A highly evocative neighborhood of excellent character bars and a smattering of good restaurants, Gastown is Vancouver’s best old-town area. The Victorian era resonates in the cobblestone streets, antique lamps, and old buildings, adding to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5 star jose vargas was wonderful

Doing what: Private Tour: Vancouver City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great way to explore the city and the drivers provided a great commentary throughout the journey. She sure to stop off at Granville Island, Stanley Park, Yaletown, Gastown and Canada Place.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We very much enjoyed this tour, exchanging our voucher for 2 day hop on tkts + Harbour 360 viewing tower included.The trolley stopped right outside our hotel and we took 1st route through Stanley Park along the waterfront and on to Canada Place where we left the trolley. We had some brunch walked along to Gastown the Harbour 360 etc then took the 2nd route down to Granville Island. Drivers give an impromptu commentary about the areas. All very good fun and very obliging at the end of the day in dropping people off near their hotels. This company has lots of competition in Vancouver and they really want your business, we think they deserve recommendation.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Hop On Hop Off is the way to go to get around Vancouver! We went through Stanley Park, Gastown, Chinatown. Very convenient... Added feature was the buy 1 day get 2nd day free!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Wished it had a short stop at Gastown to see the steam clock.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

If you have limited time in this city, I recommend this tour. Our guide, Greg, was very informative and helpful. We took the 4-hr city tour so we can hit all the highlights of the city. Then we went back to those places that we want to see more of. We went to Gastown for souvenir shopping and to Granville Island for a leisurely walk and a visit to the public market. If you have more time in the city, I suggest taking a map and just ride the buses. It will be a lot cheaper.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide/driver gave us and excellent tour for our first trip to Vancouver. We loved all the interesting stories and places we saw on the trip. The only downside was that too much time was spent going through the residential areas and so we didn't get to stop for a walk around Gastown.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the Hop on Hop of Tour of Vancouver 8/16,8/17/13.The tour buses were fun and stops interesting.Stanely Park was are favorite and we enjoyed GasTown,Prospeck Park,Grandville Island and Totem Park.In 1 and a half days we were able to ride the Red and Blue route twice and get off many times at all stops of interest.The drivers were all interesting to here there points of interest and there different humor of the city of Vancouver.The only drowal back was some times the buses were full and we had to wate for the next bus.But overall it was a great value for seniors at $69 for two for two days.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour gave us a good overall view of the City of Vancouver Canada. They were on time. The drivers were well informed and interesting. We especially loved Stanley Park and Gastown. One thing we were unhappy about was the Chinese Garden that was the stop just before Chinatown. It seems there are two Chinese Gardens: One that is free to the public and one that has a $15.00 fee for a short tour. We decided to view the garden on our own. It was very nice, but only about 50 square feet. We kept seeing people over on another side of the garden with no access TO this part of the garden for us. We were THEN informed by a fellow tourist, that we could have seen the garden for free,a but were not informed at the ticket counter that the Garden was actually free to the public. When I asked an employee of the garden why we weren't informed of the free public garden she said that the "for fee" garden contained "genuine stones etc from China" , while the public garden contained materials form Mexico and Italy, therefore was not an authentic! The driver should have given us a heads up on this scam. So if you aren't aware, you might want to give your paying passengers a "Buyer Beware" warning. Kick this stop off your list and just stop at Chinatown. I don't want to see others ripped off like we were.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The destinations on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is very old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. The trolley drivers also do not stop at every stop, therefore you must wave frantically to make sure they stop to pick you up. Make sure you print the schedule from their website to determine pickup times and locations. Regardless, this trolley is the best option and definitely cheaper to purchase on Viator.

Highly recommend getting off at the stop that catches the Ferry to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to the Yaletown stop, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown...it's a great detour! If you get off near China Town or Gas Town and are not familiar with Vancouver...please be careful while walking Hastings Street.

Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed. We were really pleased to see all the sites this tour has to offer.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The stops on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. Make sure you print the schedule and stops before heading out. There are certain stops the bus drives do not stop at unless you are waving frantically for them to pick you up. Regardless, I think this is the best option available and definitely cheaper on Viator.

A great detour - get off at the Ferry stop to take you to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to Yaletown, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown.

Word of warning - if you are not familiar with Vancouver and get off near China Town or Gas Town, be wary of Hastings Street as this is a poplar location for druggies and homeless.

All in all - we loved the stops on this tour. Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed! Lots to see and do with a 2-day pass.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The tour was very informative and we did see alot of vancouver however i did wish we could have gone slower and or even gotten out of the bus for a few minutes to take pictures when we were at Gastown. Chinatown and at the Olympic center.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

I got the impression that for the tour to go well, there are a lot of variables involved, and none of them lined up the day that I took it. The ticket taker didn't show up for work that day, my first driver drove for long stretches without saying anything, and when he did, he only pointed out the property values of the buildings we were passing. I hopped off in park, and the driver that picked me up was great--very friendly and well informed about the history of the area and growing up in Vancouver. Gastown was a whole different story--I had to wait for over an hour in the rain to get picked up because the driver at the time didn't know how a good route to get around the construction in town. It's got potential, but I was so fed up by the time I got back to my hotel that I didn't bother going again the second day.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Angie
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Chinatown, if you have been to San Francisco's then this will be a great disappointment. Gastown was marginally better, but the area between the two is very dodgy and you have to walk straight through it. The police were there arresting someone as we walked through, it just doesn't feel safe. I don't think it's worth the money sadly, there are better things to do.

Doing what: Vancouver Walking Tour: Gastown and Chinatown

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

This was my family's first visit to Vancouver and the trolley tour fell short in several areas.
To start, the trolley schedule posted on Viator's website differs with the actual schedule listed on Vancouver Trolley’s schedule. Due to weather and season we understand there may be differing schedules (one for Winter-Spring, one for Summer-Fall), however, the website didn’t indicate this. This is important because had I known the Vancouver Trolley actually stopped at my hotel (Residence Inn at Marriott) I would not have subjected my family to walk three blocks to catch the trolley at the Holiday Inn Hotel (Howe Street).
Second issue was when the trolley finally arrived, the female driver informed us the trolley was full to capacity. We, along with another family that was next to us, would have to wait 45 minutes for the next trolley. The kicker was when she stated if the next trolley is also full, we couldn’t get on it and that we would have to wait for another one. We were flabbergasted.
Third issue was what Viator advertised was not what was delivered. The website stated there would be a free Granville Island walking tour. There was NO free Granville Island walking tour at all. According to Vancouver Trolley, that’s only done during the warmer seasons. I was told it was too cold in February for them to even consider having a walking tour.
Finally, the trolley didn't even go near Chinatown because it just so happen to be that it was the Chinese New Year and the trolley did not want to go near the New Year parade so we didn’t get to visit or see the Chinatown area.
Needless to say we were very disappointed with both the trolley tour and Viator. Truly disappointing!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear your experience with your tour was unfavorable. We are looking into correcting any discrepancies on our website between the Summer and Winter schedules. If our customer support team needs any further information from you, they will be emailing you directly. Again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Vancouver. Happy Travels!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message