Insider's Guide to Vancouver

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Whales frequently frolic in British Columbia’s Straight of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, within day-trip distance from the city of Vancouver. If you’d like to spot these graceful marine mammals, plan a whale-watching excursion from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Stunning! Saw a multitude of wild life, including a hump-back whale and several pods of killer whale. The highlight of our trip to Canada and not to be missed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Vancouver Whale Watch is an amazing tour group! Highly recommend them to anyone. Very friendly and knowledgeable! Could not have asked for a more exceptional experience. We saw many whales! And they made sure everyone had a chance to get some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very well organised, well run trip. The whales were incredible. We spent a couple of hours watching them. The company is very professional, they were very knowledgeable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excursion - must-do!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour - spent about six hours out on the water and around 4 hours with Whales - saw both Humpbacks and Orcas - amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Kandis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whale watching trip was incredible. Mine actually got moved because of gale force winds the morning I was supposed to go. They let me know first thing that morning and rescheduled me before my trip was over. It was wonderful. We saw about 6 Orcas while we were out there and they got really close to the boat. We also saw lots of sea lions and seals. The village you take off from is actually the fictional town of Storybrooke from Once Upon a Time so that was excited for me since I am a fan of the show. I have very happy I took this tour it was completely worth the money!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Areeya Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour program is amaziiiiing!!!
We saw 2 killer whales and 2 humpback whales. Then a hundred of seals and sea lions!!! I couldn't expect more from this. Totally the best day in my life. The boat drive was so nice, he always drove the boat closer to the animals for us not too close to interfere them and he also drove the boat to follow them for a bit too.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well this was a fantastic tour. We were picked up at a point very close to our hotel and driven to the departure point. Levi our driver was very good giving us lots of local information and history of the area. The boat trip was very smooth and we saw a large number of whales with the guide on the boat gives us lots of information on the pods that are in the area etc, From start to finish we were out for 4 1/2 hours so I suggest it might be worth you taking some food. The boat provides you with bottled water and a snack bar.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ELEFTHERIOS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

IT WAS A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE , NOT TO BE MISSED. EVEN THOUGH THE BOATWAS ON ITS WAY BACK WHEN WE WERE INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A GROUP OF WHALES IT RETURNED AND WE WERE PRESENT CLOSE UP TO A FEW METRES AT THEM WHILE THEY WERE HUNTING.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Stephan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was just perfect! The shuttle was perfectly in time, the driver Levi was sooo nice and gave us a little complimentary sightseeing tour on the way from Vancouver to Steveston.
The trip with the boat took 6 hours, we saw orcas, humpback whales, sea lions, seals, eagles and everything promised.
The included snack is a granola bar, that was really a little snack.
But all in all it was just amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour to see the whales. We saw two pods of orcas and a humpback whale. The boat was very comfortable and the guide was awesome. Glad we brought our lunch because we were out for 6 hours. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Roxanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a thrilling time out on the water. Clearly you are pros at finding the whales. The whales were impressive and the information offered was interesting and educational. Very glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Kenneth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything was perfect, very informative, very efficient, whales a plenty. Top notch! Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Darrin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I'm 48 and this was one of the Coolest things I've done in my lifetime--Increadible trip and to see the Killer whales in the wild was Phenomenal- The Humpbacks was just awe inspiring. Took my daughter and she feels the same way.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Spent lots of time watching orcas and humpback whales. Exceeded expectations!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Marlon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing adventure with an expert guide who knew all about the wildlife we saw. From the bald eagles, sea lions, seals and orcas our guide offered detailed explanation about everything. The captain maintained his appropriate distance from the whales while other whale watching boats chased or maintained less than an appropriate distance from them. Within 27 minutes the whales were in sight. Amazing. The captain and guide Rob and Ryan I think could not have been better. Would do it again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Steven K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really e joyed our trip. It took a few hours to find the whales. It was well worth the wait. Amazing once in a lifetime experience. I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour. We made new friends on the boat and shared dinner a few nights later. Great staff who were friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

valerie z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our first trip to Vancouver and our first Whale-watching tour and I have to say it didn't disappoint! The people were friendly and helpful, the boat was clean. They were full of information and we saw about 20-30 whales in the time we were out there. They knew just where to take us to get to see whales, eagles, seals and other water fowl. This had to be the highlight of our vacation. If we ever make it back to Vancouver we would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Punit W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour -saw a few killer whales. Boat stays about 200 yards from them so you can't see them really close. Get binoculars and a great camera bec scenery is stunning

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Crystal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day, well run and organised. Spent an adequate amount of time observing the whales and their behaviours. Good information provided by our guide Joan.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Georgina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour company. The captain goes out of his way to find the whales, and the wildlife guide will explain and answer any of your questions. Great trip!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

alison.griffith65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WORTH EVERY PENNY,WE SAW PODS OF KILLER WHALES AND TWO HUMPBACKS,

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

roger o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant system - tours have good level of information and easy booking system.
Trip was fantastic - briefly saw two hump back whales but also saw for nearly an hour a pod of orca between 60-70 orca including babies! Tour guide and captain both charming and informative - one surprising aspect was that they hung a sonar device over the side of the boat so we could hear the orca calling to each other .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Stephanie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing tour! Starting off in the gorgeous Steveston Village was great, it's such a gorgeous part of Vancouver. Our tour guides got us so close to over a dozen orcas, and let us spend over an hour with them. It was the experience of a lifetime! I've been on another whale watching tour out of Vancouver and this was so much better!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Jeff A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great time we had! Our captain and our host were fantastic. We got to see several Orcas and a Humpback Whale. Was well worth it. We want to do it again! They even included a parking pass!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Laura N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience to spend around an hour cruising alongside the whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message