• USD ($)
  • English
Whales frequently frolic in British Columbia’s Straight of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, within day-trip distance from the city of Vancouver. If you’d like to spot these graceful marine mammals, plan a whale-watching excursion from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Everyone worked very hard to make this trip successful. It was the longest trip they had to locate the whales. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great information on the whales great boat work from the skipper

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour was one of the highlights of our stay in Vancouver! The weather, the boat, the captain and crew were informative, and we saw so many whales! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had such a good time and saw so many whales. My two daughters loved the trip - the water was not too rough at all, the staff were so helpful, and the scenery was amazing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was raining in Vancouver, but the shuttle driver was right on time and did a great job of getting us to the harbor.
The day looked like rain, so we were in the enclosed boat - we were not cold at all as a result. We saw a number of Orca's. The crew was very helpful and knowledgeable. The smaller size of the boat made it possible to move with the whales.
We had a great day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

In many respects this was excellent, although we had not expected a 120 km round trip lasting more than 5 hours on a large zodiac boat. Saw one whale in the distance, seals and other wild life. Nonetheless it was enjoyable. Not sure how it would have been had it rained.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This trip was a beautiful boat ride. We however were a no site whale trip. We found one lone whale that only came up briefly. We trolled around waiting and trying to get them to surface with no luck. That being said, it was a beautiful experience. The route we took out to see the wildlife was just as fun as looking for the whales. We saw plenty of bald eagles and sea lions, that was amazing to me alone! The tour was declared a no site trip and we were given a voucher for a return trip that will not expire. I plan on coming back to use it as soon as I can. It was that enjoyable!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Comfortable boat- and good naturalist- we saw eagles, Harbor Seals, and California seals- and searched for whales for a while- finally saw one Humpback whale that entertained us for almost an hour breeching and playing around- that was incredible! No Orcas on this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Tour is very well organized. Unfortunately, we didn't see any whales, but overall experience was great. I would recommend this tour for personal experience.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was my first time whale watching. It took as around 2 hours to get to the whales but when we got there, there were a couple of them that showed themselves regularly. It was a great experience. We took a scenic route back to the harbour, which was just beautiful.
Shuttle picked us up on time and brought us to Richmond. The driver was friendly, funny and gave us bits of information along the way. Registering in their office was fast and friendly.
The naturalist Joan, who accompanied us on our trip was really nice, kept us informed and answered all our questions.
It was a great way to spend half a day and I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

excellent tour even though we didn't get to see any whales! :-( It was obvious they were really trying to find some but no luck. Saw sea lions, seals and porpoises though. Got ticket back as we didn't see whales so that we could go again for free, unfortunately we did the tour at the end of our trip so were unable to go again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

I have been on a few trips like this and was very disappointed in the lack of commentary or pointing out of where the whales were. It felt like we were on a boat with out an agenda and happened upon whales. However, we did see whales which was the plan and it was great!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Decent experience, there needs tp be better co-ordination with the shuttle on pickup as the driver missed me and I had to have hotel staff call. Fortunately they got a hold of him and got picked up. Other than that it was a good tour except no whales that day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Spent 5 hours looking for a whale all in vain. It was quite cold. We saw only some sea lions and seals lying on the rocks. Of course, it's NOT the crew's fault, but you just need good luck.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

No guarantee that we would see whates and DID NOT! Would not recommend to anyone because of the disappointment. No money back only free trip again, good for life. Not much consolation if you travel from far away for a once-in-a-lifetime trip. Very cold, spent most of the time in open water, not much to see, only anticipating the sight of whales. Maybe the use of satellite tracking would improve the possibility of sightings. Overall, VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message