Whales frequently frolic in British Columbia’s Straight of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, within day-trip distance from the city of Vancouver. If you’d like to spot these graceful marine mammals, plan a whale-watching excursion from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Spent lots of time watching orcas and humpback whales. Exceeded expectations!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing adventure with an expert guide who knew all about the wildlife we saw. From the bald eagles, sea lions, seals and orcas our guide offered detailed explanation about everything. The captain maintained his appropriate distance from the whales while other whale watching boats chased or maintained less than an appropriate distance from them. Within 27 minutes the whales were in sight. Amazing. The captain and guide Rob and Ryan I think could not have been better. Would do it again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really e joyed our trip. It took a few hours to find the whales. It was well worth the wait. Amazing once in a lifetime experience. I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour. We made new friends on the boat and shared dinner a few nights later. Great staff who were friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our first trip to Vancouver and our first Whale-watching tour and I have to say it didn't disappoint! The people were friendly and helpful, the boat was clean. They were full of information and we saw about 20-30 whales in the time we were out there. They knew just where to take us to get to see whales, eagles, seals and other water fowl. This had to be the highlight of our vacation. If we ever make it back to Vancouver we would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour -saw a few killer whales. Boat stays about 200 yards from them so you can't see them really close. Get binoculars and a great camera bec scenery is stunning

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day, well run and organised. Spent an adequate amount of time observing the whales and their behaviours. Good information provided by our guide Joan.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour company. The captain goes out of his way to find the whales, and the wildlife guide will explain and answer any of your questions. Great trip!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WORTH EVERY PENNY,WE SAW PODS OF KILLER WHALES AND TWO HUMPBACKS,

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant system - tours have good level of information and easy booking system.
Trip was fantastic - briefly saw two hump back whales but also saw for nearly an hour a pod of orca between 60-70 orca including babies! Tour guide and captain both charming and informative - one surprising aspect was that they hung a sonar device over the side of the boat so we could hear the orca calling to each other .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing tour! Starting off in the gorgeous Steveston Village was great, it's such a gorgeous part of Vancouver. Our tour guides got us so close to over a dozen orcas, and let us spend over an hour with them. It was the experience of a lifetime! I've been on another whale watching tour out of Vancouver and this was so much better!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great time we had! Our captain and our host were fantastic. We got to see several Orcas and a Humpback Whale. Was well worth it. We want to do it again! They even included a parking pass!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience to spend around an hour cruising alongside the whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really amazing. We saw 7 whales and the tour was supposed to be foe 3 to 5 hours but the captain of the boat gave enough time when a whale was spotted and we came back after five and half hours. It was real worth the money spent.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely brilliant in every way! As a first time Brit visitor to Canada this completed a wonderful trip and exceeded all my expectations!! From the knowledge of Karl our naturalist and the skill of John our skipper when locating the array of wildlife we saw...... to killer whales diving under our super-fast Zodiac ( JUST EXACTLY like the pics!)....this amazing experience is not to missed........I am carrying the memories still from weeks ago.....and smiling still at the wonderful pictures in my head( and on my I.pad!)

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Whale Watching in "Vancouver" was wonderful! But first of all, I've to say that this tour does not depart from Vancouver. They leave from Steveston, Richmond which is about 25 minutes from downtown Vancoucer (by Canada Line). Once you arrive in Richmond you should take a bus to Steveston (about 10 Minutes) and you'll end up in a small, very cute fishing village called Steveston. It is right by the sea and a very interesting place (if you like the tv show "Once Upon A Time" which is filming there). Anyway the office is easy to find and once we registered we got our coats and boarding pass! We left from the harbour and I'm not sure exactly but I think the tour was 3 - 4h long. We cruised toward the island toward the open sea and watched the Orcas from a respectable distance though they sometimes swam close to our boat on its own. It's a little hard to tell where they might surface sometimes! The staff was really friendly and we got lots of information about the wildlife, the orcas and Vancouver and the surrounding area. We had the chance to watch Orcas in their natural habitat. We also watched them fishing for salmon which was great thing to watch!
I enjoyed it a lot and I'd always do it again!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent experience, well organised and informative, as well as successful. we saw a humpback whale, and two pods of Orcas!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We saw whales after going out about 30-45 minutes. Suddenly there they were! Swimming, playing! Beautiful! We watched for about an hour. Our captain called to other ships to let them know we were seeing them, and they came too. I tho't it was nice that he shared that info. He went somewhat out of his way to show us another big male that was further away, and we watched him too. We saw sea lions, bald eagles, cormorants, seals. It was so enjoyable, it is a highlight.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

i would highly recomend this company trip. the water in the morgning was to rough to go out, but they rebooked us for the aftenoon trip. our guide anna was very imformative through out the outing. she went around asking if nayone had questions and was very informed about whales as she was studying in this field. ouyr captain took us to spots were there were other sealife after seeing whales. we spent a good period of time with the whales always keeping our distance to respect the whales comfort zone. i would highly recomend this trip. mrs jean kathleen rioux hammond

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Everyone worked very hard to make this trip successful. It was the longest trip they had to locate the whales. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great information on the whales great boat work from the skipper

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour was one of the highlights of our stay in Vancouver! The weather, the boat, the captain and crew were informative, and we saw so many whales! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had such a good time and saw so many whales. My two daughters loved the trip - the water was not too rough at all, the staff were so helpful, and the scenery was amazing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was raining in Vancouver, but the shuttle driver was right on time and did a great job of getting us to the harbor.
The day looked like rain, so we were in the enclosed boat - we were not cold at all as a result. We saw a number of Orca's. The crew was very helpful and knowledgeable. The smaller size of the boat made it possible to move with the whales.
We had a great day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour planned and areas visited on the day to ensure that we got to see whales - this did involve some travel further out. Although the day was cold we got to see whales and other wildlife along the way.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent boat and tour guide. Captain worked hard to get us to sightings. A little pricey and unfortunately few whales but that is always a gamble.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message