Brimming with arts and crafts studios, bars and restaurants with eye-popping views, Granville Island is a popular spot for visitors and locals alike. Though it’s really a peninsula, jutting out into False Creek, the island draws those who come to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed it immensely. Would have liked to have had at least an hour at the Granville Island stop. But the narration, the other stops, the historical comments were interesting and helpful. Also, the tour followed a lot of the half marathon route that I had done the day before and I was able to view a lot of the sites passed and enjoy them.
Thank You

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour guide picked us up at the hotel. He was a very nice young man. There were only 5 people on the tour all together, so it was a cozy, off season tour. The guide could have given us more information when we were off the bus, but he did a good job over all. He was very much on time, which was appreciated. I got a nice feel for Vancouver. Since the tour was pricey, it was nice that some ticket items were included: the Lookout Tower and the Conservatory in Queen Elizabeth's Park. We also had a nice time shopping in Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour was certainly worth the money paid. Vancouver is a beautiful city and has many wonderful sights to see and things to do. Gastown was - well a gas! - and Granville Island was a must see full of many exciting shops and entertainers. Hopping on and off enabled us to see lots of places in Vanvouver that ordinarily as tourists we wouldn't be able to visit! Again, well done!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My trolley tour went without a hitch! Got off in 3 places and the trolley came in a timely manner. Did the "live" walking tour of Granville Island...very interesting island, BUT I was the only tourist with the tour guide who informed me when we were on our way that the tour ran on tips only (I did give her a tip, but I'm sure not a big enough tip to compensate for her 20 min. walk that I could have done by myself).
I have done the live tours in London, Malaga, etc...which I would have preferred. Got off at the steam clock and then simply walked towards the cruise ship, therefore skipping all the hotel pick up stops.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The Hop-on Hop-off Tour provided an easy way to get around the city and gave us a good idea of where we wanted to spend more time. Disappointed that the Granville walking tour that was supposed to be included was no longer taking place. Overall worth the money.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Unfortunately there were insufficient trolleys running for the number of customers, we ended up getting a taxi from Granville Island as several trolleys passed with full loads. We waited for over an hour then gave up !!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gail F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would recommend to this tour at the start of your trip to see everything Vancouver has to offer. Loved Stanley Park - really need a whole day there as it is so big! The totem poles were good to see and gave you a taste of the history behind the poles. Lions Gate bridge reminds you of a smaller Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco. Granville Island is a bustling little village packed to the brim of people. Finding something to eat (you stop for lunch here) is a task as the food court is packed full. Quaint little shops dotted around the place make for good shopping. The look out at the Harbour Centre is fantastic - great views and we could see for miles - even Mount Baker in Washington! We went back to the look out just on dark as the ticket entry allowed you to go back on the same day - the lights of Vancouver were so pretty. We loved Vancouver and would highly recommend any traveller to spend some time there.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and was great about dropping us off at a location where we wanted to do more sightseeing at the end of the tour. I felt too much time was devoted to the panoramic view at Harbor Center--I would have preferred more time at Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tour stops were well placed along the route. Good commentary along the route. Enjoyed stop on Granville Island and the option to return by water taxi. Enjoyed the Stanley Park portion, but was annoyed that schedule was not on time as we waited almost an hour for a next pickup. Also seats very hard

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Your description of this tour includes a walking tour of Gastown. Our guide "Steve" did drive though Gastown and Chinatown but there was no stopping or getting off the bus. We also drove past Robson St on our way to Stanley Park where we got off the bus for 15 minutes to look at the totem poles and another 15 minutes at Prospect Point, not exactly a walk in the park. We did have a little over an hour on Granville Island, but that included time to get something to eat which left very little time for exploring or chatting with artists. All in all not worth the money.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The tour was a convenient way to get around the city, but I was appalled by the amount of time spent going down little streets after Granville Island. It seemed like we were going down back streets where a trolley barely fit. Once, we chose to walk over 2 miles just to avoid taking the trolley between desired attractions, figuring we were saving time. I also would have liked more commentary from knowledgeable drivers.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Our guide, Nick, was a well informed, enthusiastic and knowledgeable high school student who clearly has a passion for his city. We started at the Vancouver Art Gallery and moved on pas the courts through Yaletown and down to what was Expo '96. Until this point, it had been interesting - so interesting, in fact, that based on this tour, we wen track to Yaletown for dinner and by accident found the best Italian restaurant we've been to outside Italy (and we go to Italy every year). From the Expo area we went to Granville Island and there, after less then 2½ hours, we were left to explore. Fine. We went back to Granville Island another time too. The problem was that the tour had nothing to do with art and wasn't focused on art as we had expected. As a city tour, this would work if it concentrated on Yaletown, Granville Island, arty areas etc but the longish walk around the Expo area - all high rise apt blocks and a sports stadium - was to interesting and certainly didn't reflect the tour's remit. I want to score this higher as Nick was a good guide but I can't as it simply didn't reflect what was described and what therefore led me to book it, unfortunately.

Doing what: Vancouver Art Walking Tour: Yaletown and Granville Island Including Ferry Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley hop-on hop-off tour was awesome! The drivers did a great job of explaining and describing the city. We really enjoyed using the coupon book when we got off to explored many areas of Vancouver. One of our favorite stops was having a guided walking tour of the Granville Market. Emma did a fantastic job!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour and a fabulous way to experience Vancouver's Granville Island market. I had visited the market previously, but this tour really was the best way to visit and I can highly recommend it. The tastings were generous and very, very tasty. You're definitely full at the end of this tour! The tastings we had that day included fresh crab cakes with optional wine pairing, cured meats, local cheeses, delicious coffee and hot chai tea, local produce and a huge honey glazed donut. Our 2 guides were very personable and knowledgeable about the foods and the market and things ran super smoothly. The group size was small and very manageable, plus I brought along my 4 month old baby and there were no problems at all! Fabulous afternoon!

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed going on this food tour. I had heard about Granville Island market and seen it on tv before, but had never been before and I'm really glad that my first time was on this tour. The food was great and I tried a few things that I'd never had before - the cured meats were amazing and the honey donut was crazy good. Everything was really well organized and the guides did a great job of keeping the group engaged and making food exciting. The group was pretty small, with only about 6 people, and they were all really pleasant. After the tour, we went back and bought stuff to bring home. Yes! You can take cured meats and other products back to the States! This was a great tour and we were totally filled-up by the end. I think it was a really good way to spend a couple hours exploring Granville Island and eating fantastic food.

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message