• USD ($)
  • English
A highly evocative neighborhood of excellent character bars and a smattering of good restaurants, Gastown is Vancouver’s best old-town area. The Victorian era resonates in the cobblestone streets, antique lamps, and old buildings, adding to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great way to explore the city and the drivers provided a great commentary throughout the journey. She sure to stop off at Granville Island, Stanley Park, Yaletown, Gastown and Canada Place.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We very much enjoyed this tour, exchanging our voucher for 2 day hop on tkts + Harbour 360 viewing tower included.The trolley stopped right outside our hotel and we took 1st route through Stanley Park along the waterfront and on to Canada Place where we left the trolley. We had some brunch walked along to Gastown the Harbour 360 etc then took the 2nd route down to Granville Island. Drivers give an impromptu commentary about the areas. All very good fun and very obliging at the end of the day in dropping people off near their hotels. This company has lots of competition in Vancouver and they really want your business, we think they deserve recommendation.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Hop On Hop Off is the way to go to get around Vancouver! We went through Stanley Park, Gastown, Chinatown. Very convenient... Added feature was the buy 1 day get 2nd day free!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide/driver gave us and excellent tour for our first trip to Vancouver. We loved all the interesting stories and places we saw on the trip. The only downside was that too much time was spent going through the residential areas and so we didn't get to stop for a walk around Gastown.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the Hop on Hop of Tour of Vancouver 8/16,8/17/13.The tour buses were fun and stops interesting.Stanely Park was are favorite and we enjoyed GasTown,Prospeck Park,Grandville Island and Totem Park.In 1 and a half days we were able to ride the Red and Blue route twice and get off many times at all stops of interest.The drivers were all interesting to here there points of interest and there different humor of the city of Vancouver.The only drowal back was some times the buses were full and we had to wate for the next bus.But overall it was a great value for seniors at $69 for two for two days.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour gave us a good overall view of the City of Vancouver Canada. They were on time. The drivers were well informed and interesting. We especially loved Stanley Park and Gastown. One thing we were unhappy about was the Chinese Garden that was the stop just before Chinatown. It seems there are two Chinese Gardens: One that is free to the public and one that has a $15.00 fee for a short tour. We decided to view the garden on our own. It was very nice, but only about 50 square feet. We kept seeing people over on another side of the garden with no access TO this part of the garden for us. We were THEN informed by a fellow tourist, that we could have seen the garden for free,a but were not informed at the ticket counter that the Garden was actually free to the public. When I asked an employee of the garden why we weren't informed of the free public garden she said that the "for fee" garden contained "genuine stones etc from China" , while the public garden contained materials form Mexico and Italy, therefore was not an authentic! The driver should have given us a heads up on this scam. So if you aren't aware, you might want to give your paying passengers a "Buyer Beware" warning. Kick this stop off your list and just stop at Chinatown. I don't want to see others ripped off like we were.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The destinations on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is very old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. The trolley drivers also do not stop at every stop, therefore you must wave frantically to make sure they stop to pick you up. Make sure you print the schedule from their website to determine pickup times and locations. Regardless, this trolley is the best option and definitely cheaper to purchase on Viator.

Highly recommend getting off at the stop that catches the Ferry to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to the Yaletown stop, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown...it's a great detour! If you get off near China Town or Gas Town and are not familiar with Vancouver...please be careful while walking Hastings Street.

Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed. We were really pleased to see all the sites this tour has to offer.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The stops on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. Make sure you print the schedule and stops before heading out. There are certain stops the bus drives do not stop at unless you are waving frantically for them to pick you up. Regardless, I think this is the best option available and definitely cheaper on Viator.

A great detour - get off at the Ferry stop to take you to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to Yaletown, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown.

Word of warning - if you are not familiar with Vancouver and get off near China Town or Gas Town, be wary of Hastings Street as this is a poplar location for druggies and homeless.

All in all - we loved the stops on this tour. Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed! Lots to see and do with a 2-day pass.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The tour was very informative and we did see alot of vancouver however i did wish we could have gone slower and or even gotten out of the bus for a few minutes to take pictures when we were at Gastown. Chinatown and at the Olympic center.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

I got the impression that for the tour to go well, there are a lot of variables involved, and none of them lined up the day that I took it. The ticket taker didn't show up for work that day, my first driver drove for long stretches without saying anything, and when he did, he only pointed out the property values of the buildings we were passing. I hopped off in park, and the driver that picked me up was great--very friendly and well informed about the history of the area and growing up in Vancouver. Gastown was a whole different story--I had to wait for over an hour in the rain to get picked up because the driver at the time didn't know how a good route to get around the construction in town. It's got potential, but I was so fed up by the time I got back to my hotel that I didn't bother going again the second day.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Angie
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Chinatown, if you have been to San Francisco's then this will be a great disappointment. Gastown was marginally better, but the area between the two is very dodgy and you have to walk straight through it. The police were there arresting someone as we walked through, it just doesn't feel safe. I don't think it's worth the money sadly, there are better things to do.

Doing what: Vancouver Walking Tour: Gastown and Chinatown

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

This was my family's first visit to Vancouver and the trolley tour fell short in several areas.
To start, the trolley schedule posted on Viator's website differs with the actual schedule listed on Vancouver Trolley’s schedule. Due to weather and season we understand there may be differing schedules (one for Winter-Spring, one for Summer-Fall), however, the website didn’t indicate this. This is important because had I known the Vancouver Trolley actually stopped at my hotel (Residence Inn at Marriott) I would not have subjected my family to walk three blocks to catch the trolley at the Holiday Inn Hotel (Howe Street).
Second issue was when the trolley finally arrived, the female driver informed us the trolley was full to capacity. We, along with another family that was next to us, would have to wait 45 minutes for the next trolley. The kicker was when she stated if the next trolley is also full, we couldn’t get on it and that we would have to wait for another one. We were flabbergasted.
Third issue was what Viator advertised was not what was delivered. The website stated there would be a free Granville Island walking tour. There was NO free Granville Island walking tour at all. According to Vancouver Trolley, that’s only done during the warmer seasons. I was told it was too cold in February for them to even consider having a walking tour.
Finally, the trolley didn't even go near Chinatown because it just so happen to be that it was the Chinese New Year and the trolley did not want to go near the New Year parade so we didn’t get to visit or see the Chinatown area.
Needless to say we were very disappointed with both the trolley tour and Viator. Truly disappointing!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear your experience with your tour was unfavorable. We are looking into correcting any discrepancies on our website between the Summer and Winter schedules. If our customer support team needs any further information from you, they will be emailing you directly. Again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Vancouver. Happy Travels!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The tour got off to a bad start. Bus was late at the pickup location and was full. Were informed another bus was right behind them to pick us up. Second bus did not arrive until 30 minutes later putting us waiting for a bus close to an hour. Once we got on, didn't really see any exciting sites on the tour, then the bus pulls over at a stop and loads us onto another bus. Then we were back on the tour again. Unhappy with the tour, we got off at Gastown to do some site seeing on our own in that area. The next station we tried to get on,,the bus was late again. The buses that picked up at this station were confusing, some were blue and some were red, but that didn't mean they were the red or the blue route?? Everyone was confused! Once we got on the proper bus (thanks to someone who started trying to direct the crowd to the proper pickup and bus) we headed to Stanley Park. Once at Stanley Park, the tour was decent. If you don't have a car and you can get a discount, it works for seeing Gastown and Stanley Park. But don't expect much!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

The trolley was very disappointing. The trolley stop was across the street from our hotel. We went to the stop and the trolley was filled and we waited for the next on. It was called a pick up trolley. Since we were the only one on the trolley they women took us on the tour until we got to the Central station.
We asked to person to the yellow shirt to direct us to the Blue line because we wanted to continue the last leg on the Blue line. She did and we asked the driver if it was the Blue line and he said “yes”. But it was the Red line. The driver was foreign and was very difficult to understand. After the tour began we realized this was not the Blue line. We asked the driver again if this was the Blue line and he said “no” this was the Red line. I said, “When I asked you if this was the blue line you said yes” and as he began driving you said “this is the Blue line”. He said “no, I didn’t” and several other passengers spoke up and they agree with me. Because the Red line would not take us to my hotel we had to get off of the trolley and walk to our hotel. It was very hot and this is not what we wanted to do, but we had no choice but to walk.

The next day we went to get on the trolley and it was the same foreign speaking driver we had the day before. Again we asked “is this the Blue line” and said “yes”. He began speaking and pointed out the Gay Pride Parade and made a derogatory remark about the people participating in the parade. As soon as we pass the parade area we realized this was not the Blue route. It took us back to the Central station. We got off the trolley and asked how we could get to Gas Town district and we were told it was 4 block straight ahead. Again we walk to our destination.

Once we finished our visit in Gas Town we got back on the trolley and asked if this was the Blue trolley and we were told “yes”. We got on to the trolley and said that we wanted to get off at the hotel. We were told because of the parade they were unable to take us to our hotel but they would get us as close to the hotel as they could. We had to walk to our hotel. We walked to our hotel and as we arrived there was a trolley stopping at our hotel. We spend as much walking time in the heat, as we did riding the trolley. I would not recommend your services.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message