Vancouver is a city with a lot of things to do like shopping, fine dining, visiting museums, touring beautiful parks and so much more. It is also a city that has a lot of great options for day trips nearby. Here are some of the best day trips from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a well organised and very enjoyable day trip. Our tour leader Katrina really knew her stuff and provided a very informative and entertaining commentary for the outward journey, quieter on the way back when, as she rightly observed, many of us were a bit sleepy! This was the first time my wife and I have ever done a coach trip, we usually hire a car on holiday and find our own way but this time couldn't be bothered. We're so glad as it meant we got taken straight to all the good bits without wasting time. It was particularly valuable having a tour leader who was local and so obviously proud of the city she comes from. I hope she enjoys her trip to London in the fall! Would highly recommend this trip, it was a great decision to take it.

Doing what: Best Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic day trip to Whistler with stunning scenery there and back. All personnel involved in the trip were helpful, knowledgeable and friendly throughout. This day trip ceases in 2015 so would recommend strongly that people participate whilst it is still available. The train is amazing with e cells t service.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was excellent and the amount of time spent at both places were perfect for a day trip. Must see/go place if you're in Vancouver.

Doing what: Vancouver North Shore Day Trip with Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was prompt, friendly, and knowledgeable. It was a relaxing way to have a day trip to Victoria from Vancouver. I would recommend this to others traveling as a nice day trip.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bob and I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip to Victoria and Butchart Gardens. The driver/guide Rob was extremely polite, helpful and ensured that the whole day ran smoothly. Rob is an exceptional guide and a real asset to your tour company. I would definitely recommend your company to anyone wanting to take a tour out of Vancouver. regards
Hazel Mulcahy and Bob Davis

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent day trip from Vancouver. The driver was fun, informative and very knowledgeable. Interesting stops along the way to Whistler and plenty of time in Whistler to look around. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed the very relaxing trip to Indian Arm. It was very well organized and a table was reserved for us on the boat which was great as you didn't have to rush for a table. Lunch was very nice and plentiful. Everyone was friendly on the trip and we chatted to some really nice tourists from the States. Weather was quite nice and at least it didn't rain. All in all a very nice day trip. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Vancouver Harbor and Indian Arm Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour company did a great job! Brent, our tour guide was super friendly and knowledgeable of the area and surroundings. He did a great job of accommodating everyone on our tour. The Shannon Falls was beautiful. We even walked the extra 93 steps to get a closer look. Truly stunning! So worth walking up the extra steps. the Britannia Mine was quite interesting. Were even able to pan for gold and found some specs!! The Gondola Ride was spectacular. I would take a picnic lunch and a bottle of wine with us next time! Such a great view and awesome place to have a picnic. This will save time as the food lines in the restaurant area can be long and takes up time that you can be hiking the trails and walking the Suspension Bridge! This is a great activity to do with the young ones, as there are play areas set up at each spot with different activities for them. Time is limited to each location, so keep this in mind. This is just a day trip with 3 activities, and a possibly a few pitstops along the way. For having a limited amount of days in Vancouver, this was a great and economical way to get to see the Squamish area in a day.

Doing what: Best Sea-to-Sky Highway Day Trip from Vancouver: Shannon Falls, Britannia Mine and Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This day trip was amazing and worth every cent. The train trip was fantastic and very informative the entire way to Whistler, made us want to plan a trip through the Rockies next. Whistler was stunning and we enjoyed looking around, the bus trip back was good with photo stops etc

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fortunatly it was early in the season and we only had a group of 12. Pick-up and drop off at the hotels was done in 2 seperate vehicles, so it went very quicknot having to stop at all hotels. Sheldon our tour guide was awesome! It was a fantastic day trip! Sadly you can only put so much in 12hours. Next time I would go overnight, to get to see some more of Victoria.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The weather wasn't good for this day, but it didn't stop us from totally enjoying the day trip. The capilano suspension bridge was a great option. Unfortunately Grouse mountain turned into gross mountain as it was raining heavily and it turned really cold. We enjoyed the ride up the mountain and it was still worth it. We were disappointed however there were no grizzly bears as they went back inside. However we would still recommend this tour to everyone. Great value and very friendly tour guides who were so informative and helpful.

Doing what: Vancouver North Shore Day Trip with Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour guide, weather was not great but still such a good day trip, loved Capilano and got to see the bears on Grouse Mountain.

Doing what: Vancouver North Shore Day Trip with Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the city tour plus the Whistler Day trip. For the city tour, we had the company's only "First Nation" tour guide, who really made us feel welcome and entertained. The Whistler tour was full of fun things to do and see along the way... and Whistler was the most impressive ski resort I've ever seen in North America.

Doing what: Vancouver Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Whistler Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day trip to whistler well worth the money

Doing what: Best Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was from the area and very good at driving, talking and telling good stories. It was a great day trip!

Doing what: Best Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Trip was AMAZING!! We loved Whistler, but also so enjoyed the trip to and from! Our guide was wonderful, knowledgeable, so outgoing and made our trip even more FUN! My teenage boys actually said they missed her when we returned home a few days later! I would recommend the day trip to Whistler again and again!!!! Our memories will last a lifetime :)

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Whistler Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had 7 days in Vancouver prior to a cruise. The half day trip around Vancouver conducted by Rick was a great trip with interesting and informative descriptions of the sites. It gave us an insight into the places to visit in our spare time over the coming days. I would recommend this for your first day.
Our second day was to Whistler and this was an extremely interesting and enjoyable day with a great tour guide. The mountain bike competitions were on during our visit to it made it even more interesting. I would recommend the Gondola ride we took to Whistler Mountain, then the chairlift to the top. Although it was the end of summer there was still snow on the peak. On our return then took the Peak 2 Peak to Blackcomb mountain return with some great sights before returning to the village for a hot dog. Great day out and the highlight. The wildlife was interesting including the cheeky chipmunks and marmots.
Third day to Vancouver Island, Victoria and the Butchart Gardens. Another full wonderful day and experience with a great guide. Can't describe how great that the gardens were - you must see them.
Finally the last two days were fully utilized on the hop-on-off bus where we visited the sights, jumped off to do some shopping, and back on for more sights. We used the two days going around the circuit several times which permitted us to fit in the shopping as well. No issues at all if you are organized.
Finally we also did the Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain tour - another enjoyable tour.
I would recommend all of these tours if you have time.

Doing what: British Columbia Super Saver: 5-Day Tour of Vancouver, Whistler and Victoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day trip and worth paying the extra to do the Vancouver to Victoria leg of the tour by seaplane. The views during take off and landing were amazing. The return leg of 3.5 hours may sound daunting, but a substantial part of this is on the ferry and weather permitting you will be able to enjoy more amazing views from on deck. Note, it is important that you contact the operator of your tour, as explained in your voucher, to get the times of your plane and bus bookings. These will not come from Viator.

Doing what: Victoria by Seaplane and Ferry from Vancouver

Jonathan C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The City Sightseeing tour was very good and informative, our guide Andy was vey interesting, plenty of stops and to go up the tower was a bonus.

Whistler Day Trip, was excellent, again Andy was the guide and driver, nice comfy bus, plenty of stops on the 2hr drive to Whistler. Whistler was very good, lots to see and do in the 4hrs we had there, lovely village and snow capped mountains, reasonable prices for the food in the village, Love to come back in the snow season??????

Doing what: Vancouver Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Whistler Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, were met in front of our hotel in a very clean and modern mini bus. Driver / guide was very informative, well spoken and very helpful with questions and directions. There is an amazing view at the fish hatchery so if you can take that tour do it. Had more than enough time to wander at the suspension bridge and grouse mountain to explore and wonder. Yes I made it across the suspension bridge, white knuckle holding on to the cable, somehow even managed to take two photos while crossing it. Great day trip

Doing what: Vancouver North Shore Day Trip with Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My family and i thoroughly enjoyed the city sightseeing plus whistler day trip. It was well organized and the tour guide, a member of Canada's five nations, was absolutely excellent! He was very well informed and was superb at describing the sights, along with Canada's history. I would highly recommend the tour. Whistler was absolutely fabulous!

Doing what: Vancouver Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Whistler Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great guide, Greg. Whistler was a day trip that we took from Vancouver. It was a long day but one with many beautiful sites. We found all the tours that we booked with Viator were very reliable and informative.

Doing what: Best Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

Andrew P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This proved to be a really worthwhile day trip and one that covered a lot of different aspects of amazing scenery right on the doorstop of downtown Vancouver. There was never more than about 30 minutes spent on the tour bus with the majority of time spent visiting the Capilano salmon hatchery; suspension bridge, tree top walk and cliff walk; Grouse Mountain and finally the Cleveland Dam. In places we were almost rushing a bit but managed to cover a lot of ground. Highlights were the walk across the Capilano Suspension Bridge and seeing the two grizzly bears at the top of Grouse Mountain. There's a lot to do at each stop so plan well or plan to go back and do the bits you don't get time for.

Our guide - Graham - was excellent. A great mix of humour and interesting facts throughout and he took the time to speak to everyone on the bus during the day - a nice touch.

Doing what: Vancouver North Shore Day Trip with Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The staff were very friendly and the two day trip around the city and the various places of interest in Vancouver can be covered using this bus tour. The stops are all well located to the various sites around Vancouver and the bus drivers are well versed in giving a local flavour on the cities history and things to do in Vancouver. Well worth doing this hop on/off service. Highly recommended for all who visit Vancouver

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Wonderful day trip to the island, the highlight being the Butchart Gardens which are amazing. Our driver Cheryl (is that the correct spelling) was superb, very informative and interesting. A long day trip from Vancouver but worth the effort.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message