Vancouver ATTRACTIONS See all

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

Stanley Park's biggest draw, the aquarium is home to 9,000 water-loving creatures - including sharks, dolphins, Amazonian caimans, and a somewhat shy octopus. There's also a small, walk-through rainforest area full of birds, butterflies, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rsgalloway_50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of fun with great narration! 2 different routes - park and city. Loved the Rose Garden, Aquarium and Lookout!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Valerie T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The combo tour worked perfectly. When we boarded the trolley our driver gave us our Observation Deck and Aquarium tickets and second day trolley ticket. Most of the trolley drivers were helpful and knowledgeable. The Aquarium was definitely worth the trip. Vancouver was a wonderful city. We are glad we had the second day trolley ticket. We toured one line on one day and the other trolley line on the other. It would be hard to see everything in one day.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Eugenia P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Drivers/Guides were knowledgeable and full of information. Pickups were on time and predictable. Our Trolley/Lookout/Aquarium package was a great value and very enjoyable. Vancouver is a beautiful city and everyone was helpful and kind.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Wendy C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic place for kids- and the inner explorer kid in you. We got to touch the sting rays which was pretty awesome. Nothing short of a good aquarium experience.

Doing what: Vancouver Aquarium Admission

Laura H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Some of the drivers were not as friendly but for the most part, they were interesting, funny and friendly. The information was interesting and the trolleys came at good intervals. The Aquarium was fun, I really loved the snakes! The Beluga whale program was very fun to watch. The lookout deck was an excellent view of the city.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Mayling C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best deal in town! Driver was courteous and entertaining! My kids learned a lot about down town Vancouver and enjoyed the sights! Liked the fact that you can hop on and off 32 different locations. Stanley Park and the aquarium are beautiful! I am definitely going to do this again!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Jon T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very cool aquarium. We spent about a half day there seeing all the exhibits, as well as the 4D movie experience. Well worth it! Only downside was the number of people attending while we were there--it was crowded.

Doing what: Vancouver Aquarium Admission

Troy R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Did not get the AQUARIUM Combo package as advertised. Had to pay extra for it

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Michael L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Despite the rain I had a good time at the aquarium. It was pretty funny trying to juggle an umbrella and smartphone to take pictures of the outside demonstrations. The inside exhibits were also very nice, the Amazon zone in particular was a pleasant surprise to discover. More zoo than aquarium in there with the sloths and parrots!

The observation deck was a nice way to finish up the day. It was too cloudy to really see the sunset, but getting a birds eye view of the city was great. It gave me a chance to plan out some nighttime exploration and I was able to find a nice restaurant for dinner.

The trolley service was enjoyable, both of the drivers I got were entertaining and informative about many of the landmarks we passed by. Make note that the trolley service is typically late and I had to wait quite a while for it to arrive on my return trip. Plan to get on earlier instead of later or you risk getting stranded since it doesn't run late into the night.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Cindy-Lee Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

What a disaster!!! I usually book the double decker city sightseeing hop-on hop-off tour when I go on holiday, this time I made the mistake of booking the TROLLEY hop-on op-off tour of Vancouver. I only had an afternoon and the next full day in the city , so I booked a 2 day pass. The first afternoon we got off at Granville Island, took the ferry back and then hopped back on and off again at the first stop. We walked around a little then went back to the bus stop to get back on the bus, unfortunately the bus just never came back even though it was still supposed to be running We spent the rest of our afternoon waiting for the bus incase it was just running late very late!!!! Then ended up walking back to our hotel.
The next day we made our own way to the aquarium because I had an encounter booked for early morning. After the encounter the trolley came passed and we hopped on, we got off at the first stop and that was the end of our sight seeing....every time the bus stopped it was full so we couldn't get on, 3 busses went passed us, and there was a group of people waiting to get on the bus. Eventually one lady who had been waiting to get on the bus for 2 hours convinced another bus driver from the Stanley park bus to give us all a lift to the closest exit of Stanley park and then we all walked back to our hotel. What a waste of our time!!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kandis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the way to see Vancouver! It takes you all around the city to all of the places you want to see. I didn't realize there is a city and a park tour bus so when I got on I got on the city tour. This was great it was a good way to get acquainted with Vancouver and really get my barrings. Granville island is a must! The market alone I could have wandered in for hours! Stanley park was incredible and there is so much to do. It is really easy to catch the trolley there are signs everywhere. All of the trolley drivers I had were very knowledgeable and every one of them had there own stories and highlights. The aquarium was fantastic I really enjoyed seeing all of the animals. They have more than just fish! I did not make it to the lookout. It rained a lot when I was there and I really wanted to go on a clear day. I figure it's just something to look forward to the next time I go. I would suggest this to anyone and I would buying it again for myself. Great investment!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Rachel S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great aquarium we particularly enjoyed and amazon exhibit.

Doing what: Vancouver Aquarium Admission

Ronald J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did not end up using the Hop on Hop Off because we thought it would run later to see the Observation deck at night. The Aquarium and observation deck were both very nice and Vancouver we fell in love with.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Judith T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Raining on the first day,bus a bit leaky. Enjoyed the visit to the Aquarium. Many fish and aquatic animals to see. Can see the Beluga whales from below as too wet outside. Next day on the bus not wet saw a lot more good loop of Dowwntown Vancouver visited the Lookout great views. Well worth the tour and very good value

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Sinar B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Since we were only there for an hour, I could not tell much about the aquarium except that it has quite interesting collections of tropical marine lives and arctic marine lives. Although I have to admit that Seattle's aquarium and Oregon Coast Aquarium are also quite competitive to Vancouver Aquarium.
But again, this is a great spot for families to visit.

Doing what: Vancouver Aquarium Admission

wperrott

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This tour gave us a good overview of Vancouver and our guide was able to recommend restaurants and highlights for all part of the city. They were also nice enough to drop us at the Aquarium at Stanley Park instead of making us walk it from our hotel. The drive around Stanley Park was helpful and gave us an idea of what else we'd like to see there.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Magdalina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the cost of the tickets. My 11 year old granddaughter and I enjoyed the sightseeing. The Vancouver Aquarium and Lookout Observation Deck are must see attractions in Vancouver. We made several stops during the two days including Chinatown, Gastown, Canada Place, and the Granville Island not too mention their beautiful Stanley Park.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Gillian M United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Like all the hop on s around the world it is great to get to know the area and then go back to somewhere you want to visit. Seats are uncomfortable but I suppose it is meant to be an old trolley. Aquarium great

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Deborah H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good value for money!
Gets you around the city efficientlyneed to be aware of pickup and drop off times.can be a long trip back to your original point.
The inclusion of the Aquarium and observation tower was good

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Noel J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Let me start off by saying that my package was supposed to include the Lookout Observation Tower but my driver did not give me the ticket to it and it slipped my mind until the end of the day when I got off the trolley : I eneded up calling the company and telling them what happened and they offered to deliver the ticket to my hotel which they did not do! I was not as angry since the final two days of my stay were rainy. The original tour driver that I had at the beginning of the first day actually knew historical facts about the city and the different stops around the tour. I did the blue loop first Stanley Park area. The driver gave a lot of historical facts going into the park and pointed out a bunch of different landmarks on the way. My first stop was the Aquarium at Stanley Park. After that my driver was an asian guy who seemed to barely know anything about the city and reminded me of a new immigrant. He tried cracking some stupid jokes that mostly involved money and how expensive everything was but no one laughed including myself. He seemed to just rant on about things and its pretty obvious he had no idea what he was talking about. Unfortunately. I got him again after my last stop in the park at Prospect Point so I was not very happy. I was happy to get off at the False Creek Ferries stop and catch a ferry to Granville Island. I hopped on the last trolley of the day and this time had another driver that was a huge improvement on the asian guy. He took us around the more boring stops in my honest opinion. This included gastown, yaletown, and chinatown. He did give out a lot of interesting facts and included his own colour commentary about his own experiences in the areas which was actually funny.

Anyway, over-all I think this was a decent tour but I really think this company needs to make sure all their drivers know what they are talking about and actually havce some years of experience with the city which would be a great benefit to the riders.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kathleen H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Went to the Aquarium. Would have loved to hop-on, hop-off more...but trolleys were full and several people waited a long time for the next bus.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was excellent to give us an overview of Vancouver. We ended up doing the trolley on 7th and 8th instead of the 8th and 9th as we had originally booked and there were no problems at all changing dates. We also did the Lookout Observation deck on the 7th and didn't find out till we got there that they were closing early. Again no problem, we went up during the day on the 7th and were able to go up at night on 8th whereas usually it is one day only. We loved the aquarium. We also loved the little ferry ride from Granville Island which we got free by using the coupon book which came with the trolley ticket.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

jason.1962 Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Trolley Bus provided us with good transportation but frequency of buses can be improved for the crowd on Saturdays during Summer. Enjoy beautiful sunset at Lookout Observation Deck, had a great time watching the beluga show and, 4 D show in Vancouver Aquarium

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Hazel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a great way of seeing Vancouver and the guides are full of history of the area. We loved it. We went to Stanley Park and saw the gardens and the aquarium. We spent some time in Gastown which was fun. We went to the Lookout Observation Deck and saw Vancouver from every angle. The bus went through Chinatown which is really neat. This is the best way to see Vancouver and learn about its history. Each driver has his\her own style which makes it very interesting too.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

John W Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

after visiting Stanley Park and the Aquarium on day 1, found we were tired and wanted only to go to our hotel. Couldn't go directly, had to sit on bus for about another hour while trolley went through whole circuit. Would have been nice to be able to leave Stanley Park and go directly downtown to Canada Place.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message