Whales frequently frolic in British Columbia’s Straight of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, within day-trip distance from the city of Vancouver. If you’d like to spot these graceful marine mammals, plan a whale-watching excursion from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Whale Watching in "Vancouver" was wonderful! But first of all, I've to say that this tour does not depart from Vancouver. They leave from Steveston, Richmond which is about 25 minutes from downtown Vancoucer (by Canada Line). Once you arrive in Richmond you should take a bus to Steveston (about 10 Minutes) and you'll end up in a small, very cute fishing village called Steveston. It is right by the sea and a very interesting place (if you like the tv show "Once Upon A Time" which is filming there). Anyway the office is easy to find and once we registered we got our coats and boarding pass! We left from the harbour and I'm not sure exactly but I think the tour was 3 - 4h long. We cruised toward the island toward the open sea and watched the Orcas from a respectable distance though they sometimes swam close to our boat on its own. It's a little hard to tell where they might surface sometimes! The staff was really friendly and we got lots of information about the wildlife, the orcas and Vancouver and the surrounding area. We had the chance to watch Orcas in their natural habitat. We also watched them fishing for salmon which was great thing to watch!
I enjoyed it a lot and I'd always do it again!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent experience, well organised and informative, as well as successful. we saw a humpback whale, and two pods of Orcas!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We saw whales after going out about 30-45 minutes. Suddenly there they were! Swimming, playing! Beautiful! We watched for about an hour. Our captain called to other ships to let them know we were seeing them, and they came too. I tho't it was nice that he shared that info. He went somewhat out of his way to show us another big male that was further away, and we watched him too. We saw sea lions, bald eagles, cormorants, seals. It was so enjoyable, it is a highlight.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

i would highly recomend this company trip. the water in the morgning was to rough to go out, but they rebooked us for the aftenoon trip. our guide anna was very imformative through out the outing. she went around asking if nayone had questions and was very informed about whales as she was studying in this field. ouyr captain took us to spots were there were other sealife after seeing whales. we spent a good period of time with the whales always keeping our distance to respect the whales comfort zone. i would highly recomend this trip. mrs jean kathleen rioux hammond

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Everyone worked very hard to make this trip successful. It was the longest trip they had to locate the whales. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great information on the whales great boat work from the skipper

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour was one of the highlights of our stay in Vancouver! The weather, the boat, the captain and crew were informative, and we saw so many whales! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had such a good time and saw so many whales. My two daughters loved the trip - the water was not too rough at all, the staff were so helpful, and the scenery was amazing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was raining in Vancouver, but the shuttle driver was right on time and did a great job of getting us to the harbor.
The day looked like rain, so we were in the enclosed boat - we were not cold at all as a result. We saw a number of Orca's. The crew was very helpful and knowledgeable. The smaller size of the boat made it possible to move with the whales.
We had a great day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

In many respects this was excellent, although we had not expected a 120 km round trip lasting more than 5 hours on a large zodiac boat. Saw one whale in the distance, seals and other wild life. Nonetheless it was enjoyable. Not sure how it would have been had it rained.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This trip was a beautiful boat ride. We however were a no site whale trip. We found one lone whale that only came up briefly. We trolled around waiting and trying to get them to surface with no luck. That being said, it was a beautiful experience. The route we took out to see the wildlife was just as fun as looking for the whales. We saw plenty of bald eagles and sea lions, that was amazing to me alone! The tour was declared a no site trip and we were given a voucher for a return trip that will not expire. I plan on coming back to use it as soon as I can. It was that enjoyable!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Comfortable boat- and good naturalist- we saw eagles, Harbor Seals, and California seals- and searched for whales for a while- finally saw one Humpback whale that entertained us for almost an hour breeching and playing around- that was incredible! No Orcas on this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Tour is very well organized. Unfortunately, we didn't see any whales, but overall experience was great. I would recommend this tour for personal experience.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was my first time whale watching. It took as around 2 hours to get to the whales but when we got there, there were a couple of them that showed themselves regularly. It was a great experience. We took a scenic route back to the harbour, which was just beautiful.
Shuttle picked us up on time and brought us to Richmond. The driver was friendly, funny and gave us bits of information along the way. Registering in their office was fast and friendly.
The naturalist Joan, who accompanied us on our trip was really nice, kept us informed and answered all our questions.
It was a great way to spend half a day and I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

excellent tour even though we didn't get to see any whales! :-( It was obvious they were really trying to find some but no luck. Saw sea lions, seals and porpoises though. Got ticket back as we didn't see whales so that we could go again for free, unfortunately we did the tour at the end of our trip so were unable to go again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message