Vancouver ATTRACTIONS See all

Granville Island

Brimming with arts and crafts studios, bars and restaurants with eye-popping views, Granville Island is a popular spot for visitors and locals alike. Though it’s really a peninsula, jutting out into False Creek, the island draws those who come to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Liz S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Liked the tour a lot-reasonably priced-knowledgeable drivers-great way to see Stanley Park and Granville Island. However, after Granville Island the trolley was 20 minutes late-it was a Saturday-but I didn't expect them to be that late for a pick up.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very fun way to experience Granville Island and learn more about the local vendors. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area, food and gave us great recommendations for local restaurants. I really liked how the first tasty was hearty and then followed with great bites - we definitely didn't leave hungry, but weren't over-stuffed. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Richard M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Purchased two consecutive days of the hop-on-hop-off tour which served as transportation throughout Vancouver. My initial day in the city was spent on the city tour. This tour allowed me to spend additional time on the sites that I felt were more noteworthy. The drivers have two routes which will allow the tourist an opportunity to spend 30-45 minutes at a particular spot. You can then hop on to proceed to your next destination whether you wish to shop, view the surroundings, or get wet in the rain! You can then plan each day to go back to Granville Island. Go to some museums. Or, take a picture of the clock in Gastown. Recommended.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Devin was our experienced, excellent guide. We had four major stops which included Stanley Park, Granville Island, the Observation deck. Stanley Park offers you serenity in a bustling city along with totem poles, shopping, and picturesque views of the skyline. The observation deck allows you to see the city from above it all!! Granville Island is the Canadian city's answer to Seattle's Pike Street market with beautiful arrays of flowers, fruits and vegetables, and culinary treats. This tour is well worth the 4-5 hours spent.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Cindy-Lee Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

What a disaster!!! I usually book the double decker city sightseeing hop-on hop-off tour when I go on holiday, this time I made the mistake of booking the TROLLEY hop-on op-off tour of Vancouver. I only had an afternoon and the next full day in the city , so I booked a 2 day pass. The first afternoon we got off at Granville Island, took the ferry back and then hopped back on and off again at the first stop. We walked around a little then went back to the bus stop to get back on the bus, unfortunately the bus just never came back even though it was still supposed to be running We spent the rest of our afternoon waiting for the bus incase it was just running late very late!!!! Then ended up walking back to our hotel.
The next day we made our own way to the aquarium because I had an encounter booked for early morning. After the encounter the trolley came passed and we hopped on, we got off at the first stop and that was the end of our sight seeing....every time the bus stopped it was full so we couldn't get on, 3 busses went passed us, and there was a group of people waiting to get on the bus. Eventually one lady who had been waiting to get on the bus for 2 hours convinced another bus driver from the Stanley park bus to give us all a lift to the closest exit of Stanley park and then we all walked back to our hotel. What a waste of our time!!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Exceptional overview of the city. We love taking tours like this because you can see where you'd like to spend more time if you have a few more days. This tour covered inside the city as well as the surrounding area, from GasTown, Chinatown, Granville Island to Stanley Park and more. Another great tour guide with lots of info. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to get acquainted with Granville Island, meet interesting people, and sample delicious local foods. Our tour guide, Emmanuella, was informative, engaging, and cheerful. We had a fun experience and will highly recommend it to friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Wendy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to get over to Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I finished our holiday in Canada with the Granville Market Food Tour. Nadia, our tour guide, was simply brilliant - an expert in her field, her knowledge on each vender/restaurant and breadth of general food understanding was very impressive. In terms of the tastings, you get a lot of them we were stuffed - and we have fairly formidable appetites. There were too many culinary highlights to list, but Lee's Doughnuts were life-changingly good.

A must for any foodie in Vancouver

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Marcy H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Mitch was very accommodating and informative. He picked us up at our hotel and explained everything that would happen. We enjoyed all the stops, especially Granville Island - we probably would not have gone there ourselves but it was fun to explore all the unique shops and the market there, and the Conservatory - again, would not have gone there ourselves, but the birds and plants were very colorful. It was a very good way to get oriented to the Vancouver area and we were able to navigate on our own the rest of the few days we were there.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Nancy A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good tour to see a quick glimpse of the city. Would like to have spent more time in Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Mandy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

We enjoyed our morning city sights tour of Vancouver. Always a help to get an idea of how the city is setout, see the highlights and then if you have time go back to places you would like to explore a little more. Unfortunately, we were flying out the next day so didn't have time to go back to Granville Markets - as our guide said everyone definitely needs more than an hour here!!

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Sunny in Spain

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Only used the ferry ticket for one return journey but enabled easy access to Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

brantamas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The dynamic duo,father and son, Frank and Nicolas were outstanding with their private city tour. They took us to Stanley park and other great spots for photo taking. We had a nice quick bite at Granville island. Nicolas is very knowledgeable about Vancouver. I would highly recommend Wild BC tours.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vancouver City Sightseeing

Paul R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Hop on hop off is great urban transit option. We rode both the red and green lines. The drivers drove well and had a running commentary as we rolled along. A really great way to discover a city. We were. Able to hop off and found a great place for lunch. We made the mini ferry to Granville island. However, we didn't figure out that the last trolley had stopped service, and had to cab it back to our room. It's still a superior service to have available.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Randy P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour bus was a half hour late in arriving. We told the driver that it was critical that we get back to our hotel by 2:00 because we were catching a cruise ship that afternoon. We still were on Granville Island at 2:00. The driver called another driver to meet us at the bridge, and we made it to our ship on time, but the day was made unnecessarily stressful by the company's inability to meet the schedule set forth in its materials. That being said, we did enjoy the tour itself.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Wendy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The market tour could not have been better. Everyone is our group enjoyed, not only the food, but the history of Granville Island, vendors and ingredients.

Johanna was simply marvelous. She did a wonderful job of forecasting what we would be doing, so there was no angst or concern among tour members. Thanks Johanna!

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Steven K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was well paced. We drove through Chinatown and Gastown. The tour description said that we would be walking through Gastown, but we just drove through rather quickly. Luckily, our hotel was close to Gastown, so we walked around there on our own. We were given enough time in Stanley Park, and plenty of time on Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

mick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Rene our guide was fantastic, great fun and very informative. We saw the whole city in 4hrs, Granville Island was the highlight. Good value for money.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Nancy M D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If you are short on time, this tour is a great way to see Vancouver. You stop at Granville Island and Stanley Park and the commentary was informative.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Noel J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Let me start off by saying that my package was supposed to include the Lookout Observation Tower but my driver did not give me the ticket to it and it slipped my mind until the end of the day when I got off the trolley : I eneded up calling the company and telling them what happened and they offered to deliver the ticket to my hotel which they did not do! I was not as angry since the final two days of my stay were rainy. The original tour driver that I had at the beginning of the first day actually knew historical facts about the city and the different stops around the tour. I did the blue loop first Stanley Park area. The driver gave a lot of historical facts going into the park and pointed out a bunch of different landmarks on the way. My first stop was the Aquarium at Stanley Park. After that my driver was an asian guy who seemed to barely know anything about the city and reminded me of a new immigrant. He tried cracking some stupid jokes that mostly involved money and how expensive everything was but no one laughed including myself. He seemed to just rant on about things and its pretty obvious he had no idea what he was talking about. Unfortunately. I got him again after my last stop in the park at Prospect Point so I was not very happy. I was happy to get off at the False Creek Ferries stop and catch a ferry to Granville Island. I hopped on the last trolley of the day and this time had another driver that was a huge improvement on the asian guy. He took us around the more boring stops in my honest opinion. This included gastown, yaletown, and chinatown. He did give out a lot of interesting facts and included his own colour commentary about his own experiences in the areas which was actually funny.

Anyway, over-all I think this was a decent tour but I really think this company needs to make sure all their drivers know what they are talking about and actually havce some years of experience with the city which would be a great benefit to the riders.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Eddie M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This tour was not as informative as the description implies. We drove thru Chinatown and Gastown but learning about their history, architecture and culture is a stretch. We stopped at Stanley Park for a break, and it is a terrific park, but a few details about its size and history would have been helpful. I'm sure there is more than knowing that it is named after Lord Stanley of hockey fame. Maybe a mention about the cannon that's fired every night a 9:00pm. And Granville Island was interesting to see, but this tour did not include exploration time.

On a positive note, the guide was friendly and the vehicle was clean. The pickup and drop-off were as advertised although multiple stops do come out of the total tour time.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Katie B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The ferries are very frequent and the staff on them are really friendly and helpful. It's a great way to see False Creek and to explore the areas of Yale Town and Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

Brian K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This is my second time using this trolley in Vancouver used it last year as well. The trolley did not run on schedule, and I opted not to use the second day due to a certain situation that occurred. At one of the stops Granville Island, I waited for over an hour for a trolley to come. I was able to board the trolley but was then asked to leave the bus since there were too many people and standing in the trolley is not allowed. The driver/guide did not offer any solution, he simply told me to wait. The company is aware of how many people have tickets for a particular day and what the more popular stops are and should be prepared for this. Not only did I have to leave the trolley, I waited for over 1.5 hours total for a trolley. Not only is this unacceptable, but I emailed the trolley company without any response. This is very unprofessional, and I am very disappointed and cannot recommend their service to others.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gary B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed it immensely. Would have liked to have had at least an hour at the Granville Island stop. But the narration, the other stops, the historical comments were interesting and helpful. Also, the tour followed a lot of the half marathon route that I had done the day before and I was able to view a lot of the sites passed and enjoy them.
Thank You

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message