the afternoon tour. This is VERY misleading, and the ticket price for these two places have a big difference, thought they charge the same for both the morning and the afternoon trip.
2. it was raining during the first part of the trip, however the driver/tour guide didnot bother to change his route a little bit to go to the indoor activityies first. He just took us directly to Stanley park first, and made 2 stops with about 5 minutes each, which is a totally waste of time. Then he left us in the Market for more than an hour. The last two activities are the indoor activities: the Bloedel Floral Conservatory, and the drive through the China town and the Gastown, when the rain has already stopped. If the driver/tour guide care to make some changes in the route, and not just leave us at the Market, we could have enjoyed the trip a lot more.
3. The tour description on Viator's website saying that the tour should start in Gastown, where you'll follow your guide on a stroll down the cobbled streets past 19th-century buildings..., and then China tour . However the driver/guide did not start there, never stopped in Gastown. He just drove through both the Gastown and China town. In addition, he left these two places last when the rain has already stopped.
On the whole, I don't thing the driver/tour guide, and the tour company care about the customers to make sure their customers can get the best out the trip even if it rains. The descript on the Viator's web site is very misleading.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message