Little over 40 years since the small logging town of Whistler started operating as a winter sports center it has become one of the most popular ski resorts in North America, crowned by its selection as host of the 2010 Winter Olympics.   But you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 477 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Was a great tour well worth the money. Our guide was Ryan and he fantastic, he could answer every question that was thrown his way.

Doing what: Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous! If you only have time to do one trip - make it this one. Views are spectacular. Plenty of time in Whistler to eat, shop and do the Peak to Peak gondola. The Floatplane journey back is an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Hop on hop off bus was fun. We received great information from our tour/bus driver. We also transferred buses along the way and did the Stanley Park tour which was fabulous! Our Whistler trip was pretty much private, just one other couple, so we really had an intimate experience. The driver was fantastic, and knowledgeable. Additionally in Whistler we choose to take advantage and go up the mountain over to the other side all was amazing and scenic. My favorite was standing on the Olympic podium (in the gold centre spot) up on top of Whistler taking a picture with me and my daughter. Great experience!

Doing what: Vancouver Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Whistler Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our driver greg was very informative about our trip up to Whistler. Day was cool to start with and by the time we reached Whistler the sun had come out. He gave us a map with all details and info about were the bus would be at 4pm for our return journey back to Vancouver. We had 5 hour in Whistler so we went up the Gondola 25 minutes each way . Had lunch at the self serve resturant with a view to die for. The rest of our time we came down and explored the town. The was excellent and we were brought back to our hotel were we were picked up in the morning. Big thankyou for such a lovely day

Doing what: Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

Gail F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely loved this tour and would highly recommend it. If I went back to Canada I would do this tour again. Whistler is a quaint little ski village with lots to do and see. Definitely need the time to spend there and would probably consider staying there the night next time. The views are amazing - it was not that cold as we went in summer, however, there was still ice in some patches.

Doing what: Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had 7 days in Vancouver prior to a cruise. The half day trip around Vancouver conducted by Rick was a great trip with interesting and informative descriptions of the sites. It gave us an insight into the places to visit in our spare time over the coming days. I would recommend this for your first day.
Our second day was to Whistler and this was an extremely interesting and enjoyable day with a great tour guide. The mountain bike competitions were on during our visit to it made it even more interesting. I would recommend the Gondola ride we took to Whistler Mountain, then the chairlift to the top. Although it was the end of summer there was still snow on the peak. On our return then took the Peak 2 Peak to Blackcomb mountain return with some great sights before returning to the village for a hot dog. Great day out and the highlight. The wildlife was interesting including the cheeky chipmunks and marmots.
Third day to Vancouver Island, Victoria and the Butchart Gardens. Another full wonderful day and experience with a great guide. Can't describe how great that the gardens were - you must see them.
Finally the last two days were fully utilized on the hop-on-off bus where we visited the sights, jumped off to do some shopping, and back on for more sights. We used the two days going around the circuit several times which permitted us to fit in the shopping as well. No issues at all if you are organized.
Finally we also did the Capilano Suspension Bridge and Grouse Mountain tour - another enjoyable tour.
I would recommend all of these tours if you have time.

Doing what: British Columbia Super Saver: 5-Day Tour of Vancouver, Whistler and Victoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip - The train ride was excellent. Our car attendant (Ken) was the best! The Floatplane trip back was beautiful. Worth the $.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely stunning scenery. the flight from Vancouver to Whistler wasn't turbulent at all and the sky was so clear. we passed over some glaciers and mountain peaks before landing in Whistler. Whistler is such a fun town!

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Trip was AMAZING!! We loved Whistler, but also so enjoyed the trip to and from! Our guide was wonderful, knowledgeable, so outgoing and made our trip even more FUN! My teenage boys actually said they missed her when we returned home a few days later! I would recommend the day trip to Whistler again and again!!!! Our memories will last a lifetime :)

Doing what: Private Tour: Whistler Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The plane... (5 Stars) Probably the highlight of our vacation! (We did the plane in morning/train evening)... Professional operation, informative pilot, and great views from the plane (especially flying at 7300 ft over 6500 ft. mountain tops!) ... Best of all, I was invited to sit in the co-pilots seat which made the flight a special experience!
The Train (4-1/2 stars)... Overall, a better experience that I was expecting! Comfortable coaches, snacks, drink/salad on PM return. Really great views. Only minor negative, was that it was almost a 3-1/2 hr trip (the train only averaged 25-30 mph)
Whistler (3-1/2 stars)... OK. A few shops (they are all the same after a while), pretty good lunch on the patio (65 degrees/sunny!) Mostly just walked the main road and ended up waiting about 45 min for the eve bus to go back to train.
Viator (5 stars)... As usual, everything was WELL PACKAGED and PLANNED by Viator, and all at fair prices... Love these guys!

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was from the area and very good at driving, talking and telling good stories. It was a great day trip!

Doing what: Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Beautiful scenery on way up to Whistler by train - even better on the way back. Our coach guide was terrific and told us not only about the scenery and wildlife, but also a lot of history. He was an excellent guide. Would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A must do trip from Vancouver for the scenery, especially from the open carriage. We took the road trip home which was just as interesting and we saw a few things that weren't seen from the train. Our tour guide/driver home, Aubyn, was great and as a small group we had flexibility on stops and length of time, plus Aubyn's commentary.

We had just enough time in Whistler to do the Peak to Peak ride - another must do activity - and eat at the top of Whistler mountainand, plus a short wander. we werent able to fit in the free visit to the First Nations longhouse whcih is included in the ticket price.

However don't expect Rocky Mountaineer's advertised luxury and good food. The carriages are standard 'Red Leaf' versions, comfortable but not special. The 'brunch' is a cold airline style meal in a plastic tray.

Doing what: Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We had a really enjoyable day, Whistler is delightful in the summer and we saw great sights enjoyed wonderful food and people watching to boot. Normally we would have done trekking but it was very hot on the day so more modest exploration on foot was enjoyed.
The train trip is a bit lack luster the train very old the food quite stale and the rambling commentary by the steward annoying rather than even vaguely interesting or informative, some great sights but you are mainly traveling through built up almost suburban areas.
I enjoyed the float plane in many ways but basically its an airborne shuttle back with no attempt to show any sights or offer any commentary; lack luster really.

Doing what: Whistler Day Trip by Train and Floatplane from Vancouver

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

First two trips was fantastic tour guides were very good third guide I found very unsatisfactory his name was jack not only was he late by 10 minutes he drove like an idiot to get to the other hotels because of being late he caused a lady to fall because he drove off before she had a chance to sit down this lady was suffering with a bad neck before the fall. Very disappointed with the last trip karen price

Doing what: British Columbia Super Saver: 5-Day Tour of Vancouver, Whistler and Victoria

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message