Vancouver ATTRACTIONS See all

Rocky Mountaineer Train

To take in some of the most spectacular scenery in the Vancouver area, climb aboard the Rocky Mountaineer Train for a one-day rail trip to Whistler, home of North America’s largest ski resort. The “Whistler Sea to Sky Climb” train travels 74 miles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 315 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Just as I expected and more. Lovely scenery and exceptional service.

Served us a lite meal and drinks just like a steward on an airplane.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved the train trip.... Scenery was beautiful. Whistler was lovely. Bus ride back and it's photo stops were fun with great photo shots. Guide/driver was fabulous!

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic trip from when we were picked up from a hotel in downtown Vancouver with an informative host to the trip on the Rocky Mountaineer.
Return trip via floatplane was fantastic with great views of glaciers and landing into harbour in Vancouver. My son was extremely lucky to be up front beside the pilot.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! Beautiful pictures! Unfortunately I could not travel back to Vancouver by floatplane, because of too much smoking in the sky!

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely fabulous!

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved every bit of this tour. Tim was our guide and very knowledgable. The Rocky Mountaineer was incredible and the peak to peak gondola was breathtaking.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip by train. Enjoyed our time in Whistler and even saw bears from the twin peaks gondola. The bus trip back to Vancouver was also great. Our driver was very knowledgable and went the extra mile for everyone.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guides were friendly and well versed in the local region. Would happily book another tour in future with confidence.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the day. The train ride was great-very clean and comfortable and the train personnel were friendly and helpful. All went well!

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The scenic train ride to Whistler is breathtaking. The train slows down so you can take photos at the high points of the ride. Our hostess Joanne was attentive and welcoming and answered all questions. Whistler village is quite large with an upper and lower village. A busy street separates the two. Nice restaurants and a walking trail is nearby.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a MUST! If you go to beautiful Vancouver...you HAVE to take this trip. This is a LIFETIME BUCKET LIST EXPERIENCE! Checked off ours...what a ride...I do recommend taking the Seaplane up in the morning to Whistler...train ride return Orientation of the Sun. The professional staffs are great...all you need is your camera, memory space, and battery life! My motto that I tell my wife the camera nut click away, you can always delete!

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic views and excellent service by both Harbour Planes and Rocky Mountainer

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Vancouver - Whistler train trip was fantastic. The scenery was beautiful and ever changing. The staff on the train were excellent and very knowledgeable. The tour was well organised with plenty of time to explore in Whistler. The return trip by mini coach showed a different aspect and there were plenty of stops for sightseeing and taking photos. The tour guide was great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The flight and train tour were amazing! Beautiful scenery! The train ride back was relaxing and the staff awesome! We would do this again.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible experience and could not recommend highly enough.
The scenic trip through the mountains of Vancouver, leading up to Whistler was incredible, sights that take your breath away and followed up by a great ride back from Whistler by floatplane. I was lucky enough to get a seat in the plane next to the Pilot, Max, who talked through explaining how the mountains got the way they are and showed us sights that you would've identify just by plane alone.
For anyone that would like to go to Whistler, definitely suggest trying to book this, you'll definitely remember it.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Started the day of wonderful scenery with a fantastic train trip on the Rocky Mountaineer up to Whistler. Caught the gondola ride up to the top of the mountain where the views just got better. Then we were bussed to the float plane lake and once airborne, the views became spectacular. Doing the train first and the plane last gives you longer at Whistler. Beware of the closing time for the cable car and gondola rides. I am a nervous flyer, but the float plane flight was smooth and I was mesmerised by the views so I forgot my nervousness.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was trip was well organised with prompt pick up at my hotel to transfer to the train. Scenery from the train was stunning and ably narrated by the hostess who was adept at multitasking also undertaking the waiting. The trip to the top of the mountains gave splendid views over Whistler. Return trip by coach was again first class with our knowledgeable guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant views from both plane and train. Collected by coach and delivered back to hotel. Excellent

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was awesome. The scenery was spectacular and our guide Greg was courteous, informative and entertaining. He went out of his way to make sure each and every participant was enjoying themselves. We loved having extended time in Whistler and taking the bus back let us make stops for photos along the way.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Train was wonderful--scenery was spectacular floatplane was incredible--loved it!

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The train ride was awesome!! We had comfortable seats with great views and we were fed and access to an open sided car for great photos. We enjoyed walking around Whistler and had a great lunch ar The Brewhouse. Our driver, Gavin, gave great info about Whistler and was clear on when and where we needed to catch the bus to return to Vancouver.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing scenery throughout the day.
Train ride was comfortable, we ride a seaplane in Whistler with the most beautiful sights. Glaciers
The Olympic village was a cool area.
Really happy to see Shannon falls on the way home. So many photo spots throughout the day.
Very worth the money

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a WONDERFUL time! The train was comfortable and the service excellent. I would recommend this Train Rail Tour and Land and Sea Tours to everyone.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of our trip. The views from the train were spectacular, try and get a seat on the left side better views. The service on the train was excellent and a pleasant light breakfast was served. The floatplane was fantastic - I sat with the pilot so got the best views ever! Highly recommend and was worth the money. Better to go by train first as you get a bit longer at Whistler, which is touristy but you must go on the Peak to Peak gondola - amazing.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message