• USD ($)
  • English
Brimming with arts and crafts studios, bars and restaurants with eye-popping views, Granville Island is a popular spot for visitors and locals alike. Though it’s really a peninsula, jutting out into False Creek, the island draws those who come to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the funniest, most knowledgeable tour guide. He really enjoyed his job and was a gifted guide. I wish I had his name. He said he had previously been a diver. He was so helpful to every passenger, giving advice for pictures, picking up or dropping off wherever, telling us stories and trivia about various places. He absolutely "made" the tour. A second driver who picked us up at the Granville Island site was informative but not a gifted tour guide.

I wish the on-line site had provided more info about the access to the observation deck. We ended up paying for something we didn't need or use. We thought we were simply requesting the upper level of the tour bus.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful experience. We got into Vancouver at 11, to our hotel at 1200 and were able to get settled in and get something to eat and even walk about a while prior to our 2 pm pick up. Since this was a private tour we were able to select where we wanted to go and how long we stayed at each site. There was a schedule and we did everything on the schedule but were able to cut some of the venues shorter when we were not as interested. For example, Granville Island was very interesting but we are not interested in crafts very much so we tired of that quickly. We loved the food market there though, it was amazing. We were able to return to the hotel on our own time schedule so that we made our dinner reservations without issue. We came from Indiana so by 5 pm Vancouver time it was 8 pm our time and we were tired and hungry so we were able to go on back to the hotel. The driver was very knowledgable and interesting. It was a great experience and a great way to see as much as possible of a beautiful city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vancouver City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Needed more time to make full use of the deal - namely two days use. Excellent free tour up the Observation Tower and would have like to have used the ticket for the guided tor of Granville. Very helpful and pleasant drivers.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Allowed us to visit the city in 2 days and cover a lot of distance from Granville Islsnd to Stanley Park.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the red loop which takes you through Stanley Park, to Granville Island, and to/past other memorable sites. Great to jump off to have lunch at the park Teahouse, etc, walk around the park, take the Classical Chinese Garden tour, then get back on a trolley to go somewhere else. The blue loop, on the other hand, makes many stops at hotels and drives through the downtown area without providing much of interest at all. Unless you are staying at one of those hotels and want to go back for a nap, there isn't much reason to get on that particular loop trip.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Highlight was stopping at the Granville Island Public Market. Would have been nice to stop in Chinatown rather than just passing by. Ditto for the Steam Clock. We did stop in Stanley Park but only after we had already passed the scenic view of city of Vancouver in the background. Then again this was only a 4-hr tour and I did get some great ideas of what to do next visit to Vancouver.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The destinations on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is very old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. The trolley drivers also do not stop at every stop, therefore you must wave frantically to make sure they stop to pick you up. Make sure you print the schedule from their website to determine pickup times and locations. Regardless, this trolley is the best option and definitely cheaper to purchase on Viator.

Highly recommend getting off at the stop that catches the Ferry to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to the Yaletown stop, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown...it's a great detour! If you get off near China Town or Gas Town and are not familiar with Vancouver...please be careful while walking Hastings Street.

Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed. We were really pleased to see all the sites this tour has to offer.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The stops on this tour are fabulous, however the trolley itself is old, uncomfortable, musty and noisy. Make sure you print the schedule and stops before heading out. There are certain stops the bus drives do not stop at unless you are waving frantically for them to pick you up. Regardless, I think this is the best option available and definitely cheaper on Viator.

A great detour - get off at the Ferry stop to take you to Granville Island, then take the Ferry back to Yaletown, and then get back on the trolley at Yaletown.

Word of warning - if you are not familiar with Vancouver and get off near China Town or Gas Town, be wary of Hastings Street as this is a poplar location for druggies and homeless.

All in all - we loved the stops on this tour. Downtown Vancouver is gorgeous and should not be missed! Lots to see and do with a 2-day pass.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Andrew P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A great way to see Vancouver's many sights and districts over a couple of days...which still wasn't enough. Two visits to the amazing Granville Island market was well worth the ticket price alone! Advice - go hungry...there is so much food to choose from.

All the drivers on the trolley buses were polite, knowledgable and very helpful, even making sure a couple of guests who couldn't speak English well, got back to their hotels despite not being a scheduled stop. A really nice friendly touch.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Day 1 - Personalised city tour of Vancouver which was fun especially lunch at Granville Island Markets.
Day 2 - Full day at Whistler which was an amazing drive, visiting waterfalls on the way but the weather turned to rain when we got to Whistler that we didn't get to go up on the chair lift nor see the mountains from the village.
Day 3 - Full day at Victoria which included an amazing ferry ride, a great tour guide named Jeff and a wonderful time at Butchart Gardens; Victoria was lovely too.
Day 4 and 5 - only a 2 day ticket for a hop-on hop-off ride around Vancouver

Doing what: British Columbia Super Saver: 5-Day Tour of Vancouver, Whistler and Victoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful introduction to the lovely city of Vancouver! Loved the botanical gardens, parks, totems, bridges, Granville Island, and driving through Chinatown, past expensive homes, the steam clock, the historical district, the harbor, etc. Stanley Park was huge and beautiful! The seawall went on forever -- with bike paths, lovely views, beaches, lighthouses, etc. Great way to get your bearings and to see places we wanted to return to later. Hotel pickup and drop-off were welcome as well! Our day started out overcast and rainy, but soon the sun came out and was warm and lovely!

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

This was my family's first visit to Vancouver and the trolley tour fell short in several areas.
To start, the trolley schedule posted on Viator's website differs with the actual schedule listed on Vancouver Trolley’s schedule. Due to weather and season we understand there may be differing schedules (one for Winter-Spring, one for Summer-Fall), however, the website didn’t indicate this. This is important because had I known the Vancouver Trolley actually stopped at my hotel (Residence Inn at Marriott) I would not have subjected my family to walk three blocks to catch the trolley at the Holiday Inn Hotel (Howe Street).
Second issue was when the trolley finally arrived, the female driver informed us the trolley was full to capacity. We, along with another family that was next to us, would have to wait 45 minutes for the next trolley. The kicker was when she stated if the next trolley is also full, we couldn’t get on it and that we would have to wait for another one. We were flabbergasted.
Third issue was what Viator advertised was not what was delivered. The website stated there would be a free Granville Island walking tour. There was NO free Granville Island walking tour at all. According to Vancouver Trolley, that’s only done during the warmer seasons. I was told it was too cold in February for them to even consider having a walking tour.
Finally, the trolley didn't even go near Chinatown because it just so happen to be that it was the Chinese New Year and the trolley did not want to go near the New Year parade so we didn’t get to visit or see the Chinatown area.
Needless to say we were very disappointed with both the trolley tour and Viator. Truly disappointing!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear your experience with your tour was unfavorable. We are looking into correcting any discrepancies on our website between the Summer and Winter schedules. If our customer support team needs any further information from you, they will be emailing you directly. Again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Vancouver. Happy Travels!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Just came home 2weeks ago from Vancouver. We used the hop on hop off Trolly. It was perfect to get around the the different areas of the city. The stops were convenient. We got on a few blocks from our hotel and got off in the evening at the same stop. Our trip included a ride on the Granville island ferry which was novel since we come from a big city and the boats only accommodated about a dozen passengers. We also took advantage of the observation deck included. Just the savings alone for the Trolly was incredible. One day we took the red line and one day the blue line . We got off at several destinations to enjoy the city sites. Your driver/ guides were very knowledgeable which made the experience even better. The only problem we encountered was that if you traveled the entire route , the seats tended to be too hard. My entire party of 4 enjoyed our visit to Vancouver and would recommend using VIATOR and the Hop on Hop off Trolly.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We loved hopping off in Stanley Park at the salmon creek and walking to the totem poles. We also hopped off at Prospect Point and walked to the Tea House at Third Beach. The Public Market on Granville Island is a must. We enjoyed taking the False Creek Ferry from the West End, but we weren't given good directions and got lost for a while looking for the Island Market stop.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The drivers were quite good as was their commentary but the service was not regular enough so we spent a lot of time waiting for the trolley. The Granville Island tour was very good.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message